We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“honeymoon in turks” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sands at Grace Bay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Sands at Grace Bay to your Saves list
Sands at Grace Bay
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Grace Bay | PO Box 681, Providenciales   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
4th night free
Ranked #26 of 44 Hotels in Providenciales
turks and caicos
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“honeymoon in turks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

The Sands at Grace Bay is a very comfortable, beautiful, family friendly and couple friendly resort. We spent our honeymoon for 11 days at the resort and found it quite relaxing and serene. The staff was friendly and helpful. The grounds were phenomenal. The rooms are comfortable, except that intermittently, the television only has a few of the listed tv channels. We booked an ocean view room which had a nice view of the gardens and the ocean. Not exactly the view that I was anticipating, thinking that there would be an even clearer view of the ocean, but ok all the same.

We did have issues with calling on housekeeping to replace a toaster for us which took almost three hours, with multiple calls by both us and the housekeeper cleaning the room to find someone to bring us a new toaster. Kind of inconvenient since we were trying to make breakfast. Response time could definitely be better. Also, although the staff is friendly once you begin speaking with them, they do seem quite closed off and answer in very brief responses. The concierge was very quiet, did not offer much information when asked and seemed annoyed to phone restaurants or services for us. Finally, the ice was broken after a few quick comments by my husband, and the staff seemed more open. I guess they just take some getting to know...although, that is not really our job since we are the guest.

The only other issue: the spa and the gym are throw aways. Both are located in the basement of the building, certainly not an area that inspires you to want to work out to relax. My husband and I both love working out, yes, even on vacation, but were not inspired to use the gym at all. Regarding the spa, after we saw where it was located, we made plans to spa down the street at the regent palm resort.

Other than that, we would stay at the sands again and tavelers can be assured that their overall experience at this resort is worth their while.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager003_13, Guest Relations Manager at Sands at Grace Bay, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear 2honeymooner2,

Thank you for spending your Honeymoon with us and for taking the time you took to let us know of your experiences. We were delighted to know your stay was an excellent one and that you found the resort relaxing and serene, and the staff friendly and helpful.

With regard to your room accommodations indeed ocean view rooms are partial views of the ocean, whereas ocean front rooms are full views the ocean. We are so sorry it took much too long to obtain a replacement toaster and apologize for any inconvenience. We did address this to prevent future happenings.

Our gym and spa treatment rooms are located on the lower level of the hospitality lounge, although not above ground we were sorry to learn you did not take advantage of the gym during your stay. Alas, we do not provide a full spa environment we do however provide two treatment rooms. Though not a full-fledged spa, many guests continue to enjoy the variety of spa services featured by Spa Tropique, one of Providenciales top spa operations. As for the Regent Spa located at The Regent Palms Resort it is undoubtedly the best spa in the Caribbean. The Regent Spa is a standalone luxury destination is the sister resort to The Sands at Grace Bay and ranked #2 in the entire Atlantic and Caribbean in 2012. We trust your experience there was one that was most relaxing and rejuvenating.

Again, thank you we appreciate your feedback and look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to Providenciales for your One-Year Anniversary.

Sincerely,

Adrian Archer
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    591
    421
    81
    38
    21
See reviews for
307
534
18
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (314)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We had a great time at the Sands! From the minute we arrived everyone was so accommodating. The staff is really friendly and helpful. Any requests made are taken care of right away. I never seen a hotel that keeps up with maintenance daily! Our room was huge and great I was so shocked of all the space. It was basically like living in an apartment for a week. We booked a one bedroom ocean view. The kitchen was great we made breakfast, lunch and even our margaritas daily for the beach! I know for our weeks worth of groceries they helped take all the bags up for us rather than us lugging a bunch of bags. Every day at the beach the staff helped set up two lounge chairs, an umbrella and a little table for our drinks. The beach guy even taught us how to sail on the hobbie and took us out for at least a half an hour with training for free! We really had a great stay and we would definitely stay again! Oh and of course the beach from the ocean to the sand was gorgeous.

A couple of more things! I know when I read past reviews people complained about the TV's were not up to date. In our room we had two flat screen 32inch TV's. So I guess the hotel has finally addressed that.

If I did have to make a complaint the bed needs a refresh/upgrade. They weren't the greatest!

Room Tip: Try to request building 3 or 4. They have the best views of the ocean and are closet to the beach an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We just returned from TCI and we loved it. We were looking for a place to unplug and unwind and were able to do that. If you're looking for a party place, this isn't it, but if you want to be able to walk or ride bikes, stroll on the beach or just sit and let the breezes blow your cares away, this is perfect. Shops and restaurants are all within a short walk or bike ride. There is also a very nice store called Graceway Gourmet that is an easy bike ride if you want to purchase fresh fruit, breakfast foods/snacks etc. With a microwave and a mini fridge in our room we could do light breakfasts before heading out to the beach. Since everything has to be imported, prices are a bit steep for just about everything, so be sure to plan accordingly.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

If you're looking for a hotel that has all the amenities of home and the ambience of a tropical island, this is the place for you. We had a last minute change so instead of the original ocean view we have a garden view two bedroom suite and its been wonderful. It has been so well maintained and honestly I think it old enough that all of the kinks that come with a new establishment have been worked out. A full kitchen which includes a dishwasher and washer/dryer so there's no need to take home dirty clothes which I am loving. Not to mention that all of the appliances are top of the line. It's quiet and so lovely to sit on the screened in patio and have coffee or a smoke if you're so inclined and listen to the sea while enjoying a light warm breeze. This is the beginning of day three and so far I couldn't ask for anything more. We dined at Hemingway's on the first night and while food is pricey we had no complaints at all. Everything we ordered was cooked to perfection and I'm a picky eater. The service was great and in typical Caribbean fashion a little slow but just enough to enjoy the ambience including a live guitar player that was quite good...had me singing along and rocking to his beats. The beach is massive and very well maintained. No seaweed, trash, or anything to worry about stepping on. You can walk the entire grounds bare foot if that's what you like. I'll check out the Spa later today and trust that it will be a good experience; so more to come. But if you're on the fence about booking your stay at this hotel I'd say go for it!!! I don't think you'll be disappointed at all. The hardest part of this visit will likely be leaving. Shops are also in walking distance so we took a nice stroll to "The Salt MIlls", picked up a few souvenirs and stopped for lunch at Danny Buoy's which was also quaint and nice...great service and food. All of the folks we've encountered are very friendly and one lady in particular was a wealth of information having lived here for 40 years; even letting us know how to contact her if we have any problems...how great was that??? So....it about 8:00 am and my wonderful husband just made breakfast for me to enjoy while I'm typing this so you can save a few dollars if you don't mind cooking a meal which he doesn't mind at all....thank goodness.

Room Tip: Unless you have some extremely loud neighbors I don't think there's a bad room on the proper...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

I have been having a wonderful time here at the sands at grace bay... The sailboat that I'm taking from St. Thomas in the U.S. Virgin Islands to Houston had some mechanical problems as we approached Turks and Caicos, during "island time" waiting for parts and repairs we stayed at the Sands as I was recommended by a friend... And they took great care of us as we had to switch rooms a couple time as we kept extending our stay, waiting for boat... But they made sure we were happy and taken care of, food and staff were great, management as well... I highly recommend this resort for weddings honeymoons or just a getaway... I met lots of wonderful local and guests from everywhere here... Come stop by and enjoy your stay!! ;)

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager003_13, Guest Relations Manager at Sands at Grace Bay, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear JiggaJoel,

Thank you for your recent feedback regarding your stay at The Sands at Grace Bay. We appreciate the time you took to let us know of your experiences and that overall your stay was an excellent one.

It was so nice to learn that your friends recommended our resort and that you enjoyed your time with us. We take pride in offering the best value and services and appreciate your kind remarks and have shared your comments with the entire team.

As you said, our resort is indeed a wonderful location surrounded by beautiful turquoise waters making The Sands ideal for weddings, honeymooners and getaways. Our team strives to make a difference to ensure guest satisfaction.

Again, thank you JiggaJoel for taking the time to write to us. We all look forward to your return and the opportunity to welcome you back to the Turks & Caicos.

Warmest Regards,

Adrian Archer
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

The Sands is a very nice resort although it is a bit dated. The beaches and water are as nice as you'll find anywhere. However, Turks is an extremely expensive place to visit. For example, a case of beer cost $70.Taxis are very expensive to go anywhere and restaurants aren't cheap. The people and the restaurant at the resort are very nice and it is a relaxing place. You'd better hope the weather is good because if it rains there is very little to do. I enjoyed my visit but would try somewhere else next time.

Room Tip: In the building we stayed in there was no elevator and we had a 3rd floor room. If you have any tro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Our family trip to Sands at Grace Bay was way better than expected. I chose the Sands based on TripAdvisor reviews. It seemed like a good value. However, we definitely got more than what we paid for! We booked a 2 bdrm and were delighted by the size and cleaniness of the condo rental. We were easily able to host a dinner party for 10 adults and 3 children. It has a nice sized screened patio to relax in. Also the furnishings are very nice and very comfortable. There is in-room washer and dryer which is another plus. Hemingways is the restaurant/bar which has good food and excellent drinks. The pool area is better than most other resorts. It has an open view of the beach and ocean. It is also only about 20 ft away from the beach so its very convenient to bounce back and forth. Its beachfront is not too deserted and not too crowded- just right. The resort has free water Hobie cats, paddle boards, snorkel masks, and sea kayaks to use. Overall, a perfect spot for a paradise beachfront. Would definitely stay there again!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sands at Grace Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sands at Grace Bay

Address: Grace Bay | PO Box 681, Providenciales
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Turks and Caicos > Providenciales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Providenciales
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Providenciales
#15 Spa Hotel in Providenciales
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Providenciales
#19 Luxury Hotel in Providenciales
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sands at Grace Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfect harmony on Grace Bay Beach, Providenciales Experience an earthly wonder of sand and sea at our 114-suite luxury resort on Providenciales, Turks & Caicos Islands, British West Indies. Family-friendly, yet ideally suited for romantic getaways and wedding celebrations, The Sands at Grace Bay offers a harmonious balance of home comforts and sublime Caribbean elegance - as well as a picture perfect location on the sparkling shores of Grace Bay Beach. If you are dreaming of a beach holiday in the Caribbean that gives you the flexibility of having your own fully-equipped suite while enticing you with fine dining, pristine grounds and sigh-inducing vistas, we look forward to welcoming you to The Sands at Grace Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Amex, Orbitz, Booking.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Jetsetter, Travelocity, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sands at Grace Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sands At Grace Bay Hotel Providenciales
Sands At Grace Bay Providenciales
Sands Grace Bay
Sands At Grace Bay Turks And Caicos/Providenciales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sands at Grace Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.