We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super experience.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sands at Grace Bay

Save Saved
You added Sands at Grace Bay to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Sands at Grace Bay
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Grace Bay | PO Box 681, Providenciales   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #22 of 44 hotels in Providenciales
Calcutta, India
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Super experience.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We (my wife and I) stayed for 5 days, as we came to attend a family wedding. We had a deluxe suite, which was huge, with a kitchen, and other appliances , as well as a washing machine. The beach was wonderful, straight out of the hotel, and all the facilities , like para sailing, snorkelling and sailing were freely available. The restaurant, Hemingway, had wonderful food, and our overall stay was very very enjoyable. The staff were very helpful, though room service for food should be introduced. Definitely recommend it to all our friends, but the travel time from India is daunting !

Room Tip: Take an ocean front room, the view is to die for especially sunrises !
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

977 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    499
    355
    67
    36
    20
See reviews for
258
428
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

This is our second visit with the family to the island staying at a different resort. We were very pleased, the service good, the staff very friendly, and great location with beautiful beach (as they all are on the island)! We particularly loved Hemmingways restaurant. The only thing we would add is that the room we stayed in was in need of an update (although we do understand that some rooms have been updated). An awesome vacation!!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornhill, Canada
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for one week from Aug. 3- 10 in a studio ocean view. The room was a little run down and the mattress like a hammock, but upon bring this to their attention after one night they quickly replaced it without question. That is service.
The space for two people is more than enough but the furniture and fixture are run down, however upon viewing a one bedroom someone else was in I saw an up to date pristine place. The screened in porch was lovely to have we used it evereyday breakfast lunch and evenings. Yes I would return, people are friendly they go out of their way to help. Food at Hemmingways was good for lunch and if you need a breakfast, we did not use for dinner. They serve you on the beach hot and fresh with a smile. Amazing beach ok lounges with a man eager to put an umbrella just were you want it. Water is sparkling clean and a very relaxed atmosphere with restaurants easy walking distance.
Taxis on this island are ridiculous they would get more tourist using them if rate did not sound like a stick up.
All in all nice relaxing week, they arranged a glass bottom snorkel half day with Leonardo which was beautiful. Thanks Sands.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager003_13, General Manager at Sands at Grace Bay, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Lyn L,

Thank you for your recent review, I appreciate you letting us know of your stay and that you will return. I was happy to learn you had a “nice relaxing week” with us and that our staff immediately addressed your concerns. Also, I was glad to know you enjoyed the screened in porch, beach and beach services, Hemingway’s, your snorkel trip and that you found our staff friendly and service oriented.

With regard to the fixtures and furniture, allow me reassure you we continuously look for ways to improve our product and services so that we meet the needs of our guests. Last year we completed a bathroom renovation with new travertine flooring and tiles, shower and bath fixtures, and amenities in addition to new LCD TV’s in all units. There is also ongoing refreshing and refurbishing of our rooms throughout the year as well as other planned updates to continue to provide a luxury product.

I am not sure what your charge was for the taxi but, do note they are regulated. For your convenience we added the new taxi rate sheet on our website however, taxi rates are also located at the airport and available at our reception desk.

Again, thank you for your feedback and taking the time to write. I hope to welcome you back to Providenciales upon your next visit.

Sincerely,

Mona Beeson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our time at The Sands. Our family of three rented an ocean front 1-BR deluxe suite. It was larger than some 2BR places we have been in the past! The living space is huge and very comfortable, and it became our son's bedroom each night (pull-out queen sofa bed & black-out curtains). It's great to have the half bath, too, since there are 3 of us. We took advantage of the washer & dryer and packed a little bit lighter this trip, too. The master BR & bath were also very large and comfortable. We had an awesome view from every window, and the screened porch was enormous, and we loved spending time out there, as well. The beach is the most beautiful swimming beach we've ever been to. The pools are also great, partly because of the way they meander through the property. This was our 2nd visit to The Sands (our 3rd to T&C), and we are already trying to figure out when we can return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We stayed this past February and had another great vacation. We actually ended up having the same room assigned to us that we had the previous year and we didnt ask for it. Had a 2 bed/2 bath ocean view, very roomy. Rooms are cleaned well each day, everyone we came in contact with was pleasant. Made use of the kitchen. Again the beach staff works very hard. Love all the water activities amenities. Love being able to get shade at the beach anytime a day, don't have to get up early to claim shade. Great location to many restaurants. Would recommend staying here to anyone. One of my favorite beaches in the world!

Room Tip: Higher floor better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlothian
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Our family of four stayed at The Sands for a week in July. This was our first time in TCI. We really enjoyed The Sands and TCI. The resort is a very nice and affordable option for this island. We stayed on building 3 on the 3rd floor with an ocean view room, although I have reserved a garden view. The rooms are big and updated. The kitchen had everything you needed to cook a meal although we only had breakfast in the room. We had two big balconies with amazing ocean views. The beach is gorgeous and the color of the water unreal! There are empty lots on both sizes of The Sands so the beach is never crowded and we never had a problem finding an umbrella. The resort is within walking distance of several restaurants and shops and we used the bikes to go to the grocery store the first day before we rented a car. We used the kayaks, Hobie Cats and paddle boards all included with the resort. We also walked to the reef to snorkel; it is about a 20 minute walk away from the Sands after you pass the crowed Beaches resort.
We had most of our lunches and two dinners at Hemingway’s, the restaurant at The Sands. We enjoyed the food served for lunch more. We walked to Mango Reef and Lupo and we took the car to Somewhere and Flamingo for dinner.
We rented a car for two days. We took the ferry to North Caicos and rented a car there to visit Middle Caicos. Beautiful and secluded! We had lunch at Mudjin Bar and Grill which had incredible views and good food. We visited Daniel’s café for a drink and the Middle Caicos Co-op and bought three baskets.
The other day with the car we went to Taylor Bay during the morning and had a lunch at Las Brisas. Taylor Bay is gorgeous and empty!
We had a great stay at The Sands. We loved TCI. The islands seem flat and empty compared with Kauai or St John but Grace Bay and Taylor Bay are gorgeous. Mudjin Harbor is spectacular. TCI is all about the stunning beaches and water. It is really nice and relaxing to be able to stay in a resort and walk to very nice restaurants for lunch or dinner. Walking for miles on Grace Bay early every morning was an amazing way to start the day. The Sands was the perfect place to spend our family vacation.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager003_13, Front Office Manager at Sands at Grace Bay, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear Midlothianmidlothian,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences with us and your kind words about your entire stay in Turks and Caicos will be shared with our entire team.

We are pleased to know that you found us to be very nice and affordable from the resort amenities, Pool & Beach atmosphere and services to Hemingway’s Restaurant and so much more.

We were delighted to see that you enjoyed The Sands and more importantly that you explored even further to see some of Providenciales hidden beaches as well as other wonderful Islands of TCI. North and Middle Caicos are indeed very much unspoiled, beautiful and secluded. The views at Mudjin Harbor is definitely a sight to behold and just spectacular leaving you with a feeling of being on an remote Island and getting ‘away’ from it all and just a quick and affordable 25 minute ferry ride away.

Again thank you for your review and taking the time to let us know about your stay with us and the “Beautiful by Nature” Turks and Caicos Islands. We look forward to your return and to learn about the other Islands you will explore on your next trip!

With warm tropical regards

Barbara Rigby
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

There were four of us, 2 teenagers, and we stayed on a 2 bdr OF. We truly enjoyed the time and felt that we were getting a good value for the near $600/day daily rent. The condo was great, in very good shape and nicely decorated. The restaurant was superb, best conch salad in the island served cervich style...truly amazing. The kids loved the burger. The Tropical spa (basically massage rooms) was also very nice and worth the money. Both my wife and I enjoyed our massages. the people were very friendly and we will go back conditional to the item below.

Areas of improvement: (1) More umbrellas....it is a fight in the morning to get an umbrella. If they don't fix this problem very soon, they will loose many repeat visitors. Next year we will ask: Have you added the number of beach umbrellas? if yes, we will come back, if no...here come Ocean Club West....lots of beach umbrellas there and basically the same facility.

Room Tip: I am not sure OF is worth the extra $$$s.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager003_13, Guest Relations Manager at Sands at Grace Bay, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Clidinho,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at The Sands at Grace Bay. We appreciate the time you took to let us know of your experiences and that you and your family thoroughly enjoyed your stay. We will certainly share your remarks with the entire staff.

Indeed, and as you point out, we are known for our clean and well-appointed rooms and amenities, resort facilities, pool and beach, and provide very good value.

We agree Hemingway’s is an excellent restaurant well known for its delicious menu items, service and friendly atmosphere. An excellent choice if you are looking for a beach front restaurant. Spa Tropique offers an array of treatments from their menu, and we are delighted to know you enjoyed your spa experience with them.

With regards to the beach umbrellas, let us reassure you we continuously look for ways to improve. Although we have over 25 beach umbrellas plus 18 beach Palapas we had already ordered additional umbrellas for the coming season that will be ready for your next arrival.

Again thank you for taking the time to write to us. We look forward to seeing your return to The Sands.

Sincerely yours,

Adrian Archer
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sands at Grace Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sands at Grace Bay

Also Known As:
Sands At Grace Bay Hotel Providenciales
Sands At Grace Bay Providenciales
Sands Grace Bay
Sands At Grace Bay Hotel
Sands At Grace Bay Turks And Caicos/Providenciales
Address: Grace Bay | PO Box 681, Providenciales
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Turks and Caicos > Providenciales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Providenciales
#15 Luxury Hotel in Providenciales
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Providenciales
#25 Romantic Hotel in Providenciales
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sands at Grace Bay 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Tingo, Venere, Hotels.com, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Sands at Grace Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sands at Grace Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.