We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay at the Sands!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sands at Grace Bay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sands at Grace Bay to your Saves list
Sands at Grace Bay
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Grace Bay | PO Box 681, Providenciales   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Providenciales #1
Ranked #26 of 44 Hotels in Providenciales
Queens, NY
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great stay at the Sands!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2007

My boyfriend and I had the BEST time in Turks and the entire staff at the Sands treated us extremely well. The turndown service was excellent, the rooms sanitary, and the food at Hemingway's was NEVER a disappointment. We played tennis on the courts and borrowed bikes to explore the island. With all the construction in the area, we hope it does not become another Atlantis. We will certainly return for another stay at the Sands.

  • Liked — Food at Hemingway's
  • Disliked — Lack of nightlife (not hotel's fault)
  • Stayed May 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    584
    415
    78
    38
    20
See reviews for
299
529
18
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (308)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Blowing Rock, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2007

The Sands needs a bit of updating to keep up with all of the new properties since my last visit four years ago, but overall is still a nice place to stay. Our unit had no kitchen, so make sure you get one if you do not want to eat out all of the time which is expensive. The grounds are pretty. My major complaint is the brusqueness of the help at the restaurant, Hemingways - definitely not U.S. service or value.

Stayed March 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TN
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2007

We stayed at the Sands for 3 nights in March and loved it! My only regret is that we didn't stay longer. I called the day before we left to arrange a pickup at the airport and sure enough, a driver was awaiting us after we cleared customs. We arrived the resort at 2:30 and were happy to learn that our room was ready for us. Our room was bigger than I imagined , but it was a little outdated. Baseboards needed a good cleaning and the bathroom needed some updating, but we weren't on vacation to stay in our room! We had a small kitchenette (refrigerator, microwave, sink, coffee maker, etc) and saved lots of money by stocking up on food for breakfast and lunch at the IGA. Although the food isn't super cheap at the IGA, it's significantly less expensive than the restaurants and the small convenience store at the resort.

Grace Bay was gorgeous with white sand and beautiful, clear water. We highly recommend renting a mask, snorkel, and fins and walking 25-30 minutes down the beach to Coral Garden to snorkel. We saw several barracudas, lots of parrot fish, a starfish, a sea turtle, a tuna, and more! We went to Coral Gardens two days in a row and loved it.

We had dinner at Hemingways - very tasty! We loved the ambiance at Coco Bistro but the service was awful. After we were seated, our waitress ignored us for about 15 minutes and we had to ask her for several glasses of wine. I think the poor service has something to do with the fact that a 10% gratuity is already included in the bill. Had dinner our last night at Coyaba... WOW!! The service was perfect and the food was delicious and very creative. You won't be disappointed if you dine at Coyaba!

Highly recommend staying at the Sands! The rooms could use some updating but the grounds and the beach are wonderful.

Stayed March 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2007

We just got back and were very upset with the Sands. The room was not ready until after 5:00 PM and when we finally got to it none of the keys worked. They had to replace the entire lock system on the door. We stayed in unit 3103 which was supposed to be oceanfront but we could only see bushes and the pool area. The screen on the patio door was torn and held up by band aids. The unit was old and not clean. The guest room comment book looks like after 2005 the place started to deteriorate. The staff was not accomodating at all. In fact when they cleaned our rooms each day they would take the towels and wash cloths and not return them. We had to call and call and most nights showered without them!! Apparently when the resort is full they don't have enough so they wash them and then run them back to the rooms as people call. They even ran out of beach towels on our last day. There are much nicer places on the Island to stay than the Sands!

Stayed March 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NH
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2007

Hi all! We stayed at the Sands Feb 25-March 3 and reallly enjoyed it. (full trip report in Turks and Caicos forums)
**Sands room: we were in building 1-room 1102 ocean view-nicely appointed features in bathroom, bed was too firm for me but I slept fine, AC was working properly, everything worked other than closet doors slid off track when we opened them, had ocean view-far away but still pretty-enjoyed the screened in patio; room was kept clean by daily maid service; 2 bottles of water nightly delivered to room-kept them in our freezer in mini fridge to take to beach next day; think they need to update the bed and dresser furniture though.
**Sands resort: beautiful grounds-well kept by staff daily-they were always trimming trees, painting the exterior, etc. Pools were cloudy but seemed mostly clean and were refreshing. Some areas need resurfacing but minor detail I thought. Probably cloudy from people jumping in with sand and suntan lotion all day long (like us). Hot tub we used a few times-first night it was perfect-2nd it was kinda hot-then I had some sunburned areas that don't like the hot water so we didn't go in as much. Hospitality room-smelled funny but was nicely decorated. Wash room downstairs I only used our last day once we had to check out of our room-it was nice and clean and large-smelled funny. We used the free internet access nightly to keep in touch with family and friends at home. It was a nice convenience. Didn't use the fitness room but it looked clean with updated equipment and tv's.
Managers Cocktail party-enjoyed the apps and free liquor-had a couple rum punches and beers-Turks Head lager is good! Cheese, crackers, veg/dip, conch fritters, chips/salsa-this was a night we just ate in our room later and listened to the music poolside that they played for Hemingways. Don't miss this hour 5-6pm on Tues. night!
Found staff to be courteous-we smiled and would say hello and they would do the same. One bartender at Hem'ways had NO personality whatsoever and seemed annoyed that we even sat for a drink but oh well. We're there for us-not for him. Found concierge staff to be nice and helpful. Found Pool hut staff to be friendly and jovial.
Lost power one night for an hour or so. We sat on the balcony. Cute potcake came to visit almost nightly-esp. at cocktail party he had lots of hand outs!
*Food-Hemingways: Lunch okay-preferred Bay Bistro for lunch-ate here 2x. Hubby had burger and I had house salad with grilled chicken which was fresh and delicious ($30). Burger I had at Hemingways was dry and flavorless. Dinner at Hem's-good! We had filet mignon, caesar salad, conch chowder, and NY strip loin, and split fried ice cream ($100 + tip). Enjoyed the atmosphere though it was windy that night. Live music Tues, Thurs, and Fri.
Iguanas: ate here MOn. night for Caribbean buffet $30pp. It was good-not spectacular-enjoyed the sweet chicken, salad, potato salad. Could've ordered off menu for similar prices.
Baci Ristorante: Favorite place (we're not big seafood eaters so we craved italian). Had penne w/vodka sauce and chicken. Hubby had fett. alfredo-we split caesar salad for app, unlimited garlic bread, split B52 cheesecake (YUM) for dessert, had 3 glasses of wine. Bill about $92 +tip. Highlight was the Bull sharks that were next to the glass bottom boat after our meal. Fishermen or someone had cleaned a fish and 2 10 ft sharks were circling! Neat.
IGA: ate breakfast daily in room and made sandwiches for lunch, ate 2 dinners in our room. Bill at IGA was about $62 for pkg of bagels, gallon of water, cream cheese, rolls, sand. meat and cheese, hot dogs, rolls, chips, bottle of soda, Capt. morgan spiced rum was $20 and found a cheap bottle of wine for 8.99. I had brought a lot of snacks from home, cereal, coffee, creamer.
We wanted to eat on a budget and think we did pretty well. Oh and 6 pack of Coors Light was $14.99 and at convenience store at Sands it was $18. Half gallon of milk at conv. store was $4.
Oh yeah: Island Scoop-great homemade ice cream!!!! We went here twice but would've gone more!! Very good and cheap!!
*Land Activities: beach obviously is amazing! Sand is white powder and water is crystal clear and warm!! We swam at the beach and pool. Thought the Sands stretch of beach was trully the best-Beaches area was crowded and more sea grass on the beach in that direction, other end of the beach towards RWI was more narrow and had more waves we thought. Walked to Salt Mills 5 min walk and Ports of Call 10 min walk. Walked to Iguanas 5 min walk (at Salt Mills) and back for dinner one night-went to Danny Buoys for Happy HOur-horrible slow service-but got 4 beers for less than $10 +tip. About 10 people were there. All gift shops we found to be more expensive than any other Caribbean place we've traveled to. We didn't buy anything. Tee shirts were $25 cheapest for plain TCI shirt. Cuban cigars were $35. Wine and Spirits store moved across street from Salt Mills and didn't go there as we had already bought liquor at IGA.
*Tours/Water activites: Did half day J & B tour (booked right at tour excursion desk out by Sands pool-guy was very nice) Native Beach Cruise it was called I think. We LOVED this. It offered a little bit of everything. Took a fun power/motor boat and first stopped to get fins for snorkeling. Stopped for conch diving-hubby was 1st one to find a conch! It was so shallow here though we were worried we'd scrape ourselves and we actually both did-tiny scrape on knee for me and bleeding scrape for hubby. Then snorkeled in 40 ft deep water that was crystal clear!! Saw nice reef and fish! No turtles or sharks. Then went to Pine Cay for sanddollars-found a few way out. Water was super warm here and you could walk out forever! We had conch salad on the beach (tried it for first time though I don't eat seafood esp. raw seafood! It was ok). Also stopped briefly at Iguana iisland-most of us on the boat didn't get off-we saw 3 iguanas on the beach. Total cost of tour was $68pp. We thought it was worth it.
*Walked to Coral Gardens to snorkel-I didn't have fins since we had borrowed families mask and snorkel & had no room to pack fins- I was a little nervous so didn't go out to far-hubby wouldn't go out with me over his head-so I hung around with some other people in the water-think I saw a barracuda and parrot fish and others. No turtles or sharks. Half hour walk down beach from Sands.
*Tips: we used bottled water for our coffee pot each morning-tasted better than the tap water. 4 C coffee maker used #2 cone filters.
Our room had coffee filters and ice packs but you may want to bring your own-don't know if this is standard or not. We also had plenty of silverware, cups, plates, etc. for the 2 of us. Dish soap and sponge was provided. If I didn't do dishes-the maid did. Also 2 packages of laundry detergent to do laundry-we used these at the end of the week to clean clothes before traveling home.
Didn't need bug repellent-did notice some black flies/'no see ums' and a couple mosquitos-but had no bites.
Bring small cooler for beach for food items and drinks-SO glad we did this since others recommended it.
Sands IGA shuttle van was $8pp and left at 9am and 6:30 pm daily.
Taxi to Turtle Cove area was $12 each way +tip.

**Departure: scheduled flight at 3:15. Took Sands shuttle to airport at 12:45-waited a long time in lines for US Air! Finally made it to check in and then waited in line for security checkpoint and immigration-had about an hour to kill when all was said and done and the airport was packed with people. People were sitting on the floor. It had AC but was still kinda hot. OUr flight was late. Others were delayed. The airport also lost power for about 15 min.
***Keep in mind to give yourself a long layover on return flight!! We didn't know we would need to get our baggage after arriving in the states and have it rechecked and then go through security again. We had to run to our flight and almost missed it and lost our luggage!! (Our luggage was delivered a day later to our home) We had an hour layover. It was NOT long enough.
Overall impression: We enjoyed the Sands-if we return to the Turks we will probably use our new time share (we split w/friends so have it once every three years) and stay hopefully at Alexandra or one of the new resorts. There is way too much construction going on right now that we would wait at least a few years to return. But we still thought the beaches and water were beautiful and did not regret coming here. Prices we found to be too expensive for the quality of things but hopefully that will change as more tourists arrive but who knows? Weather was perfect! If I think of anything else I will add it in. We will likely return to Aruba next year again but we will come back in the future! :-) I will hang around this site for awhile yet since I wish we were still back there in that warm weather instead of back in snow, ice, and cold here in New England! :-(

  • Liked — The grounds were very lush and tropical
  • Disliked — walls were somewhat thin-could hear neighbor's babies crying at 5 am
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluffton,South Carolina
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2007

I took my grown son on a long-planned, important get-away vacation to Turks and Caicos and chose the Sands because it seemed to offer comfort with few "distractions" and otherwise promote quality alone-time. Not cheap-I paid $3700 for a 4-day stay.
When we got there, my "request" for a 3rd-floor 2-bdrm. garden-view condo was declined. I wanted some space from kiddies in the garden pool area. They put us in a ground-floor condo, one rm. with a king-sized bed and the other with 2 twins! I was given the royal run-around by front-office staff and only after several hours into their designated condo and many tears later, did the property manager, "Derek" appear to offer apologies for the seeming cluelessness of the front desk people, including the concierage! He didn't change the room, but had housekeeping put the 2 twins together an remake the other bedroom to better accommodate my 6' son. He also issued a $50. gift certificate to the on-site restaurant, Hemingways.

The rest of the short holiday passed pleasantly but I figure that poor management ruined 1/4 of our vacation and I still don't buy their argument that there are no 3rd floor 2-bedroom condo.s, as indicated by our travel agent's connection to the salesperson at Go-Go Vacations.

Stayed January 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new england
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2007

We loved the resort and visited others on our stay to compare and were very pleased we were at the Sands. The turn down service and refreshed room in the evening was excellant. Hemmingways was agreat place to eat and very popular. The island lacks night life and dining is about it. So it was nice to be at a location that had a busy restaurant and there was live music 2 of the evenings. A big plus.

Stayed March 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sands at Grace Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sands at Grace Bay

Address: Grace Bay | PO Box 681, Providenciales
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Turks and Caicos > Providenciales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Providenciales
#15 Spa Hotel in Providenciales
#19 Luxury Hotel in Providenciales
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Providenciales
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sands at Grace Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfect harmony on Grace Bay Beach, Providenciales Experience an earthly wonder of sand and sea at our 114-suite luxury resort on Providenciales, Turks & Caicos Islands, British West Indies. Family-friendly, yet ideally suited for romantic getaways and wedding celebrations, The Sands at Grace Bay offers a harmonious balance of home comforts and sublime Caribbean elegance - as well as a picture perfect location on the sparkling shores of Grace Bay Beach. If you are dreaming of a beach holiday in the Caribbean that gives you the flexibility of having your own fully-equipped suite while enticing you with fine dining, pristine grounds and sigh-inducing vistas, we look forward to welcoming you to The Sands at Grace Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Booking.com, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Sands at Grace Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sands At Grace Bay Hotel Providenciales
Sands At Grace Bay Providenciales
Sands Grace Bay
Sands At Grace Bay Turks And Caicos/Providenciales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sands at Grace Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.