We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Club West

Save Saved
You added Ocean Club West to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Ocean Club West
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Ocean Club Resorts, Providenciales   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Travel + Leisure Awards
Ranked #27 of 44 hotels in Providenciales
Nutley, NJ
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Perfection!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Having traveled to most of the Caribbean Islands and all the Hawaiian Islands, we were totally amazed at the beauty of Providenciales, Turks and Caicos ... the crystal clear water, the warm, friendly people, the wonderful amenities at the resort. Everything surpassed our expectations. After a short three hour flight, we were in Paradise.

We rented a car, at the airport and had no trouble, at all, finding the Ocean Club West. (Of course, it took a while to get used to driving on the left side of the road and all the roundabouts.) :)

As we drove into the OCW entrance, we were greeted by Jan, with a warm, cheerful, welcoming smile. He was amazing. From the beginning, he could not do enough to make us feel welcome. In the lobby, the agent was immediately cheerful and attentive. She was actually upset that we had to wait 20 minutes until our room was ready. Considering that our flight landed over an hour early, we could not believe that she apologized, repeatedly, for the delay. Instead of waiting in the lobby, we opted to go to the Seaside Café, right by the pool, for a quick lunch. The waitress, Carolina, was a sweetheart ... very welcoming and attentive. The cracked conch, conch chowder and Turks Head beer were terrific and so the eating and drinking began ... lol

Jan unloaded the car, handled the luggage and even drove us to the condo to help us settle in. Jan continued to show concern, for us, right up to the day of our check out. He was always available, with his golf cart, to provide us with a ride to our car, the lobby or anywhere we asked to go. Even though this was our first visit to the OCW, we felt at home, from the moment we arrived.
The suite was convenient to everything (the beach, the pool and the restaurant). The unit was well appointed, clean, well supplied and quite spacious (1200 sq. ft.). No matter what we asked for, the staff at the OCW responded immediately to insure our complete satisfaction.

The Silver Deep Boutique, onsite, was awesome. They not only had specialty items for us to purchase, they actually booked us on a full day trip on opening day of Lobster Season 2013. What a tremendous asset Silver Deep is to complement the already amazing OCW.

Aruba is our "home away from home" and has been for over 25 years. Even though Aruba is becoming more and more commercialized and over-crowded, we have so many wonderful, dear friends and family there that it would be unfair to even begin to compare the two islands. Having said that, we certainly found a new, unspoiled gem in the Caribbean and will be back again, real soon and will, without a doubt, stay at the Ocean Club West.

Thank you for an amazing, memorable stay. Until we meet again, may God bless all of you.

With sincere gratitude,

Peter and Linda

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

489 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    264
    164
    38
    15
    8
See reviews for
148
187
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

My son and I returned to Ocean Club West for our second visit. We liked it so much last year we had to return. Just a reminder to stop at the duty free shop before you arrive. Everything is twice what you pay in the states. Be sure to take mosquito repellant, my son must have had 30 bites his first night out. We enjoyed the food and service at the Upstairs Bar and Grill restaurant above Jimmy's Dive, try the cracked conk. The service was outstanding. Once again we dove with Provo Turtle Diver, the diving is great. Hope to go back again.

Room Tip: Think ocean front are only 2 bedrooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hopkinton, Massachusetts
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

So, for a long time we have been supporters of OCW in general for various reasons and I still think that the Location is one of the best in the area, the bar and food are better than average, but outside of those two aspects I have to say that the accommodations are really weighing on us and this may have been the last visit we do at OCW.

We stayed in unit 621 to begin our stay. Unit seemed nice, had some ants but we typically ignore those as minor aspects of the tropics. Here is where things get REAL. Both of our children as well as myself have allergy induced asthma conditions. Typically a beach area is a solid choice as irritants disperse with the wind etc.. My son started getting sick the first night and on the second day I did as well. My wife indicated that maybe there was mold in the room since we were fine outside but getting worse once in the room. I didn't see anything to indicate any presence so I chugged onward.
On the 3rd or 4th day, I was full blown sick and grabbing my inhaler all day long. My wife noticed some standing water in the bedroom closet and thought that it may have been from an open window, however after some inspection it was the washer in the opposite closet leaking through the walls and into our closet.
We requested someone to come up and inspect the room and upon inspection the maintenance guy exposed an entire wall of black mold directly behind the washing machine in unit 621.
At that point we knew we would be out of the room, however this is where my wife and I got upset. No one came to apologize and a bell person was not even summoned to assist my wife, the only healthy non reactive of the bunch to move our belongings across the hall. I in turn removed both myself and the kids from the room. No room upgrade, no apology, nothing but another door to walk through.
It's not the way I expected to be treated after 3 other stays at the resort.
Onto the pool. The pool is in dire need of resurfacing plain and simple. If you have small children get them aqua socks or something to wear on their feet. My daughters 4yo. feet were blistered after the first day, and both my wife and I had cuts on ours too.
I love the location but I didn't see anyone working on repairing our old room after several days in another across the hall so all this says to me is that they could care less that a serious mold issue was continuing to go untreated.
They should have been ripping that place apart, we should have been helped with the move, and we should have been apologized too! I understand things happen, and situations can go undiscovered but when they do as a hospitality company you must do the right things at the exact moments they happen or you are sure to loose your clients.

I am afraid they probably lost this one!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We stayed in a 3 bedroom, ocean front property on the third floor. We requested a bed topper in one of the rooms and the bed seemed very comfortable actually. The suite was spacious, each bedroom came equipped with a full bathroom, all beds were very comfortable, and the ocean front screened in porch was absolutely the best. We found the restaurant on the premise to be convenient and tasty! We dined on the beach one night and it was very nice. My husband and his parents chartered a boat one day and the chef at the restaurant on the resort prepared the catch very well for us. It was quite excellent.There are plenty of restaurants within walking distance too. If you travel down the beach, a little ways past the sister hotel, you'll come to a beach front estate equipped with a small reef just off the beach, which is a great little snorkel spot actually, not to mention, a pristine view. I liked this spot even better than Princess Alexandria and we located it by chance during a walk down the beach.We stayed with my parents, my in laws, our 10 year old, and my husband and we all had a great time. The room upgrade to an ocean front property was the best decision for us. I am so glad we decided to upgrade from a garden view to an ocean view. The grocery store was within walking distance. We did chose to rent a van for the week, which was great when we wanted to explore the rest of the island, Chalk Sound (eat at Las Brisas restaurant), The Pot Cake Place, Princess Alexandria, etc. The front desk staff had a nice, "small island" kind of charm. We also noticed this in other locals we encountered off of the resort. Overall, a lovely family vacation- conveniently located with a great beach and ocean.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland Park, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

This was our second trip to Provo. Last time we stayed at RWI, which we liked, but figured we'd try something different. We were expecting OCW to be nicer then RWI, but we were pleasantly surprised at how much nicer it was. We had booked a studio suite but we got upgraded to a Junior Suite. The room was on the third floor and had beautiful vaulted ceilings. The suite was much larger than we expected and had a great balcony that overlooked the pool (and the ocean behind that.) The suite had a full kitchen (and the fridge had an ice maker :)), a large bathroom, laundry, and living room area. The balcony was fully screened and had a small dining table and two chaise lounges.

We had two minor issues with the room, but both were fixed immediately by the staff. Overall the staff was very helpful with anything we asked. (We used them to book our dinner reservations and arrange for taxis.) The house keeping was great, both in the suite and outside.

The location of the resort is great, with many things in walking distance. The supermarket is about a 5-10 minute walk. The prices are high, but expected on TCI. We brought some food from home (cereal, popcorn, granola bars, coffee) and bought other items for lunch. We mostly ate breakfast and lunch in the room, which helped to keep the costs down.
Also across the street was the Caicos Bakery, which we went to most afternoons for a snack.

Overall the resort was quiet and relaxing. We never had a problem getting chairs and umbrella's at the beach. Grace Bay is beautiful and everyone was really nice. There were a few people selling water activities on the beach, but they would only ask you once a day if you wanted anything, after that left you alone. There was zero pressure from them.

We did use the taxis to go out to dinner a few times, and they are slow and safe, but expensive. Next time we go back, we'll probably rent a car for the week. We did rent a car for 24 hours and used it drive to snorkeling spots. (The reef by Coral Gardens is great.)

We ate at several different spots, all of which were nice. I'll do separate reviews of them.

Room Tip: The third floor room was great because of the vaulted ceilings and better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We booked a two bedroom suite figuring to get a kitchen/dining area/ sitting area with two bedrooms off of it. We got a huge upstairs/downstairs with full kitchen, two balconies, three TVs (it was shark week ;-) and plenty of space for 4 adults. Great view overlooking the pool with the ocean across the way. Check in was smooth. Even though we were early for the 4:00 check in time, we dropped out bags and went to the pool bar/grill.

Rooms were very clean, and housekeeping came every day to freshen it up. Nice 3-5' pool that winds around the sitting area, not your usual big rectangle. Awesome beach with plenty of chairs and umbrellas.

Guys on the beach selling parasailing, paddle boarding, etc. would ask once and be on their way with a "have a great day". No high pressure aggravation like other places we've been.

Walking distance to shopping and eating area, and central to all areas of the island.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

This is a review for the Ocean Club West property in Providenciales, TCI.

We spent eight nights in Provo in Late May/early June to celebrate a birthday. We looked at several options for lodging because we were on a bit of a budget. Ultimately, after looking at a number of the standard travel sites and rentals by owner sites (as well as TripAdvisor), we chose OCW. We chose based on reviews, pictures and pricing.

We booked a Junior Suite with an Ocean View which is basically a large open floor plan room with a king size bed, a living room area and a kitchen with a bathroom (of course). Check in initially went smoothly and we were placed in a second floor room a couple of buildings (Sea Drift) back. We were not however happy with our initial room, it smelled a little musty and the refrigerator leaked because of some sort of ice buildup problem. The view and the porch, however, were spectacular. Regardless, we asked for a change of room. We were immediately accommodated with a better room in a building (Sea Fan) a bit further back on the third floor. We still had a good view (resort and ocean) and our room was perfect, everything was current (fridge, décor…). We were very happy. Both rooms had Wi-Fi, flat screen televisions with DVD, dishwashers and dishes and washer/drier combinations in the room. Both had the most amazing screened porches.

The property itself is situated right on Grace Bay with a wide beach (maybe the best part of Grace Bay). It’s convenient to most of the restaurants and a grocery store. There is a pool (which just seemed boring compared to the ocean right next to it). The grounds are clean and very well kept. It is safe.

There is a restaurant, Seaside Café, on the property which is okay. We ate there several times because it was convenient. Try the conch salad. The brownie with ice cream was not good.

The front desk staff was, in general, very helpful. They will call restaurants for reservations on request.

Bottom line: We’ll be back. We loved it here and we feel fortunate to have found Ocean Club West.

Tips: Ask for a room on the top floor! Rent a car (and stay on the left) it makes getting around much easier. Snorkel at both Coral Gardens and Smith’s Reef (bring your own gear). The nearby grocery store, Graceway Gourmet, is convenient and has everything you need. Have a Turk’s Head for me!

Room Tip: Request a room on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ocean Club West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Club West

Also Known As:
Ocean Club West Hotel Providenciales
Ocean Club West Hotel
Ocean Hotel Providenciales
Ocean Hotel West
Ocean Club West Turks Caicos
Ocean Club West Turks And Caicos/Providenciales
Address: Ocean Club Resorts, Providenciales
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Turks and Caicos > Providenciales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Providenciales
#20 Luxury Hotel in Providenciales
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Providenciales
#26 Romantic Hotel in Providenciales
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ocean Club West 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ocean Club Resorts is comprised of two beachfront properties, Ocean Club and Ocean Club West, located one mile apart on stunning Grace Bay Beach. The intimate resorts offer a “Stay at one, Play at both” opportunity for guests to enjoy all the services and amenities of both. An easy stroll down a beautiful stretch of beach is the popular way to get between the two resorts, although guests can be chauffeured by a complimentary shuttle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo and Caribbean Online Mgt Corp. so you can book your Ocean Club West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Club West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.