We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel, people and island!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sands at Grace Bay

Save Saved
You added Sands at Grace Bay to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sands at Grace Bay
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Grace Bay | PO Box 681, Providenciales   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #25 of 44 Hotels in Providenciales
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel, people and island!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Sands April 18-22. After a long travel day, we were greeted by friendly staff and much needed rum punches! We stayed in a garden studio, one of the furthest from the beach but had a view of the grounds all the way to the ocean. This is a casual, family hotel, certainly not a 5 star, but our room was fine, grounds were beautiful. We spent our days on the beach-got a palapa hut everyday- and it was heavenly! The beach in front of the Sands is wide and there are plenty of chairs and umbrellas to go around. We enjoyed the meals and drinks we had at Hemingways. We would definitely return! One suggestion for management -pillow top mattress covers for that very firm bed.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,075 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    554
    391
    73
    36
    21
See reviews for
292
483
15
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
MN
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Love this resort and it's location. Reasonably priced resort with lots of things to do and the best beach in the caribbean. Staff really cares that you have everything you need. They were quick to set up umbrellas and beach chairs for everyone. Fresh towels and kayaks, hobie cats, and paddle boards available for free!! We went there with 10 people and never felt like we were taking up too much space.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver,BC
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Just got back from spending ten fantastic weeks at The Sands Resort. We have chosen to stay at The Sands for the last few years. We've explored other condo options on Grace Bay, but The Sands will be our choice again next year. We just love the accommodations, service, casual atmosphere of this resort and its central location.

We choose to stay in an oceanview studio suite. Perfect for us to have breakfast and lunch in then we enjoy dinner out most evenings. Grocery shopping which is located in the main shopping center of GraceBay is just a 15-minute comfortable walk on the sidewalk. There are many restaurant options within this 15 minute walk. A couple of our favorites are Bella Luna and Upstairs Bar and Grill. Also just a 5-minute walk west on the beach to “Bay Bistro” and 10-minute walk to “Mango Reef.” We also love these two restaurants but there are many other within walking distance. Other nice dining options are in Turtle Cove when we would take a taxi which is approximately $12 one-way for two persons. We take a flashlight with us for our evening walks to restaurants. Never encountered any safety or security problems.

We have been most satisfied with the housekeeping service, management, concierge, and beach attendants. Each year staff is great and most accommodating. We are also very happy with the furniture, screened in balcony, kitchen accommodations, etc. Each suite has its own hot water tank so no problem there…

If any electrical or plumbing problems should arise, a call to the front desk and they will be attended to immediately. Have never had to use the a/c because we open the sliding doors to the screened balcony at night plus our front door has a transom which provides a through draft. Suites also have central fans. We appreciate the computers and printer available in the hospitality suite. Also in the hospitality suite is a fitness center, spa, large ice machine and TV. Wireless connection is good.

No matter which of the 6 buildings you choose, you can easily walk barefoot in a minute or two to the beach.

Beach front is expansive, spectacular and immaculate (raked daily early am). Free snorkel gear, kayaks, paddle boards, hobies, bikes, tennis courts for registered guests. Hot tub for adults in the pool area. The pool area is expansive and has umbrellas and comfortable loungers. We sit in that area sometimes when it gets windy! The rest of the time we are on the beach.

Weekly cocktail party around the pool for owners and registered guests is lots of fun--drinks, snacks and live music.

Onsite restaurant, Hemingways, is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Hemingway's
had great food and service, indoor and outdoor seating, and a spectacular view of the ocean and sunset. Again, casual and relaxing.

Snorkeling at Bight Reef is a 30-minute walk west on the beach. Fun to walk by all the other resorts including Beaches on the way.

Weather cooperated fully this year. We were there all of February and March. Swimming and snorkeling in the beautiful ocean, sitting/reading in the sun and walking the beach at sunrise every day!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

My husband and I just returned from a 2wk stay at the Sands. From our seamless check-in (with our complimentary rum punch) to check-out we had a great vacation. Grace Bay is simply breathtaking. We took advantage of the complimentary snorkel gear daily. So amazing to find huge star red star fish, conch, sand dollars and a sting ray right off the beach in front of our chairs. The water is so calm, very little seaweed, and resort offers lots of fun water toys for all. We had no problem getting beach chairs and even umbrellas when we needed them. Beach towels always plentiful. Pools and grounds very well maintained, and on tues nights around the pool they have a managers night with complimentary snacks, beer and rum punch.
Having Hemingways as a close option for meals that you could charge to your room was great. It was so freeing not having to carry around cash or ccards all the time. The resort has a taxi for $9 to the local IGA daily 9am and 6:30pm where you can even get your alcohol. We booked an excursion right at the resort where the beach towel hut is. They were great and it was a decent price. They picked us up and dropped us off on the beach right in front of the resort.

We got a great deal on Jetsetter for a 1bdrm courtyard view room that includes kitchenette, mini fridge, microwave, and stand up shower. Our little condo was in average condition with average decor. It was nice - nothing horrible nothing special either but definitely no view of anything. Our room was very clean no bugs, plenty of towels, and the a/c worked great. Really this type of room is a connecting condo to a larger one separated by a locked door. In honesty we heard the family next door so clearly and all of their personal issues. With this said the two of us really didn't spend much time in the room during the day and at night we made our dinner reservations at a time that they seemed to need more privacy. When we came back they were all in bed so we would literally whisper and keep the tv volume low in hopes that they couldn't hear us. While at first this was odd we didn't let it impact our trip and after a few days we just didn't even think about it any more. This may be important to some that don't want to whisper or who make dinners in their room often and didn't want feel that they are on someone else's vacation...

Staff was amazing always hard working, smiling, and willing to help. In fact everyone on TCI was so friendly it made us feel safe and really welcome to share their island. Three restaurants that made our stay so special and are easy to get to were Coco Bistro, Coyaba, Lemon Cafe.

In general we noticed that this resort was mostly made up of families. We really lucked out because all of them were great and very respectful of other guests around them. If you are looking for more of a scene than this may not be the place for you. For us it was perfect for what we were looking for... a quiet and clean spot to enjoy paradise, read a book and have a little splash of adventure.

Room Tip: Be prepared that in general TCI is an expensive Island for food, grocery, and gas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
forums
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

I stayed at the Sands on April 6 to 14. The hotel is located on the most beautiful beach. the hotel ground is well keep and there is plenty of sitting on the beach, The staff is very friendly and they will help with all your need. The Sands is a much older condo than the other one in the area. The room , bathroom need updating. The furniture are very old and need to go. I don't think this condo had any updating for the last ten years. The restaurent Hemimgway serve good foor. They have a lot of othe good restaurents in the island. I love the island and I enjoy my time there. I plan to go back very soon, but I will stay someplace else. Tuscany, Seven Star, Alexandra. Rengent Palm. Grace Bay Club, The Verranda. Restaurants, Coco Bistro, Bella Luna, Opus, Mango Reef, Bay Bistro.The island also is very expensive..

Room Tip: Higher floor and corner room is better
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
columbia, md
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

The Sands is a beautiful property that I would return to. It is on one of the best spots on the beach at Grace Bay. Plenty of chairs, umbrellas, activities, etc. The people are wonderful and it is like paradise there. So what went wrong? We arrived at 2:00pm, but couldn't get into our two bedroom condo until 4:30pm. We kept being told 20 more minutes, or 30 more minutes. Finally, after traveling all day, being hot and tired, we got in. Someone knocked on our door as soon as we got in. It was a maintenance man who said our refrigerator was reported not working and he was there to fix it. We were not comfortable leaving since we hadn't even upacked, so waited around. He didn't seem to really do anything but said it was okay. It was 6:00pm, and we were still starving. We thought we would go to Hemingways for dinner. However, we were told they couldn't seat us. The restaurant was half empty, but they said it was all reservations. Thankfully we had rented a car, so drove to the small grocery store. We loaded up on frozen pizzas, etc, and finally got back to the room around 7:00pm. In preparing our food we realized the microwave was not working. We called first thing the next morning, and someone came out and said the power was out. The next day we were gone the entire day, only to return and find the refrigerator hadn't been working all day. All of our food was ruined: milk, eggs, cheese, etc. We called again. Someone came out and looked at it and said he couldn't fix it. He left and returned about 10 minutes later with the manager, Miguel. Miguel told us we should use the refrigerator next door and gave us a key to the efficiency apartment next door. The refrigerator was no bigger than a dorm size one. We squeezed as much as we could in there. The next morning, three technicians showed up. They opened the refrigerator door and said "it's working now", and left. We didn't trust the refrigerator. My husband went to see Miguel and told him they didn't do anything. He told my husband that three technicians decided the refrigerator was fine and that we should use it. We didn't trust it so continued to use the small one next door until the next day. The next day when I went to get my food, I realized someone had checked in. I had their key, and my food was in their refrigerator. I was really frustrated but assumed they threw all our food out. We went to the store again, and came home to make lunch. The kids starting pulling bread out to make sandwiches, only to find ants crawling on everything. They were immediately on the bread, in the bread bags, in the chips...just everywhere. It was disgusting. I ran out and got a maid. She was very nice, but told us to remove all of our food and she sprayed insecticide all over the kitchen. We once again had to throw a lot of the food out. Broken refrigerator twice, broken microwave, and ants! We added a day onto our stay, but had to change condos to do so. The second condo we were in was perfect. Lesson learned. Don't be nice! We tried to be pleasant and nice, and were taken advantage of. Miguel never offered for us to change rooms. If it is not working out, demand a change!

Room Tip: First condo we had was in building 2 on the first floor! We loved this location. The pool and hot tu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lidra B, Manager at Sands at Grace Bay, responded to this review, April 24, 2012
Dear beachl0ver12,



Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us at The Sands. We are delighted to know you would return and that you enjoyed our staff, the beach and its amenities.



We were sorry to learn that your room was not ready until 4:00pm. We try our best to have all the rooms ready at the same time however that is not always possible during heavy demand times.



Please accept our apology again for the refrigerator and the microwave. After it was reported we had outside contractor come in and take a look at the refrigerator to ensure that we were doing everything possible.



Miguel wanted so badly to ensure that you were comfortable that he did offer to repurchase your food items and that evening offered another room however both were declined. We understood that you did not want to move because you would have to pack, he gave you the keys to the room that connected to yours to ensure you had a refrigerator and upon departure Miguel spoke with you again to ensure your concerns were addressed.



We try our best to meet all of our guest’s needs and expectations and appreciate your feedback. We hope we have another opportunity to welcome you and your family back to Providenciales.





Kind regards

Lidra Barranco

Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montclair, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

The Sands at Grace Bay - we stayed there almost 6 years ago, and it was nice (perfect location on the beach) so we returned. We stayed there this past February/March and the rooms and the service have gone down hill. The grounds are beautifully maintained, but the rooms are just out of date and not maintained. The staff and management were non responsive.

They could use a real gift shop - what they have offers only necessities and the operator is on her cell phone most of the time while you wait to purchase sunscreen or a magazine.

Room Tip: Only stay in a room with an ocean view and on the second or third floors (third floor is the highest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sands at Grace Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sands at Grace Bay

Address: Grace Bay | PO Box 681, Providenciales
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Turks and Caicos > Providenciales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Providenciales
#15 Spa Hotel in Providenciales
#17 Luxury Hotel in Providenciales
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Providenciales
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sands at Grace Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Sands at Grace Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sands At Grace Bay Hotel Providenciales
Sands At Grace Bay Providenciales
Sands Grace Bay
Sands At Grace Bay Turks And Caicos/Providenciales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sands at Grace Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.