We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great condo, Gorgeous view” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sands at Grace Bay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sands at Grace Bay to your Saves list
Sands at Grace Bay
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Grace Bay | PO Box 681, Providenciales   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Providenciales #1
Ranked #26 of 44 Hotels in Providenciales
Cape Coral, Florida
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great condo, Gorgeous view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We came to the Turks for a dive trip with a small group of friends. The Sands was a very nice resort with a great 2 bedroom condo that was clean, quiet and had a wonderful view of the pool and ocean. We found the prices of food and booze in the grocery and restaurants to be at least double of what we pay in the U.S. so we purchased some food and drink and ate our breakfasts and lunches in our condo. We went out to dinner each night and it was moderate to expensive. We did have 2 tiny rental cars. (The compact cars are different in the U.S. too! ) We loved the pool, beach and the ocean is gorgeous, blue and clear!! We also enjoyed the Hobie cat, kayaks, paddle boards and the fitness center. The divers thought the dives were the best and they saw sharks almost everyday! Negatives were the bugs, not sure if fleas, no see ums or mosquitos but some of us got eaten up! Take insect repellant and wear at night when you go out to dinner. We were extremely depressed by all the stray dogs that run in packs with no food, water, shelter or love. We saw two dead dogs along the roadsides. This country needs help with the dog and cat population. They have organizations called Potcakes and ASPCA but they obviously can not handle all the strays! Please donate if you can. Despite these negatives we loved it and would go back,

Room Tip: ask for a room with view of pool and ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager003_13, General Manager at Sands at Grace Bay, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Pmain,

Thank you for your review and feedback. We are delighted to know how much you enjoyed your room, the resort, facilities and the “gorgeous” beach and pools. And, as you mention, yes the diving is truly spectacular in TCI. At times you will find Diving Specials with our Tour Operator Ocean Vibes by visiting their website at http://www.oceanvibes.com.

Regarding your comments about the dogs and cat population, we shared them with the Animal Welfare Committee and Department of Agriculture. On behalf of the Animal Welfare Committee, on October 27th they are expecting 16 members from "Pets Without Vets" to arrive for a one week spay/neuter program. They volunteer these initiatives worldwide and participate in a spay/neuter program along with ongoing educational side for responsible pet ownership.

As far as stray and feral dogs are concerned, AWC operates 5 nights a week in varied areas on island. This will continue until such time as the majority of the stray animals are under control. Unfortunately the process is long one but, the Department of Agriculture along with the Animal Welfare Committee is hard at work every day and dedicated towards rectifying the feral dog problem as a priority for our entire country.

Again, thank you for your comments, it provides us an opportunity for continuously improvement. We look forward to seeing you return to the Sands in the future.

Sincerely,

Mona Beeson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    584
    415
    78
    38
    20
See reviews for
299
529
18
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (308)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangor, Maine
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Sands is very clean and grounds cared for
We had requested building 3 or 4 ocean view ,on our initial reservation more than a month before and again few weeks before arrival - unfortunate they on arrival only had a ocean view room in building 1
Needed binoculars to see the ocean. Unfortunately we will not return here

Staff was accommodating but not particularly upbeat
The fire alarm went off in building 2 evenings out of our 4 - no explanation given

Room Tip: If paying for ocean view - check view before checking in
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager003_13, Guest Relations Manager at Sands at Grace Bay, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear Camilla R,

Thank you for your recent review of your stay at The Sands.

We are sorry that you were unable to get the building you requested, we hope you understand specific building, room, or floor are based on availability at that given time and that we may not always able to meet every request since our rooms are sold in components of 1, 2 and 3 bedrooms. We will however, always try our very best to meet requests as best as we possibly can so that you may have an enjoyable stay.

We want to also apologize for the fire alarm going off two times in your building, and had that corrected.

Again thank you for your comments, we appreciate them as it gives us the opportunity to improve our product and services.

Sincerely yours,

Adrian Archer
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

My best friend and I stayed here for a week and loved it! We stayed in a 2BR suite, complete with a kitchen, living room, and balcony. The service was incredible and the people were super friendly. They have a restaurant called Hemingways on site, which made getting breakfast, lunch and dinner very easy. The front desk team was incredible the entire time we were there. The jacuzzi was excellent! The fact that its located at one of the most beautiful beaches in the world is reason enough to stay here.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager003_13, General Manager at Sands at Grace Bay, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Jahkeim C,

Thank you for your review and your kind words about our resort, facilities and staff. We are delighted to know how much you and your best friend enjoyed your stay and appreciate the time you took to let us know.

You paid a wonderful compliment to the Front Desk Team, they very much appreciate receiving your considerate feedback about the service they work hard to provide. We will certainly share your comments with our entire team.

We look forward to welcoming you back at The Sands in near the future.

Sincerely,
Mona Beeson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We just arrived back last night (9/22/2013) from our 5 day stay at the Sands. When we arrived expectations were met, as the resort was exactly as displayed on the website. We were upgraded to a 1 BR garden view room free of charge. All staff at the resort were welcoming and very nicely manner. Most of them would go out of their way to speak to you and to make sure you were okay. The condo was very clean and updated, no complaints about the room at all. Felt like our second home. Hemingways was great but it came at a price. Look to spend some money if you plan on eating out every day/night. I recommend going to the local grocery store to grab some things so you don't have to spend as much on food. Tip: Some of the items at the market are 3 times as much compared to our prices in the states. Beach was very nice and relaxing. This was a nice relaxing vacation. Don't forget your bug spray, the mosquitoes will bite you up. We really don't have any bad things to say about this resort. This vacation met our expectations, we would return to the Sands if we decide to re-visit T&C in the future.

Some tips that may help future travelers:
*Cab fare from airport was $14/person in September 2013
*Don't forget your bug spray
*Bring your alcohol before you arrive at T&C. Prices are super high once you are there.
*The gourmet market (grocery store) is less than a 10 minute bike ride from the resort.
*The pizza place will deliver to your room.

Great job to the staff at The Sands, they really made the vacation enjoyable!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager003_13, General Manager at Sands at Grace Bay, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear 08KWL,

We are delighted to read that you had an enjoyable vacation with all the comforts of your home away from home.

Thank you for your comments and tips, we were happy to have met your needs and expectations. You certainly paid our staff the ultimate compliment and they very much appreciate receiving your kind feedback about the services they work hard to provide day in and day out.

We hope to see you again in the near future and again, thank you for sharing your feedback.

Regards,
Mona Beeson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We were last here ten years ago and it looks exactly the same. That's a compliment because it looks brand new. Outer buildings look freshly painted. Interior gardens freshly groomed. The rooms are clean, nicely furnished, no wear and tear on upholsteries. Kitchen had all the cutlery and glassware you could need. What's better than ten years ago is Hemingway's. We ate every meal there for 10 days. Menu selections were fantastic and the specials were special. Portions for all meals are large. Waitstaff was wonderful and friendly and knew our names the second day. Prices were very reasonable for the Carribean. Beach is as lovely as before. Won't wait another 10 years to be back.

Room Tip: Third Floor Ocean View best breeze
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager003_13, General Manager at Sands at Grace Bay, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Michael Q.,

Thank you for your recent feedback on your stay with us at The Sands. We appreciate the time you took to let us know of your stay and that you found the resort, staff and facilities excellent.

It was so nice to learn that even after your return from 10 years ago, you still found our resort to be the ideal location for your vacation and an excellent value.

We can’t wait to welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely,
Mona Beeson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

You really don't have to leave the hotel if you don't want to! There are sail boats, kayaks, bikes etc etc available for guests to use for free so there is plenty to keep you entertained. But that is the case with every hotel along the beach at Grace Bay. There are plenty of other hotels and the Sands was fine - some of the other hotels did look a bit more modern so if it is up-scale that you want do some more research as I don't think this hotel with satisfy your needs.

Having said that, we loved it here! The apartment felt like home and was very spacious, very clean and the private patio area was wonderful. The kitchen was well equipped, in fact it was better equipped than our kitchen at home! Large fridge, large oven, lots and lots of pantry space.

The food in the restaurant was reasonably priced and the Thursday night BBQ at the pool (complimentary for hotel guests courtesy of hotel management) was undeniably awesome. A great way to taste the local cuisine and enjoy some rum punch with other guests :)

Getting to town is no problem - you can walk (about 10 - 15 minutes), cycle, or get a taxi - and is worth heading to town on your first day to stock up on supplies for your stay.

The highlight of this hotel is definitely the beach and the ability to explore the beauty surrounding the Grace Bay area.

Room Tip: If you can get a room facing the ocean, do it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager003_13, General Manager at Sands at Grace Bay, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear MelodyLS,

Thank you for your review. We are so happy to know how much you “love it here” and that your room felt like your home. That is exactly what we work so hard to achieve to ensure you have all the comforts of home to have a great stay.

Although we are not the newest hotel in Grace Bay, we have all the services and amenities to offer along with the charm of a classic Caribbean resort. Also, we are glad to know you enjoyed the manager cocktail reception, though for readers reviewing your comments, this is not a BBQ on Thursday’s. Rather our manager cocktail party is usually held on Tuesday’s weather permitting. It may be rescheduled in the week pending weather conditions. Snacks such as chips, salsa, cheese and crackers, crudité and conch fritters are also served.

Again, thank you for your wonderful comments. We very much appreciate your feedback as it certainly helps us praise our staff and provides us opportunities to constantly improve our product and services.

We look forward to welcoming you back at The Sands in near the future.

Sincerely,

Mona Beeson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We booked a weekend away here during the 'off season' and we couldn't have been happier with our stay. The grounds were beautiful, with direct access to the beach. There are two lovely pools for when you want to take a break from the salt water. In addition to the wonderful space, the hotel provides a lot of complimentary amenities on the beach, including Hobie Cats, kayaks, and paddle boards. We particularly loved being able to take out the Hobie Cats every day. The bar/restaurant, Hemingways, is very good and by far the best restaurant view of those that we visited - a perfect place to take in a sunset. Overall, though, we had such a blast relaxing at the Sands. We visited a few other resorts for dinner and snorkeling, but they didn't compare to the Sands. We definitely plan to return for another visit!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager003_13, Guest Relations Manager at Sands at Grace Bay, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Bakenberger,

Thank you for your recent feedback regarding your stay at The Sands at Grace Bay. We appreciate the time you took to let us know of your experiences and that overall your stay was an excellent one.

We were delighted to see that you found the grounds beautiful and easily accessible to the beach and that you also enjoyed the pools and complimentary beach equipment.

Indeed Hemingway’s is “very good” and perfect to catch our amazing sunsets.

Again, thank you Bakenberger for taking the time to write to us. We all look forward to your return very soon.

Warmest regards,

Adrian Archer
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sands at Grace Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sands at Grace Bay

Address: Grace Bay | PO Box 681, Providenciales
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Turks and Caicos > Providenciales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Providenciales
#15 Spa Hotel in Providenciales
#19 Luxury Hotel in Providenciales
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Providenciales
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sands at Grace Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfect harmony on Grace Bay Beach, Providenciales Experience an earthly wonder of sand and sea at our 114-suite luxury resort on Providenciales, Turks & Caicos Islands, British West Indies. Family-friendly, yet ideally suited for romantic getaways and wedding celebrations, The Sands at Grace Bay offers a harmonious balance of home comforts and sublime Caribbean elegance - as well as a picture perfect location on the sparkling shores of Grace Bay Beach. If you are dreaming of a beach holiday in the Caribbean that gives you the flexibility of having your own fully-equipped suite while enticing you with fine dining, pristine grounds and sigh-inducing vistas, we look forward to welcoming you to The Sands at Grace Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Sands at Grace Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sands At Grace Bay Hotel Providenciales
Sands At Grace Bay Providenciales
Sands Grace Bay
Sands At Grace Bay Turks And Caicos/Providenciales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sands at Grace Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.