We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the Best resorts on the Island” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Club West

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Ocean Club West to your Saves list
Ocean Club West
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Ocean Club Resorts, Providenciales   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Travel + Leisure Awards
Ranked #29 of 44 Hotels in Providenciales
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“One of the Best resorts on the Island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

This resort is perfectly situated, right in the heart of Grace Bay. You don't need to rent a car if you stay here because you are in the centre of it all. Restaurants, bakery, bars, grocery store, car rentals - its all close by. The resort is also resonably priced to be in the mid range of most of the other condos or resorts. Turks & Caicos is not a cheap island for most things, so this resort is a perfect compromise between luxury and not so nice accomodations. There is always plenty of towels for the beach or pool, the staff is pretty friendly, and there are enough amenities like tennis court and gym to get the mix of vacation getaway and physical activity. Its only a 3 floor building, and none of them have elevators but the resort is never crowded. In December we had the pool to ourselves many days. Resort is well kept and the restaurant is more than suitable if you need to have something. You can't beat the value at Ocean Club West.

Room Tip: You want to pay the extra money for an ocean and or poolside view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    291
    169
    41
    16
    10
See reviews for
167
202
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Morristown, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We recently returned from our second stay at Ocean Club West, to which we traveled with our extended family. The resort is convenient for those traveling with children as the accommodations are set up apartment-style. These apartments are privately owned and then rented by the Ocean Club Resorts company. The beach is breathtaking, the people friendly, and we felt safe (in comparison to some other sketchy Caribbean islands...). For the most part, the owners at the resort were tolerant of our crazy kids, who loved to run back and forth between the beach and the pool. The Seaside Cafe is very convenient for good food and great drinks. You can definitely acquire more luxury in T&C, but OCW is nestled at the far end (opposite end as Beaches Resort) of the beach next to the Grace Bay Club and we felt secluded and comfortable. Each building has three floors, so be mindful of slippery stairs and the possibility of smokers below if you choose to stay on the top floor. We liked staying on the third floor because the noise is limited and the breeze was refreshing (but the stairs sometimes got tough carrying a heavy 19-month-old...small price to pay in paradise!). The airport is not a fun experience...get there early on departure day. Shop at Graceway Gourmet and be sure to visit the bakery across the street from the hotel. Caicos Cafe and Coyaba are phenomenal restaurants that are short walks from the hotel. I would recommend OCW wholeheartedly and cannot wait to return to T&C!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Let me start of by saying that we are a family of three (2, 3, and 9) and about 30 weeks pregnant at time of travel. Super active family with fitness and swimming. For ten years we have been exploring the hot spots on the planet with Children and look for specific things associated with travelling with Children, young children. Every year seems to bring another family member so next year is Bora Bora before I have too many kids and it becomes unaffordable:)

This place was excellent. This is our second time Back to Turks and it is like our version of "Cancun" being a relatively quick and easy getaway from Calgary Alberta. However, Turks is much better than Mexico obviously with way less smoking and way more access to a peaceful retreat with close shopping facilities to get quality materials for preparing food for the family.

Ocean Club West was excellent for us. I had read a lot of reviews here both good and bad and am thankful for both because it allowed me to contact Ocean Club West and at least request something a little fitting. I believe Location to be everything in a resort. From the Feedback on travel advisor, I reuqested a third floor (Strictly NON smoking) and if possible and I did not want to be close to noise like cars or pumps or mechanical noise. The Management at Ocean Club was able to satisfy my requests perfectly. We ended up in B building which was perfect to me. The Beach front (Building A) seemed too close to the restaurant and Pool pumps. I was overjoyed to not be around any smoking as far as my balcony and smokers below. There seemed to be some people who smoked on their balconies and that would have been a drag for us but I am not sure Ocean Club West can control that because some of the units are VRBO. But that would have been a real problem for me. As it is, Turks does not attract a certain invasion of people who wish to live off a buffet and chain smoke as it seems mostly like a healthy retirement community not including the Club Med Beach area where people are definitely filling their bellies and smoking as it is obvious by the obesity.

I would say that this resort is very peaceful and relaxing place. I tell most people to stay away from turks as far as a party desitination because it is quiet which is probably why I love it and I love that food is so expensive because it is neat to have to be smart with Food Selection. For 9 days we spent about 1200 on Food for the whole family including wine and beer but it was super quality food. W eused the restaurant a few times and the food quality was great and the staff was veryy accomodating to people's special request as I saw a few people talking with the cooks about particulars and they were really nice about it.

Lastly, I love when stuff works. I know I have read some reviews where things did not work. but the unit we stayed in was amazingly kept. Everything worked and that is a nice change from previous resorts where something wasn't working. I saw the Shared BBQ's being cleaned a few times and they were doing a very detailed job. Every screen on the window was intact and looked very new and that is the stuff that is important on the surface. The third floor was definitely the place to be for our family. We love doing stairs and getting the blood flowing but the vaulted ceilings really made it feel like a big place. I would not choose any other room going back to this place except the opposing side same room. I think that is building G? great tennis courts with nice equipment to borrow. The bikes on the different resorts in town seem a bit weak and worse for wear but they get you to the grocery store.

There are no set children's activities so you need to be prepared. We brought are own snorkelling stuff and tennis equipment for the 2 and 3 year old.

Anyway, we will return to Ocean Club West for certain as a standard place in those years where we just cannot make anything exotic happen.

Hope this Helps

Room Tip: Building B was awesome. 3rd Floor is nice with vaulted ceilings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We just got back from our 4th stay at OCW. We stayed in a beautiful 2 bedroom oceanfront room on the 3rd floor. This was our first visit in February. We usually come in December. The beach was a bit more crowded. Dare I say that we had to put towels on our chairs to hold our spot on the beach. That never happens in December. Was a bit disappointed that the onsite Conch Bar had been incorporated into the seaside restaurant. We only ate there our first night. Great meals at Coco Bistro, Bay Bistro, Las Brisas (Chalk Sound), Da Conch Shack and Caicos Cafe. Don't forget fresh croissants at the Caicos Bakery across the street. All in all, easy breezy, sums it up. We will be back again next year!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champaign, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Just returned from our 4th time at Ocean Club West. The addiion of the restaurant seating closer to the beach was a happy surprise! My husband and I love to stay here because of the friendly staff and great condos. The grounds always look great, even at night with the lights around the trees.
We have stayed in 3 different condos at Ocean Club West and all have been great. The Jr. Suites are great for couples who don't need a seperate bedroom. This time we stayed in a 1 bedroom, which I liked also.
The beach is always well maintained and the new umbrellas were very nice. Anyone would love this place!

Room Tip: Decent views even from the buildings farthest from the beach!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

I've stayed at OCW at least five times, and they never disappoint. The best for a thoroughly stress-free vacation.Less than 4 hours non-stop from Boston. Located on one of the most beautiful beaches in the world, the resort offers meticulously maintained, fully equipped condos. There's an excellent grocery store within walking distance. We don't bother renting a car. If you don't feel like cooking in or on the outdoor grills poolside, there's an excellent outdoor (partially covered) on-site restaurant on the beach that serves breakfast, lunch and dinner.Their grouper in red curry sauce is superb. There are also growing numbers of excellent island restaurants for dining out. The front desk staff is very knowledgeable, friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: I am unable to delete rating for room service above (there is none).
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

This was our fourth time at this property --
PROS: Very good property. Units and property in general very well maintained. We have stayed in Jr Suite, one bedroom, and two bedroom units - all well furnished and well equipped. Family friendly. Staff very pleasant and helpful. The beach is the biggest and best I have ever encountered. Seaside Cafe is vey convenient and food is quite good. Open from eary AM to late evening. A new dining deck overlooking the beach is very nice. A number of very good restaurants very handy. Front desk helpful with dinner reservations. Bakery and Graceway grocery handy and good.
CONS:
Airport is awful. Arrival not too bad, but departure is painful. So painful that we do not intend to return until it is expanded.
I reserved 4 units for our family. The details got badly mangled.
Also, they will not give specific unit or even building confirmation until you arrive. Frustrating.
Do not accept American Express. Annoying -- another barrier to our returning.

Room Tip: Buildings B, D and E are best -- but they will not guarantee any building or unit. Top floor (third...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ocean Club West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Club West

Address: Ocean Club Resorts, Providenciales
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Turks and Caicos > Providenciales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Providenciales
#20 Luxury Hotel in Providenciales
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Providenciales
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ocean Club West 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ocean Club Resorts is comprised of two beachfront properties, Ocean Club and Ocean Club West, located one mile apart on stunning Grace Bay Beach. The intimate resorts offer a “Stay at one, Play at both” opportunity for guests to enjoy all the services and amenities of both. An easy stroll down a beautiful stretch of beach is the popular way to get between the two resorts, although guests can be chauffeured by a complimentary shuttle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and BookIt.com so you can book your Ocean Club West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Club West Hotel Providenciales
Ocean Hotel Providenciales
Ocean Hotel West
Ocean Club West Turks Caicos
Ocean Club West Turks And Caicos/Providenciales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Club West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.