We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Beachfront Room” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal West Indies Resort

Save Saved
You added Royal West Indies Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Royal West Indies Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Grace Bay, PO Box 482, Providenciales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 44 hotels in Providenciales
NYC
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Awesome Beachfront Room”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2009

Me and my girlfriend stay at RWI for 5 days in a beachfront studio. We both loved it. We would stay there again in the future. Here are our pros/cons:

Pros:
Beachfront rooms are directly overlooking the ocean.
Private patio to watch sunrise/set.
Mango Reef resturant is excellent; recommended by locals.
Seperate "adults" pool.
Quiet, secluded feel for a large hotel.
Attentive staff.

Cons:
Not many!
No room service
In room wireless internet was costly.

All in all, wonderful resort. We are looking forward to returning to TCI in the future!

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,222 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    710
    403
    70
    23
    16
See reviews for
174
653
31
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2009

RWI was a great place for a quiet relaxing vacation.
CHECK IN
We arrived at the resort around 12 noon, check in is at 3PM, however upon arrival we were informed that our rooms were ready for us, a pleasent surprise. My wife and I stayed in 715,a first floor, garden view unit, one bedroom.
ROOM
The room was deligtful. It was everything we could ask for, full kitchen, which we used to prepare breakfast and lunch. Bedroom was large as was the living area. Everything was quite clean and maid service was fine. The view from our patio was lush and relaxing, overlooking the quiet pool. I must say that this was probably the quietest resort I have ever stayed at. We were very satisfied with the room.
POOLS
I must confess that we didn't spend much time at the pool, the beach is too beautiful to leave. At the end of the day we did use the hot tub and it was a delicious way to end the day. The pools were clean and well cared for,
BEACH
This was the star of the show!!!! The beach is the most beautiful beach I have ever seen. Miles of pure white sand and the water has to be seen to be seen to be belived,blue, green changing with the the time of the day, made for perfect relaxation. The first two days we were there the water was like a sheet of glass, the second two days there was some waves but even then, if you wanted to you could spend hours relaxing in the water. The beach guy was very helpful in setting us up in lounges and umbrellers and supplying floats for us to laze on in the water. We went to spend a few days at a beach and we could not have asked for more.
DINING
The Mango Reef was sensational. Had breckfast, lunch and dinner there over the course of four days. The amount of food was excessive and the prices were somewhat high, but the food was spectacular. I highly recommend it. We also ate at Coco Bistro and Hemminways. Each was expensive, but, your on vacation. I thought the food at Coco Bistro was better then Hemmingways. My only real complaint with these two places were that they were so dark. I like to see my food and the lighting in both places made that near impossible.
We also went to the IGA to lay in some supplies. There was some sticker shock at the prices for groceries. You have to keep in mind that everything is shipped in so everything was almost double the price of what we pay at home. Case of Corona was $40.00. Be prepared.
CONCLUSION
A very relaxing vacation. Eveyone at the resort was polite and friendly. The facilities were more then satisfactory. The beach was magnificent. All in all, a wonderful time was had by all.

  • Liked — The beach
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall, NY
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2008

We stayed at the RWI starting on Novemebr 16, 2008. The weather was perfect (although it did get a little windy at the end) and the beaches are the best I've seen in the Caribbean.
We stayed in an oceanfront one bedroom and the room was impeccable. The only thing I ever have to complain in Mexico and the Caribbean is the beds are very hard and they hurt my hips and back. I have not yet found a resort that has soft beds (like at the Starwood Hotels) but again that is our preference. I must be in the minority.
We came to Provo to relax and do nothing else and the RWI is perfect for that. We met great people from, Saratoga- NY, New Jersey and New Hampshire. The staff was very friendly. We did take the snorkeling tour that was recommended out at the tour desk and we felt at least for us it was not worth the money and next year will try another company.

The mix drinks at the bar are wonderful ( with about 5-6 shots of liquor in each drink!) Mango Reef was a good restuarant. We walked the beach to Hemingways and had an outstanding meal. We also walked the beach to the seaside cafe and had a half lobster special for $17.00. It was incredible. We also ate at the Bella Luna Ristorante which is a short walk from RWI. If you get there before 7Pm you can get a 3 course price fix meal, which was really worth the money. The owner was charming and the food was delicious. No dining in Provo is cheap, but we decided to eat in for breakfast and lunch and then spend our food money for dinner. Each apartment is equiped with a full kitchen including a coffee maker so we brought bagels, cereal, crackers etc. We took a trip to the IGA ( I will never say NY is expensive again!) and got only the essentials because the prices are pretty steep. We also brought our own liquor but found we really didn't need to as the liquor store was a bit cheaper!

We are definitely returning next year and returning guests get a 10% discount!

  • Liked — room was great as was the beach
  • Disliked — hard bed
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatwick, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
260 helpful votes 260 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2008

Flew from London Heathrow to Provo via BA...first class service and well worth the money..
On arrival was met by Grace Bay car hire people...found RWI and found them shall we say indifferent to the British but fell over themselves to suck up to Americans and Canadians. Room was a studio which was clean and functional, cleaned every day but showing the signs of use..Bed was terrible (old springs causing lumps and bumps) and caused bad problems for us..
Pool was lovely but small, beach was perfect.. Its just far enough away from Club Med not to hear the noise..
found it was too far for a short walk to the main places to eat and the local bar was both expensive and mainly served fist (which I cant eat).
Hemmingways we felt was better but all to their own..The Sands was a better place generally and if we had a choice of staying at either one again I wold pick the Sands.. Pool was better and the restaurant we felt was better. Not much more to add except we loved the place, Grace Bay is stunning..

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Bed
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta Gerogia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2008

We came down to TCI over the Thansgiving week to enjoy a little Scuba Diving. We dove with Dive Provo who did a fantastic job and picked us up at the hotel each morning. Our room was a garden view studio that was very nice. The kitchnette has a microwave, refrigerator, toaster and coffee pot. A full set of glasses, plates, silverware and even a few basic cooking utensils were supplied.

We are from Atlanta and not used to cold water so to us the pool was a bit too cold for our liking but the hot tub is huge and seldomly had more than two other people in it. The Mango reef restaurant on premisis had good to very good food. Breakfast was about $20 US and lunch or dinner $50-$75 for two. We bought our own snacks (chips, nuts, granola bars etc.) and were able to keep left overs in the nice sized refrigerator in the room. The portions for dinner were large and usually we had enough left overs from the evening before that we could make a nice lunch/snack in the room.

We were on the side of the hotel that faces Club Med and the only time we heard any noise from them was if we stepped outside. Even then all we heard was good island music (very faintly) and the sounds of people having a good time. Certainly not anything that could be considered annoying.

Next door is a nice small casino and free drink coupons for the casino are available at the front desk of the hotel. Drinks at the casino are not free while you are playing and your limited to one drink coupon per person. Across the street is Coco Bistro which is probably the most beautiful outdoor restaurant you will ever eat at. There are more palm trees than tables and the food is very good. Without wine I think our dinner there was about $70.00 for two.

  • Liked — Great value for a modern, clean comfortable room with Kitchenette
  • Disliked — It's an $10-$20 taxi ride each way to downtown and some of the other nice restaruants
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bhinshaw21
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2008

We were married on the beach in front of RWI on Nov. 10th. After tons of research (especially here on tripadvisor) we decided to stay here. Undeniably, one of the best places on Grace Bay. The staff were awesome throughout our 8 day stay. We upgraded to an Oceanfront room after the first night because we wanted to hear the waves from our balcony(Residence #1 is the only building directly on the beach if you want to request). Well worth the $35 more per night since we were in Residence #8, furthest from the beach. Mango Reef is perfect. Plenty of variety to eat everyday for all meals if you wanted to. The bar is good for a low-key evening and a chance to meet a few people, no dancing or anything crazy going on...very chill. The pools are beautiful and the hot tub a nice place to relax in the evening. The grounds and gardens are beautiful. We saw gardeners out hand clipping plants every day. The beach staff are very helpful and always around to provide chairs, towels, kayaks, or hobie cats. Compared to Grace Bay Club (right next door) and Ocean Club West, RWI is perfect for the money. Drinks at Grace Bay are double what they were anywhere else, and both places were pretty dead...didn't see anyone on the beach and just a couple of people at the restaurant (it was offseason). Ocean Club's pool was pretty cool though if that's what you fly to TCI for? You could hear Club Med when you were walking around outside at night, but definitely not loud enough to bother anyone. Didn't hear or see any construction going on nearby. The condos at Grace Bay Club look almost complete so it could have been an issue in the past, but definitely not now.

We would go back tomorrow if we could. Don't get hung up on people's small and insignicant complaints. You're in paradise and if people not greeting you as soon as you get out of your cab or people having some fun next door is going to ruin your trip...stay home!

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
us
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2008

we spent a week at rwi. i knew what to expect from the advice on trip advisor. we were upgraded to an oceanview. it was a great start. . everyone one was friendly, if you greeted them properly. the rooms were clean. did not have any problems with the staff or noise from club med as others have noted. while in the room could not here any noise. there is no construction close either. we used the bikes and the computer while there. we walked every where. to us everything was in walking distance. but we like to walk. walked while it was dark as well and no problems. but it did get dark around six since the time changed. we enjoyed coyaba ,within walking distance, the service is great. coco bistro is nice and food is good. mango reef has good food as well and you don't have to leave the resort. it was a very nice vacation.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Royal West Indies Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal West Indies Resort

Also Known As:
Royal West Indies Hotel Providenciales
Royal West Indies Hotel
Royal West Indies Providenciales
Royal West Indies
Royal West Indies Resort Turks And Caicos/Providenciales
Address: Grace Bay, PO Box 482, Providenciales
Location: Caribbean > Turks and Caicos > Providenciales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Providenciales
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Providenciales
#18 Romantic Hotel in Providenciales
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal West Indies Resort 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Tingo, Booking.com, Amex, BookIt.com, Venere, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Royal West Indies Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal West Indies Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.