We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OCW is a great choice!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Club West

Save Saved
You added Ocean Club West to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ocean Club West
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Ocean Club Resorts, Providenciales   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
25% off room rate
Ranked #29 of 44 hotels in Providenciales
NYC Metro
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“OCW is a great choice!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

We just returned from nine days at Ocean Club West (OCW). During our stay we found that OCW was by far nicer than OCE. So if you are trying to decide between the two, I suggest going with OCW. We took the complimentary shuttle to OCE for dinner twice and I was amazed at the nicer feel, grounds, and pool of OCW and felt we made the right choice. In fact, we often saw the shuttle dropping people off at our property from OCE to spend the day at our pool. The cafe on sight at both hotels was good, but I have to say the dinners at OCW were delicious, a bit more gourmet in nature, and it was a nice spot to sit and enjoy the sunset.

When staying at OCW, you are within walking distance to Caicos Cafe (very good for dinner), Coco Bistro (pricey but worth the dinner), the French Bakery (great for snacks or a light breakfast), the IGA Grocery Store, and even the Avis Rental center. My family and I even walked the 1-2 or so miles along the beach to Hemingway's Restaurant at the Sands Hotel one night. From that walk I realized that OCW really does have one of the nicest spots on Grace Bay Beach. Once you round "the point" on the beach south of Ocean Club West, the area between hotel and sea becomes smaller and beach chairs are more crowded together. Not the case at the beach near OCW, which is wide with plenty of room for people, chairs, walking, etc. Even though we were there during part of the July 4th holiday, there was never an issue finding a spot on the beach or at the pool. In fact, many times we had our "section" of the pool to ourselves. The pool has an island set in the middle of it with barbecue grills, a gazebo, and some chairs. So it really has an intimate feel when you are in a part of the pool where no one else is hanging out.

Since we rented our unit from VRBO I cannot say much about the hotel experience itself. There were several water outages while we were there. The first two times it was only for an hour and not much of a nuisance. The third time it began at 10 p.m. and carried through to 6 p.m. the next day. This was a nuisance because we couldn't flush the toilet or wash up. In fact, while we sat at the pool for an hour the day of the water outage, we witnessed more than 15 individual people come off the beach and rinse themselves or their feet off in the pool, since the beach side showers had no water. While this is not a direct fault of the hotel, I felt the hotel should have provided a water system down by the beach for rinsing. This caused the pool to become very cloudy and unappealing. The next day I saw several men working hard to rectify the gross pool situation, but it was dissapointing and I was glad to be leaving.

Overall though, OCW is a nice, quiet and friendly place to stay. I've read in other reviews where people claim the women who work at the resort are not friendly. This is the complete opposite of what we found. Offering someone a smile and a hello, we always received one in return. Many of the people who work on TCI aren't even from TCI. We found the majority of people orginated from the Domincan Republic, Haiti or Jamaica.

Dining is expensive overall, and so is grocery shopping, particularly since a 10% tax is added to everything consumable. But we alleviated some of that by bringing a carry on with snacks, cereal and other goodies we didn't want to have to buy on arrival. It was nice to have a simple breakfast or light lunch on our front porch each day and then splurge a bit for dinner.
We were pleased with our experience and would recommend OCW to friends and other people with small children. Our 3 year old daughter enjoyed the pool and beach very much. There were many families there with kids 12 and under and yet it never was loud or crowded.

We did rent a car for two days which allowed us some exploration. We found Sapodilla Bay which was absolutely beautiful and perfect for a toddler because of the shallow water. We also went to eat at the Turtle Cover Marina, which wasn't impressive. We could have had just as good, if not a better meal at the Seaside Cafe or another restaurant near OCW.

Bottom line, we will return and just hope for no water outages this time. It was worth the money and way better than staying at a "cattle call" type of all-inclusive place.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

517 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    284
    168
    40
    15
    10
See reviews for
160
200
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

Ok, so the resort is not the nicest as far as all of the resorts on the island, and I don't mean that as a negative. There are places around it that are extremely high end but the cost is also very high compared to OCW. The facility is kept up very well, nothing was run down and the grounds were immaculate, just like the other resorts. Main difference is this one is 3 stories and some of the newer one's are 7 stories and have italian marble. This place is perfect for families. The location is ideal and I mean central to Grace bay beach. The grocery store is a 10 minute slow walk away. Lots of shopping is 5 minutes away. All of the restaurants that are rated high on the island a 5 minutes away walking. We stayed in a beach front room on the 3rd floor and the view was great of the beach. We ate on the porch every morning and listened to the the waves hit the beach (screened in so no bugs). The rooms were nice and the beds slept great. Nice TV's and free DVD's at the front lobby. They had what seemed to be an endless supply of towels by the beach. Complementary umbrellas and chairs by the beach were very nice. I hate going to resorts that charge you to use these. They also had free bikes to use including kids. Housekeeping changes everyday so if you tip, you need to remember that. They even did the dishes! Pool is nice and relaxing. Something always goes wrong on a trip, so here it is. The main water line broke the day we arrived. The entire resort was without water for about 18 hours or so. The resort refunded everyone a full day and provided drink coupons for the cafe. They also brought everyone 2 gallons of spring water to use. Yes it was miserable for a little while because kids have to go to the bathroom, but I thought they handled it very well. You didn't have to ask for a free night, they just did it. We will definitely stay here on our next trip without question and will pick the beachfront again, it is so worth the extra!

Room Tip: Pick the beachfront rooms and top floor. they are the ones that have the best direct view of the be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Texas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

We booked this trip extremely last minute, needing a break and not wanting to spend an arm and a leg as we usually do on vacations. Upon entering the lobby for check in, I was afraid we had made a mistake, it could use some serious updating. The lobby made me feel like I was renting an 80's rental car, rather than checking into a hotel. Thank goodness that was not the case with the rest of our experience here.

The good: the rooms are enormous!!! We were in a one bedroom suite and it was far larger than most one bedroom apartments. Full kitchen, dining area with a table large enough for 6 or 7 people and a bar area for two more, two bathrooms, expansive living area and porches. Washer and dryer, plenty or dresser and cabinet space. The grounds of the hotel are well kept and very lush. The restaurant on site is very good, a casual poolside cafe with pool area type furniture, could maybe use a bit of an update itself, but the food was great! The pool is large and there are plenty of areas to sit, with a gazebo with two really nice gas grills for guest use. The location is wonderful as there is so much within walking or biking distance, as they have bikes up front that guests are free to take at their leisure. By far the best thing about this place is its beach! The beach in front of the hotel is fabulous! We walked all the way down Grace Bay (about an hour walk one way) and didn't see any hotels with a better beach. Its the largest, cleanest, best appointed (plenty of chairs and umbrellas, even low sitting chairs you can take down to the water to relax in) beach on Grace Bay. The beach at "Beaches" was downright disappointing compared to OCW. It's seriously reason enough to stay here.

The Bad: The lobby as I stated before is in dire need of an update. Another thing is that the place is quiet, I enjoy peaceful relaxing quiet, but this place was in a way, too quiet. The restaurant doesn't have music playing most of the time, I could hear the cook's radio and wanted to ask him to turn it up so we could enjoy it. The lobby and common areas are all pin drop silent, which makes it feel kinda dead. I think this place would feel much more lively and more inviting with some light calypso wafting through the grounds. The rooms, while large and well appointed, could also use some updating furnishing and decor wise. It's very 90's beach house with lots of pastels and light wood. Each unit is individually owned, but we saw three different rooms and they were all similarly decorated, some of the color schemes were different, but all still needed updating. The pool is also kinda scuzzy. I realize it's hard to keep a pool next to the ocean sparkling blue, but there is a very slight green tint to the pool here. The kiddos didn't care, but I think they could maybe use a resurfacing or a new pump system. It wasn't dirty, they cleaned it regularly, so nothing to worry about health wise, just kinda dingy. While not a problem for us, the buildings are all three stories high with no elevators, which might be a problem for people needing asistance. I reccomend the third story units because they have high ceilings and the views are better!

Overall, this is a good little place to stay with a nice family feel. Its wonderful for families with kids or anyone looking for a more casual, atmosphere that is much easier on the budget. We had meals at each of the next door hotels (Grace Bay Resort and Seven Stars) which were both beautiful and probably more our style aesthetically, but they didn't have the relaxed, casual feel that OCW does.

Room Tip: Go for the one bedroom or two bedroom suite for everything you need! Third floors have the best view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Ocean Club West is a lovely resort, set on the beach in Providenciales. grace Bay Beach is amazing. OCW seems to be larger than Ocean Club East (which looked to be more hotel-type rooms, rather than apartment-type condos). OCW is also closer to the main shopping and dining areas.

The grounds are very tropical, with a large pool at the center of the property. There were BBQ grills available for use, and the resort seems child-friendly (lots of families with kids when we visited).

Our room was nice, though not plush. My impression is that these are individually owned condos, so that the decor might be different in each one. We could see into some on the first floor and they looked different than the room we stayed in.

The room was spacious, with a living room area, and large screened in patio. It also had a full kitchen and small washer/dryer.

There were some problems with the room. The bed caved in the center and we both woke up in the middle of the bed. The first night we were exhausted so didn't notice as much. The second night it was horrible, but we don't like to complain, so we didn't say anything to staff. After the 3rd night, my husband looked under the bed, only to discover the frame was completely bent out of shape and there were cinder blocks holding up the box spring. Even then, we figured someone knew about the bed and this fix (although ineffective) was the result. But when we came back from a rained-out snorkel trip to huge puddles in the middle of the room, and an extremely leaky roof, we had to say something. To the staff's credit, within an hour the puddles were cleaned up and they sent maintenance with a new bed frame. I am not sure the roof was fixed while we were still there - we didn't see/hear anyone. Luckily the rain stopped. I still think that there never should have been cinder blocks under the bed and it should have been fixed properly in the first place, but the lesson: if something is wrong, tell them right away.

The resort also have bicycles for use. My husband and I bike regularly at home, so we took the bikes all around the island. There are wide sidewalks and it's easy to bike. Several miles from the resort, my husband's back bike wheel fell off. We were just on our way down a hill. If it had come off while we were actually full speed, he could have been thrown from the bike and been seriously hurt. We were simply lucky he wasn't going full-speed and he knew how to fix it (and the people at the TCSPCA were kind enough to loan us some tools to do so). If you use a bike, check it thoroughly before you ride and make sure everything is tightly screwed in!

We enjoyed our trip and I would recommend the place, but be sure to speak up if something goes wrong.

Side note: The Turks and Caicos Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals (http://tcspca.tc/) and Potcake Place (http://www.potcakeplace.com/) are animal rescue organizations on the island. Aside from needing donations, they need volunteers willing to take puppies back to the U.S. with them to get them to new or foster homes. They provide all you need to transport the puppy (in-cabin with you, under your seat - on occasion, they have larger dogs in crates that need to be shipped). Someone from the organization will meet you at the airport with all the paperwork, and they pay the animal transport fees. When you arrive at your destination, a representative will pick up the dog. We volunteered but they didn't have any dogs who needed to go where we were flying on the date we left. But it's an easy way to help!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fyrmedic510
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

Stayed here for 8 nights. We rented a private condo through VRBO. It was a great stay, and we had a great time. We were in a studio, with a decent sized bathroom, full size fridge, 2 burner stove making a "kitchenette". It was perfect sized for 2 people. The large screened in porch/ lanai was great, and a perfect place to dine, relax, or just hang out. Made for a perfect honeymoon.

As for the resort, we loved it. The beach, we felt, was in the best part of Grace Bay. It was the perfect size and we never felt cramped, or had to compete for chairs or umbrellas. The water is perfect in front of here, and plenty of room to relax. Other parts of Grace Bay had much narrower beaches, with very little room to stretch out. If you head to the western end, the beach is really narrow, and you have a lot of grass/ seaweed about 20 yards from shore. Making the swimming area much smaller. And they seem like they are pricier resorts.

Seaside cafe is nice for breakfast or lunch. We did not have dinner here, but works for b-fast or lunch. The bar is great, with moderately strong drinks, at average prices for Provo. Good views from the restaurant.

We spent most of our time on the beach. It was super nice. We did use the "pool" at night. I feel this is the most lacking area of OCW. The "pool" is more like a lazy river, with not much pool. But it worked perfect for enjoying a cocktail and hanging in the water. It was nice in the evening or night time. But we preferred he beach. Would have been nice to have a larger pool to use.

Overall, we felt this was a perfect place to stay on Grace Bay if you are more of a "budget" minded person. We didn't have a ton of money to spend and this fit the bill. Don't expect a boutique resort that caters to your every need. There are plenty of those around the island. This is a very friendly place, friendly staff, with the best part of Grace Bay beach there is. Good for a honeymoon, family or anywhere in between.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

We stayed for a week in late June. Two adults and a ten year old. We took full advantage of the great beach, pool and tennis courts. We were not looking for an adventure holiday and stayed within a few kilometres of the resort - just visiting nearby cafes, grocery and ice cream stores.

Just snorkeling off the beach we saw several star fish, sand dollars and tropical fish cruising in and out of the swimming area. The beach is fantastic for novice swimmers getting used to ocean swimming.

Condo was well stocked and very comfortable. And the grounds always look amazing - Highly recommend.

Room Tip: We liked being on the third floor back from the pool - still ocean view but quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

Our first visit to OCW and T&C. We rented a 2 bedroom unit with an ocean view. The 3rd floor unit was very nice, clean, and well spaced. Once bedroom had a King bed in it, very comfortable. The only problem with the room was that the air conditioning did not work in the bedroom, so the nights got hot. We did not report this, as it wasn't worth loosing beach time. The second bedroom was upstairs and had 2 twin beds. As we had 2 "adult" children with us, it ended up that the twins were too small for our son, who ended up sleeping on the pull out couch in the living area each night.

Our unit was one of the farthest back from the beach, but wasn't that far from the beach. So you don't have to worry about being too far away. The 2nd and 3rd floor units all exit away from the pool, and the 1st floor units exit toward the pool, if this is something that is important to you. The pool was very nice, although very warm. Being a large circle with an island in the middle, it gave the illusion of privacy, which was very nice. The beach was AMAZING. really. White, fine sandy beach. 3 rows of chairs with table and umbrellas, and then more beach toward the water. Lovely. The water was AMAZING. really. Turquoise, perfect refreshing temperature (colder than the pool), gradual walk-in area, no huge tows, and only friendly fish to swim with. I saw some people stay in the water for 5 hours straight.

The restaurant, was a pleasant surprise. I didn't expect great food, but the food was very good, every meal-fish and chips was wonderful. The deck seating area overlooking the ocean was a wonderful breakfast spot and any other meal. We ate 1/2 our breakfasts and lunches there, mostly due to convenience and quality. The only downside to the restaurant/bar at all was the waitstaff. The whole week I was there, only once did someone ask me if I wanted a drink as I sat by the pool or the ocean.They could have been making a lot more money if they had! Especially since the cheapest drink appeared to be $7.

We did rent a car and are glad we did. It was $30 round trip to the airport per person. So $120 just to get the hotel and back to the airport. the car (teeny tiny one) cost $266 for the week, and gave us the flexibility to try out restaurants and activities all over the island. Our extended group wanted to try Da Conch Shack one night, but is was going to be $120 for them to get a cab, so we decided to go local instead.

Food was at least twice the cost here in the US, but it is cheaper than eating out for all meals. The grocery store was actually very nice and had a great selection of foods, even a birthday cake! (which was 3 times the price here)

The staff at the hotel were all very friendly and helpful. We did rent an ocean kayak and paddle board at Ocean club. The rate was $25 an hour. We also went parasailing at $75 a person for 20 minutes in the air. My favorite excursion was a trip to Iguana Island, snorkeling, and then to wonderful deserted stretch of island, covered with shells. It was beautiful!

Overall, I think OCW was a good to great value, great location, and would love to go back!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ocean Club West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Club West

Address: Ocean Club Resorts, Providenciales
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Turks and Caicos > Providenciales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Providenciales
#20 Luxury Hotel in Providenciales
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Providenciales
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ocean Club West 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ocean Club Resorts is comprised of two beachfront properties, Ocean Club and Ocean Club West, located one mile apart on stunning Grace Bay Beach. The intimate resorts offer a “Stay at one, Play at both” opportunity for guests to enjoy all the services and amenities of both. An easy stroll down a beautiful stretch of beach is the popular way to get between the two resorts, although guests can be chauffeured by a complimentary shuttle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Travelocity and BookIt.com so you can book your Ocean Club West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Club West Hotel Providenciales
Ocean Hotel Providenciales
Ocean Hotel West
Ocean Club West Turks Caicos
Ocean Club West Turks And Caicos/Providenciales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Club West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.