We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great T&C experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sands at Grace Bay

Save Saved
You added Sands at Grace Bay to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sands at Grace Bay
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Grace Bay | PO Box 681, Providenciales   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #23 of 44 hotels in Providenciales
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great T&C experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Sands in mid-December, and found the place perfect! It was reasonably-priced and tremendously comfortable. The grounds are well-kept, and the screened-in balconies, which we thought were odd at first, allowed us to sit outside without being bitten. We were somehow upgraded to a Garden View apartment, and it was terrific...spacious with a washer/dryer, mini-fridge, etc. The hotel restaurant, Hemingway's, was just right...casual, good food, good service, right on the beach. We were within walking distance of the other resorts (via the beach) and the local bars, restaurants and the few shops on Grace Road. We never go to the same place twice, but would return to T&C, mainly because of our experience at the Sands!

Room Tip: For a single room, Garden View is the way to go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,040 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    537
    378
    69
    36
    20
See reviews for
280
462
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

Great Hotel, nice pools and layout. We were upgraded to an oceanfront room, great views. Room was nice and large, nice to have access to a full kitchen. I would stay here again, great value for the $.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

We stayed 10 nights over Xmas and loved the resort. It's a very well maintained property and the 3 bdr unit we had in bldg 3 was roomy and clean and the outdoor enclosed patio was perfect. The bugs can be brutal on a non windy or rainy/wet day. The service at hemingway's was almost laughable. With the exception of Carolyn or a couple of the bartenders the overall staff was indifferent, uncaring, unexcited about their jobs and had zero lack of customer service. Food was actually decent thought when you did end up getting it after a hr wait. Go for the fish tacos at lunch they are really tasty. But overall I just felt like for the huge $$ you spend on the food the service was completely a joke. This was the quote of the week that I'll always equate to Hemingway's and sometimes even some of the hotel staff(Not all though) some diamonds in the rough there I promise...but we were in a hurry to get to the airport so I asked the waitress as she took our drink orders if we could also order our lunch because we were in a hurry and I swear this was her response, "NO NOT YET" and then walked off to get our drinks. We couldn't stop laughing it really epitomized our experience at the restaurant and even the majority of restaurants we visited on the island. Be prepared to pay top dollar for any of the restaurants in town and get really spotty service, with the exception of Coco Bistro...and the sushi joint Yoshuria sp? But the hotel is situated on a great spot on Grace Bay and the beach staff were awesome. Just be prepared to be on "island time" to the nth degree with the rest of the staff in the hotel and hemmigway's. Be prepared for a chaotic airport experience too. That place was a nightmare. The infrastructure of the island has a lot of room for improvement. Don't expect an aloha experience on the island though. Caicos Dream tours was the best snorkelling cruise outfit too. Awesome friendly and outgoing staff.

Room Tip: Ask for higher up rooms but they aren't accomodating even when we booked our room 10 months out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

My husband and I visited Providenciales in early December. I always do extensive research before booking and I thought the Sands would be a good fit for us. We always prefer an oceanfront room and that's what I requested. We booked a deluxe one bedroom oceanfront suite and all I can say is WOW! I believe each unit is individually owned (not a time share), so the décor and overall condition of each unit can vary. We stayed in building 3, room 3206. It was like being at home. A really, really nice home. It was clean and comfortable with all the amenities you could ask for. Beautiful furnishings, great appliances and kitchenware. There were dozens of books and board games for our use. The bedroom was lovely and the bed was very comfortable. We had a full bath with a soaking tub and a half bath that also housed the washer and dryer.(It was nice going home with no laundry to do).
Our favorite part of the suite was the screened in porch. It was huge with comfortable furniture and lovely plants overlooking the ocean and the pool too. The glass doors opened all the way across the wall so it was actually like having another room. We spent time there each day in the morning and evening. Just perfect.
We loved the beach at The Sands. It was clean and quiet and the beach service was very good. The water was clear and calm.
Hemingway's was great for breakfast, lunch and dinner. We ventured out most nights but had dinner there twice and we thought the food was excellent. The wait staff and bartenders were very friendly and professional. We also enjoyed the manager's cocktail party on Tuesday night. They supplied the complimentary rum punch and appetizers around the pool. It was really a nice touch.
Before closing, I'd just like to say hi to our friends Pam and Bill from Grand Prairie, Alberta, Canada. If you ever make that trip to NYC let us know.
We would not hesitate a moment to stay at The Sands at Grace Bay again.

Room Tip: Oceanfront if you can afford the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Sands for two weeks in November 2013 and we were very pleased with the all around value we got for the very reasonable price. We stayed in one of the least expensive rooms, a Studio Courtyard and were pleased to learn we had a view of the ocean from our 2nd floor screened in porch, a king bed and a washer and dryer. Room had a kitchenette with a small fridge, microwave and sink. Our walk to the gorgeous white powder sand beach was very short and unlike resorts we have stayed at in Aruba and other islands, we were able to get an umbrella set up for us any time of the day! The staff at this resort are the best! The guys who work the beach shack: Berthold, Eddy and Big John were genuinely friendly and set up our beach umbrella, chairs and table every day. They also made sure we left with some awesome conch shells to bring home. Literally all the staff were friendly and glad to help with anything you needed. We were greeted most days by the other "Big John" who worked hard to keep the area around our building spotless! Hemingway's Restaurant was extremely handy to have at the resort and we had lunch there every day. The portions were generous enough that we were able to split a lunch every day for under $20 including tip. The food was very good as well as the service. The pools are also very nice but could use a railing as some folks had difficulty getting into and out of the pool. The only two things we could be even slightly critical of on the island are the cost of the unregulated cabs and the cost of groceries. The Sands is conveniently located within walking distance to the supermarket (about 1 mile) and the resort had a good assortment of bicycles you could use at no cost. Expect to pay at least double what we pay back home for all groceries. Overall, we were very pleased with our stay at the Sands and are considering returning again this fall.

Room Tip: There are only six buildings, each consisting of three floors so all rooms are close to the beach, p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Overall, a good hotel. The staff was very kind and warming, the pools were exotic and relaxing, the service was on time, and beaches were stunning. The land is absolutely stunning, the restaurant is fantastic, and the atmosphere is very welcoming and happy. I, however, was disappointed with the rooms themselves by just a bit. There seemed to be poor lighting, and furniture was quite old and worn out. The floors were also a bit sticky. But, we were very pleased!! I suggest you visit!

Room Tip: -BOOK EARLY! These rooms fill up fast -Separated by view: the higher the price depending on the vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, CA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Just returned from Sands at Grace Bay and had a fabulous time. Our trip was over both Christmas and New Years and was in celebration of a major birthday milestone for my mother. The group consisted of twelve family members ranging in age from 3 to 80 years old and included four family groups. We had four separate condos (three two bedrooms and one studio).

The staff at the Sands were outstanding in every aspect. The housekeeping staff kept the rooms tidy with a smile. The excursion staff helped us book parasailing boat...private one that cost the same as the ones with multiple parties. Beach staff were always happy to set up beach lounge chairs and umbrellas or assist with the complimentary aquatic toys (two Hobie cats, paddleboards, kayaks, snorkeling equipment and sand toys for the kids). Complimentary bikes were easy to check out and in plentiful quantities to take a very short ride into town or explore nearly desserted beaches on either end of Grace Bay.

We ate three times at Hemingways and every time the quality of the food was consistent and liked by all. Drink prices were a bit high but we did have full kitchen facilities to mix our own too. New Year's celebration at Hemingways was so much fun and the entire facility was invited to dance in the New Year with a DJ, outdoor dance floor, Junkanu band and a great fireworks display on the beach in front of the Sands. We also had a fabulous locaiton to watch the other fireworks displays in Grace Bay.

Can't say enough good things about the staff and facility. Highly recommended especially for families.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sands at Grace Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sands at Grace Bay

Address: Grace Bay | PO Box 681, Providenciales
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Turks and Caicos > Providenciales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Providenciales
#15 Spa Hotel in Providenciales
#16 Luxury Hotel in Providenciales
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Providenciales
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sands at Grace Bay 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Amex, Jetsetter, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Sands at Grace Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sands At Grace Bay Hotel Providenciales
Sands At Grace Bay Providenciales
Sands Grace Bay
Sands At Grace Bay Turks And Caicos/Providenciales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sands at Grace Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.