We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value and has it's own bit of grace bay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ports of Call Resort

Save Saved
You added Ports of Call Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ports of Call Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Grace Bay Rd, Providenciales   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Nights
Ranked #30 of 44 Hotels in Providenciales
Reigate
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great value and has it's own bit of grace bay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We were recommended this hotel by a local. It has large, recently renovated rooms, friendly staff, a supermarket almost next door and a nice pool area. The price is relatively cheap because it is slightly set back from the beach. This is of little concern as it is only a 100m walk or a 2 minute journey in the complimentary golf cart shuttle 'bus'.

Breakfast was uninspiring but perfectly edible. To call this place a 'resort' is also somewhat of a stretch....it is a hotel with a pool (accompanied by a music system which has a 5 song resumé) a table tennis table (which needs new bats) and a pool table (which is not flat).

If you are on a budget and want to stay 'on' grace bay then this will do the trick.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DPAPKE, Owner at Ports of Call Resort, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank you for your input and recommending our resort. The resorts in Turks and Caicos are designed to provide total relaxation and allow people to enjoy time with their loved ones on r the most beautiful beach in the world without being hassled by vendors or marketers of activities or excusrions. All resorts on the island tend to be more "low key" than the all-inclusive bustling resorts found on some othe rislands. That said, a wide variety of activities including water sports and island excursions are avaialble to our guests. At the resort itself we have a gym, hot tub, ping pong, pool, managers cocktail parties with karaokee, bingo, and of course diving, snorkeling, a spa and 3 bars and restaurants. If you have any ideas for further activities pleae contact me as we are always looking for new ideas to enhance our guest experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    203
    63
    16
    5
See reviews for
120
204
19
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Long Island NY
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We chose this hotel because of its location and price. Every hotel in Provo is quite expensive and luxurious but we wanted to see TCI and Ports Of Call fit our needs and budget. We reserved a super saver room on the first floor and although it wasn't updated it was good for us. The beds are really comfy and the AC unit was powerful. We never heard any noise from any other guests in the hallway or anything. The hotel had a few children there too but it was still quiet. The rooms are a good size and clean. It's not a very big place but thats what i liked about it. The pool was never crowded. After being there 2 nights we returned to our room from the beach to find water leaking from the guest room above. We informed the front desk and they immediately sent Kendra the manager to help us move to another room. Thanks Kendra : D We were given an upgraded room also on the first floor. It had a little patio area with a table and 2 chairs that i ended up using in the mornings while having my coffee.
The location of this hotel is great. We didnt need a taxi for any of the restaurants we chose to eat in. There are quite a few restaurants within walking distance, the furthest we went to was Hemingways about a 15-20 min walk away. Graceway gourmet is also within walking distance across the street. We didn't have breakfast at the hotel but i did have the coffee which was yummy. We went to Jimmy's dive bar a few times for breakfast, Caicos Bakery and Graceway Gourmet as well.
Loved getting a ride to the beach in the "Maserati". Although the beach is only a short 3 min walk. As hot as it is the island breeze keeps you cool so walking wasn't bad. Tristan set us up on the beach with chairs (free) and an umbrella which you can rent for $8 a day. Tristan was great and helpful He recommended Seaside Cafe a short walk down the beach forand answered any questions we had as far as recreational stuff. He got us in touch with Silver Deep to set up a snorkeling trip.He also advised us to go to Seaside Cafe a short walk down the beach for lunch which had reasonable prices and we didnt have to leave the beach. The hotel doesnt have any food, but upstairs bar and grill,and jimmy's dive bar offer take out. The rooms all have refridgerators so you can buy some snacks and drinks at the supermarket and its also good for leftovers. The kitchen area has a microwave and they allow you to reheat any food you have.
The staff are very accomodating and friendly. We were always greeted with a smile. If we go back to TCI this is the place i will stay in again, its a hidden little gem.

Room Tip: You cant go wrong with any room you reserve here but a patio room allowed us quick access to the poo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DPAPKE, Owner at Ports of Call Resort, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a detailed review. I am sure that it will be of great assistance for people making trip decisions and I hope that we do get the opportunity to host you again..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We just returned from a week at Ports of Call and we loved it! This beautiful oasis in the heart of Grace Bay is literally steps away from the shops, bank, restaurants and grocery store, and a short walk or shuttle ride to the glorious beach. Breakfast is included and the kitchen remains open making it convenient to prepare yourself a lunch/dinner/snack with microwaves and toasters available. Rooms are equipped with a small fridge to store your perishables. We brought collapsible lunch boxes from home and packed them with ice from the ice machine (in a ziplock bag) for picnics on the beach. We loved that we could be autonomous; there was no pressure to participate or purchase. We happily did play poolside BINGO and won free drinks. The staff is helpful and knowledgeable and we would highly recommend this resort.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DPAPKE, Owner at Ports of Call Resort, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you so much for the kind review. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and the island of Providenciales.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

The place was ok..but I was expecting a nice resort.....the continental breakfast was not sanitary because there were bugs crawling around the food...I did not eat there at all. The breakfast was only toast muffins juice coffee and pastries....the workers were nice except for the house keeping supervisor...she had no customer service...I was there in early August.....but next time I go to turks and caicos I'm staying in a much nicer place with a real view..not this place................

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DPAPKE, Owner at Ports of Call Resort, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations however I would like to point out that the continental breakfast that we serve is complimentary and not included in the room rates of most other resorts on the island., especially at our value rates. That said, we announced a few months ago that we are increasing our breakfast offerings in mid-December of this year.
While we do not offer "ocean: views" we believe that our beautiful landscaped gardens and closer proximity to the shops, bars and restaurants ,combined with our value rates more than offsets our guests having to take the one minute shuttle to our own staffed beach. Your comments re the bugs and the possible attitude issue with one of our supervisors will be addressed at our weekly staff meeting as we do take guest concerns very seriously and thank you for bringing this to our attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

we went to this hotel in august 2013 for a diving trip. Regarding the hotel, the price was very affordable compared to other hotels on the island. The breakfast was included, very clean pool, free WIFI and the site was very clean. This hotel is really worth. The beach is beautiful and you can walk for hours. Several places to snorkel from the beach, but not directly in front of the hotel. Grocerie is really close. Bank, Dive shop is in front of the Hotel. Restaurant are really close from the hotel.
Pascal Patenaude and Isabelle Boucher

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DPAPKE, Owner at Ports of Call Resort, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
On behalf of the resort team I thank you for your kind response and hope that we will have the opportunity to host you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We went there with my husband and my 13 years old daughter. Very nice and clean hotel in this price. They had a short walk to a beach access area. Very pleasant staff especially hotel manager and the front desk The rooms are big and clean.. Right next to a Ports of Call plaza with shoppes and restaurants. Restaurants are expensive but there is a nice gourmet market in walking distance. The beach is great, I've never seen the water and sand in this colour. Don't forget to stop by french bakery in the shopping center.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DPAPKE, Owner at Ports of Call Resort, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review. We have made a major investment in upgrading the rooms and property since our purchase two years ago and it is rewarding to see guests appreciate the value we offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torshavn, Faroe Islands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

My family just got hjen from 2 week holiday at the Ports of Call in Turks and Caicos.
The hotel was fine with very friendly and helpful staff.
There was good space in the rooms.
The hotel did sponsor a couple of events; there was a bingo game, karaoke competition, and cocktail party-nice social hour.
The hotel offers a shuttle down to a fantastic beach or approx. 5 min to walk down to the beach.
Local restaurants are quite pricey and therefore the nearby grocery be a good alternative to cheap food.
Grace Bay beach is wonderful and peaceful place.

Room Tip: All rooms is Excellents
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DPAPKE, Owner at Ports of Call Resort, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank you for such a positive review.
Happy to hear that you enjoyed the bingo, karaoke and Managers Cocktail party.
These are events that we just started a few months ago and are being well received.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ports of Call Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ports of Call Resort

Address: Grace Bay Rd, Providenciales
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Turks and Caicos > Providenciales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Providenciales
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ports of Call Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in a trendy well located resort in the center of Grace Bay with its own beach and free chaise lounges a mere 300 yards away.Common areas and 98 guest rooms have been recently fully renovated.Free Wi-fi, continental breakfast,swimming pool,hot tub, fitness room, children's play ground,hourly beach shuttle service via a 8 person golf cart and 3 bars and restaurants, dive shop, spa, car rental and a variety of souvenir shops in adjacent resort plaza. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Ports of Call Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Ports Of Call Hotel Providenciales
Comfort Suites Providenciales
Providenciales Comfort Suites
Ports Of Call Resort Turks And Caicos/Providenciales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ports of Call Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.