We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Family Resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Club Resort

Save Saved
You added Ocean Club Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ocean Club Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Ocean Club Resorts, Turks & Caicos, Providenciales   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 44 Hotels in Providenciales
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great Family Resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Second visit to Ocean club this year for another two weeks with our 2 year old daughter. Love the staff of this resort as they are very friendly and helpful. Very well maintained grounds and the grounds staff was very friendly as they would cut down coconuts for my wife and daughter to drink and eat. Located on the best part of Grace Bay. The beach is so beautiful and great for relaxing and going for beach walks. The island has amazing snorkelling beaches not to far away and very good scuba diving. I strongly suggest renting a car so you can take advantage of the entire island. This place has some of the most beautiful and secluded beaches that I have ever seen. Very large supermarkets are on the island that give you all the conveniences of home. The Cabana Bar at the resort is very convenient and a great place to eat or have a drink right in front of the ocean. The island has too many great restaurants to name them all but the Cabana bar, Mango Reef, Bella Luna and the Sushi restaurant are among our favourites. Ocean Club is one of the few affordable family friendly resorts on this very upscale island. I will definitely return. We stayed in room 7203 in G building which was great because it was close to the pool and had a great view of the pool, resort and ocean.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    264
    172
    35
    16
    7
See reviews for
126
206
9
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

We had originally booked Pointe Grace for our 20th Anniversary, but switch to Ocean Club due to a nearly $700 difference. I suppose Ocean Club can be hit or miss depending on which unit you're in and who the other guests are when you arrive, but we definitey had a "hit" experience in that our room (8302) was nice (very "beach house-y") and the other guests were reasonable enough. I imagine that, at busy times and with obnoxious guests, it can get loud at night there as the suites have very large patios and two pools in the midst of the condos. Here are my positives and negatives, followed by some overall Turks and Caicos impressions / suggestions.

PROS:
*The room and grounds were very clean with a large staff. Housekeeping did a great job on our room.
*The kitchen was nice and had lots of dishes and utensils (but only salt and pepper -- no other spices). We actually only ate out one time during our whole trip, but we're not big eaters anyway.
*The beach was perfect and had lots of available chairs and towels at all times. There was also a nice helf yourself water cooler which was a nice touch. We liked that there was nobody ever looking for tips here -- they pretty much leave you alone unless you specifically ask for something. For us, this is a positive, for others, this might be a negative.
*The location within Grace Bay was good. The advantage is that it is about the last large-ish resort in that direction, so you can walk on gorgeous, secluded beaches starting about 100 yards to the right of the hotel. The negative is that you can't walk to the great snorkeling reefs that lie several miles up on the left of the resort (well, you could walk there, but most people wouldn't -- the sand is very soft which tires you out pretty quickly).
*They have really nice, comfortable pools at both locations. Keeps you clean feeling. There are grills that we used once and several others used that were available. Three at Ocean Club. And these are nice, gas grills (the $1500 kind), not junky charcoal ones. Despite what we had heard, meat is not really that expensive at the IGA grocery store. One South American family cooked up a feast with all sorts of meats, vegetables, and wine.
*The restaurant and bar area was nice and lit up cool at night.
*Oh, and finally, Iove how all the resorts on TCI have screened in porches, as does Ocean Club. You can go outside anytime of the day or night and not have to worry about getting bit by bugs. In fact, we went all over the island and multiple beaches and I never got a single bite of any kind. I suppose it's seasonal.

CONS:
*There are no free watersports amenities, which the website is a bit vague about. Not even a stinking kayak. Above It All sports is the only sailboat rental place in town that we found after multiple searches, and it happens to be right next to Ocean Club. We rented a catamaran for $85 for two hours and had fun, but most places seemed to have at least one catamaran available for free (Pointe Grace had one rigged and ready to go that we never saw used; Club Med, which is next to Ocean Club, had about six rigged and unused all day). Kayaking on Grace Bay does not really look fun, though, as it's a pretty strong current and quite choppy.
*The bar is too expensive. $5.50 for Turks Head beer when other places charge $4. If you drink, go to a liquor store instead, although making frozen drinks looked to be expensive as the mix was about $14 and the liquor at least $10 for a pint or so.

Providenciales Tips / Impressions...
*This island seems very safe and clean. Nobody approached us one time to sell us anything, which is a stark contrast from Jamaica, where we got approached by drug dealers and peddlers well over a hundred times (I exaggerate not). Still, it definitely lacked the edginess and culture of Jamaica and didn't seem to have anything uniquely theirs. The natives seemed calm and standoffish (some might think they're rude); but hey, their ancestors were dumped there after slavery was made illegal in the British Empire and many of them pretty much are still slaves (cleaning up after the white man for small recompense). There's also a lot of money on this island with hundreds of multi-million houses all over.

Tips:
*Rent a car if you can. If you drive stick shift, rent from Avis. We got a car for five days, four nights for about $150 after tax! We drove all over the island and anywhere we wanted and refilled the car for $25. There's nothing too earth-shattering to see on the island, but there are a few cool sites.
*Visit Chalk Sound and Sopadilla Bay, both of which are high on the scale of beauty. Sopadilla Bay is great for swimming and hanging out.
*Visit the Alexandra National Park, which includes several excellent reefs just off shore. We didn't dive this trip, but didn't really need to because the snorkeling is so good. We pretty much saw what we would have seen anyway. There is no admission costs.
*Leave plenty of time budgeted for airport departure, as it gets super crowded and is not the most efficient place in the world.

Room Tip: Choose a third floor room if you can handle the stairs as they have vaulted ceilings and are more pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

I love the Ocean Club. My family has been staying there for 20 years now, this upcoming year (2013) will be our our 20th anniversary. Back in 1993, there was only the Ocean Club and Club Med, now there are a ton of new resorts, yet we keep coming back to this one. Why? The food is great at the Cabana bar, and so are the frozen drinks, the rooms are large, with kitchens (some really could be updated), but they are comfortable, and most have a great view, plus most of the new places are snooty, cost 900 / night, and you don't get the friendly, relaxed atmosphere at the OC. But the real pull is the beach front. OC has the largest beachfront other than Club Med on the island-- and it is beautiful. The next best thing is the folks that work there: Kayonn - one of the most loving and caring persons ever! She has been a hostess / waitress at the Cabana bar since I can remember (back to my college days), year over year, seeing her is like seeing a sister. The Bar Manager - Catherine, the same way. When our babies cry, she picks them up, walks them around for an hour to let you eat in peace! Then there is Cindy, Linda, and of course Desmond the bartender (he no longer works there). The whole crew has seen my family go through high school, college, marriage, babies. Now our family (that was 6 people) is 20 people. This year --20 people, 20 years, will be a big celebration. I love the Ocean Club - it is our home away from home.

Room Tip: They could use some help in updating the non existent spa and the fitness center...too small, too ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Being From a country with some of the best beaches in the world can spoil you but Grace Bay took my breath away! It's like you're existing in a postcard.

Ocean Club isn't the most modern resort but it is very clean with friendly staff and a location that's hard to beat. Our condo style room was massive with a full kitchen full of everything you need to cook yourself every now and then (if you're staying a week you'll want to since the food in Turks is pretty expensive). The Opus restaurant on the property has a beautiful tropical alfresco dining area and live music. For cheap yummy local fare go next door to the shack on the beach for the lobster salad!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

The Ocean Club Resort met our expectations. It was right on a beautiful beach, and they had plenty of chairs and towels. They had a cabana bar that was right by the beach and next to the pool area. The grounds were nicely maintained. The bartender at the bar there was friendly and kept the blender busy making wonderful frozen drinks. The suite that we stayed in had an island view which was fine since the beach is so close by anyway. The room was clean and well equipped with a small kitchen, so we biked to the grocery store and kept snacks and drinks in the fridge. It was a family-oriented resort. There were many families staying there as well as couples, and groups of friends. The only complaint(s) that we had was that there seemed to be some inconsistency in the quoted cost of taxi rides, even by the resort staff for the "discount shuttle." A taxi ride is expensive so try to walk, ride a bike, take the shuttle at the hotel, or rent a car. The resort also did not make a dinner reservation for us,even after being reminded several times. However, we were able to get into the cafe without any problem. There are several good restaurants in the area including, Caicos Cafe and Coco Bistro. The restaurant by the pool served a great breakfast too!!! Overall, the staff was pretty good, and Action Jackson was always ready to help and took good care of us during our stay. He was awesome and very friendly. It was a very relaxing vacation!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

As we were told on this trip, the 4th visit elevates us above mere guest status and makes us semi-permanent residents of Turks and Caicos- which is just fine by us. Ocean Club Resort may not be right for everyone but is the perfect property for us. Other reviewers have mentioned that T&C lacks much in the way of nightlife and OCR is a very relaxed resort. There are no organized activities other than a completely optional once/week manager's reception with rum punch and appetizers. We spend our days playing tennis when the mood strikes and largely just enjoying the beautiful Grace Bay beach and unbelievable turquoise water. Had a massage with Melanie this visit and it was great! Having a kitchen and laundry in rooms works well and we tend to go shopping on 1st day for breakfasts and lunches. We had a cookout one night on one of 3 resort grills and it was like having a private pool party. That dinner ended up being our best and cheapest. Don't expect to be treated like a celebrity while there. Everything happens on island time so just enjoy the view and relax. Will go back again and again. A great place for families to unplug and just hang out in one of the most beautiful places anywhere.

Room Tip: We like to have an oceanfront room to see and hear the ocean but any room is within a very short wal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

We're so glad we picked the Ocean Club because it met all of our needs and then some.
The grounds are beautiful, and our Jr. Suite was perfect for the four of us. It was clean, the staff (by and large) were friendly, and the suite was the most well-equipped I have ever seen. (A blender? Got that. A sturdy, sharp knife? Yup. You get the idea.)
In my opinion, this resort is located on the most beautful stretch of Grace Bay, and Ocean Club is one of the last couple of resorts at the end of the beach. The beach is yours to enjoy and luxuriate in, as there never seemed to be more than 15 or so people on the beach at one time. Crystal clear water and soft, white sand. Plenty of lounge chairs, and the staff even sets out a large jug of ice water and cups.
We are a family of four, including two teenagers, and everyone loved this place. It's not much for night life, but neither is the rest of the island. That's OK with us - it's not what we came to Provo for. We rented a car for a couple of days to hit snorkeling spots, but the rest of the week we got by fine with the shuttle to Ocean Club West, which is central to stores and restaurants.
We found Ocean Club to be an outstanding and unforgettable place to stay. I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ocean Club Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Club Resort

Address: Ocean Club Resorts, Turks & Caicos, Providenciales
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Turks and Caicos > Providenciales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Providenciales
#16 Spa Hotel in Providenciales
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Providenciales
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ocean Club Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ocean Club Resorts is comprised of two beachfront properties, Ocean Club and Ocean Club West, located one mile apart on stunning Grace Bay Beach. The intimate resorts offer a “Stay at one, Play at both” opportunity for guests to enjoy all the services and amenities of both. An easy stroll down a beautiful stretch of beach is the popular way to get between the two resorts, although guests can be chauffeured by a complimentary shuttle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Hotels.com, HotelsClick and BookIt.com so you can book your Ocean Club Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Club Hotel Providenciales
Ocean Hotel Providenciales
Ocean Resort Providenciales
Ocean Club Turks Caicos
Ocean Club Resort Turks And Caicos/Providenciales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Club Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.