We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alexandra Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Alexandra Resort to your Saves list
Alexandra Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Princess Drive | Grace Bay, Providenciales   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
January Great Deal
Ranked #25 of 44 Hotels in Providenciales
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Breathtaking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2011

We got to the resort and were met by Emily and Tanya...two of the resorts hostesses who made the checkin process easy and enjoyable. We were greeted with Rum punch and a whole bunch of hospitality. They make u feel at home. Only gripe I had was that we booked a beachfront room and got garden view, but everything else was great. We were surprised to see our room...it was more like a condo complete with full kitchen, washer/dryer and master bedroom with a state of the art decor. They also supplied us with utensils, pots, pans the whole 9 yards. We ventured out to the Mango Reef restaurant...the food selection there was great and not too expensive...I would definitely recommend the Mango Reef. Night time activities are minimal but u can walk the beach to the next resort The Veranda for a little more action...the bartenders there are great. The Beach was the best part of the trip....miles and miles of white sand and blue waters.....simply breathtaking!! Mind you the beaches are not crowded so u won't have a problem finding a comfortable spot on the sand. U can also have dinner on the beach if u choose...just let them know at the Mango Reef. If u enjoy water sports the you're in luck...they have every water sport known to man...even horseback riding. The concierge Al was the most helpful...so ask for him when u go...really sweet guy. We also rented a car and bought some food at the grocery store to cook in our kitchen...saves on spending uneccesary money. The island is a bit pricey....so expect to shell out some cheese...especially with the watersports. But everyone on the island was wonderful...definitely one of the best islands and resorts I've been to in a longtime....I can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

885 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    470
    321
    60
    24
    10
See reviews for
178
519
17
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, FL
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2011

My husband & I celebrated our 10 yr wedding anniversary this year and we chose to stay at the Alexandra resort, where we renewed our vows. Our decision on the resort selection was based on reviews and price. I want to share how happy we were with our selection. The Alexandra is a modest resort compared with some of the other luxury properties, but it is not crowded, much more peaceful and definitely one worth your while. The rooms were clean and nicely decorated, maid service was friendly and efficient, the hotel staff was delightful and the restaurant, Mango Reef, was fantastic! Ask for Samuel at the restauraunt...he will take your dining experience to another level. Tanya, was our wedding coordinator. She not only coordinated the pastor and flowers for us, but she went out of her way to make our vow renewal a "perfect event"! The ideal time for us to exchange vows was at sunset on the beach. The weather did not cooperate on the day of our ceremony. One hour before the ceremony, Tanya offered to postone the ceremony until the next day in hopes of better weather, and she made all the necessary arrangement to make that happen. I highly recommend the Alexandra for any couple and for families. It was a vacation we will never forget!!!

Room Tip: speak to the staff upon arrival
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

Stayed at the Alexandra for a quick 4 nite getaway with my boyfriend and another couple beginning of July. It was a great deal that we purchased thru Groupon (love those deals!)
Rooms:
We were in a one bedroom, oceanview room which was perfect. It had a full kitchen, washer and dryer, seperate bedroom and living and a full and half bathroom. Balcony was huge. You could get to it from your living room or bedroom. Nice lounge chairs as well as a little table for 4. The only complainit about the balcony is that the room next door is a studio whose patio is next to yours, so you can see everything they do. The reason I believe they do this is because the studio has a connecting door to the one bedroom unit and is probably used for larger groups or families. The balconies have a small gate which connect them. It can be akward if you are sitting out there and your neighbor is too. Anyway, the rooms are clean and neat, plenty of towels!
Beach:
Beautiful, clean, great sand, plenty of chairs and umbrellas., 2 kayaks and water bikes to use. The only thing that would have made it perfect would be for waiter service at the
beach. Believe me the bar is not that far, but I am spoiled.
Pool:
Nice enough, clean . Didn't really spend anytime there but it was pretty anyway.
Restaurant:
Mango Reef is the restaurant which is located on the property. We ate there for dinner one night and breakfast one morning. Both meals were excellent. Probably the best dinner we had. Prices were reasonable.
Gym:
Nothing big but enough to get you through a vacation if necessary.
Staff:
No complaints , everyone seemed friendly and helpful
**Beautiful island, friendly people, many excellent restaurants and bars to enjoy. Small casino, nothing spectacular but always good way to kill some time....losing your money.
**Dreams Tours which is located at resort was great! Half day tour snorkel trip was perfect!
Advice... Pack an xtra bag of non-perishable foods, snacks, cereal, bread, coffee etc., what ever else you may need. The IGA supermarket is very expensive.
Any questions feel free to e-mail me.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

After reading all the reviews I was ready to be somewhat dissapointed. Our stay at the Alexandra was fabulous. The grounds, beach area, the room were gorgeous. Every morning we would see the gardener working the grounds. The pool on the small side but clean and good for the kids. Clean and wide beach front. Plenty of beach chairs. If all were occupied Joseph or Al would pull out beach chairs for us. We booked an ocean view studio in the Prima Donna building. It looked newly redone. New appliances and comfortable bed. The view was okay, we could see the ocean but it was a partial view. We already expected that. The maid did a good job cleaning our room every day. I would definitely come back to the Alexandra and book a one bedroom with a full kitchen. Wifi too slow but the cable provided was good enough.
Not too pleased with the Mango Reef but that's another review.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011

Our trip to TCI was one filled with excitement as neither my husband or I have ever been to the island. This location whether it was based on the time of year that we visited or just our vacation style, did not suite us. But if you are looking to disconnect and beach bum it, TCI is it. At the hotel we were both greeted with rum punch and cool towels upon arrival , and checked into our room despite our early arrival. The hotel is truly a get away for the rat race runners, my husband and I not neccessarily looking for the party scene but found the grounds very quiet, almost too quiet. Nice view of the ocean, not ocean front but nice enough, prepare to either spend a fortune on dinner at the rest. or at the grocery store, pick your poision. Read a review that stated everyone that works for the hotel answered questions from a script, I whole heartedly agree. Despite that quirk the staff was friendly and accomodating. I would recommend hotel just on some of the amenities, but doubt a return

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexandraResort, Manager at Alexandra Resort, responded to this review, July 19, 2011
Thank you for the positive feedback you shared about the Alexandra Resort. We are disappointed that Providenciales did not meet your expectations for a destination. The island is renowned for offering a quiet escape from more crowded destinations, but despite that, there are many activities to enjoy. If you do decide to visit again, our concierge would be pleased to assist you in planning golf, tennis, scuba, snorkeling, kite boarding, cycling, horseback riding, casino gaming, shopping, cricket, spa services...just about anything you want to do on vacation, we can help you do it in Provo. There are definitely many fine dining restaurants in Provo but we also have several restaurants and food shops on the island that cater to every budget. Our staff would be pleased to direct you to those facilities if you visit again - and we hope you do!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011

This was our first trip to T&C and we would stay here again. Our oceanfront 1 br was right on the beach. The resort is perfectly unpretentious with great service. Our room was as advertised. Al, the concierge, arranged all of our activities and dining with class and ease. On site restaurant is perfect for lunch. Beach is top notch. Serviceable gym (we used it twice).

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2011

My husband and I just got back from a 6 day trip at the Alexandra that he booked as a suprise. Upon arrival we were a bit suprised as it looked like condo complex, not really a resort feel. The check in area is rather small but we were greeted by a cool towel and a drink (nice touch). The two ladies who checked us in were very friendly and and that I think calmed our concerns at the moment. We were taken to our room and we were pleased as It looked freshly redone and clean with a nice size balcony. We did find at night that there is a nightclub across the street which can be very disruptive to a good nights rest if your a light sleeper. No store on the property but there is a small shop for drinks and lotion across the street. I highly recomend getting sunscreen at this store as it is half the price of the grocery store (18-22 USD @ the grocery store) There is a 4:30 taxi that will take you to the expensive grocery store about 3 miles away for $20. Yes, I said $20! For us the pool was nice but it is rather small and outdated, we spent our days on the beach which is by far a show stopper. The beach area at this hotel is by far the best on this stretch of Grace Bay. If you are looking to find anyone taking drink orders at the pool or on the beach you will be disappointed, you will have to go to the bar yourself and get them ( that does get annoying after a few trips). The restaurant, Mango Reef, was very good. The restaurants along Grace Bay are all about the same price, expect to pay at least $130.00 for a dinner for two but the restaurant at this hotel by far was the best, for us at least. We found many people came from neighboring resorts to enjoy Mango Reef. Overall the staff are all very kind, some you have to coax a smile out of but once you start a conversation they lighten up and all is well. My husband did express that the website for this hotel looked a bit nicer than it did in person. Overall this is a nice resort if you are looking for a resort on a budget. It is clean, staff is friendly which my husband and I feel is it's saving grace and the beach is beautiful. We will return to Grace Bay but we will try another Resort next time.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Alexandra Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexandra Resort

Address: Princess Drive | Grace Bay, Providenciales
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Turks and Caicos > Providenciales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Providenciales
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Providenciales
#19 Luxury Hotel in Providenciales
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Alexandra Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on Grace Bay Beach, one of the most beautiful beaches in the world, The Alexandra offers the dream vacation of a lifetime; luxurious accommodations, warm friendly service, amazing oceanfront dining and a bevy of exciting activities. Understated luxury with a delightful Caribbean atmosphere, fantastic ocean views, powder white sand, international cuisine with island flair and so much more await you at this magnificent Turks and Caicos resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Alexandra Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexandra Resort Providenciales
Alexandra Hotel Providenciales
Alexandra Resort Turks Caicos
Alexandra Turks Caicos
Alexandra Resort Turks And Caicos/Providenciales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alexandra Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.