We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it so much I want to buy a unit!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal West Indies Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Royal West Indies Resort to your Saves list
Royal West Indies Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Grace Bay, PO Box 482, Providenciales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 44 Hotels in Providenciales
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Loved it so much I want to buy a unit!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Apologies for the delay in writing this review. We vacationed here in June of 2012.

This was our second trip to TCI and won't be our last! We are in love with Grace Bay like most of everyone is when then visit.

We couldn't confirm 7 nights in a 1 bedroom gardenview so we booked for the first night in a Studio gardenview and the next 6 nights in the 1 bedroom. The staff organized it so well for us that after the first night, our 1 bedroom was ready for us literally next door! We didn't have to trek through the resort to another room block. We were so pleasantly surprised by this!

The studio was large with a microwave and mini-fridge. The king bed was comfortable and the room was immaculate. The 1 bedroom was the same, large dining area, sitting area, kitchen with all the amenities, washer/dryer, separate bedroom and large wrap-around balcony with a table and 4 chairs. The unit was also equipped with every kitchen appliance/utensil you would need for your stay.

Even though we had a gardenview, we did have a small slice of ocean-view which was a pleasant surprise. We had breakfast on the balcony every morning, admiring the lush, tropical palms and vegetation, the bountiful flowers. On the other side of our balcony, we had views of the jacuzzi and pool.

We ate a few times at the Pelican, mainly lunch items like fries and conch fritters which are the best I have had anywhere! Yes the service is on island time, but you're on vacation, no need to hurry anywhere other than to the amazing beach!

We walked to Graceway Gourmet almost every night to have a coffee out on the patio. It's about a 10 minute walk but we didn't mind at all. We always feel safe walking around any time of day.

We rented a car for a few days with Avis this time and the whole process was simple. We had picked up the rental in Grace Bay and dropped it off at the airport before our departure.

We enjoyed the quiet pool and often went down around 10pm to lounge in the water and then sit in the hot tub for a little while. The WIFI was strong and never had any problems with that.

The only thing I would recommend for this hotel would be to add a few BBQ grills like they have at OCW. We missed out on bbq-ing by the pool.

This is a quiet resort, definitely a place to get some rest and relaxation. I would return to RWI and highly recommend this for your next holiday.

Room Tip: Second floor for shade and in case it rains, you can still enjoy the balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    794
    464
    76
    29
    19
See reviews for
208
751
40
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (314)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Langley City, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Royal West Indies Resort was very handy to grocery and retail shopping (5min by bike, 15 walking) but far enough away to be very quiet. House keeping was excellant. We were very impressed when we came back in from excursions, and found they had cleaned our morning dishes! Great beach, very central; you don't have to worry about stepping on shells or anything sharp. If you do want to beach comb you can walk up the beach a short ways and collect shells. We were in building 8 nearest the road and would recommend building 1, 2 or 3 closer to the beach. The living room celing fan ceased up and we reported this to staff late afternoon; we said it would be fine if they fixed it the next day. Early afternoon the next day we had to call in again to have the ceiling fan fixed. The fan was fixed...but the next day the resort had a power failure and the fan ceased up again.

Room Tip: There are 8 buildings. The ones closer to the beach are low number ie 1. The building closer to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

After looking at a bunch of properties, I selected the Royal West Indies for a six night getaway. Overall the property was very nice, well kept, and located in a prime location on Grace Bay Beach.

Pros:
I booked an ocean view room and was upgraded for free to an amazing ocean front room. (Unit 135 has a perfect view of the beach and ocean). The suite had everything we needed, including a nicely stocked kitchen, comfortable bedroom and nice living area...not to mention a great balcony.

The resort grounds were beautiful and well maintained. They offered free bike usage and lots of free options down on the beach.

The restaurant and bar were very good! While a little pricey (like everything else on the island), you at least got great food and drinks for the money.

Cons:

While the staff was friendly, this resort is not focused on pampering its guests. If you want that, I suggest finding somewhere else to stay. They pretty much leave you alone to do your own thing, as opposed to other resorts that take a more personalized concierge approach.

If you plan to take a warm shower, you must limit your combined shower time to about 10 minutes. The tiny water heaters in each unit are way too small to accommodate more than one shower within an hour period.

While the pools are decent, there are far too few chairs to accommodate the number of guests. You will spend lots of time searching for chairs during prime sun hours. Plus, if you want a towel, you need to leave the pool areas to get towels down by the beach and then walk back to the pools. Not a huge deal, but an inconvenience to say the least.

Lastly, like everything in Provo, the bar and restaurant close down very early. If you are looking for late night snacks or drinks, you will have to head into town to Jimmy's Dive Bar.

Room Tip: Room 135 was a prime ocean front room. Other rooms in that building will also be great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strongsville, Ohio
Top Contributor
179 reviews 179 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

Nice rooms. This is a condo development whose owners put their units up for rent. Studio rooms are standard hotel size. One bedroom suites much nicer for the extra money plus a full kitchen. This place is deadly quiet. They roll the sidewalks in at 10 pm. Two nice pool areas; one for adults only. Very good bar and restaurant on property. Had some excellent meals there. Wireless internet very slow and businesscservices at front desk non-existent. If you are looking to totally chill out, this is the place.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Trip Advisor folks have this one pretty well nailed down. Great value in a small beautiful beach resort area. This was our best experience in a non-hotel/owner run resort - six day stay. If your goal is a Caribbean escape with quiet relaxation rather than adventure and entertainment, this is your kind of place. We did not find the Club Med Resort next door to be any problem. The fully stocked grocery store nearby allowed us to enjoy excellent meals and wine on our balcony without spending a bundle every night in restaurants. No need to take wine with you as wine prices are reasonable.

We walked to rental car place and rented a car for two days - $50.00 a day. Car gave us access to snorkel beach area and trans back to the airport. Not much else to see on the main island. Great trip. Enjoy!

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms are enclosed in dense beautiful gardens - no view. We enjoyed the third floor ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

My husband, 20-year-old son and I really enjoyed our stay at Royal West Indies. It's a low-rise development pleasantly stretching over lovely grounds with pools and gardens along the way. It sits right on Grace Bay beach, a spectacular stretch of 12-13 miles of white sand beach and great swimming. There are a lot of restaurants within walking distance, including Pelican Bay on site, which offers themed evenings and music, and a US-style grocery store is a 15-minute walk away. The units are spacious and really well thought-out, including all the amenities you need, from full laundry in-suite to kitchen utensils, detergent and coffee. The housekeeping was superb. We had a third-floor one-bedroom unit with a balcony overlooking the grounds and the beach (photo attached)- definitely worth the extra cost.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 431 in Residence 4 - very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Just got back from a week stay at RWI! I looked into other places (closer to Bight Reef) but I am happy I went with RWI. The beaches in the area around RWI are much wider than closer to the reef area. The Coral Gardens (where Bight Reef is located) has an abandoned hotel next to it and it's such an eyesore! Plus this area is pretty crowded because of the public access beach.

I agree with the other reviewers - pros: quiet, small (not like those massive hotels), clean (no issues with our room - ok, we did have one cockroach in our room but it was half dead and we didn't see any other bugs - another reason to be off the ground floor), beautiful gardens, wonderful view from our room (#535) - 1 bedroom suite with a garden/pool view but had a view of the ocean from our table on the balcony. Would definitely recommend a 3rd floor room for the best view if you are not traveling with small kids. The 2nd floor is nice for those rainy times (ask for one with a ceiling fan). The room was very spacious for us. The bed was oh so comfortable! Wish the windows in the bedroom had blackout blinds. Woke up to the sun peaking thru the wooden blinds too early. Next time I'll bring an eye mask:)

Loved having a Hobie Cat (small sailboat) to use - they only had one working (the other two were in repair). Wished they had paddleboards! I rented one over at Grace Bay Club (two hotels west of RWI (very close) and they were nice to let me use it (I paid them $40 for 2.5 hrs). The guys working at RWI said they could get me a paddleboard (they had a brochure from a local place) but their rates were expensive ($100 for a 1/2 day). I paddled from GBC over to our place and paddled back to return it. Super easy!

Loved the free DVD rentals at the front office - would be better if they had more selections but got to see a few movies I've never heard of before. My kids loved it!

Cons-pools were a bit cold and there is only one that's ok for kids to splash around in (the other two are in the quiet zone). However, the pools are not the main attraction when staying on Grace Bay Beach so really, it wasn't a big deal. Don't bother snorkeling around here - nothing to see. If you want water slides and such, then go to Beaches. Agree with BeachFan711 that the front desk and staff in general could be a bit more welcoming and willing to extend themselves. I think you just have to expect that and make sure to ask instead of waiting for them to offer their assistance.

Not much for the kids to do besides the beach and the pool (which should be enough, right?) The pool isn't very exciting for bigger kids. Would be great if they had a few games - ping pong table, shuffle board.

As for general info about what to do in Provo, I would highly recommend renting a car for at least one day or two. It's cheaper than taking taxis (we paid $56/day for a Toyota Corolla - yes they are old cars with over 100,000 miles but work fine). We rented from Grace Bay Rentals and even if they say they don't have a car available, keep inquiring (they will drop off and pick up the car from the hotel and their office is a 8-10 min walk from the hotel). They have cars that are being turned in all the time. The island is very small and easy to get around (the dirt roads can be a little bumpy but it's worth the trek to explore the other beaches and sites). If you're worried about driving on the left side, the max speed limit is 40 mph and seriously, half of the people driving are tourists so no worries. They have turnabouts - just remember to yield to the right.

Check out the Hole - a huge hole in the earth with seawater below. I guess some crazy people have jumped in. There used to be a rope hanging down from a tree but that's gone. If you walk about 10 feet on a little side trail from the rim, you'll see a little cave that takes you a few feet below the hole. Be careful because it's sandy and could be a little slippery. We went in and saw a few bats and a different view of the Hole! Pretty cool!

Long Beach is very nice - you'll see the beach and waters littered with conch shells. The water is very shallow here and it's a remote location. Sapodilla Beach & Taylor Beach are beautiful! Taylor Beach is a little tricky to find. There are no signs but there are usually construction workers around and you can ask them. These beaches are great because if it's windy on the east side, the waters here will be calm:) We didn't get to really see Chalk Sound very well. We wanted to eat at Las Brisas but it was closed on the day we were there (Tuesdays).

The next day we rented a car to snorkel over at Bight Reef at Coral Gardens and over at Smith Reef. Worth the stop. You could probably get snorkel equipment from RWI and take it down to snorkel here (we brought our own snorkel gear) but they also have equipment to rent at Coral Gardens. There's a shower, bathroom and places to eat here too. However, at Smith Reef, there is nothing there except nice homes. Bight Reef - lots of fish to see right off the beach (really, like 10 yds off the beach!) Great for little kids (I have 2 boys - 12 & 10.) We also snorkeled at Smith Reef but there are rocks on the beach and going in is a little tricky. Had to try to avoid stepping on shells on the rocks and sea urchins. Would recommend wearing water shoes if you have them. I went down in a few inches a water to avoid having to walk into the water. I would not recommend this for smaller kids unless it's pretty calm. It was a little windy that day (and it was late in the day) but my husband and I snorkeled while my boys stayed on the beach/rocks. My husband saw an Eagle Ray and some other people there saw turtles. Not many people here so that's a plus (there was only one other person snorkeling). Yes, the coral looks a bit damaged both here and at Bight Reef but there are still lots of pretty things to see.

RWI is about a little over a mile from the grocery store and the shopping area. I walked to the grocery store (Graceway Gourmet IGA - it's huge & they have everything! FYI, they don't sell alcohol on Sundays) and took a cab back ($10). You can always use the bikes they have to ride back to the store if you needed a few items. Expect to pay at least twice as much as home. I brought a suitcase of food - mac n cheese, microwave popcorn, granola bars, ramen noodles, Crystal Light powder packets, salt/pepper shaker, cooking oil, cereals, etc. Expect nothing in the kitchen besides dish soap, coffee & sugar packets. We ate breakfast and lunch in our room and ate out for dinner every night. Explore the many restaurants around. We loved walking to and from the many restaurants near RWI. All were so good (Cabana Bar and Grill and Mango Reef had the quickest service and excellent food!). Pelican Bay restaurant at RWI was very slow and we ate there for dinner just once.

Lastly, if you are taking a taxi to and from the airport, it's kinda vague as too how much to expect to pay. It's not like you are in a position to bargain on the spot. But to give you an idea, we paid $46+ $4 tip each way for a family of 4 with our luggage. There was a guy traveling alone and he paid $25+tip.

We also did a late check out (2pm) for a charge of $55 - it was totally worth it! We got to spend another lovely day at the beach, had lunch in our room, showered up and left for the airport.

Sorry for the long review - I really rely on people's comments when making trip plans so I wanted to do the same.

All in all, it was a wonderful week in Provo. We will definitely be back someday!

Room Tip: We had a 1 bedroom corner suite on the 3rd floor - awesome views from our L shaped balcony of the oc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal West Indies Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal West Indies Resort

Address: Grace Bay, PO Box 482, Providenciales
Location: Caribbean > Turks and Caicos > Providenciales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Providenciales
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Providenciales
#17 Luxury Hotel in Providenciales
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal West Indies Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Amex, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Royal West Indies Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal West Indies Hotel Providenciales
Royal West Indies Providenciales
Royal West Indies Resort Turks And Caicos/Providenciales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal West Indies Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.