We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nightmare on New Year's eve” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Club Resort

Save Saved
You added Ocean Club Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ocean Club Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Ocean Club Resorts, Turks & Caicos, Providenciales   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
30% off room rate
Ranked #28 of 44 hotels in Providenciales
Lexington, Kentucky
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nightmare on New Year's eve”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

We arrived on December 30, and checked in to room # 2301. It is a well appointed, comfortable, clean, two bedroom beachfront unit with an amazing view! Our first night was great, but the next night (New Year's eve) was a nightmare. There was a little cafe next door that threw a party on the beach that lasted until 4am. The music was so loud that it literally shook our condo. It was impossible to sleep that night and we were wiped out the next day. Every other night was fine, and my advice to anyone thinking of staying at this property would be to ask about any upcoming parties that the cafe next door (I think it was called the Flamingo Cafe) is planning during your stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

489 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    261
    170
    35
    16
    7
See reviews for
125
203
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rumson, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

We have going to Ocean Club for the past 15 years and when we arrived were treated in an impersonal manner....the furniture in the suite was rundown...the porch table was was missing a leg....the bed room tv was a 12 inch cheapie which did not work al all.... Last year the washer /dryer had to be replaced ...workout room was too hot and machines were not usable. ..the place is "ok" but in a downhill slide....not coming back

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHLPLS, Manager at Ocean Club Resort, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Zabien,

I am most concerned to hear about your stay and have sent you a personal email. I regret that the issues were not brought to our attention during the stay. You mentioned last year the washer/dryer had to be replaced, but it was replaced. I feel we do the best job we can when there is a necessary repair. I look forward to hearing from you.

Best Regards,
OCR Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwich, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

I have stayed at ocean club twice and ocean club west once over the past 20 years. Both nice resorts on a wonderful island. My most recent stay was at Ocean Club. We had a 2 bedroom Oceanfront suite. I don't think the suites have changed much in 20 years which is why i rate this a 3 compared to the newer properties which are much nicer. Rooms are clean and comfortable. Our kitchen barely had the basics, however, to cook. Location is great. Staff is very friendly. Overall a very nice experience.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHLPLS, Manager at Ocean Club Resort, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear R L,
Thank you for the nice review. We are happy to hear you had a nice overall experience, and hope you will choose us again.

Our Best,
OCR Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, MA USA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

We (flight crew) spent Thanksgiving in Provo and stayed at the Ocean Club based on the recommendation of Provo Air Center. It was spot on. Even though it was over a holiday it was still the "off season", so it wasn't particularly busy.

The rooms are very nice, not fancy, but very clean and comfortable. The units equipped with kitchens and some have washer/dryers as well. They vary in size from one room efficiencies to multiple bedroom suites. I believe all have screened balconies. The WiFi works and my room had a good flat screen TV, DVD player and a small CD player. Very quiet and relaxing. Although during peak periods it might be a little more hectic because it's not a very large property.

The beach is spectacular. The lounge chairs, which are set up in pairs with umbrellas and a small table to keep things out of the sand, are comfortable enough for you to spend the whole day parked there, if that's your wish. If you're looking for more activity there are sailboat rentals and a dive shop. They also arrange snorkeling expeditions and sunset cruises with a great captain and lots of rum punch.

The Cabana Bar, which opens for breakfast, is down by the beach so you have a great view. The food was good and reasonably priced (for the islands). Wednesday night is "rib night". They smoke the ribs on premises and they're not good, they're GREAT! There we no unfinished portions at our table.

The upscale restaurant on the property, "Opus", also met or exceeded our expectations. Since we were there over Thanksgiving, it seemed only right to order the turkey. Boy, am I glad I did. It was one of the best turkey dinners in memory. Tasty, perfectly cooked and presented well.

The Ocean Club has a second location, Ocean Club West, that's about a mile up the beach or they will shuttled you over there in the van. Their restaurant, Seaside Café, was also wonderful. We ate there on our last night and had another great meal. I had the lobster risotto which was perfectly prepared.

I've saved the best for last. That's the staff. Everyone I dealt with, without exception, was friendly, efficient and helpful.

There is a downside to staying at the Ocean Club. Eventually, you have to return to the real world. I travel for a living and this is one of those places I'd be very happy to return to on my own nickel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHLPLS, Manager at Ocean Club Resort, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Flight Crew,

Thank you for the excellent review and taking the time to share your experiences! Many of our guests return year after year for Thanksgiving for as you say, "one of the best turkey dinners in memory". We hope you will be returning soon, if not for Thanksgiving!

Our very best,
OCR Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Gables, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

I had the great chance to accompany friends on this trip...what a wonderful getaway! The location of the property was perfect,.....on a beautiful strip of beach...all the comforts of home with spectacular ocean views...the Cabana Bar and pool area provided the opportunity to mingle in a very lush but laid back setting. The staff were warm and exceptional. I would return in a heartbeat! The East location is better,....not next to Club Med. Little details like plenty of fresh towels, water cooler by the beach and chaises set up with umbrellas made staying here a joy.

Room Tip: H building in Ocean Club East was a step away from the ocean and pool but not too close to the Ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Stayed for a week in December 13-22nd as a couple. From the beginning the place was amazing-peaceful and quiet, but by the end of our stay large families with kids turned up which kind of spoiled it . Place is lovely, on a beautiful beach, with soft sand, beach loungers and pink umbrellas. Every morning I would walk for miles along the beach seeing no more than a few people. We also went to Neptune`s Court (5min drive from the hotel)-lovely place for eating and shopping. Food at the hotel is just OK, but very basic, American. No fresh juice or fresh veg/fruit. We ate lunch at the Ocean Club West once, they have a different ( better) menu. No buffets at all. Top Tip: go to the Club Med , purchase 1 day pass, for 55 dollars, which includes breakfast, lunch, all drinks, all activities including snorkeling! Food was excellent there-all buffets, with wine at lunchtime, and their beach is twice as big as Ocean Club`s.( and no kids!). We did enjoy our room at the Ocean Club, it was huge, with a nice balcony overlooking the ocean and nice sun beds, kitchen had ice machine which we were happy to use. To make a long story short - excellent location, the best beach we have seen in the Caribbean, and a great room, The not so good part- pre-Christmas arrival of huge families with kids of all ages ( from 0 upwards:)), and the food.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Let’s set the expectations right first; this is a condo complex on the most beautiful beach on earth. Each unit is owned and decorated by its owner. So depending on the unit you stay, you may get slightly different ambiance and décor. This is not a luxurious hotel or resort by any means. You will have a nice, decent, clean room with comfortable bed, they will clean your room and provide clean beach towels every day, you will find nice beach chair and umbrellas available anytime of the day and finally but not the least, you will enjoy the same beach with any more expensive hotel offers to its customers… All for a reasonable price. If this is not enough for you and prefer five star pampering this is not a place for you. I suggest to look somewhere else like Seven Stars, summerset or other places….

We stayed in room 4303 between December 17th and 24th. Blocks A through D are the closest to beach. So, you will get a better sea view. Also, the third floor has vaulted ceiling which feels lot roomier. Keep in mind that there is no elevator in the resort. So, if you stay in third floor you need to climb 2 floors up. Rooms show some aging. However nothing major to complain about. The unit we stayed was one bedroom with a large living room and a kitchen. There were enough pans and pots in the kitchen if you are going to cook. We stayed 3 adults and 1 kid. Hence used the pullout sofa bed. Like any other pull out it was not comfortable.

During our 7 day vacation, it rained pretty much everyday at least once. BUT, most of the time, it rains 2-3 minutes than sun comes back. The longest rain was on the day before we left which was for about 10 minutes. So, if you see rain in the weather forecast do not worry. Based on the input from the locals, best time to visit is between February and May in terms of the weather. They say it would be less rain and wind although it was not bad when we were there.

The grounds kept well. Unlike other developments in the island, each unit spaced so that when you sit in the balcony you do not feel like being watched by other residents.

There are 2 pools in the resort. Then one close to beach was not clear for the first 4-5 days. The bigger pool which is shallow and more suitable for kids, was in better shape. While the most beautiful beach is steps away, almost nobody uses the pool. However, if you intend to use the pool, please keep in mind that pools are not the strong suit for this resort.

Poolside restaurant was very convenient and provided decent choice for both breakfast and Lunch. I believe they also have dinner service, although we have never used. You can get an omelet for 10-12$ which is not bad compared to other places in the island.

I highly recommend to rent a car. Even paradise gets boring after couple of days and there are a lot to see and many restaurants to have dinner. Taxis are expensive and one way transfer to/from the airport is 20$ per person. Island is small and you can learn the ins and outs in a day or so. One caveat is that they drive on the left and it feels weird for 10-15 minutes. Then, you get used to it.

If you have a car, you should see Taylor Bay and Sapodilla Bay. When Grace Bay was windy and had some waves, we drove to Sapodilla Bay which is 22 minute drive from the hotel and enjoyed beautiful calm beach. As far as the restaurants goes, Seven Star, Coco Bistro, Bay Bistro, Beach House, Las Brisas are must… All those restaurants are at least 50-60$ per person depending on what you drink. Island is quite expensive…

The first day we arrived and the day before we left, sea was crystal clear and was fun to snorkel. Remaining 5 days, clarity was so-so. In the 7 days we stayed, I saw one school of fish and few fish here and there. SO, there was not much to see… May be I was unlucky. However, the Coral Gardens Reef which is 10 minute drive from the hotel was awesome. There were a lot fish, coral, sea turtles etc… So, if you are planning to snorkel, Coral Gardens Reef is a must and another reason to rent a car…

Although it was windy most of the time, there were mosquitoes especially in the evening. The screen around the unit worked fine and we did not have any mosquitoes in the rooms. However, when you go out for dinner, I suggest to use Mosquito Repellents. I did not see much mosquitoes but got bitten in the first night. After that we used repellents and did not have any problem.

Bottom line, if you are looking for a laid back, eat, drink, swim and sleep vacation you will not be disappointed. If you are looking for 5 star resort with entertainment and night life look for somewhere else.

I was very happy with the all vacation I am already looking for a 3-4 day trip in the April. My choice for hotel will be OCR. I will not look for anything else….

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ocean Club Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Club Resort

Address: Ocean Club Resorts, Turks & Caicos, Providenciales
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Turks and Caicos > Providenciales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Providenciales
#17 Spa Hotel in Providenciales
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Providenciales
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ocean Club Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ocean Club Resorts is comprised of two beachfront properties, Ocean Club and Ocean Club West, located one mile apart on stunning Grace Bay Beach. The intimate resorts offer a “Stay at one, Play at both” opportunity for guests to enjoy all the services and amenities of both. An easy stroll down a beautiful stretch of beach is the popular way to get between the two resorts, although guests can be chauffeured by a complimentary shuttle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, BookIt.com, Amex and Venere so you can book your Ocean Club Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Club Hotel Providenciales
Ocean Hotel Providenciales
Ocean Resort Providenciales
Ocean Club Turks Caicos
Ocean Club Resort Turks And Caicos/Providenciales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Club Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.