We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet stay on the beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal West Indies Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Royal West Indies Resort to your Saves list
Royal West Indies Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Grace Bay, PO Box 482, Providenciales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 44 Hotels in Providenciales
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Quiet stay on the beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Royal West Indies for 4 nights in November 2013, booking through a JetBlue Getaways package. The resort is on Grace Bay towards the end of a strip of large hotels, but managed to feel somewhat secluded and quaint. There are multiple buildings on the property and we happened to be in the one closest to the beach(Residence #2), which was great; I would imagine it might have been disappointing to stay in one of the other residences that would've required a longer walk to the beach and towel guy.

The bar is great, and offers 2-for-1 happy hour from 5-7pm, which we took full advantage of with the help of our favorite bartender Mario. All of the other guests and residents(these are condos, so there are owners who stay year-round), we very friendly, and made our trip that much more enjoyable. There's no reason to be unhappy in paradise...

The resort also offers free usage of snorkeling equipment, kayaks, hobbie crafts, and bikes. The bikes came in really handy for a trip to stock up on water and food at the supermarket which is just up the road, and trips to town. Overall, I'd highly recommend staying here!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,519 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    866
    513
    87
    33
    20
See reviews for
240
828
45
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (369)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
62 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

My husband and I stayed here (Room 211 The Queen Anne suite through VRBO) from 11/16-11/21. We had to cut our trip short due to a situation back home, but the time spent here was very nice. This actual unit was superb. It was so clean and had every amenity that you could need.It was decorated beautifully and the furniture was top notch. The bed was so incredibly comfortable. The resort itself is not very large which makes it easier to become familiar with.You can rent bikes for a two hour limit which is quite fun.We did rent a car( Grace Bay Car Rentals---great choice) which helped us get around everywhere and was cheaper than getting taxis daily. The grounds are impeccably kept and every single employee was friendly and helpful. The wonderful woman in charge of the landscaping was Hazel and when I tell you meeting her was a highlight, it truly was. She was a gem.She has friends in Pittsburgh for life. The bar and restaurant seemed to be quite busy all throughout the day. The beach is amazing, The water was unbelievable and the sand is just like powder. The island itself is quite expensive. While we were there we ate at Jimmys Dive Bar (good jerk wrap), Sharkbite (amazing grouper sandwich--ate here twice), Bella Luna (my favorite, authethentically Italian, pizzeria was incredible), Coco Bistro (great meal, wonderful experience), Caicos Cafe (not bad, good desserts), Smokeys (stay away, seriously stay away.), Mr. Groupers (great lunch). Pizza Pizza (good delivered pizza) We did shop for some groceries at the Graceway Gourmet, but once again the prices were crazy. This island offered for us relaxation and great dining primarily. Being from Pittsburgh we had a bit of a hard time adjusting to island time and the slower pace of everybody, but we adjusted as best we could. We took a look at some other resorts while biking and can honestly say that The Royal West Indies is just as nice as any of the others and may offer a better value. I would recommend this resort to anyone in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

Turks and Caicos is a wonderful sun and water destination. Fine white sand beach and crystal clear, warm, turquoise waters with lots of water based activities available. It is, however, a pricey destination as most things must be imported. Relative to many of the other resorts/condhotels on the island, the Royal West Indies makes TCI a more affordable option. It is located on the far perimeter of the Grace Bay Village shopping area with its very well stocked grocery store, French bakery, restaurants and substantial shopping choices (including duty free). The grounds are lush and meticulously maintained. The staff very professional and warm. While suites could not be described as reflecting cutting edge , contemporary design, we found our suite (including the very handy kitchen facilities) to be well planned and furnished, spacious, sufficiently modern and spotlessly clean. The pools were very well maintained and, during our week long stay at least, never crowded. Only once was I unable to find a lounge chair. Beach staff are available to ensure that guests have lounge chairs and umbrellas. On most days, food and drinks were also available at the beach.
The Royal West Indies has a very relaxed, 'get away from it all' feel. No one is moving quickly. Guests are enjoying the sun, the water, a book, a cocktail, conversations with fellow guests and gorgeous sunsets. All in the midst of beautiful tropical plants, flowers and butterflies.
If there are negatives, those who want to stay connected at all times will find the WIFI frustrating. In our unit, it worked in the living room area but not the bedroom and access around the grounds was similarly unpredictable. Also, although we did not find it bothersome at all, there is a Club Med next door and, as you might expect, it is a much more active and party oriented resort with the sounds occasionally traveling. And if stairs are an issue, be sure to ask for a ground floor unit.
If you go, consider renting a car. Not because you'll be unable to walk to 'town' but because taxis are expensive and the island does offer lots of interesting restaurants and sightseeing opportunities a little farther afield.

Room Tip: The resort is laid out on a rectangular strip of property perpendicular to the beach. There are few...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

Just came back from several days at RWI....what a great place and a great location. This was the first time we had stayed in TCI and we are thrilled that we chose this hotel. It was very quiet, great beach and the rooms were clean. The only negative, which is minor is that some of the staff was great, very friendly and helpful and others were not so much. It was funny there was nothing in between! Not a big deal but has to be mentioned. Otherwise I highly recommend this place and I will be coming back!

Room Tip: best value is the second floor rooms, they all have some type of view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

we spent 7 nites nov 11th to 18th . in a ground floor end unit with full kitchen right next to the adults quiet pool. it was a real nice unit with all amenities. fast efficient check in and wonderful staff from top to bottom . grounds are kept spotless and beautiful . the restaurant was also very nice too. one of the most beautiful beaches we had ever walked on ran for a few miles each way too. all in all royal west indies resort was a top notch place to stay and we would return in a heart beat . semper fi

Room Tip: for more room then just a bed room. spend a few more dollars and get the 1 bed room corner room .
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

This was my 4th trip to Provo and my first stay at RWI resort. I had been to the resort once at night to dine at the Mango Reef in 2010 but that was the last time.

I booked here because I knew the location and that the place was good and affordable. That turned out to be accurate. I would stay here again depending on the circumstances.

The staff were very friendly and attentive even if the resort is dated and not very high tech. The place was quiet and clean and I was not there for a big blow out vacation. I slept in often and relished the quiet. (I must comment that I am not and never will be a sun worshiper).

The restaurant and bar were good, the fellow guests very friendly at the pool and at cocktail hours. The hotel staff (maids and desk folks) were also professional and helpful.

That being said, here are some things they can improve:

Our shower diverter did not work well, causing most of the water to go on our feet. We adapted by washing hair in the sink and taking a trickle shower with a towel on our heads but given the price, we should not have to deal with that. We did call and it was not fixed during out stay. The resort is old and the spigot to the tub was about to come out of the wall if you yanked on the diverter and it was caulked, so you know this has been an issue for others. Call a plumber please.

Several things were cracked, like the counter tops etc, and given that these appeared to be new upgrades, it must be the quality of the materials. This is not a deal breaker but does not give the best to the customers.

The porches were not screened in as other ones have been. With the amount of vegetation on the property, the bugs were bad, so screens may have helped substantially. The first visit I had to the Turks was at the Sands, and those were screened in porches.

My biggest (but still relatively minor) beef was that the check in desk PC had no printer. Really? In this day and age, you should be able to print out your boarding pass. Since my phone was turned off, I did not have a boarding pass to refer to for our departure. Again, not a deal breaker but annoying.

We were at the back of the resort and had to walk to the beach just to get a towel. That's not customer centric.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

We stayed from 10/26-11/08 and this was our third trip to Provo and second to RWI. This time we spent 8 nights in an ocean-view 1 bedroom (third floor) and a botanical 1 bedroom for 5 nights (second floor). The view for each room category was spectacular. The rooms were clean and spacious. The bed is so comfortable and house-keeping does a nice job every day. Everyone is very friendly. We had a few maintenance issues throughout our stay that were fixed immediately. We didn't experience any issues with requesting additional towels from the pool/beach guys. The landscaping is incredible and this is why we keep returning to RWI. The tropical vegetation, best stretch of Grace Bay beach, and this smaller resort compared to the other concrete jungles makes for a perfect and relaxing holiday. At night you will hear the music of Club Med which might be bothersome to some but we didn't mind it at all. We are looking forward to our next trip booked for May 2014!

Room Tip: Second floor for shade and cover from the rain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Providenciales hotels
0.3 mi away
Villa del Mar
Villa del Mar
#23 of 44 in Providenciales
4.5 of 5 stars 504 reviews
0.5 mi away
Seven Stars Resort
Seven Stars Resort
#5 of 44 in Providenciales
5.0 of 5 stars 1,573 reviews
0.2 mi away
Caribbean Paradise Inn
Caribbean Paradise Inn
#20 of 44 in Providenciales
4.5 of 5 stars 296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ocean Club Resort
Ocean Club Resort
#29 of 44 in Providenciales
4.5 of 5 stars 598 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sands at Grace Bay
Sands at Grace Bay
#26 of 44 in Providenciales
4.5 of 5 stars 1,323 reviews
2.7 mi away
West Bay Club
West Bay Club
#8 of 44 in Providenciales
4.5 of 5 stars 708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal West Indies Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal West Indies Resort

Address: Grace Bay, PO Box 482, Providenciales
Location: Caribbean > Turks and Caicos > Providenciales
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Providenciales
#21 Luxury Hotel in Providenciales
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal West Indies Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your Royal West Indies Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal West Indies Hotel Providenciales
Royal West Indies Providenciales
Royal West Indies Resort Turks And Caicos/Providenciales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal West Indies Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.