We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to relax and enjoy paradise!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sands at Grace Bay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sands at Grace Bay to your Saves list
Sands at Grace Bay
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Grace Bay | PO Box 681, Providenciales   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Providenciales #1
Ranked #26 of 44 Hotels in Providenciales
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great place to relax and enjoy paradise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

Visited Providenciales for a nephew's wedding. My sister and I chose the Sands over the expensive all inclusive resort selected for the wedding and where the rest of the family and friends stayed. The Sands was just a ten minute beach walk away and staying there we each saved several hundred dollars! The Sands is lovely, clean, well managed and the staff made our visit to paradise perfect. The beach is beautiful and the thatched umbrella's gave it such an authentic ambiance. After too much sun, I enjoyed the hammocks in the Coconut Grove - so peaceful and relaxing. We ate at several different places on the island, but enjoyed the delicious meals at Hemingway's most of all. Great place!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    580
    411
    78
    37
    20
See reviews for
299
520
18
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (307)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
chicago area
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

From the moment you step into the lobby you feel yourself relax. The staff is friendly and helpful and check in was a breeze. We had an oceanview suite, which was gorgeous. The screened veranda which is accessible from both the living room and the bedroom was a wonderful place to have coffee in the morning or a cocktail while getting ready to go out. The grounds and gardens were clean and beautiful. We spent most of our time on the beach. The hotel is located in the middle of Grace Bay, with the widest, most beautiful beach; you can walk for miles in either direction. There are kayaks and hobie cats to explore the crystal clear turquoise waters in. You can also use the snorkle equipment to explore even further! The sunsets are breathtaking.....an event every evening to be celebrated! It is a perfect place to relax and rejuvinate and I can't wait to return~!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portage, Michigan
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

The grounds were beautiful, the pool is clean and very nice, the view of the ocean and sunset is amazing, rooms are nice and clean. I thought we booked a studio, but it was actually a one room so we had a spate living/kitchenette area. The kitchenette has the typical small refrigerator, microwave, toaster, sink, and coffee maker. Of course if you leave food out ants will find them so we had to put everything either in the fridge, zip lock bag, or on the living room table. The staff could have been better, some were very cheerful and nice others felt like they were just waiting for the day to be done with. This is typical at most hotels/resorts. The bikes that were free to use worked ok, but were kind of scary-one of them the handle bars were loose so it was a little challenging to steer. They also have free use of hobie cats, kayaks, and wind surfing.
We ate at Hemingway’s, which is on the property, for breakfast our first morning. Two bagels with cream cheese and a glass of pineapple juice was $12. The pineapple juice had some unidentifiable stuff floating in it along with some identifiable bugs so that didn’t get drank. We also had appetizers there a few nights later; we had french fries and the steak skewers. The meat was really tender and juice, very good. The French fries had some kind of spice, which was also very good.
They have a taxi service to the IGA in town for $9 per person. You can walk/bike to the Gourmet store about a mile away and get almost the same food for the same price. They just don't have the generic IGA brands for less. Milk, bread, apples, bananas, water, pop, wine, orange juice, beer, lunch meat and so forth are all the same price, so skip the $9 per person and go to the closer one.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jericho, NY
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

Stayed at the Sands for 8 nights in July. We stayed in a one bedroom ocean view room and took advantage of the kitchen making many of our meals there after a visit to the local IGA. The Sands itself is an immaculately maintained property and the atmosphere at the hotel can best be described as casual and friendly. The hotel service I found to be very good as was the service/food at Hemingway's their beach front restaurant. The location was perfect and one could easily walk to many of the other resorts/hotels along Grace Bay. I recommend renting a car for a few days and going to some of the other beaches especially Long Bay where the turquoise waters end at the horizon. Coco Bistro which is a short ride away is not to missed for dinner and one might make reservations well in advance as this is a very popular restaurant on the island. Overall can't wait to come back and would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

i have seen many many wonderful beaches in the last 10 years and this one is by far the most spectactular of them all. from mexico to aruba to boracay(phillipines) these waters are the bluest, most swimmable waters around. the resort is very peaceful and most importantly an adult friendly resort... can't wait to visit again and again.... put this one on your list.....

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

Wonderful beach and beautiful warm water
Well-equipped gym and good spa
Spacious apartment-like rooms
Older facility but updated and conveniently located
Limited food options onsite but good places to eat within walking distance of the hotel
Major downside, staff was very rude
Taxis not metered and charges vary from driver to driver

Room Tip: make sure you have a real ocean view, not a partial view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

We visited Turks and Caicos with our 2 teenagers in mid June 2011. The Sands at Grace Bay provided the perfect family vacation with large accomodations including a full kitchen, and family room plus an ocean view! The hotel is walking distance from great snorkeling and a variety of dining options. Our kids enjoyed the kayaks and sailboats. The atmosphere is fairly quiet, so if you're looking for non-stop action this would not be your place. If, however, you want spectacular turquoise water, white sand beach, friendly people and pristine accomodations, I would highly recommend The Sands! JHK San Diego CA

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sands at Grace Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sands at Grace Bay

Address: Grace Bay | PO Box 681, Providenciales
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Turks and Caicos > Providenciales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Providenciales
#15 Spa Hotel in Providenciales
#19 Luxury Hotel in Providenciales
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Providenciales
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sands at Grace Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfect harmony on Grace Bay Beach, Providenciales Experience an earthly wonder of sand and sea at our 114-suite luxury resort on Providenciales, Turks & Caicos Islands, British West Indies. Family-friendly, yet ideally suited for romantic getaways and wedding celebrations, The Sands at Grace Bay offers a harmonious balance of home comforts and sublime Caribbean elegance - as well as a picture perfect location on the sparkling shores of Grace Bay Beach. If you are dreaming of a beach holiday in the Caribbean that gives you the flexibility of having your own fully-equipped suite while enticing you with fine dining, pristine grounds and sigh-inducing vistas, we look forward to welcoming you to The Sands at Grace Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Sands at Grace Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sands At Grace Bay Hotel Providenciales
Sands At Grace Bay Providenciales
Sands Grace Bay
Sands At Grace Bay Turks And Caicos/Providenciales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sands at Grace Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.