We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be better” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Royal West Indies Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Royal West Indies Resort to your Saves list
Royal West Indies Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Grace Bay, PO Box 482, Providenciales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 44 Hotels in Providenciales
Detroit, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Could be better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Although we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this resort it could have been significantly better.
I went here with my fiancee to propose and spend a week in paradise. There were some positives such as our little kitchenette which proved invaluable for such expensive restaurants on the island, as well as our in-room washer/dryer as well as free internet and water sports stuff such as kayaks, inner-tubes, and sailboats. Additionally, the service was not bad, although it was more of a hands off resort than a do whatever they can for you type of place.
On the downside, our "oceanview" was blocked by a palm tree, although we could see the ocean if we tried hard enough from our hotel room. They try to maximize profit by placing all of their buildings on an angle to claim an ocean view. We were on the third floor so had a bit of a view. The room wreaked of smoke when we got in there from leaving the screen door open and our neighbors smoking next door coming into our room. The bedsheets and blankets were quite rough and took some getting used to but overall we did and enjoyed them after a bit. The restaurant was WAAAY overpriced and was probably the worst place we at at on the island, except for breakfast which was not bad (Pelican Bay restaurant). Also, they did not let you take out the water items if the water was even a little rough, so a couple of days which we wanted to we could not, really giving us only a couple of days to kayak in the pristine water.
Beach access was beautiful, but really the same as the rest of Grace Bay, and there really is no good snorkeling from the beach. It was nice that they had a roped off area of the water to swim in, giving a sense of security when the water was a little rough.
Overall, this resort was overpriced, like the rest of the island, but it was very quiet and there were not a lot of people which made it really nice as a couple. There were a lot of families with kids, but not to the point where the noise overpowered any sense of romance.
We would recommend only after maybe ensuring it is the best option overall for you.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,435 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    818
    482
    85
    30
    20
See reviews for
219
782
40
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (340)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bloomington, Indiana
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We enjoyed our week stay at RWI. The property is well maintained and beautifully landscaped. Pools are quite small, but perfect for a cool dip. There is a designated "quiet" pool which is generally peaceful, though a few families did somehow manage to miss the plethora of signs designating the noise restriction.

The beach is a short walk through the property, where loungers and umbrellas are available, as well as basic water activity gear.

There are no cocktail servers making rounds at the beach or pool, but you can visit the poolside bar/restaurant if you wish to place an order. Cocktails are around $10. Happy hour daily 5 to 7 with 2-for-1 drinks.

The beach at RWI is very clean and free of seaweed & rocks. Water is beautiful and clear. At high tide the waves is can be quite rough, but very comfortable at low tide. A short walk away (east) brings you to Pelican Beach, which is just as beautiful, but practically deserted. An even further walk brings you to Emerald Point, where thousands of Conch shells can be found.

Rooms are comfortable. We had a garden/pool view from building 8, which was pleasant. Bathrooms were (mostly) clean - with a few minor mildew issues that we could certainly tolerate for a week. Kitchenettes are basic, but clean: small fridge, clean microwave, sink, storage space, cutlery and dishes. Mattress was comfortable. Property was quiet at night. Internet was a bit spotty in room, but better on balcony.

Property is at far end of Grace Bay strip. It is possible to walk to some restaurants, but we drove most places.

Staff was friendly and welcoming.

The property restaurant, Pelican Bay, has good food and a decent bar.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Vila, Vanuatu
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Best value for money in Provo. It is not "all inclusive" like some in Gracebay but there are ample great restaurants within a short walk of RWI and it is good to get off the resort and have a look around.You can borrow a bicycle to do that. If it is too much effort then dine in house. The accommodation is comfortable and if anything goes wrong just ask Reception for help.The staff always make you welcome and are always helpful. The beach is excellent, where on Gracebay isn't the beach good. If you get fed up with the beach then have a wander round the gardens, they are just stunning with, if you have the patience, lots of wildlife. There are also several pools to relax in as well.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Royal West Indies is the antithesis of the "all-inclusive" experience.
We have done all-inclusives and they can be very good. However, this time we were looking for a small, personal, quiet experience and that is what we found.
Each room is a suite. Ours was garden view which included a nice large balcony overlooking the secondary pool on the property, known as the "quiet" pool.
Our suite came with a full refrigerator, sink, microwave, toaster, plates and utensils.
Also in the room are your own washer and dryer...a great convenience.
Larger suites include a stove which we would have appreciated as meals out on the island are VERY expensive.
We shopped at a supermarket and made simple breakfasts and deli sandwiches for lunches. The refrigerator was great to store juices, waters,ice, etc.
The beach is gorgeous. The Caribbean as you dream about...Aqua, blue, warm, some days small waves, some days calm and flat.
Clean inviting sand, plenty of umbrellas and lounges.
Towels provided by hotel as well as kayaks, snorkel equipment and more.
Very nice restaurant on site...pricey, but they are pricey everywhere.
Front desk staff was very nice even calling and reserving a rental car for us.
We would certainly stay here again when we are lucky enough to return to Turks and Caicos.
Joel & Rosalie...Boston, MA.

Room Tip: We liked the third flor for the view. I heard 2 complaints that their "ocean front" room o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We spent 5 days and 4 nights at the end of February. It was our first trip to Turks & Caicos. We spent quite some time researching where to stay before deciding on RWI. The trip exceeded all of our expectations! Loved the hotel, the location, and the staff of the hotel! Honestly, would not change a single thing about this vacation.

Our room was a botanical view which overlooked the adult pool. We enjoyed having coffee each morning on the spacious balcony. Easy access to the beach and there was always an umbrella and chairs available. The West Indies has a prime beach spot, I don't believe you could do better. We enjoyed the food at the restuarant, had a number of our meals there. A little pricy perhaps, but, quality was good and service was excellent. Try the Island breakfast, roasted fish in tomato sauce and grits. So delicious I had it twice! And, you cannot get that in the States!

We rode bikes into town a couple of times but also walked one evening after dinner. Street was well-lit and sidewalks the entire way. We felt completely safe each time, even at night. The Thursday night fish fry was a great experience! A mix of locals and tourists with music, food and drinks. The hotel staff recommended we go and it was so fun! They also recommended a snorkel/conch island excursion that was a blast! Don't believe you can go wrong with their recommendations.

The bar was a terrfic place to relax, hang out and have some laughs! Bartenders were fun and friendly! Yes, Mario is all that! His reputation is well deserved and his trademark mojito is delicious! There was always a nice mix of locals and tourists there.

We found the hotel staff to be totally personable and service-oriented. The morning we left we filled out the comment card and named at least 5 individuals who had a positive impact on our trip. Neither of us had ever felt compelled to do that before! We spoke to several people who always stay at this hotel when they visit TCI and we would definitely stay here again. It was an amazing trip!

Room Tip: 3rd floor studio with king was perfect for the two of us. No elevators though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee WI
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This was our first trip to Turks and Caicos. I did so much research before finally booking at RWI and I was so happy with my choice. It was the perfect size resort and fit our budget. You can spend a ton of money here but you don't have to to have a wonderful time. We stayed in a studio botanical facing the quiet pool. We were in building 8 on the second floor and at first I was sad about being the furthest away from the beach. It turned out to be a great though - our balcony always had shade so we could be out there whenever we wanted.

We went to the grocery on foot when we got there to load up on breakfast items and beverages. My husband used one of the bikes the rest of the week to get more gallons of water when we needed it. As a part of my walk on the beach each morning, I would hop out on the walkway to the Main Street by Seven Stars and head over to the Caicos Bakery for a few treats to add to breakfast on the balcony. We made coffee with what was provided in the room. Since we didn't rent a car, we were limited to restaurants we could walk to but there were plenty within walking distance. We ate at Caravel, Danny Buoys, Seaside Cafe, Lupo, Vix, Jimmy's Dive Bar, and Big Al's. Our best meals were at Caravel and Big Al's food-wise. The ambience is strange at Caravel but don't let it scare you off.

We sat out at the beach every day. There are plenty of chairs and umbrellas for everyone. A bit of a towel game is played for the front row of chairs and little side tables - but I'm okay with that. We used the hobie cat every day. One thing that was different about RWI compared to other places we've been is the resort staff offers zero assistance getting the boat in/out of the water. They also don't watch out for you while you are out on the water. The wind is so much stronger here than other places and it was common to see people tip the cats over. It made me a little nervous that no one would come out to help us if that happened while we were out but it never did. As long as you know what you are doing, you are fine.

I have to give a shout out to Lopez - he is super friendly and seems to truly enjoy his job. If you ask him to take a picture of you, he will almost do a mini photo shoot. :) Thanks Lopez!

The front desk helped us make reservations with Island Vibes for a half day snorkel trip. I was surprised by how few fish we saw when we snorkeled - I had much higher hopes for a destination like this. I don't know why there wasn't more to see. The trip was still fun - they take you to another island where you can walk around and the views throughout the boat ride are beautiful. My husband tried snorkeling offshore up and down the beach but couldn't find anything to see. You need a car or cab to get anywhere to do better snorkeling.

Cab ride was $40 plus tip each way for the two of us. The Ride doesn't take too long. The front desk helped us arrange transportation back to the airport the day we left.

It was a great trip - so sad it's over. Thanks for a great week RWI!

Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Just finished up a week long stay at Royal West Indies. The room was very comfortable. I loved having the full size fridge and the microwave in the room. I went to the store (you can ride the bikes they furnish) and stocked up on breakfast and lunch foods. For dinner there were plenty of restaurants in walking distance. Also in walking distance was a casino with table games and slots. RWI also has paddleboards, kayaks and a Hobie you can use for no charge.
My favorite part of the place the onsite Pelican Bay restaurant and bar. The staff (Mario, Markenson, Suger, Stacy, Premy) treated everybody like family. And from 5-7 it was half price on all drinks.
I hope I have the opportunity to go back!

Room Tip: I was in building 7. The balcony did not have any shade after lunch. My co-worker was in building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal West Indies Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal West Indies Resort

Address: Grace Bay, PO Box 482, Providenciales
Location: Caribbean > Turks and Caicos > Providenciales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Providenciales
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Providenciales
#18 Luxury Hotel in Providenciales
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Providenciales
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal West Indies Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Royal West Indies Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal West Indies Hotel Providenciales
Royal West Indies Providenciales
Royal West Indies Resort Turks And Caicos/Providenciales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal West Indies Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.