We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Island of Yes” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sands at Grace Bay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sands at Grace Bay to your Saves list
Sands at Grace Bay
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Grace Bay | PO Box 681, Providenciales   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Providenciales #1
Ranked #26 of 44 Hotels in Providenciales
Long Island, NY
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“The Island of Yes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2005

We just got back from 8 days/7 nites at the Sands resort. Two couples went in mid Jan. 05 and we had a wonderful time. The Sands is really nice bec. it is not too crowded. There's only approx. 110 units and the lots on either side of the resort are empty - so that means you have extra beachfront to yourselves! The grounds and pool area are very manicured and beautiful!! The rooms are very nice too - even though we didn't get a screened in porch like we thought we were, it was fine.

Hemingways was a perfect restaurant. Not too fancy, just right. You could have a tasty burger or an elaborate meal - it's up to you. There's also really good restaurants w/in walking distance...Bay Bistro, Bella Luna, 21 North to name a few. I have to say, the food on the island was fabulous!! No restaurant seemed to disappoint! Coming from NY that says alot - we have high expectations and having traveled extensively w/in the states...the food outside of NY is usually suspect. But in Provo - we couldn't find a bad meal!! It was great!!

Why is this the Island of Yes? Bec. no matter what your question or request...the answer was always yes. Can I have a glass of water? Yes. Did I get it?? NO! Can I have some ketchup please? Yes. Never saw it! Is there food served on this day trip to Iguana Island? Yes.
Nope, just some rum punch! Can we have a wake up call at 7:30am? Aboslutely! We never got one...ever!! haha! Does this Gecko bus go to the Conch farm? Yup. No it didn't!!!! After a few days, we stopped getting mad - and just laughed it off! You're on the Island of Yes - just relax and enjoy....no worries, no problems man!! haha!

And NOBODY knows anything about the island there either!! We heard that the population was anywhere from 6,000 people - 20,000!! I read/heard that Grace bay beach went from a low of 3 miles long - to 7 miles long in one place, to a whopping 12 miles long somewhere else!!
Nobody knows....! haha! We asked one cab driver, how long has the Sands been around - he said 12 years. We asked the waitress at Hemingways the next day, the same question - she said 5 years!! Nobody knows!!! It's awesome!!!

The pools at the Sands were ICE COLD!! Not a single person could get in there. And the hot tub was so hot - it could melt your flesh - so forget that! The ocean water, beach, sand was beautiful - when the wind was kicking up to 30 mph!!!
There is NO nightlife there, but Bambooz, Caicos Jack (fri nite) and Danny Buoy's all were low key fun. The complimentary rum swizzle party at the Sands was very nice - and the conch fritters appetizer was delish!!
Oh and be warned: The Sands charges 10%/day to your bill for a tip for the maid - you see that surprise when you check out...but whatcha gonna do - you're on the Island of Yes - so kick back, relax and enjoy!

  • Stayed January 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    585
    415
    78
    38
    20
See reviews for
299
529
18
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (308)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2005

My husband and I just returned from The Sands at Grace Bay. It was wonderful! The staff was very helpful. They recommended restaurants and a car rental for us. Two complaints, the hot tub (Spa) was so hot that many of us ran howling from it. There were two times we actually could get in. When we complained, we were told that many people complain and the engineers could not change it. I think if it were in the US a lawyer would get it changed. My other complaint was the pool was too cold. It was not advertised to be heated so what do you want? The restaurants are very nice. Mostly open air, how pleasant!!! We rented a car after we found out that it would cost about $18. each way to get to Bugaloos. The roads are rough, but it is a great way to see the island. We went where we wanted when we wanted. There are not many road signs, but it is a small island, You can't really get lost. As for restaurants ... We absolutely LOVED Bugaloos for lunch. It is a little building on the beach with FRESH conch that they scoop right out of the ocean. You can get a conch shell there also. They have them eitherr stacked on the beach or you can go a couple of feet into the water and pick on up. Our other favorite restaurant is Coyaba. Very romantic. Excellent food. Of course you will pay for it. It is worth it in my opinion. We also ate at Bay Bistro at Sibonne. We walked along the beach to dinner and walked back. How great is that? We heard not so great things about the consistancy of the food at The Cottage at Grace Bay, so we skipped it. We ate at Magnolia and enjoyed the view as well as the food. We also LOVED a little place called Bonnie's for local conch. Bonnie is in the kitchen and his son Junior is at the bar. They were soooooo nice. We went back several times. You can walk it is so close! We made a good friend there. We also ate at Anacaona. Also very good food. We brought a jacket for my husband. We were told is was required. They changed the dress code to casually elegant. Oh well. I hope this helps your decision. I used trip advisor in planning this vacation and I am so glad that I followed the advise I found here.
Cathy

  • Stayed February 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, VA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2005

January 2005

My wife and I just returned from a wonderful week at the Sands. Our stay there was everything we had hoped, and much more. The staff at the Sands was very friendly, and the hotel grounds were impeccably groomed. Although we had requested a studio room with a garden view, we were given a room with a screened-in porch from which we could see both the ocean and the beautiful gardens. With its white sand and clear turquoise water, the beach at the Sands was the best we have ever been to.

We enjoyed many fabulous meals during our stay in the Providenciales. Hemingways, which is located at the Sands, is excellent. We enjoyed every meal we had there. The restaurant is located right on the beach, and it has a great view. Another local restaurant, Bay Bistro, is just a short walk down the beach from the Sands, and it is also excellent. We enjoyed Bay Bistro so much that we went back again the next night.

Magnolia is a restaurant located at Turtle Cove, and it overlooks the marina. Like most of the other restaurants we visited on Provo, it has most of its seating under the stars. The food at Magnolia was also good, but be sure to check your bill for an item they refer to as add-on, which they explained was a tax. We did not see this add-on at any other Provo restaurants.

We only encountered one problem during our stay at the Sands, and it was with the hotel tour desk. The Sands contracts the tour desk out to another company, and we found that the people were not very knowledgeable about the tours available in Provo. The people working at the tour desk seemed mostly interested in signing you up, and getting a commission.

Should you decide to take a tour or rent a car, my suggestion would be to get a brochure and contact the companies directly. They will pick you up at the Sands, and bring you back. We took the native cruise with J & B. The tour included snorkeling and a conch lunch, which was great.

The worst part of our trip was going home. It was 80 degrees when we left Provo and 15 degrees when we got home. We can not wait to go back!

  • Stayed January 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2005

We just returned from the sands and must say we finally found our paradise (30's couple + 2 yr old daughter). We will be back. The island is not commercial at all and not developed at this stage, which makes it all the better. The Sands have great layout spacious suites, relaxing atmosphere, great genuine service, that enables a great family vaca. The beach is amazing - white powder sands + blue turkoise water, very laid back and not crowded even at the highest peak season. There is only 1 restaurant which is not ideal but food is pretty good. If you are looking for a booz fest and singles scene, Sands (or most resorts on the island) is not for you (only club med possibly). It is a perfect place for a true relaxing time away, to dive, snorkel, read and veg. Very kid friendly but not overdone with kids clubs or events (no babysitting). An international crowd, mostly from all over europe and us, overall which makes it enjoyable to meet others staying at Sands. Suggest renting a car atleast for a day or two to get to restaurants rather than cabbing it everywhere - around $7 per person one way. This is a british-owned isle so you can imagine what most of the price levels are like.. Inwha & Robert

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sands at Grace Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sands at Grace Bay

Address: Grace Bay | PO Box 681, Providenciales
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Turks and Caicos > Providenciales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Providenciales
#15 Spa Hotel in Providenciales
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Providenciales
#20 Luxury Hotel in Providenciales
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sands at Grace Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfect harmony on Grace Bay Beach, Providenciales Experience an earthly wonder of sand and sea at our 114-suite luxury resort on Providenciales, Turks & Caicos Islands, British West Indies. Family-friendly, yet ideally suited for romantic getaways and wedding celebrations, The Sands at Grace Bay offers a harmonious balance of home comforts and sublime Caribbean elegance - as well as a picture perfect location on the sparkling shores of Grace Bay Beach. If you are dreaming of a beach holiday in the Caribbean that gives you the flexibility of having your own fully-equipped suite while enticing you with fine dining, pristine grounds and sigh-inducing vistas, we look forward to welcoming you to The Sands at Grace Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Sands at Grace Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sands At Grace Bay Hotel Providenciales
Sands At Grace Bay Providenciales
Sands Grace Bay
Sands At Grace Bay Turks And Caicos/Providenciales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sands at Grace Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.