We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“casual excellence” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sands at Grace Bay

Save Saved
You added Sands at Grace Bay to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sands at Grace Bay
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Grace Bay | PO Box 681, Providenciales   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #24 of 44 hotels in Providenciales
Corinth, Texas
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“casual excellence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

The Sands at Grace Bay is an exceptional condo hotel located directly on Grace Bay. The location is exceptional as it is mid Grace Bay allowing for easy beach walking to any of the restaurants and activities located on the water. in addition there are no large hotels or Condos on either side of the Sands leaving the beach surprisingly empty and private. There are shops, grocery stores and restaurants within easy walking distance from the Sands on the island side making its location even more attractive.

The property itself is very attractive featuring numerous palm trees and well manicured tropical grounds including two pools and a separate hot tub that are fantastic when the sun goes down and you are not ready to leave the water. One pool even features a lazy river that although shallow can be quite a lot of fun when looking for privacy under the starry Provo night sky.

The rooms at the Sands are FANTASTIC! We enjoyed a spacious one bedroom that featured many ammenities such as a washer and dryer, dishwasher, full size refrigerator, and a large kitchen table. The kitchen was fully stocked with everything from glassware to pots and pans and even a bottle opener! The condo was thoughtfully decorated with a casual elegance that quickly made you feel at home. Each condo is equipped with a spacious screened in porch that in my opinion is the finest place on the island to enjoy an ice cream cone while waiting for an afternoon rain shower to pass.

The service we experienced at The Sands was good anywhere but excellent by carribbean standards. the front desk staff ranged from excellent to slightly disinterested but for the most part was truly friendly and helpful. The house keeping staff goes above and beyond in many areas and are truly a jewel in the Sands crown. Sand brought in from the beach was swept out daily and dishes in the sink were put into the dishwasher and the dishwasher run providing clean dishes upon our return from a day on the beach. the staff on the beach are equally helpful moving chairs and planting umbrellas at your request. Check in early enough and Eddie will even take you for a cruise around Grace bay in one of the hotel's Hobie Cats.

The Sands at Grace Bay is an exceptional hotel located on one of the most beautiful beaches on this planet. The location of this property alone justifies the nightly room rate but the Sands offers so much more than just a bed and a roof and it does not take much research to discover the value this Hotel provides.

Room Tip: pay up for a one bedroom and you will get more than the nightly rate difference back by utilizing th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,062 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    551
    383
    71
    36
    21
See reviews for
286
477
15
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We've just returned from our annual family trip. Destination: Turks & Caicos! What an awesome adventure. The Sands is amazing!!!We're definetely planning to return and will definitely stay at the Sands. If you're exploring TCI hotels, the Sands is perfect! We had an ocean view, top floor 1 bedroom. Met some wonderful locals, (Bethel & Sonny from Bethel VIP & Taxi Services (son@tciway.com) who gave informative tours of Provo and also toured us to North & Middle Caicos. Mudjin Harbor is a must see!! We enjoyed the Thursday Night Fish Fry, Underwater Sub tour, Bugaloos, visited two local churches, Leeward Marina, some caves, and lots of beach time. What a wonderful experience!

Room Tip: would definitely do oceanview on the top floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calcutta, India
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We (my wife and I) stayed for 5 days, as we came to attend a family wedding. We had a deluxe suite, which was huge, with a kitchen, and other appliances , as well as a washing machine. The beach was wonderful, straight out of the hotel, and all the facilities , like para sailing, snorkelling and sailing were freely available. The restaurant, Hemingway, had wonderful food, and our overall stay was very very enjoyable. The staff were very helpful, though room service for food should be introduced. Definitely recommend it to all our friends, but the travel time from India is daunting !

Room Tip: Take an ocean front room, the view is to die for especially sunrises !
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

This is our second visit with the family to the island staying at a different resort. We were very pleased, the service good, the staff very friendly, and great location with beautiful beach (as they all are on the island)! We particularly loved Hemmingways restaurant. The only thing we would add is that the room we stayed in was in need of an update (although we do understand that some rooms have been updated). An awesome vacation!!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornhill, Canada
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for one week from Aug. 3- 10 in a studio ocean view. The room was a little run down and the mattress like a hammock, but upon bring this to their attention after one night they quickly replaced it without question. That is service.
The space for two people is more than enough but the furniture and fixture are run down, however upon viewing a one bedroom someone else was in I saw an up to date pristine place. The screened in porch was lovely to have we used it evereyday breakfast lunch and evenings. Yes I would return, people are friendly they go out of their way to help. Food at Hemmingways was good for lunch and if you need a breakfast, we did not use for dinner. They serve you on the beach hot and fresh with a smile. Amazing beach ok lounges with a man eager to put an umbrella just were you want it. Water is sparkling clean and a very relaxed atmosphere with restaurants easy walking distance.
Taxis on this island are ridiculous they would get more tourist using them if rate did not sound like a stick up.
All in all nice relaxing week, they arranged a glass bottom snorkel half day with Leonardo which was beautiful. Thanks Sands.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager003_13, General Manager at Sands at Grace Bay, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Lyn L,

Thank you for your recent review, I appreciate you letting us know of your stay and that you will return. I was happy to learn you had a “nice relaxing week” with us and that our staff immediately addressed your concerns. Also, I was glad to know you enjoyed the screened in porch, beach and beach services, Hemingway’s, your snorkel trip and that you found our staff friendly and service oriented.

With regard to the fixtures and furniture, allow me reassure you we continuously look for ways to improve our product and services so that we meet the needs of our guests. Last year we completed a bathroom renovation with new travertine flooring and tiles, shower and bath fixtures, and amenities in addition to new LCD TV’s in all units. There is also ongoing refreshing and refurbishing of our rooms throughout the year as well as other planned updates to continue to provide a luxury product.

I am not sure what your charge was for the taxi but, do note they are regulated. For your convenience we added the new taxi rate sheet on our website however, taxi rates are also located at the airport and available at our reception desk.

Again, thank you for your feedback and taking the time to write. I hope to welcome you back to Providenciales upon your next visit.

Sincerely,

Mona Beeson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our time at The Sands. Our family of three rented an ocean front 1-BR deluxe suite. It was larger than some 2BR places we have been in the past! The living space is huge and very comfortable, and it became our son's bedroom each night (pull-out queen sofa bed & black-out curtains). It's great to have the half bath, too, since there are 3 of us. We took advantage of the washer & dryer and packed a little bit lighter this trip, too. The master BR & bath were also very large and comfortable. We had an awesome view from every window, and the screened porch was enormous, and we loved spending time out there, as well. The beach is the most beautiful swimming beach we've ever been to. The pools are also great, partly because of the way they meander through the property. This was our 2nd visit to The Sands (our 3rd to T&C), and we are already trying to figure out when we can return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We stayed this past February and had another great vacation. We actually ended up having the same room assigned to us that we had the previous year and we didnt ask for it. Had a 2 bed/2 bath ocean view, very roomy. Rooms are cleaned well each day, everyone we came in contact with was pleasant. Made use of the kitchen. Again the beach staff works very hard. Love all the water activities amenities. Love being able to get shade at the beach anytime a day, don't have to get up early to claim shade. Great location to many restaurants. Would recommend staying here to anyone. One of my favorite beaches in the world!

Room Tip: Higher floor better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sands at Grace Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sands at Grace Bay

Address: Grace Bay | PO Box 681, Providenciales
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Turks and Caicos > Providenciales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Providenciales
#15 Spa Hotel in Providenciales
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Providenciales
#17 Luxury Hotel in Providenciales
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sands at Grace Bay 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Sands at Grace Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sands At Grace Bay Hotel Providenciales
Sands At Grace Bay Providenciales
Sands Grace Bay
Sands At Grace Bay Turks And Caicos/Providenciales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sands at Grace Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.