We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great trip - next one booked already!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal West Indies Resort

Save Saved
You added Royal West Indies Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Royal West Indies Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Grace Bay, PO Box 482, Providenciales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 44 hotels in Providenciales
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Another great trip - next one booked already!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

We stayed from 10/26-11/08 and this was our third trip to Provo and second to RWI. This time we spent 8 nights in an ocean-view 1 bedroom (third floor) and a botanical 1 bedroom for 5 nights (second floor). The view for each room category was spectacular. The rooms were clean and spacious. The bed is so comfortable and house-keeping does a nice job every day. Everyone is very friendly. We had a few maintenance issues throughout our stay that were fixed immediately. We didn't experience any issues with requesting additional towels from the pool/beach guys. The landscaping is incredible and this is why we keep returning to RWI. The tropical vegetation, best stretch of Grace Bay beach, and this smaller resort compared to the other concrete jungles makes for a perfect and relaxing holiday. At night you will hear the music of Club Med which might be bothersome to some but we didn't mind it at all. We are looking forward to our next trip booked for May 2014!

Room Tip: Second floor for shade and cover from the rain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,317 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    763
    439
    72
    27
    16
See reviews for
197
714
36
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

My wife and I spent a week there the end of October, beginning of November. It was our first trip to Provo. The resort grounds are beautiful and well kept. There seemed to be someone always trimming, cutting, pruning the grounds.
We arrived about 2 pm and our room was not ready. Other people came in around the same time as us and had their rooms ready so I guess it's the luck of the draw. We had about 45 minutes to kill so after we drank our complimentary rum punch drink we just wandered around the grounds and beach.
We had a studio in building 7 which overlooked the quiet pool. Oceanfront would be nice but unless you get a great deal, I'd question the extra expense. The staff was pleasant always saying hi when walking by. Our room was cleaned daily with fresh towels etc.
I did have a couple nit picks with the front desk. I asked them for change so I could get $1's for tipping but they had no change or would not make change. I believe the later as she never even looked in her drawer. Also there is no printer for the lobby computer. I found this odd as I'm so used to traveling for business and printing out my boarding pass.
We also had an issue with the tub draining, as in it wouldn't. We called and maintenance came right up and took care of it. My last nit pick is the beach staff seemed to be very protective of their towels. We had to beg to get 2 towels each.

We rented a car which I would recommend. We saw too many people walking/biking to the grocery store which is not that close especially on the way back with bags. In addition, it provided us the freedom to explore the island and eat at different restaurants.
We walked up and down the beach and it seemed RWI clearly had the most people. People in front of some of the other resorts seemed to have their beach to themselves. I could only speculate that RWI was a better value.
Must go to happy hour and cozy up with Premy. He'll take care of you. It is the best bargain on the island.
We happened to be there during an owner's meeting week so a lot of the people we met were owner's. All of them were extremely nice and welcoming.
Overall this place is beautiful. I would recommend it and we would bo back.

Room Tip: Quiet pool area is that quiet. We met a couple that was in bldg 3 that could hear music from Club Me...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merrimack, New Hampshire
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

This was our third trip to Provo, first staying at RWI. I had read in previous reviews about building 2, and it's views of the ocean from the 2nd and 3rd floors. We were lucky enough to get the 2nd floor, smack dab in the middle if the floor, for an ocean view.

The staff was very pleasant, from the front desk, to Ronald who gave us an explanation of the grounds while delivering our bags to the room, the lovely cleaning staff, the grounds keepers, beach/ pool staff, the bar tenders ( Mario and company), and the restaurant staff. Everyone was very cordial, helpful, always had a smile, and you could tell that they were proud of what the did for a daily task.

The grounds are lush, and well kept. The beach was wide, and beautiful. There was no over aggressive, saving of lounges, because there were plenty to go around.

This was by far a much needed relaxing vacation, and the RWI staff, accommodated! I would highly recommend anyone staying here.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, NY
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

My husband and I spent a week here in a "Botanical View" studio; This is a long, narrow
property and all balconies face the pools and garden, and/or ocean with a lovely
view so you can't go wrong. If you choose this room type, ask for third floor and you
may have a little bit of ocean as well - esp for Building 8. Balconies are spacious with
table, chairs and lounger; The biggest problem with the studios is that they don't have a
stove top, so you have to get creative as a microwave/toaster gourmet to some extent if
you hope to control your food costs on Provo at all. (I believe there is a full kitchen in
the 1BR+ units); Throw some easy breakfast/lunch items into your luggage like
bagels, peanut butter, jam, canned tuna, salsa and you'll thank yourself once you see
the prices at the local grocery store. (Lucky Charms, $8/box, crackers $7, 2 liter
7-up $4, Ragu $5.50 - you'll see what I mean); The taxi from the airport to the hotel was also $40 for two, $80 round trip so compared to other islands we've been to, we found tourist life here rather expensive in general.

The pools and grounds are beautiful, as well as the beach; This is a very quiet place, even at the bar/pool area where I thought a little music during the day would be nice; Lots of older people around too, but maybe its because its low season; Beach staff is great and the free kayak, sailboat, snorkel equipment are a nice touch; Ocean itself is good swimming, but the depth drops off fairly quickly so keep an eye on your swimmers. If the wind whips up, there are very large waves at this part of the cove also; (on those days, maybe better to head south to Long Bay beach, about 2 miles away).

Location - things on Provo are very spread out and not what I'd call "cozy" at first glance. The free bikes at the hotel are handy, or you can walk about a 2/3 mile to town center (with sidewalk and lighting) for some shops, restaurants and bars; Everything is relative though, and after seeing the beach areas for other hotels like Alexandria/Coral Gardens I was happy with our proximity to things and the comparatively large expanses of beach we got to enjoy; We rented a scooter for a couple days too, and that enabled us to investigate other parts of the island as well.

Overall - a great stay and the ocean really IS that color turquoise! Beautiful to behold.

Room Tip: Botanical view studio is very nice and I'd do that again; Ask for the high floor and you may al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

This was our second visit to this property and plan to go back. The location on Grace Bay is perfect. It is close to town, shopping and restaurants. Suggest if you can afford, book Block #1 beachfront as the view is beautiful. We usually book by calling the hotel directly and requesting what we want. I find that sometimes on line not all the options pop up so to be sure of getting what you want, we found it best to contact the hotel directly. The water on Grace Bay is crystal clear and most times like a pool and the colour of the water is just amazing. The Island is very safe and you can walk at any time day or night and not be bothered. We have always found the staff to be friendly and helpful. We have been to many islands but the beaches here far out beat the others. If you are looking for a relaxing vacation, this is the place to come, it is mostly a quiet island with limited night life. There is a casino and a few places in town to have a drink and listen to music and I believe there are two golf courses. There are boat cruises you can go on depending on what you want to do and of course a lot of water sports.
We found that many people we met in Provinciales were people that visited year after year and that alone says it all. I know we will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Block #1 beachfront 2nd and 3rd. floor have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

This was a last minute trip, booked as a package with airfare. The value was incredible.

As you'd expect, the beach is beautiful. Clear water, smooth bottom all the way out, and the occasional school of friendly fish (or at least without a taste for human flesh).

The resort has snorkeling equipment, kayaks, and hobie cats available to borrow. We got out to sail at least twice a day, with a consistent shore breeze to make things simple. The boats are Hobie Waves which aren't the most high performance boats on the planet, but you also won't dump yourself on a gybe.

There are two pools, one next to the restaurant and another designated as "quiet." Both were clean and great any time of day.

The restaurant isn't extraordinary, but the food was good and reasonably priced every night.

The bar has the best happy hour on the island: 2-for-1 drinks from 5-7pm every night. Mondays and Friday's it's 3-7pm.

A couple of reviews on here note the lack of service. In our experience you got a perfectly nice place to stay in paradise without being fawned over. Anything we needed, the front desk was happy to help us get.

Room Tip: Our ocean view room was really nice. The garden view rooms all seemed to be on the bottom floor and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perkasie, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

I consider this a quaint resort, not the touristy type. Service was excellent. Front desk is a little laid back in the information department, but we managed just fine. The resort is on the most beautiful beach in the world.. Grace Bay. Always a wonderful beach chair and umbrella and no one bothering you selling things. If you are out to RELAX, this is the place..
The pool bar was a nice break from the sun and the bartenders always were a pleasure to talk with.
Make sure you try Provo ponies on the island, riding in the water was the best thing we did...
Make sure you try the local restaurants, great food, and great people...

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal West Indies Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal West Indies Resort

Address: Grace Bay, PO Box 482, Providenciales
Location: Caribbean > Turks and Caicos > Providenciales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Providenciales
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Providenciales
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal West Indies Resort 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookIt.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Royal West Indies Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal West Indies Hotel Providenciales
Royal West Indies Providenciales
Royal West Indies Resort Turks And Caicos/Providenciales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal West Indies Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.