We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 out of 7” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal West Indies Resort

Save Saved
You added Royal West Indies Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Royal West Indies Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Grace Bay, PO Box 482, Providenciales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 44 hotels in Providenciales
Petersburg, Virginia, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“5 out of 7”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We have stayed at this property 5 out of the last 7 years. We have enjoyed each time. It is not a 5 diamond property and does not advertise as such. It is a nice, clean, beautiful property. The restaurant is ok but you are with in walking distance of two of the best on the island. The staff at the condo are very accommodating. Always remember island time is real. The people just operate that way. I am sure if you spent two weeks there you would adjust very nicely.

Room Tip: Ocean view is great but most garden views are fine. Ocean front does not appear to be a value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,290 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    749
    427
    71
    27
    16
See reviews for
192
695
36
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria VA
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I stayed here three nights after a 7-day liveaboard diving trip off Provo, based on Trip Advisor reviews. I stayed in a garden studio on the ground level, with king-size bed, desk, cafe table with 2 chairs, settee, desk/chair and bureau/TV. Kitchenette included fridge/freezer, microwave, coffee maker, toaster. Large patio with table and four chairs w/ceiling fan and light. Also a stack washer/dryer (surprise)! Nice pools in garden settings (some reserved as adult-only or quiet). Beautiful beach with chairs/umbrellas, free use of kayak, small sailboat and snorkel equipment. Restaurant so so (service slow, food OK). Staff very nice. I arrived Sat. am at 9:30 from the dive boat, and as requested, was able to check my bags and use the beach and other facilities while awaiting 3 pm checkin. Free computer in lobby (I didn't bring a computer, but needed to check messages from home), but wi-fi available throughout resort. 15-20 minute walk to shopping center (grocery store, other restaurants). I'd stay here again.

Room Tip: Price depends on size of unit, location, view. My garden studio was in the building furthest from t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Clean, good service. I did not give it a 5 star since its location is not very convenient. You have to either take a taxi or drive. Taxis there are pricey and charge per person. They really rip you off. But the pools are nice, and the beach is right at the resort - so really great location otherwise.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Restaurant was delicious and staff very friendly, would recommend. Club Med is next door and occasionally loud but not often. Beach is beautiful and clean. Location is a little far away from grocery and other restaurant establishments, will need cab and at $10 one way, adds up.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swedesboro, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We moved to this hotel after the Ocean Club East>>>>MUCH better!!! Clean -friendly !! Free use of Hobie cat/kayaks?bikes!! def would return!!!! Clean pools, nice grounds<<<full kitchen(helps keep dining costs down)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgetown, Barbados
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The rooms were clean and self sufficient it was great having a washer and dryer. We were seconds from the beach and had a wonderful view. The food at the restaurant was great we had breakfast every morning and dinner there two nights. If I had to say one negative thing it would be that they offer room service and when my husband and I tried to take advantage of this they said they didn't have enough staff and we had to pick it up. We went to pick up our food and it was packed in ugly styrofoam containers and they had the nerve to charge a service charge. (we stayed for a week). The beach is absolutely lovely.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Warwick, Rhode Island
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We spent a week here in mid-August. This was our first time vising TCI. We knew that the island was expensive, but this resort was reasonably priced. On the island, as a whole, we did not find the locals to be as friendly or laid back as everyone says.

Pros of resort: The grounds were beautiful. The room was clean and comfortable. The beach is amazing, and just a short walk from any of the rooms! Housekeeping and grounds employees very hospitable. The onsite Pelican Bay restaurant had pretty good food and service and the bar had 2 for 1 happy hour nightly from 5-7.

Cons of resort: The front desk staff was not very friendly, welcoming, or helpful, nor was the beach and pool staff. Look online if you're looking for something specific. One of the girls at the front desk sent us across town to print something and later that same day we happened to run into a place to print that was within 10 minutes walking distance to the resort. Maybe she didn't know, I never asked her about it, but, when she gave us directions she knew we were taking the complimentary resort bicycles and told us that we weren't allowed to go that far with them.

We had a few room issues that we didn't report (Things that didn't really bother us, and that maybe the housekeeper could have reported to maintenance?!). The handle on the sink kept falling off, as did the shower handle. The housekeeper just placed them off to the side of the tub.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Royal West Indies Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal West Indies Resort

Address: Grace Bay, PO Box 482, Providenciales
Location: Caribbean > Turks and Caicos > Providenciales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Providenciales
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Providenciales
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal West Indies Resort 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookIt.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Royal West Indies Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal West Indies Hotel Providenciales
Royal West Indies Providenciales
Royal West Indies Resort Turks And Caicos/Providenciales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal West Indies Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.