We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet relaxation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal West Indies Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Royal West Indies Resort to your Saves list
Royal West Indies Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Grace Bay, PO Box 482, Providenciales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 44 Hotels in Providenciales
Syracuse, NY
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Quiet relaxation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

My husband and I spent a week here in a "Botanical View" studio; This is a long, narrow
property and all balconies face the pools and garden, and/or ocean with a lovely
view so you can't go wrong. If you choose this room type, ask for third floor and you
may have a little bit of ocean as well - esp for Building 8. Balconies are spacious with
table, chairs and lounger; The biggest problem with the studios is that they don't have a
stove top, so you have to get creative as a microwave/toaster gourmet to some extent if
you hope to control your food costs on Provo at all. (I believe there is a full kitchen in
the 1BR+ units); Throw some easy breakfast/lunch items into your luggage like
bagels, peanut butter, jam, canned tuna, salsa and you'll thank yourself once you see
the prices at the local grocery store. (Lucky Charms, $8/box, crackers $7, 2 liter
7-up $4, Ragu $5.50 - you'll see what I mean); The taxi from the airport to the hotel was also $40 for two, $80 round trip so compared to other islands we've been to, we found tourist life here rather expensive in general.

The pools and grounds are beautiful, as well as the beach; This is a very quiet place, even at the bar/pool area where I thought a little music during the day would be nice; Lots of older people around too, but maybe its because its low season; Beach staff is great and the free kayak, sailboat, snorkel equipment are a nice touch; Ocean itself is good swimming, but the depth drops off fairly quickly so keep an eye on your swimmers. If the wind whips up, there are very large waves at this part of the cove also; (on those days, maybe better to head south to Long Bay beach, about 2 miles away).

Location - things on Provo are very spread out and not what I'd call "cozy" at first glance. The free bikes at the hotel are handy, or you can walk about a 2/3 mile to town center (with sidewalk and lighting) for some shops, restaurants and bars; Everything is relative though, and after seeing the beach areas for other hotels like Alexandria/Coral Gardens I was happy with our proximity to things and the comparatively large expanses of beach we got to enjoy; We rented a scooter for a couple days too, and that enabled us to investigate other parts of the island as well.

Overall - a great stay and the ocean really IS that color turquoise! Beautiful to behold.

Room Tip: Botanical view studio is very nice and I'd do that again; Ask for the high floor and you may al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    776
    447
    74
    27
    17
See reviews for
200
726
39
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (300)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bolton, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

This was our second visit to this property and plan to go back. The location on Grace Bay is perfect. It is close to town, shopping and restaurants. Suggest if you can afford, book Block #1 beachfront as the view is beautiful. We usually book by calling the hotel directly and requesting what we want. I find that sometimes on line not all the options pop up so to be sure of getting what you want, we found it best to contact the hotel directly. The water on Grace Bay is crystal clear and most times like a pool and the colour of the water is just amazing. The Island is very safe and you can walk at any time day or night and not be bothered. We have always found the staff to be friendly and helpful. We have been to many islands but the beaches here far out beat the others. If you are looking for a relaxing vacation, this is the place to come, it is mostly a quiet island with limited night life. There is a casino and a few places in town to have a drink and listen to music and I believe there are two golf courses. There are boat cruises you can go on depending on what you want to do and of course a lot of water sports.
We found that many people we met in Provinciales were people that visited year after year and that alone says it all. I know we will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Block #1 beachfront 2nd and 3rd. floor have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

This was a last minute trip, booked as a package with airfare. The value was incredible.

As you'd expect, the beach is beautiful. Clear water, smooth bottom all the way out, and the occasional school of friendly fish (or at least without a taste for human flesh).

The resort has snorkeling equipment, kayaks, and hobie cats available to borrow. We got out to sail at least twice a day, with a consistent shore breeze to make things simple. The boats are Hobie Waves which aren't the most high performance boats on the planet, but you also won't dump yourself on a gybe.

There are two pools, one next to the restaurant and another designated as "quiet." Both were clean and great any time of day.

The restaurant isn't extraordinary, but the food was good and reasonably priced every night.

The bar has the best happy hour on the island: 2-for-1 drinks from 5-7pm every night. Mondays and Friday's it's 3-7pm.

A couple of reviews on here note the lack of service. In our experience you got a perfectly nice place to stay in paradise without being fawned over. Anything we needed, the front desk was happy to help us get.

Room Tip: Our ocean view room was really nice. The garden view rooms all seemed to be on the bottom floor and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perkasie, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

I consider this a quaint resort, not the touristy type. Service was excellent. Front desk is a little laid back in the information department, but we managed just fine. The resort is on the most beautiful beach in the world.. Grace Bay. Always a wonderful beach chair and umbrella and no one bothering you selling things. If you are out to RELAX, this is the place..
The pool bar was a nice break from the sun and the bartenders always were a pleasure to talk with.
Make sure you try Provo ponies on the island, riding in the water was the best thing we did...
Make sure you try the local restaurants, great food, and great people...

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

This is a great hotel in a perfect place with a very attentive staff. There were a couple of problems with the front desk but absolutely no other problems... The pool and beach people couldn't have been better at getting the chairs and umbrellas and they never appeared to be looking for a tip. Myla and the resturant made sure we were taken care of every day. It is a bit quiet but so is the whole island, it seems. It's not a place for 20somethinng partiers but being in a group of 10 people we never felt we were causing a problem... even when we started singing songs from Monty Python's Spamalot or when we might have been a bit loud while watching the Red Sox win the World Series.
There sure seemed to be a lot of rooms empty even though the front desk wouldn't let two of the couples upgrade to something with a water view. They also couldn't handle a request to make a reservation at a resturant that didn't open till 3:00. One of our party hopped on a bike and actually peddled to make the reservation. Every other person on the property couldn't have been more helpful. oh ya the beach was as pretty as any I've ever seen.

Room Tip: The 3rd floor in building 1 or 2 were perfect for the view, bar and beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

This is a popular large hotel complex located in 8 blocks on Grace Bay. So you get access to one of the world’s iconic beaches.

But as other reviewers have pointed out, reception staff will try to push you as far away from the beach as possible and put you in a ground floor apartment with no view. Our first room was rejected. It was musty smelling, dirty and dark (an amazing feat considering how hot and sunny it was).

Our replacement was a bit brighter but all the furniture and fittings were old. The whole place needs a renovation and a deep clean. Hotel staff would not help moving our bags to the new room.

I had noticed that reception staff seemed very abrupt when we checked in, in contrast to all the other places I stayed and ate on the islands. There seems to be a particular problem here with providing standard customer service and smiling. At check out the three staff who were stood around chatting and ignoring clients seemed to think we were an unnecessary interruption whom they clearly resented. One openly laughed at me (not in a nice way) when I asked for a breakdown of my bill. And then refused to explain what was on the bill I was expected to pay (their computer system is ancient and provides guests with very little information).

Don’t eat in the restaurant except at breakfast. The food and service are mediocre at best. There are plenty of really good restaurants nearby. The food is basically what you’d expect if you were drinking at a bar - so if that’s what you’re after you won’t be disappointed. If you want a sit-down meal, go elsewhere.

The best parts of the hotel are however the bar and beach. The bar is lively (in contrast to many others on they quiet island) and the bar staff are fun. The beach is superb and the staff at the beach very helpful.

It seems many people choose the hotel on cost grounds. By our experience would say its worth paying a little more if you can to get a much better quality experience - a nicer room and much nicer staff.

Room Tip: If you really insist on going, ensure you get a room that is directly ocean facing not back towards...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

We just returned yesterday, 10/30/13, from a 4-night stay at this lovely resort. The room was tastefully decorated in British colonial style, had a small kitchenette, and a large porch with patio furniture for 4 overlooking the lush landscaping and pool. The resort is situated on the eastern end of Grace Bay Beach and wonderful shopping is within biking distance....free bicycles are provided by the resort. We opted to travel to most restaurants by taxi (the man to ask for is Mackey...best driver on the island) but did rent a car the last day since we wanted to tour the island and stop at two excellent snorkling locations (Bight reef and Smith reef). We dove with Dive Provo who were outstanding and took us to some of the best dive sites....Northwest Passage on Providenciales and The Gully on West Caicos. The dive van comes right to the resort to pick you up. The staff at the hotel were very accomodating and you felt perfectly safe....not like some islands where the resort is behind barbed wire. Our only complaint was the Pelican restaurant at the resort....we did not eat there for dinner, just once for breakfast and it was so-so.

Room Tip: Rooms toward the front of the hotel overlook the "quiet" area of the pool, those toward th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal West Indies Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal West Indies Resort

Address: Grace Bay, PO Box 482, Providenciales
Location: Caribbean > Turks and Caicos > Providenciales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Providenciales
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Providenciales
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal West Indies Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Amex, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Royal West Indies Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal West Indies Hotel Providenciales
Royal West Indies Providenciales
Royal West Indies Resort Turks And Caicos/Providenciales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal West Indies Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.