We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal West Indies Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Royal West Indies Resort to your Saves list
Royal West Indies Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Grace Bay, PO Box 482, Providenciales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 44 Hotels in Providenciales
A TripAdvisor Member
“Great Vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2005

My husband and I have just returned from a wonderful vacation. We spent a week at the Royal West Indies Resort in a ocean view suite. The grounds surrounding the resort are beautiful. We found the staff to be very friendly at both the resort and the Mango Reef Restaurant. We traveled with my sister and brother-in law who were in the room above us. They had a little bit better view of the ocean but both rooms had nice views.

The food and staff at the restaurant made the experience very enjoyable. The restaurant is under new management (within the last 6 months) and is very good and improving daily compaired with some of the reveiws we had read before our trip. We also found Mary Eve and Shelove to be a lot of fun at the bar. Plenty of towels, lounge chairs and umbrella's were found at the beach.

Due to the cost of telephone calls, it was wonderful to be able to remain in contact with family through the free e-mail offered at the front desk. The sand is fine and powder soft. We found the ocean to be warm. We had four days of calm water and three days of big surf which was fun to play in.

We did make a trip to the local IGA supermarket on the first day for beverages and snacks along with extra sun screen and bug spray. Expensive but worth the trip. Really needed the bug spray towards the end of the week after it rained early one morning (before we awoke) and brought out mesquitos in small armies around dusk.

Took a 3 hour trip with J & B Tours. Stopped at a couple of Islands, dove for sand dollar's and snorkled the reef. Captin Kevin was a lot of fun!

We would definitely go again

Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,384 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    794
    466
    76
    29
    19
See reviews for
208
752
40
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (315)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma City
1 review
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2005

My wife and I just returned from 5 nights at Royal West Indies Resort. We were very happy with this resort. Our transportation from the airport was timely. We were warmly greeted, and check-in was easy. The gentleman who showed us to our room was quite thorough in explaining the features of the room. We had a studio with ocean view, which was quite spacious for a studio. It had a king bed, washer/dryer, microwave and refrigerator/freezer. dvd player, cable TV with many channels. The AC worked great. We had a nice patio with table and chairs. The maid service was excellent. The front desk handled our requests cheerfully and expeditiously. The grounds are lovely, prettiest we saw on Grace Bay. There are two pools which are wonderful and many chairs for lounging. The beach, which has to be one of the best beaches I have ever seen, was only 400 steps from our room. The beach was clean and equipped with nice chairs and umbrellas. The lobby contained books and dvds, and I used the computer several times per day to check e-mails. Enjoyed dinner at Coco Bistro which is within walking distance. Aqua was also good, but Magnolia Wine Bar had bland food but nice view. We thought Coyoba was best food and presentation, although on the expensive side. The IGA store has many fine wines and a good food selection. The Gecko shuttle is well worth it. We bought a 3-day pass and used it daily. We loved Provo and definitely can recommend Royal West Indies Resort!

  • Stayed May 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2005

My boyfriend and I stay at the Royal West Indies and dived with Dive Provo recently - 4/27 - 5/2. We have absolutely no complaints with either the hotel or the dive operators. We would also recommend the Turks Head lager beer at the Barefoot Cafe and any of the conch dishes served there. We also thought Hemmingway's had the best conch chowder, although the rest of the meal was just O.K. At the Royal West Indies, the Mango Reef Restaurant is pretty good, especially the coconut shrimp. We had a terrific time diving, met some nice people and were pleased with Dive Provo's attention to safety. It was a perfect vacation.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2005

My sister and I just returned from the RWI and we had a great time. We had a 1 bedroom suite with botanical view. Our room was equipped with washer, dryer, complete kitchen with utencils, stereo, DVD player and VCR. Our room was a 5 minute walk to the beach but it wasn't so bad b/c the walkway to the beach is lined with plants and palm trees. The beach was beautiful. Just be sure to get to the beach by at least 9 AM to grab beach chairs and umbrella. The staff and locals were both extremely friendly and helpful. It's not a place for singles b/c it's so quiet. It's mostly families and couples.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2005

As a regular traveler to the carribbean it was our first trip to Turks and Caicos. The reason we chose the island was twofold one the supposedly great scuba diving and two the hurricane damaged Cayman islands. We found the island perfectly relaxing and the people extremely friendly. The food was excellent and priced about what you find on all island get aways. The resort was fantastic the staff freindly. Do not however expect anything rapid it is the carribbean not New York. Taxis are easily accessible, the water as beautiful as anywhere in the world and the beer is cold. I could not recommend it more. And I can say I will probably never go to Hawaii again. Please feel free to email me if I can be of assistance

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2005

We just returned from 6 nights at RWI and it was perfect. The rooms were up to date and well maintained. We had an ocean front room in building 2 and enjoyed falling asleep each night to the sound of the waves. The staff was completely accomodating and friendly. By the way the pool was also perfect, not cold, so they must have fixed the problem. We walked about 35 minutes down the beach toward the other resorts and RWI's beach is by far the best as far as being clean and maintained. They do an excellent job and the price is just right. The management at Mango Reef has changed recently and we enjoyed it very much for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The bar is so cozy and we retreated to it every night before and after dinner even when we went out and we don't even drink very much. The food was fantastic and the service was too. Nadia and Marieve at the bar were the best. Once again the people are often what make the experience for us and the people at Mango Reef really made it for us. What a great vacation, we will be returning to Provo and RWI.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Voorhees, NJ
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2005

My husband and I just returned from 7 days at the Royal West Indies resort
(5/22-5/29) and thought it was just perfect. We stayed in one of their studio units, building 6, third floor overlooking one of their pools and gardens, and it was just perfect for us ($160/nite this time of year)....king bed, couch, DVD player, clock radio w/CD player, kitchenette (washer/dryer, refrigerator, microwave, toaster but no stove in studio units). There is an outside terrace with table and chairs. Room was exceptionally clean and very comfortable and maid service very efficient.

The grounds and landscaping are superb...best maintained on the island. Lots of flowering bushes, trees, and plenty of flowers. You can tell they take great pride in their landscaping and there are people working those areas every day, all day.

The beach is spectacular and it is no wonder it is rated among the top 5 in the world. Water is crystal clear and turquoise. We had no problem with obtaining beach towels or beach chairs/umbrella but we hit the beach every day about 8:30-9:00 am. Sand is ultra fine and powdery. They have two Hobie Cat sailing catamarans that are free for use; also two kayaks that are free for use. Word of caution...it pays to have some sailing experience when using the Hobie Cats..should you have to be "rescued" by the Club Med rescue boat (Club Med is next door to RWI), we heard that the charge is $50 per person. There is parasailing from the beach there but they are private boats and nothing to do with RWI. Rates were $70 per person but you do get a nice long ride. We had done parasailing on Paradise Island for about $45/person but the ride we had did not seem as long as the ride you get here.

The lobby staff is very efficient and we found Cleomi to be the friendliest. She is a real gem and very helpful. There is a computer in the lobby for free use and a book of menus from restaurants in the area. The desk staff can make dinner reservations for you and also offer suggestions for area restaurants. There is also a small library of paperback books and DVD's in the lobby..both free for use. Most people leave their paperbacks that they bring to the island there and that is how they build their little library. There is a shuttle service on the island that starts at 10 am and goes until the wee hours. They make a continuous loop every half hour. Use the shuttle to get to island restaurants..it is very efficient and very cheap...a lot cheaper than using the island's taxi service. You can purchase shuttle tickets in the lobby of the RWI. Word to the wise..get shuttle tickets right in the beginning of your stay...a weekly ticket is $33/person. They also sell 3 day tickets if your stay is shorter. Buying shuttle tickets a la carte is a very expensive way to go..$4 per person per trip which adds up to $16 per couple round trip just for one trip out to one restaurant for one nite. We met people who rented cars (we did not) and that is fine if you want to go exploring all over this small island but roads are pitiful at best and if you plan to just "beach it" during the day and go out for meals/shopping, the shuttle is the best value. The resort offers free airport pick-up and will take you back to airport at the end of your stay. Just let them know when you are arriving and leaving and they take care of the rest...no charge.

Restaurants:..the RWI has Mango Reef, which has changed ownership since a lot of these reviews were written. They serve breakfast, lunch and dinner. We had lunch there twice with no complaints about the food..service was a little on the slow side one day though. We wanted to take advantage of the wonderful restaurants in the area. We ate at Aqua in Turtle Cove for dinner...excellent. Also Hemingway's which is at the Sands Hotel and that was excellent and nice ambience eating out on a deck overlooking the beach. We also went to Magnolia which sits on a hill overlooking the ocean/marina and that was very, very nice and well worth going to. Make a reservation for 7 pm there so you can be there when the sun sets..very pretty. We also ate at Coco Bistro which is within walking distance of the RWI...practically across the street...that was nice but a little
expensive for the amount that you get..but still nice to go to. For Italian food, go to Bella Luna..make a reservation if you want to eat on outside deck. We ate inside but it was very nice as the deck was cooler that nite.
Food is excellent here and the nite that we went, 4 waitstaff called out so service was slow but management got everyone fed in spite of it. We also did the Tiki Hut BBQ on Wednesday nite (every Wednesday nite) where your ribs/chicken meal is $12.95. Worth going to if you want a change of pace from rich foods and steep dinner checks.

My husband played golf twice during our stay and the Provo golf Club is about 1/4 mile from the RWI. He enjoyed the course and he is a 4 handicap golfer. Speaking of the golf club..they are supposed to have THE BEST breakfasts on the island. You can store your golf clubs there if you are playing more than one day so you don't have to keep dragging them back and forth to the resort.

One suggestion..the RWI has a service that will take you to the IGA supermarket for $20 for one or two people per trip...going at 8:30 am and 4:30 pm. Not sure how long that service waits for you to shop but I would suggest using the Gecko Shuttke mentioned above as it is a much less expensive way to get there especially when buying a weekly or three day ticket. The RWI staff fails to mention that the shuttle goes to the same place as their service and there is no rush. If you do the IGA thing, the shuttle service starts at 10 am and the IGA closes down its deli counter mid evening so hit it before then if you are looking for deli meats. The IGA is expensive as compared to food here in the states so be prepared for sticker shock. We came down to Turks and Caicos with snacks, etc. so did not have to buy that kind of stuff there. Also brought along a couple of cans of tuna and a small jar of mayo and if you do too, you will be glad you did. You can also carry small baggies of cereal, tea, Sweet and Low, etc. Food is your most expensive part of the stay on the island so if you are the type that just wants to roll out of bed, make some muffins or cereal, have coffee, tea or juice out on your terrace, that is the way to go. Same for lunch if you want to enjoy the beach without having to change to go out for lunch somplace.

Shopping is really non-existent on the island and shops close up around 5 pm. There is a wonderful ice cream shop at the Port of Call shopping area called Giggles which I believe is open until 10 pm..within walking distance but I would take the shuttle as walking along the roads there is really not too safe. The RWI has free bikes for your use that can be used to get to near-by places if you do not want to walk. You are allowed to keep the bikes out for 2 hours.

All in all, I think the RWI is the best value on the beach, the best strip of beach where the hotel is, the friendliest people who work there, the nicest and cleanest rooms and absolutely the best grounds around anywhere. We noticed while taking the shuttle to other area restaurants that a lot of the resorts look tired and worn but not the RWI. We are definitely going back and will try the one bedroom units the next time there.

Enjoy your stay!!

  • Stayed April 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal West Indies Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal West Indies Resort

Address: Grace Bay, PO Box 482, Providenciales
Location: Caribbean > Turks and Caicos > Providenciales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Providenciales
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Providenciales
#17 Luxury Hotel in Providenciales
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal West Indies Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Royal West Indies Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal West Indies Hotel Providenciales
Royal West Indies Providenciales
Royal West Indies Resort Turks And Caicos/Providenciales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal West Indies Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.