We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Family Vacation with a View!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Club West

Save Saved
You added Ocean Club West to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ocean Club West
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Ocean Club Resorts, Providenciales   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Travel + Leisure Awards
Ranked #29 of 44 hotels in Providenciales
Reading, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic Family Vacation with a View!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We stayed in a 3 bedroom, ocean front property on the third floor. We requested a bed topper in one of the rooms and the bed seemed very comfortable actually. The suite was spacious, each bedroom came equipped with a full bathroom, all beds were very comfortable, and the ocean front screened in porch was absolutely the best. We found the restaurant on the premise to be convenient and tasty! We dined on the beach one night and it was very nice. My husband and his parents chartered a boat one day and the chef at the restaurant on the resort prepared the catch very well for us. It was quite excellent.There are plenty of restaurants within walking distance too. If you travel down the beach, a little ways past the sister hotel, you'll come to a beach front estate equipped with a small reef just off the beach, which is a great little snorkel spot actually, not to mention, a pristine view. I liked this spot even better than Princess Alexandria and we located it by chance during a walk down the beach.We stayed with my parents, my in laws, our 10 year old, and my husband and we all had a great time. The room upgrade to an ocean front property was the best decision for us. I am so glad we decided to upgrade from a garden view to an ocean view. The grocery store was within walking distance. We did chose to rent a van for the week, which was great when we wanted to explore the rest of the island, Chalk Sound (eat at Las Brisas restaurant), The Pot Cake Place, Princess Alexandria, etc. The front desk staff had a nice, "small island" kind of charm. We also noticed this in other locals we encountered off of the resort. Overall, a lovely family vacation- conveniently located with a great beach and ocean.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

512 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    279
    168
    40
    15
    10
See reviews for
157
199
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Midland Park, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

This was our second trip to Provo. Last time we stayed at RWI, which we liked, but figured we'd try something different. We were expecting OCW to be nicer then RWI, but we were pleasantly surprised at how much nicer it was. We had booked a studio suite but we got upgraded to a Junior Suite. The room was on the third floor and had beautiful vaulted ceilings. The suite was much larger than we expected and had a great balcony that overlooked the pool (and the ocean behind that.) The suite had a full kitchen (and the fridge had an ice maker :)), a large bathroom, laundry, and living room area. The balcony was fully screened and had a small dining table and two chaise lounges.

We had two minor issues with the room, but both were fixed immediately by the staff. Overall the staff was very helpful with anything we asked. (We used them to book our dinner reservations and arrange for taxis.) The house keeping was great, both in the suite and outside.

The location of the resort is great, with many things in walking distance. The supermarket is about a 5-10 minute walk. The prices are high, but expected on TCI. We brought some food from home (cereal, popcorn, granola bars, coffee) and bought other items for lunch. We mostly ate breakfast and lunch in the room, which helped to keep the costs down.
Also across the street was the Caicos Bakery, which we went to most afternoons for a snack.

Overall the resort was quiet and relaxing. We never had a problem getting chairs and umbrella's at the beach. Grace Bay is beautiful and everyone was really nice. There were a few people selling water activities on the beach, but they would only ask you once a day if you wanted anything, after that left you alone. There was zero pressure from them.

We did use the taxis to go out to dinner a few times, and they are slow and safe, but expensive. Next time we go back, we'll probably rent a car for the week. We did rent a car for 24 hours and used it drive to snorkeling spots. (The reef by Coral Gardens is great.)

We ate at several different spots, all of which were nice. I'll do separate reviews of them.

Room Tip: The third floor room was great because of the vaulted ceilings and better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We booked a two bedroom suite figuring to get a kitchen/dining area/ sitting area with two bedrooms off of it. We got a huge upstairs/downstairs with full kitchen, two balconies, three TVs (it was shark week ;-) and plenty of space for 4 adults. Great view overlooking the pool with the ocean across the way. Check in was smooth. Even though we were early for the 4:00 check in time, we dropped out bags and went to the pool bar/grill.

Rooms were very clean, and housekeeping came every day to freshen it up. Nice 3-5' pool that winds around the sitting area, not your usual big rectangle. Awesome beach with plenty of chairs and umbrellas.

Guys on the beach selling parasailing, paddle boarding, etc. would ask once and be on their way with a "have a great day". No high pressure aggravation like other places we've been.

Walking distance to shopping and eating area, and central to all areas of the island.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

This is a review for the Ocean Club West property in Providenciales, TCI.

We spent eight nights in Provo in Late May/early June to celebrate a birthday. We looked at several options for lodging because we were on a bit of a budget. Ultimately, after looking at a number of the standard travel sites and rentals by owner sites (as well as TripAdvisor), we chose OCW. We chose based on reviews, pictures and pricing.

We booked a Junior Suite with an Ocean View which is basically a large open floor plan room with a king size bed, a living room area and a kitchen with a bathroom (of course). Check in initially went smoothly and we were placed in a second floor room a couple of buildings (Sea Drift) back. We were not however happy with our initial room, it smelled a little musty and the refrigerator leaked because of some sort of ice buildup problem. The view and the porch, however, were spectacular. Regardless, we asked for a change of room. We were immediately accommodated with a better room in a building (Sea Fan) a bit further back on the third floor. We still had a good view (resort and ocean) and our room was perfect, everything was current (fridge, décor…). We were very happy. Both rooms had Wi-Fi, flat screen televisions with DVD, dishwashers and dishes and washer/drier combinations in the room. Both had the most amazing screened porches.

The property itself is situated right on Grace Bay with a wide beach (maybe the best part of Grace Bay). It’s convenient to most of the restaurants and a grocery store. There is a pool (which just seemed boring compared to the ocean right next to it). The grounds are clean and very well kept. It is safe.

There is a restaurant, Seaside Café, on the property which is okay. We ate there several times because it was convenient. Try the conch salad. The brownie with ice cream was not good.

The front desk staff was, in general, very helpful. They will call restaurants for reservations on request.

Bottom line: We’ll be back. We loved it here and we feel fortunate to have found Ocean Club West.

Tips: Ask for a room on the top floor! Rent a car (and stay on the left) it makes getting around much easier. Snorkel at both Coral Gardens and Smith’s Reef (bring your own gear). The nearby grocery store, Graceway Gourmet, is convenient and has everything you need. Have a Turk’s Head for me!

Room Tip: Request a room on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

we loved staying in a 2/3 first floor beachfront condo (w/screened in porch) at Ocean Club West - stunning beach, plenty of chairs and umbrellas set up for us steps away on the white sand beach, nice pool, good food at Seaside Restaurant onsite, no hassles anywhere. The housekeeping brought more towels than we needed and the condo had everything we needed, almost like a hotel w/extras like shampoo plus washer/dryer & hair dryers! We were able to walk everywhere but a couple of restaurants and boat launch site (Blue Haven marina) and really enjoyed the gourmet grocery store nearby with all our favorite gluten-free, dairy-free, healthy food - even a breakfast bar and great coffee! It is all expensive here, but we snacked from our groceries to save $ for dinners and for more guava dacquiris from the Seaside restaurant at the Ocean Club West! It's quieter & more relaxing here than busy Beaches w/their music & crowds jumping on and off boats - go here if quieter is more your speed...our teenager liked it fine & jogged down the beach daily, even snorkeling off the beach a little bit.

Room Tip: LOVED our 2/3 1st floor beachfront/poolfront condo in Sea Angel bldg near the restaurant, the beach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIckory, NC
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

We just got back from OCW and really liked the property. I appreciated they provided beach towels at the pool, so you don't have to bring you own. If you ask for a grocery cart at the front desk, you can haul your groceries back from the Grace Bay Gourmet very easily. The restaurant on the property is good, a great place to watch the sun go down. Be sure to stop by the french pastery shop across the street, the owner is delightful, and the pasteries amazing. We rented a car from Grace Bay rentals and were really glad we did, it made exploring the island easy and inexpensive. We also used OCW's bikes, the staff was very helpful. We had a problem with our room which was addressed immediately, we were really impressed.

Room Tip: Third floor rooms have beautiful ceilings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicktown
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

My Boyfriend and I spent week at Ocean Club West the first week of July 2013. The Beach and water are just absolutely gorgeous! I would say Grace bay is one of the most beautiful beaches I have been at. What I enjoyed about Ocean Club is you do not have to fight the crowds, never a problem finding a beach chair or a chair by the pool. The pool was lovely and never overcrowded. The staff was friendly and helpful, rooms were clean, although somewhat outdated. Unfortunately from our room we did not have a view of the ocean or pool, but it was quiet we did not hear a lot of noise. We did not spend a lot of time in the room anyway. It was only a short walk to the downtown shops and we also rode a bicycle one day, so you don't really need to rent a car. But we did decide to rent a car anyway as we wanted to check out some restaurants, beaches and views! It was actually very easy to get around and we were able to see so much! You must check out Sapadilla Bay, gorgeous! Then checkout Bugaloos, so much fun and try the cracked conch! I would say our favorite restaurant thou was Hemingways! I could go on and on, but I have to say the food is very expensive, expect to pay twice what you pay in the states. I enjoyed myself emenecly, but would do all inclusive next time. If you like crowds, children and lots of activities choose Beaches though.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ocean Club West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Club West

Address: Ocean Club Resorts, Providenciales
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Turks and Caicos > Providenciales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Providenciales
#20 Luxury Hotel in Providenciales
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Providenciales
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ocean Club West 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ocean Club Resorts is comprised of two beachfront properties, Ocean Club and Ocean Club West, located one mile apart on stunning Grace Bay Beach. The intimate resorts offer a “Stay at one, Play at both” opportunity for guests to enjoy all the services and amenities of both. An easy stroll down a beautiful stretch of beach is the popular way to get between the two resorts, although guests can be chauffeured by a complimentary shuttle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Travelocity and BookIt.com so you can book your Ocean Club West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Club West Hotel Providenciales
Ocean Hotel Providenciales
Ocean Hotel West
Ocean Club West Turks Caicos
Ocean Club West Turks And Caicos/Providenciales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Club West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.