We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal West Indies Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Royal West Indies Resort to your Saves list
Royal West Indies Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Grace Bay, PO Box 482, Providenciales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 44 Hotels in Providenciales
Lakeland, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

A wonderful resort. The beach is beautiful with plenty of chairs and umbrellas and true clear turquoise water. No trouble or issues getting beach towels. Some folks did "reserve" their chairs early but it was not a problem. We were there in mid June for nine nights. The flowers around the resort are beautiful. It is on the quieter end of Grace Bay which is perfect but still only 10 minutes plus walking to the supermarket. Recommend a taxi ride back if you buy a lot of items. Mario and Markesson at the bar were wonderful as was Myla. There is only one restaurant but you can also eat at the bar. Caicos café 10 minutes away and Coco Bistro are superb restaurants. I would be careful on deciding to use the meal plan. Although good value, be warned it is not the same menu as if you were not on the plan. The meal plan has a set menu. Check it out. If you like it ... purchase a plan option. We dove with Provo Turtle divers. They are absolutely tremendous and provide incredible service. Note, you can save money by booking your diving in advance of arrival!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,471 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    837
    496
    86
    32
    20
See reviews for
230
801
41
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (353)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wanaque, New Jersey
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We stayed at RWI from July 11th through the 17th. The grounds were beautifully maintained and the room was spacious and comfortable. We spent most of our time on the beautiful beach, but there were two pools that offered a nice alternative option. One of the pools was in a designated quiet area (denoting not a kiddie pool), but both pools were quiet. We had an ocean view studio suite with a large balcony. The resort had a luxurious, but not ostentatious feel. Towels and shaded beach and pool spots were plentiful. The overall convenience was a major plus for us. We were within walking distance to many restaurants and a couple of miles from a large grocery store. Our suite had a full refrigerator and a mini-kitchen (microwave and sink). This made is easy to balance small meals and snacks at 'home' with nice dining experiences when we wanted that option.

The only negative thing that we experienced was the non-existence of acceptable drinking water. After checking in, we bought water and kept it in our room, but it would have been nice for there to have been water available without our having to travel off the property to get it. Filtered water fountains on the grounds or even just a couple bottles of water in the room per day should have been provided. The hotel restaurant charges $7.00 for a bottle of Evian water, which seems abusive and opportunistic. In a luxury resort, potable water should not be considered an extra.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Wow, the water in TCI (Turks & Caicos) is incredibly clear and turquoise! The resort is small and almost at the end of Grace Bay, which is perfect if you want to be in a quiet place. This is the off season...so not very busy. We had a studio with a 'garden view' on the ground floor in building 4. No problems, yes there were ants, but not surprising and just in kitchen, so of course, just like Florida you store all food in refrigerator! Bring food with you, like your breakfast cereal, tuna, pasta, crackers, granola bars, etc because food is expensive: $6.00 for a half gallon of milk; $7.00 for a gallon of Snapple tea, $6.00 for a small container of Tropicana...you get the picture. Although we had some food from the deli at the IGA, and it was GREAT! Rooms had a washer and dryer, and they supplied the first box of detergent, and even soap for washing kitchen dishes. I digress...the lady at the 'tour' desk was less than useful, we got in at 2:30 pm on a Friday, so she should be there ready for us crazy tourists, but less than enthusiastic, kind of sad really. So, we didn't book a thing through her...did it all ourselves through prior research on tripadvisor and talking to people that were at the resort already. The ladies at the front desk were okay, didn't go out of their way to help, but friendly. Our room wasn't ready when we got there, so we went to the bar/restaurant and had a drink and some conch fritters, pretty darn good. We had the dinner there on Friday night, the Surf and Turk, really good. Lots of really good seafood, they start you off with a trio of conch appetizers, and they were good, and we had grouper, shrimp, ahi, and more. Really good. We did not buy the special priced meal package...we wanted to go all over island to try food and we had brought our own breakfast and lunch food already. Happy hour is 5-7 every night, so take advantage, everything at the bar is 1/2 off or 2 for 1, including food! We say people ordering pizza to take to their rooms, great idea really. I loved their Crazy Monkey frozen drink and they had special espresso/bailey's martini (yummy). The bartenders (Markenson) extremely friendly and creative, give them some leeway and they will make up a drink just for you. Pools were clean and beautiful with plenty of lounge chairs/umbrellas. A short walk to the beach each day, again plenty of chairs and umbrellas (only one day we had to search really hard), only thing that would happen is that they would run out of towels. Kind of a pain, but we typically took our towel to the room each night and would bring back in a.m. to exchange, just in case. Room was really perfect, no complaints. Just remember, not a lot of activity at this resort and I would not particularly recommend for families for that reason, although there are activities on the island (we heard Beaches was a great place for kids). There are 2 SUP's, 2 small catamaran's, and a kayak for your use at no cost..first come, first serve. Here's what we did...Island Vibes with Dre for our afternoon snorkel, tour of Little Cay to see the Rock Iguanas and conch ceviche, and then a 30 minute swim/dive off the small catamaran. Big Blue for a kayak tour of the mangroves, really great fun. And finally since we were lucky enough to be there just after a full moon (2-5 days after a full moon) you can do a 'Glowworm tour' with Island Adventures...Loved them all, everyone had food and drink (lots of rum punch, okay not with the kayak tour though, water..). Would not hesitate to recommend them all. Dinners/lunches out: Hemmingways: lunch great Mahi mahi tacos and fish and chips (we had them switch out their normal fish for the mahi mahi), great view of beach and average service. Mr. Grouper: dinner, great blackened grouper and coconut crusted grouper, would recommend definitely, thanks Sophia our waitress; Coyaba's: dinner, expensive, nice atmosphere, wonderful wait staff and great food; Coco Bistro: dinner, expensive, nicer than Coyaba (which I think probably got their outdoor idea from Coco Bistro), humorous and efficient wait staff, they set us off by ourself (because it was our anniversary/birthday) and I had the mahi mahi, so flavorful, and husband had the ahi tuna (pretty rare, but he liked it) and then to top if off chocolate banana bread pudding with ice cream! So tasty...Bugaloos: dinner x 2 great view of bay, outdoors, great wait staff (Omar Sharif) and inexpensive, hamburgers and grilled shrimp, both good. And finally Danny Buoy's: lunch on last day...good gherkin jerkin appetizer, massive dinner salad and fish and chips for my husband. Great staff, Lorean, thanks. Don't miss the Thursday Fish Fry on Bight Beach, it was a blast, great music and then a local TCI dance/music group. Wonderful prices, and even some good trinkets to bring home! Finally, the only thing that had us all bamboozled was the tax/service fees. Sometimes we would get a 12% island tax on itmes (not at grocery store), most restaurants, and then on top of that you would have a service tax/fee ranging from 6-10%. To the best of our knowledge this was a 'tip' and truthfully we are not sure how it was divied up...to all staff, to our waiter? But typically we would add at least another 5%, but most of time we would add another 10%. So be prepared. But I will say this, it was a WONDERFUL trip and we had a great time! Don't hesitate to go!

Room Tip: Building 4, ground floor, like all rooms had a great patio and wonderful layout. Plus, we did not ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosen40
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

Stayed July 15-20.Beautiful resort- flowers and numerous palm trees as others have said are everywhere. Had a ocean front unit- great view - room had flat screen, with 50 or so American channels , good signal.Bathroom tile was all new, nice linens and furnishings.AC kept room at 70 which is where I set it. Full size refrigerator came in handy. Room was clean and cleaned daily to perfection. Free wifi in resort- could be a little slow at times though. Perfect location near shops and restaurants. Highly recommend renting a car- there are restaurants and areas further away. Resort had a great bar and happy hour - food was fine - had lunch there a few times but hit some major restaurants for dinner. The beach is great - calm clear water - large - seemed private not crowded -had plenty of chairs and umbrellas even coming out at 12 pm. Did have a problem getting towels as others have noted - odd -I wonder what happens in peak season? Security was present although the resort appears to be in a very nice neighborhood but was a welcome site. Very good price for Turks - Would definitely return to this resort. Staff was friendly and Lopez the bellman has everyone in good spirits.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smithtown, New York
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Close to the beach, nice pool and bar. Very nicely manicured grounds. Room had nice terrace, washer dryer, kitchen and 2 flat screens. Hobie cat, paddle board, and kayak available to take out free. Two for one drinks from 5-7 daily. All around nice place. Everything on island is expensive!

Room Tip: Garden view rooms very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

I had to the opportunity to stay at a one bedroom unit at this resort for 5 days and I was impressed with building 6, suite 611. It was furnished simply, but tastefully and included WiFi, a full kitchen and a washer/dryer, two flat screen televisions, Satellite TV, and a patio that included a table and chairs. (the WiFi is incredibly good throughout the property and I was able to pickup a signal on the beach without a problem. (it's also complimentary throughout the Resort).

This unit was a corner unit that was on the ground floor and there was a small pool literally right outside the unit. The pool was more like a spa, the decor consisted of plants and a water fall as well as hot tub and there was plenty of very nice comfortable lounge chairs and umbrella's that surrounded the pool. It appeared to be an adults only pool and it was barely used. I used the pool daily during the evening hours and I was the only one using the pool. ( I never heard any noise at the pool from inside unit 611, even when I observed some folks using the pool during the morning hours)

The Resort consists of 8 buildings all studio's, one bedroom and two bedroom units. The units all have kitchenette/ kitchen and washer and dryers as well terraces or patio's and WiFi as well as daily maid service. This resort does not have a fitness center or club house which would have been a nice compliment to the property. There are 6 bikes on the property and i never had the opportunity to use any of them because 3 were out of service and the other 3 were being used continuously by other guests. ( I believe you have to sign out the bike at the front desk and you have a 2 hour time limit to use the bikes. The Resort also appeared to have ample parking if you decided to rent a vehicle for your trip.

The walk from my unit to the beach was literally 3 minutes. The beach is a public beach right outside the property (building 0ne). WiFi was awesome on the beach! The beach is really very nice, safe and quiet and you can walk for miles if you desire. The resort provided chairs and umbrella's free of charge to use as well as towels and some water sports toys to utilize (sign them out at the Towel Cabana). There are plenty of chairs, umbrella's and I never had a problem finding an empty lounge chair and I was never solicited by anyone selling or offering tours, trinkets, cigars or marijuana like some of the other Island that I have been too.

The staff was overall very nice and professional but the front desk clerks (3) didn't seem to provide you information about the restaurant on the property or even provide a map of the property. I felt rushed as I was quickly given two key to the unit, (signed a few forms) and then told where my unit was located. ( a staff member took me down a path to the unit after I asked "where do I go"?)

The Management of the property should really take the time to make up packets, give out literature, maps regarding the surrounding area and importantly the location of the IGA supermarket. I travel frequently and unfortunately I had to ask the questions which is a "NO NO" in hospitality.

There is an IGA (full service) supermarket that is about a 15 minute walk (3/4 of mile away) or use one of the bikes to get there. I was told by one of the other guests there was a $10 shuttle service but i can't confirm that)
I did walk to the supermarket to purchase some groceries and I enjoyed it because I also walked around Port of Call right outside the IGA and took the opportunity to window shop at some of the local trinket stores.
The supermarket prices are triple what locals pay outside the tourist area, so be prepared to pay $2 for a gallon of water (locals pay 50 cents outside of the Great Bay tourist area) $5 for bread, $4 for a quart of milk, $4LB for tomato's, the prices were ridiculous. So i suggest that you pack in checked bag what you can from home (coffee, peanuts, dry creamer, canned tuna, canned chicken, mayonnaise, ketchup, mustard, oatmeal, granola to offset some of the costs if you don't mind preparing a few meals a day.

In my travels Turks and Caicos is really expensive when it comes food and as well as airport transportation. It was $40 each way for a 12 minute taxi ride. It is really outrageous. You can use Majestic Taxi Tours and book your airport transportation online using PAYPAL or you can take your chances with the independent taxi drivers waiting outside the terminal. Expect to share a taxi with others when you depart to your hotel.

Overall Turks and Caicos is beautiful, the beach and water were awesome but everything runs on "Island time" so expect to sleep, eat, sun bathe and relax and if your looking for a lot of excitement and partying then Turks and Caicos may not be for you. Would i return again to Turks and Caicos, probably not.

I did upload some photo's of the unit i stayed in as well as the property and beach.

Room Tip: Build 1 is closer to the beach and building 6 is right outside the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, Maine
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

My Husband and I spent 8 magical days at the Royal West Indies. We had a studio room which was perfect for us. The bed was very comfortable and the room was clean and cozy. We were in Building two which meant we could go out our back door to the beach or out the front to the pool and Pelican bay. The staff was amazing and the atmosphere was quiet, relaxed and romantic.

This was by far the best vacation we have ever had.

Room Tip: Studio is perfect for couples and singles.......
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Royal West Indies Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal West Indies Resort

Address: Grace Bay, PO Box 482, Providenciales
Location: Caribbean > Turks and Caicos > Providenciales
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Providenciales
#19 Luxury Hotel in Providenciales
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal West Indies Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Priceline, Amex, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Royal West Indies Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal West Indies Hotel Providenciales
Royal West Indies Providenciales
Royal West Indies Resort Turks And Caicos/Providenciales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal West Indies Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.