We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not for children” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Club West

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Ocean Club West to your Saves list
Ocean Club West
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Ocean Club Resorts, Providenciales   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 44 Hotels in Providenciales
A TripAdvisor Member
“Not for children”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2005

I have stayed at Ocean Club and Ocean Club West. Families have been encouraged to stay at these resorts with very poor advise. Last year, a family left a week early and were going to go skiing instead. It was not a vacation for the parents. There is ONLY the beach. My daughter and grandchildren will not return
If you go to this island ensure that you stay at Beaches resort, which caters to families.
Restaurant at Ocean Club West overpriced and unfriendly staff at lunch time.

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    300
    175
    42
    16
    10
See reviews for
168
210
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2005

OCW was a wonderful location for our honeymoon. Our room was spacious and had a great view. The screened porch was a plus do to the mosiqtoes. The staff was great and very accommodating.

One of our many complaints was with our travel agency (Cheap Caribbean), not disclosing the fact that the resort had construction going on right beside it from morning until early evening and not providing proper travel documents to board our flight. The construction noise didn't really bother us to much during the day but waking up at 6:00am becasue of the noise was not enjoyable!

We would recommend Ocean Club West (NOT CHEAP CARIBBEAN) but be warned about construction.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2005

We had a 2 Bedroom suite and it was very big and was wonderful. We also asked for a ocean view room and thats what we got, it was lovely.

The Seside cafe was very nice also and we had dinner there twice, lobster was fantastic. The waiters and barman were very nice people and very helpful. Drinks were also very good and they had between 4 and 6 I think, complimentary nachos and dip, which was good.

The Pool was very good and had lots of sunbeds. It was also nice and quiet there and towels were always avalible. The beach was stunning and so peaceful! You could snorkel right off it!

We also visited Ocean Club (other one) and it was very nice but I did prefer Club West as the pool was better and had less construction.

Restaurants I recomend are Iguanas, Calico Jacks, Seaside Cafe, and CoCo Bistro.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2005

Just got back from OCW. We had a great time, the resort was absolutley beautiful. The construction noise didnt bother us at all. The beach was wonderful. We ate at 21 north, it was good we also ate at Baci, Tiki Hut, and some others that were very good. IGA is very expensive, but cheaper than eating out 2 or 3 times a day. Over all OCW was very nice and clean, can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2005

Our family of four just returned from Ocean Club West. The great: our room. For two adults and two others (children or teens) I would highly recommend room 531. It is a two bedroom, two and a half bath in building E. It was huge! The boys room was actually upstairs (The room was on the top floor.) from the main floor. The master bedroom was in the back with it's own balcony. While you cannot really see the ocean from anywhere except the front balcony, this room overlooked the pool and had probably the least amount of construction noise. Yes, the construction does start around 6:00 to 6:30 AM and continues throught the day. We were up and out at 8:00AM everyday to SCUBA, so it did not bother us too much. I would not have wanted a room on the other side of the pool, because of this. (Construction on the other side of the resort did not seem to be as close.) The grounds were immaculate and Grace Bay Beach was the most beautiful I have ever seen.

The not so great: the service. After being gone one day, we returned and the room had not been cleaned. My husband and sons wanted to rent a catamaran one day and there was no one to do so. All questions were answered with "go to the front desk". In fact I rarely saw any staff on the beach except at the end of the day to remove the umbrellas. (There were not problems getting chairs and umbrellas at either the pool or the beach, but then it is the off season.) The waitstaff and bartender, also did not seem very friendly.

Also, not so great, but no ones fault: the mosquitoes.

The restaurants we ate at in order of your preference: 1) Gecko Grill 2)Hemingways, 3) Mango Reef, 4) Anaconna, 5) Danny Boys.

Hope this helps.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2005

We just returned from a week-long stay at the OCW (meaning we're still basking in a Caribbean afterglow) and in spite of all of the complaints about round-the-clock construction noise, my wife and I had an utterly relaxing stay with our 2-yr old son. Yes, we could hear some hammering, drilling and general machine noises -- but they were far from deafening and were easily drowned out in the white noise of the air conditioner when we napped or slept in. (Also, it's "Caribbean construction", so the crews work a bit less frenetically than those here in NY.) Enough about the construction....

Our room (a junior suite) was spotless and replete with new furnishings and kitchen appliances -- and even included an unexpected in-room washer/dryer (great when you have a baby). The massive screened-in balcony was mosquito-less even when we were eaten alive outside. Multiple ceiling fans kept us cool when we didn't need the A/C. The housekeeping service was top-notch, making our inevitably sandy room like new each day.

The beach in Grace Bay (and at the OCW, specifically) was stunning: beautiful, soft white sand; gentle waves; crystal clear water (and no pollution whatsoever). And it was effortless to enjoy it all with the snorkel equipment, beach towels, chaises longues and umbrellas available on-site.

As noted in other reviews, restaurant prices in TCI are astronomical. Next time, I'll make my trip to the IGA market earlier in the week and stock up on breakfast/lunch foods and fruits/vegetables in order to take some of the mealtime sting out -- and also to ensure that the children have more to eat than fried food!

A local woman said to me as I walked quickly past her on the sidewalk, "You're in the islands now. Slow down." That applies to walking, ordering meals and making reservations in the TCI. If you bring an uptight attitude, you'll be disappointed regardless of the amenities; relax and let the healthier pace sink in.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2005

We just spent a week here and found it absolutely relaxing. Yes, there is construction on both sides, but it is less intrusive than your neighbors lawn equipment on a sunny spring day. Sometimes you smell some diesel fuel from the machines, but it was not too offensive. I do recommend that you bring bug spray, the mosquitoes are horrendous at night. Thankfully the OCW has screened porches (most other resorts didn't) so you can sit outside in peace. Our room seemed brand new, and we could have packed half as much thanks to the washer and dryer.
As warned, meals are outrageously expensive (everywhere), but quality was pretty good. Highly recomment Caicos Cafe which is walking distance from the resort.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ocean Club West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Club West

Address: Ocean Club Resorts, Providenciales
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Turks and Caicos > Providenciales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Providenciales
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Providenciales
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ocean Club West 3.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ocean Club Resorts is comprised of two beachfront properties, Ocean Club and Ocean Club West, located one mile apart on stunning Grace Bay Beach. The intimate resorts offer a “Stay at one, Play at both” opportunity for guests to enjoy all the services and amenities of both. An easy stroll down a beautiful stretch of beach is the popular way to get between the two resorts, although guests can be chauffeured by a complimentary shuttle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Expedia and BookIt.com so you can book your Ocean Club West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Club West Hotel Providenciales
Ocean Hotel Providenciales
Ocean Hotel West
Ocean Club West Turks Caicos
Ocean Club West Turks And Caicos/Providenciales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Club West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.