We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Renaissance

Save Saved
You added Villa Renaissance to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Villa Renaissance
Ventura Drive, BWI, Providenciales   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 44 hotels in Providenciales
Bangkok, Thailand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We had booked a Penthouse Apartment at Villa Renaissance for a 2 week stay.
We arrived late Evening after a gruelling 36 hours of travelling from Thailand. We were shown to our Unit and felt it was very sparsely furnished. However it was late and just wanted to get to our bed.. There wasn't a welcome pack, the fridge was empty, not even some water. It was too late to shop but we requested some water from reception and were given a few small bottles.
The Master Bedroom with the large bathroom with shower and bath was locked!!! We were given the second small bedroom to use with a very small bathroom with no bath.
One of the wardrobes in our bedroom was also locked, all we had was a very small wardrobe to use and many other doors were locked off!!
The next morning we complained about the locked Master Bedroom, locked wardrobes, small bathroom etc., and requested to move, which after a Few hours , we moved to a 3rd floor apartments which had full use of Master Bedroom and second bedroom with large wardrobes. The furnishings and accessories were much better and we were able to store our excessive luggage and golf clubs in the second bedroom, albeit the view was not as good.
We had friends joining us the next day in another 2 bedroom unit at a much reduced charge to us and they had a two bedroom apartment on the 2nd floor & we had been given a penthouse with a small second bedroom etc., for more than double what we were paying and although we moved to another 2 bed unit we still payed the same price as the penthouse!!
Our friends had booked directly with the owner of their unit but they were not treated as well as us by the staff of VRBO due to the fact that they had not booked by VRBO. On one occasion, one of our friends went to play golf and returned unable to get into his unit to shower as his wife was walking the beach and she had the only key. VRBO would not assist him in his dilemma . He was not able to have the password for Internet access also and other issues that arose, it was extremely petty, even when we ordered food from Vix to be delivered without cutlery, when we requested some cutlery to enable us to eat by the pool, we were given only two sets of cutlery. The friends that had booked directly with the owner were not entitled to a knife and fork each !!!
Pool/beach towels were not always available, not enough sun-beds on occasions too. We had read about how amazing Bentley was ( bar tender) we saw him once in two weeks!!! The bar was rarely manned.
We went next door to Regent Grand which is owned by the same people and would definitely book there next time. the entire pool area, reception , manned bar was much better than VR.

Room Tip: Make sure you know exactly what you are paying for and what to expect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    324
    51
    6
    4
    3
See reviews for
104
224
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

My wife, our adult daughter and I had a wonderful week at Villa Renaissance in Suite Margarita in early July. The condo was lovely and just perfect for our needs. The interior decor and the view of the beach were even better than the pictures. Mel and the housekeeping staff were great, we loved the convenience of having shops, restaurants and grocery store so nearby, and the amazing Grace Bay Beach and water were spectacular. At times, it seemed like we had the beach practically to ourselves. The owner, Margarita, was a delight to deal with and provided lots of helpful information about restaurants and activities on the island. This is now our new favorite beach vacation place, and we will definitely be back soon.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for a week in early July. We rented a 1BR through VRBO. The villa was decorated beautifully and very clean and extremely roomy for a 1BR. The resort is nice and very quiet. At times it seemed like we were the only 2 people at the resort. It was pretty windy on the VR beach. Everyone told us this was unusual; however, when we walked down the beach towards The Sands the wind was definitely not as noticeable. The pool area is nice, but as someone else mentioned there were some tiles missing in the pool and the chairs on the beach and pool could be nicer for a 5 star resort. Our unit had wireless internet access which was very fast. It was great as we used it to Facetime our kids back home every night. There was also a cell phone provided with a $10 credit to make international or local calls. We only used it for local calls.

The location of the Villa Renaissance is great if you don’t want to rent a car. There are a number of local shops & restaurants within a 5-10 minute walk. The grocery store, also a 10 minute walk, came in very handy. Our villa had a cart with wheels to bring groceries back. We stocked up on breakfast and lunch type foods to save some money.

We did rent a car from Grace Bay Rentals (across the street from VR) for a day and drove around the island. We couldn’t find access to Chalk Sound but did find a really nice secluded beach (Sunset Beach) near the leeward section of the island. The car we had from Grace Bay Rentals was pretty old. A Nissan Sunny. I think it did not have shocks or struts as the ride was very rough. Driving on the left side was no problem.

We ate dinner at Lupos, Vix, Bella Luna, Pizza Pizza, Hemingways and Baci. Food was excellent at all. Hemingways is a 10 minute walk down the beach at the Sands and Baci you will need a car or taxi since it is at Turtle Cove, with the others a 5 minute walk near VR. We did eat lunch at Somewhere (at Coral Gardens) and Bay Bistro (at Sibonne). Again both were very good.

One day we walked down to the Coral Gardens Reef which is right off the beach near the Coral Gardens Condos. It took about 35-40 minutes to walk there from VR. The reef is roped off and you snorkel around it. There are lots of fish and people did see turtles. You are pretty far out if you go all the way around the reef so bring flippers or a life vest. Aqua shoes are also a good idea. You can still see lots of fish if you only snorkel close to shore.

For those of you going to Provo for the first time, the airport is very undersized. Make sure you leave plenty of time when you leave, and be prepared for very tight quarters waiting to board.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providenciales
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

I stayed at the Vill Renaissance with my Mom & Dad. The room was beautifully decorated and the view was fantastic. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The beach was spectacular. Junior went out of his way to make us comfortable. He was very professional and friendly. The location of the hotel is great. It is close to all the shopping, the grocery store and many restaurants. You don't need a rental car if you stay here.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

This was our first trip to Provo. Overall, VR was a good choice on Grace Bay, but I am a bit surprised to see all the 5 star reviews on Trip Advisor. Here are the pros/cons:

Pros:
1. Great central location which is a rarity - can walk to a lot of things (restaurants, coffee shop, shops, bakery, grocery, etc.).
2. Cost - for this location in Grace Bay, VR is fairly priced. Provo is a VERY expensive island (more on this later), and we found this resort to be fair from a price perspective.

Cons:
1. For being built less than 10 years ago, the building, pool area, landscaping, and chairs looked a bit tired. Not bad, just tired. Several lounge chairs were broken, some of the pool tiles have fallen off (including a few the week I was there) and cleanliness was average.
2. Amenities: The staff was friendly overall. There was a small bar by the pool area. However, this closed very early and is quite compact. Beach towels were frequently hard to come by.

Again, this was our first trip to Provo. It is a nice island, especially from a beach and water activity perspective. However, the prices for lodging, groceries, taxis, etc. were over the top in our opinion - do your own research on this please. Also, we did hit several good restaurants and were impressed from a food perspective. For the overall experience and great food, Magnolia was our favorite. We were also very impressed w/ Caicos Café (great food, good value), Caicos Bakery (breakfast), and Lupo. Conch Shack is a fun experience that I would recommend. Atmosphere at Mango Reef was great but food only average. Coco Bistro had a tremendous atmosphere and food was good but a bit overrated in our opinion. For drinks, our favorites were the Gansevoort bar, deck at Seven Stars and Grace Bay Club (put your $ towards a drink here rather than the restaurant - Anacaona - decent but doesn't justify the price).

Overall, good vacation and a nice island but not in a rush to return. VR is fairly priced relative to the island, staff is friendly and our stay there was fine (3.5 stars) but not memorable. Price points in T&C are quite high relative to other comparable locations in the Caribbean.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

My son Ryan and I stayed at the Villa Renaissance for two weeks in June/13. We really enjoyed our two different oceanfront suities. We loved the access to both the white sands of the ocean and the pool. All the staff provided excellent and personable service to both of us. Very friendly and helpful during our stay. The Villa is a boutique resort, so meeting and getting to know the other guests is so much fun. The location is perfect for shopping and dining. All and all Ryan and I both loved our holiday at the Villa Renaissance.
Regards,
Wendy & Ryan Toronto,ON. Canada

Room Tip: Oceanfront room is the best on any of the floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

The room, beach facilities, and Junior at the Concierge desk made this place special. The pool and hotel was always clean with plenty of towels available for guests use. We went during June for our anniversary and the hotel was not crowded at all. We didn't have to claim lounge chairs at the beach because there were always plenty available. I had two massages at the Teona spa and they were wonderful also. Breakfast was included in our stay and did have some hot foods available but if you wanted to order off the menu it cost extra. The added bonus of the hotel is that it is centrally located to a lot of stores, restaurants, and the grocery store. I would recommend this hotel to anyone and we seriously may go back again next year. Our vacation was just amazing.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Villa Renaissance? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Renaissance

Address: Ventura Drive, BWI, Providenciales
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Turks and Caicos > Providenciales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Providenciales
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inspired by the Grand Villas of the Italian and French Riviera, Villa Renaissance is a beautiful, beachfront Hotel located directly on internationally renowned Grace Bay beach in the Turks and Caicos Islands With 28 luxurious one, two and three bedroom beachfront suites and 4 charming and equally luxuriously appointed poolside cottages, Villa Renaissance offers its relaxed elegance at surprisingly accessible rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and TravelClick so you can book your Villa Renaissance reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Renaissance Hotel Providenciales
Renaissance Hotel Providenciales
Renaissance Providenciales
Providenciales Renaissance
Villa Renaissance Turks And Caicos/Providenciales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Renaissance, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.