We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise at the Royal West Indies Resort!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal West Indies Resort

Save Saved
You added Royal West Indies Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Royal West Indies Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Grace Bay, PO Box 482, Providenciales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 44 Hotels in Providenciales
East Windsor, New Jersey, United States
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Paradise at the Royal West Indies Resort!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We recently returned from our stay at the Royal West Indies Resort (suite 322) and were very pleased with the accommodations! We had 2 rooms, one for us and one for our 2 daughters. Very spacious, lovely kitchen, living area and a huge balcony overlooking the pool, restaurant and a partial view of the ocean. Very clean and homey! The gardens here are fantastic and well-attended to! Ever-so friendly staff and waiters and very attentive to your every whim! Pelican Bay restaurant served up delicious fresh food and yummy banana pancakes for breakfast!
The whole resort is low-lying and blended perfectly with it's surroundings. Five Stars!!!!

Room Tip: Suite 322 was excellent and perfectly situated!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    769
    444
    72
    27
    16
See reviews for
199
719
38
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edison, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

My family and I visited this hotel the first week of July. Overall, the hotel was nice although a bit dated and small. The beach on the other hand, was just beautiful... Super clean and clear. One of the best I have ever seen.
The island on the other hand, is very expensive. Food, licor, transportation, amenities. Everything is just outresgly priced. More than any other Caribbean island that I have visited.
Food at the Pelican Bay was OK....but the staff was superb. Everyone was friendly and always helpful with everything we needed. We visited the shopping area as well as the supermarket, which by the way, was very well supplied but expensive.
No much going on at the hotel. No gym, no spa, no gift shop, no children activities. Important if you are bringing your kids with you. Trust me. They will get bored...
There is a casino very close by. Small but sufficient. Free drinks if you play

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

My husband and I stayed in the West Royal Indies Resort in Turk & Caicos from April 22-April 27. We stayed in Building #2. We found the hotel very comfortable and the grounds well maintained. I absolutely loved the beach and proximity to water. The view from our hotel was very nice, we were able to see the ocean, although next time we would opt for building # 1. My other observations were as follows:
1) We found the front desk to be helpful and courteous; I think some negative opinions are exaggerated.
2) The hotel room was equipped with a fridge and sink; which was very helpful, plus all kitchen dishes and accessories that you need.
3) The hotel’s restaurant and bar was really mediocre; the service was slow and food was very average. Drinks were subpar and expensive.
4) The hotel’s lobby is equipped with a computer, but there is no printer. At least I did not see one. Wi-fi in our room did not work very well.
5) The hotel has a pool, but we did not try it.
6) The hotel is located near some really great restaurants, such as Coco Bistro (make sure you try it!) and Coyaba. We also walked to Hemingway’s; too bad it was really far, because it was one of our favorite places.
7) There was a long walk or a bike ride to the grocery store, which is very expensive (think Whole Foods twice the prices).
8) The grounds are well maintained and everyone was very helpful. Special thanks to Eddy for cleaning our conches.
Overall, I think this is a nice resort. However, if you are looking for a luxurious hotel with spa and gym this is not a place for you, but if you are looking for a value, you should give it a try.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

I stayed here for business and had a "garden view" unit. I only stayed here for a few days but very much enjoyed my stay. Rooms are very nice and modern. My unit had a nice sized fridge and microwave as well as plates/cutlery/etc. There is a large LCD TV which was great. Internet was fast. I cant think of anything I did not like ; I was even offered a glass of fruit punch when checking in. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Gatos, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We stayed at Royal West Indies for the week of the 4th of July. I agree with most of the other reviews that the resort is beautiful, peaceful, and the rooms are comfortable. We had a botanic 1 bedroom suite in building 8 (back of the property, by the quiet pool), on the ground floor. You can probably get much better views from the 3rd floor units, but we really appreciated to be able to sit outside on our patio even when it rained, and have shelter from the hot sun.

I wanted to highlight here what a great 4th of July beach party this resort has put up! It was fantastic! The delicious food (had the best BBQ ribs!), great music, tiki torches in the sand, bonfire, and view of multiple fireworks along Grace Bay made it a super fun evening for us.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abbotsford
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We enjoyed twelve nights at the Royal West Indies resort on Provo. We found the property to be spacious, comfortable and a great place to stay. We rented a one bedroom suite because we wanted the full kitchen but we were very happy with the space of the bedroom and living area as well. We stayed in Building #2 just off the beach but had a nice view of the beach and pool area. We found the staff to be very helpful, the lady at the consierge desk helped us arrange a day of snorkeling which was the highlight of the trip. The bikes could use some maintenance but they got us around alright. The grocery store is only about a 10 minute bike ride away. The beach in front of RWI was beautiful, the water cool enough to be refreshing but warm enough to be in all day. Be careful of the sun though, it's very intense.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 231, it was an end unit with a large wrap around deck and a nice view but a little...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina, United States
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We did a lot of research on where to say before deciding on the Royal West Indies. Hands down, this is the most beautiful, well kept property. The staff are fabulous. The rooms were very well decorated, very clean, and comfortable. We stayed in bldg 5. The pools are beautiful and relaxing. The grounds are meticulously maintained. The gardens are just simply beautiful. Everywhere you turn, there is a beauty in the plants, flowers, palm trees. The on site dining is very good. Happy hour at the bar (2 for 1) is a good deal each day. Eating is very expensive on the island, no matter where you go. We bought some groceries for breakfast and lunches. A six pack of beer is $18 at the grocery store. It is what it is! Pack your own or just plan to splurge. My husband and I enjoyed a very lovely dinner at Grace Bay Club next door - dinner was $200 (one glass of wine) the before dinner cocktails (one beer and one glass of wine) was around $30. All restaraunts charge an 11% food tax PLUS a 10% service charge. I was never really clear if that was considered a 'tip' or not, so we always tipped on top of that. This makes eating out and drinking expensive. BUT, it's vacation, so just deal with it. If you like to party or shop this is not the island for you. If you like to snorkel, relax, kayak, walk the beach, be outdoors, this is your paradise. I highly recommend Provo Ponies as well. Horseback riding on the beach was my favorite excursion. Can't wait to go back. We will stay at the Royal West Indies on our next stay when we bring our children. Can't say enough good things.

Room Tip: I really don't think there is a bad room in this place. We had a garden/pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal West Indies Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal West Indies Resort

Address: Grace Bay, PO Box 482, Providenciales
Location: Caribbean > Turks and Caicos > Providenciales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Providenciales
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Providenciales
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal West Indies Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your Royal West Indies Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal West Indies Hotel Providenciales
Royal West Indies Providenciales
Royal West Indies Resort Turks And Caicos/Providenciales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal West Indies Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.