We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alexandra Resort

Save Saved
You added Alexandra Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Alexandra Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Princess Drive | Grace Bay, Providenciales   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Summer Savings in TCI
Ranked #25 of 44 hotels in Providenciales
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Perfectly amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2011

We chose the Alexandra largely based on ratings and reviews here on TripAdvisor, and it turned out to be an excellent choice for our weeklong vacation. Our top criteria were a comfortable hotel on a great beach, to spend quiet days on the beach and in the ocean.

We stayed in a deluxe 1-bedroom oceanview suite, on the third floor of the Marilyn building, which faced west and gave us amazing afternoon sun on the large deck. While it didn't have the unobstructed view that the oceanfront buildings do, there was still a gorgeous view of the ocean, overlooking the palm trees and pool area. It appears that every room in the resort has a deck, and the 1-bedroom suites have incredibly large decks that span the living room and bedroom with screened-in sliding doors and a huge table and chairs plus lounge chairs, making for a fantastic evening cocktail hour spot to watch the sunset. We slept with the doors open every night to the cool ocean breeze and never turned on the air conditioning. The room was very new, with hip furnishings, a large bathroom (plus a half-bath), and a full kitchen. As other people have noted, the reception area is not a dramatic and spacious entry to the resort, but that wasn't an important part of the vacation, and we didn't mind.

When we checked in, we were greeted by a friendly staff, cool towels, and rum punch. Unfortunately, our room wasn't ready (it was around 1:30), but we decided to pick up some grocery supplies. We took a taxi to the Gourmet IGA -- about a 5-minute ride; $10 each way -- and stocked up. The store has a bakery, deli, wine, and most things you'd find in an upscale U.S. supermarket. The prices are more expensive, but we bought food for breakfasts and happy hour drinks/snacks, and we ended up saving a lot over what it would have cost at a restaurant.

The Alexandra's location is amazing -- centrally located on Grace Bay -- many restaurants are in walking distance in both directions. The water was incredibly clean (the one day there was even a small amount of seaweed, there was staff raking it up and burying it), and the sand was incredibly soft (and cool!). There was a strong wind all week, which actually made it feel cool at times. The staff will help set up beach chairs and umbrellas (we got down to the beach between 9 and 10 most days, and there were plenty of chairs). It puzzled us, though, that so many people put towels on chairs at the beach and pool, only to disappear all day -- there never appeared to be a need to save chairs, as neither place was very crowded, but perhaps it was a learned behavior from other resorts. We wished the Alexandra would easily address this by reminding guests when they arrive that they don't need to save chairs (and by picking up stray towels occasionally). Also, there is a spa and gym, though we never looked for them; and two tennis courts that seem rarely used (no extra charge to use them; they even provide balls and rackets). We were impressed at how uncrowded the resort felt, even in mid-March, which they said is one of the busiest times. There were people of all ages, but it never felt taken over by partiers or screaming kids.

The staff was very friendly, and although trying to be helpful, at times they gave conflicting information, and we sometimes fared better making calls and reservations on our own.

Speaking of restaurants, we really enjoyed having Mango Reef right there -- we ate several lunches and two dinners there. It has a diverse menu for seafood-lovers and non-seafood-lovers alike, and has an incredible view of the ocean. We also ate at Hemingway's (walking distance; good seafood; live music), Bay Bistro (walking distance; good salads for lunch), Somewhere (slightly longer walk -- about 20 minutes; great ocean overlook; simple bar food; cheap beer ($2.50 Turk's Head)). Two of our favorite dinner spots were Lemon Cafe (the staff says to take a cab, but we walked the 10 minutes (½ a mile), and there were even sidewalks!), which has excellent Moroccan food in a cool setting; and Coco Bistro (make reservations early in your stay -- we waited a day and had to settle for a 9:30 dinner), which has more refined food than other restaurants and a gorgeous setting under palm trees. It seemed necessary to make dinner reservations at least a night in advance at most places. We caught on pretty quickly, so it worked out OK, but it's probably good to get down there, get the lay of the land, and make a few reservations. We didn't need to make reservations at Mango Reef, though, as Alexandra guests.

We were content to spend our time on the beach and at the pool and didn't feel the need to explore Provo or the other islands, so we didn't rent a car, but taxis do get expensive once you start to venture out (even though the distances aren't that great). We're wondering if a better option would be to rent bikes to go to the grocery store and a few restaurants.

We took a half-day boat tour -- through the Caicos Dreams company that is set up right on the beach at the Alexandra -- of snorkeling (2 stops -- one on the reef, one looking for conch) and a stop at a deserted island, where we saw iguanas, swam, and enjoyed the untouched landscape. It's definitely worth getting out on the boat and seeing more of the beauty of Turks and Caicos.

Our overall conclusion: We loved the amenities and design of the Alexandra -- it felt pampered without being formal (especially compared with some of the luxury resorts we walked past). We thought the entire resort was an incredible value for what it had to offer. If we get back to TCI, we’ll definitely stay at the Alexandra.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

799 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    436
    278
    54
    22
    9
See reviews for
159
469
16
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2011

Pool was meticulously cleaned each morning as was the beach. Restaurant had a huge selection and everything we had was very good. Fitness center was small (just 1 treadmill, 1 bike, a few other machines) - but we jogged on the beach instead!! Location was perfect! Right on the beach, restaurant had indoor seating and outdoor on a deck overlooking the beach/ocean. Walk to your left, hit Verdana and then Beaches...walk to the right and hit a few more resorts. The beach goes forever in both directions. The Alexandra is the home to the Caicos Dream Tours boat launch which is a 4 hour or full day tour around the island, some snorkling, etc. Good to do to see more of this beautiful island.

We had a 2 bedroom, 2 1/2 bath suite with full kitchen and living room and was perfect for a family. We went to the grocery store, bought about $150 worth of groceries and ate breakfast and lunch in the room each day which saved a lot of money. They had a coffee maker and blender. We made pina coladas every day.

Taxi to restaurants cost us $5 per person. Taxi from the airport was $11 each.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2011

I relied heavily on the reviews on tripadvisor to choose to stay at the Alexandra, which is certainly somewhat under the radar, and a hidden gem of the island. We were thrilled with our stay, and recommend the Alexandra very highly!!

The island:
We arrived on a nice sunny day, and we took a cab van with some other travelers to the Alexandra, which was only about a 10 minute ride. All the cab drivers and everyone on the island are incredibly nice, respectful and welcoming. This is not an island where you feel unsafe leaving your hotel. Because we were only there for 5 days, we didn’t get the chance to travel around to the other islands, but we look forward to coming back.

As for dining, we went to Mango Reef, Bay Bistro, Coco Bistro, and Caicos Café for our four nights. I will write separate reviews for them on each of their pages, but overall, we found that Mango Reef, Coco Bistro, and Caicos Café were all very delicious and pleasant (Caicos Café and Coco Bistro were both 5* in our book). We were a little disappointed with Bay Bistro and probably will not return back next time we are on the island.


The hotel:
We were greeted with cold towels and a choice of fruit punch and rum. From the outside, the reviews are accurate that the reception area is quite non-descript, but don’t let this trick you. Check-in was a breeze, only took about 5-10 minutes, and Arnold escorted us to our room which was on the third floor (of 5 floors) of the Marilyn building. The Marilyn building is the same building that the reception is in, as well as the gym and spa. We stayed in a deluxe ocean view one bedroom, and we loved our location in the Marilyn building, especially because of the great afternoon sun we got on our enormous patio from about 3:00 until sunset. Even the oceanfront suites didn’t get the sun that we got on our patio. The gym has 1 treadmill, 1 elliptical, and one bike with a separate area with weight machines and free weights. While it was small, all of the equipment was new and very nice.

The room itself was wonderful. Immaculately clean, and the kitchen is truly a full kitchen—GE Profile stainless steel appliances, granite countertop, just wonderful. When we arrived, we took a taxi to Graceway Gourmet (probably 5-7 minutes away), which is a new supermarket that is an upscale version of the original IGA. It’s also closer. The taxi was $25 roundtrip including the time that the driver waited for us to shop for a half hour. We stocked up on a ton of produce (which was very nice) and some staples. Warning—the food at the grocery store is expensive, but given that we would have spent $15/person/day on breakfast, it ended up saving money. It was also very convenient to be able to wake up and have our own breakfast every morning. We asked the cab driver, and apparently, the prices at Graceway Gourmet are the same as at the original IGA. They carried all the upscale brands—Horizon organic milk, Kashi, etc.

Another great thing about the room was that it had 1.5 bathrooms, which was so convenient. The master bathroom had a walk in shower, 2 sinks, and a separate bathtub. There were entrances to the patio from the bedroom as well as the living room. The patio had a big cedar table with chairs and 2 chaise chairs and ottomans. It was really wonderful, and we often came up to the patio for a mid-day break from the sun. The beds were by no means luxurious, but I never particularly notice bedding in hotels.

The hotel is very peaceful and quiet, without the hustle bustle that we’ve experienced at other hotels on other islands. No waking up at 5:00am to get chairs. We even came down to the beach at 10:30 one day, and the staff found us three chairs and an umbrella. Though we prefer the beach, the pool area was very nice as well. A few pool toys for kids, but this hotel is not for the family that is looking for constant activities and entertainment for children.

The restaurant, Mango Reef, at the Alexandra was delicious. We ate dinner there the first night, and the lobster was fabulous—better than we had at other highly-rated restaurants. Lunch was also at Mango Reef on a big open air deck right on the beach. Big menu, with a lot of yummy choices.

The only problem we had with the accommodations was that the air conditioning in our room didn’t seem to be working. Fortunately, we didn’t have a problem with it, because we enjoyed the sea breeze leaving our patio doors open every night. I could see how it might be a problem on the lower floors (given that we were on the third floor).

All in all, we enjoyed our vacation very much, and would certainly recommend The Alexandra for anyone who wants a relaxing, comfortable, and accommodating vacation.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2011

My husband I traveled to TCI on September 2009 for a romantic gateway. Not only Grace Bay is the most beautiful beach where we have ever ever stayed. Alexandra is a nice beach place to stay. Very clean, well decorated and with everything that you need for a stay home away from home.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2011

We really enjoyed our recent stay at the Alexandra Resort. The beach is undeniably beautiful. We walked along the beach for miles every day. The Alexandra is about in the middle of Grace Bay so you can walk for miles in either direction. The grocery store is about a 20-25 minute walk down the beach. We went there a few times during our stay. It was quite expensive to eat out so we saved a lot by eating breakfast and lunch in our room. (Be prepared, $7.00 for a box of cereal but breakfast out for 2 is $20-$30). Everything was surprisingly "Americanized". Although this was a little disappointing in not experiencing a different culture it also was reassuring to know exactly what we were getting. If I didn't know better I would have thought we were in a grocery store in the U.S. The resort was clean, the staff was helpful and the rooms were awesome. We had a one bedroom ocean view and that's always risky as sometimes it means you have to perform a death defying move over your balcony railing to get a sliver of an ocean view. Not here. It was a direct ocean view overlooking the pool and ocean. We were on the 5th floor with a huge balcony that we spent a good portion of our vacation on. This resort is not a place that pampers you. It is a great place for independent travelers who can get around on their own and want a clean, spacious space to call home for a while. You have the usual morons who put their towels on the loungers by the pool first thing in the morning and then don't return for hours. Sitting on our balcony we would watch many people try to sit by the pool only to walk by a dozen or more chairs that had people's belongings on them but no people. Wish Alexandra would address this. This really wasn't an issue for us as we spent our days on the beach and they had plenty of chairs available there. Otherwise, no complaints about this resort at all. We felt safe the entire time we were there although never walked the beach at night as this seemed a bit sketchy. We have never returned to the same Caribbean island but T&C is a place that we definitely plan to revisit. You won't regret going to T&C or the Alexandra!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pittsburgh
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2011

Had the top ocean front corner unit condo at Alexandra Resort and it was immaculate and simple fantastic. Very modern, very clean with a fantastic and huge balkony (could have had 20 people out there for cocktails). Highly recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2011

Turks & Caicos and the Alexandra are great for a long weekend or week on the beach, Gorgeous beach, friendly staff, big multi-room units that are high quality made and furnished. Al, the concierge, a great help. We'd recommend the Mango restaurant on-site and the Hemingways at the Sands down the road. The 'dream tour' arranged through Al was fun - snorkeling, diving for sand dollars and conch, and walking remote beaches. We rented a car for a day and went for groceries (for most bkfts and lunches) and to remote beaches. Rent from Noon to Noon so you can have it 2 different days. Groceries expensive but better than taking the time or $ for 3 meals a day. Lot of young families. Alexandra has a good location because you can walk to other resorts going north or south if you want along Grace Bay. Other advantages - relatively short flight from US cities (vs other islands), everyone speaks English, and they take US dollars. Greatly enjoyed our selection and trip.
Ken & Lil

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Alexandra Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexandra Resort

Address: Princess Drive | Grace Bay, Providenciales
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Turks and Caicos > Providenciales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Providenciales
#17 Luxury Hotel in Providenciales
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Providenciales
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Alexandra Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on Grace Bay Beach, one of the most beautiful beaches in the world, The Alexandra offers the dream vacation of a lifetime; luxurious accommodations, warm friendly service, amazing oceanfront dining and a bevy of exciting activities. Understated luxury with a delightful Caribbean atmosphere, fantastic ocean views, powder white sand, international cuisine with island flair and so much more await you at this magnificent Turks and Caicos resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jetsetter, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Splendia, Orbitz, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Tingo, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Alexandra Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexandra Resort Providenciales
Alexandra Hotel Providenciales
Alexandra Resort Turks Caicos
Alexandra Turks Caicos
Alexandra Resort Turks And Caicos/Providenciales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alexandra Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.