We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not many iguanas” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Little Water Cay

Little Water Cay
Providenciales
Improve this listing
Book Now

Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Islands, Reefs
Activities: Viewing wildlife, Snorkeling, Swimming with dolphins
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Island in the Turks and Caicos islands, the only place in the world to see the endangered rock iguana in its natural habitat.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Not many iguanas”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We stopped here on our snorkel tour, and we paid extra to go on the island--there weren't many iguanas, so not really worth the money.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    28
    6
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Providenciales
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“A great way to spend an hour or so..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

The National Trust are just completing a new building on the island, not for the Iguana's but for visitors, I also heard there will be new signs to help visitors while they visit this unspoilt bit of paradise. At first it's difficult to see any Iguana's then you suddenly realise they are everywhere, big, small, stationary, scuttling around in ones or twos, if you look long enough your certain to see these cool creatures, there is also a good chance of seeing sting rays off the North shore while walking along the stunning beach, as well as conch and if your lucky a nurse shark. The tour is usually 15 mins or so with the guide and then you can wonder around, it's a great thing to do if you have an hour or so spare.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piestany, Slovakia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“kayak tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

We have rented a kayak with Big Blue... they gave us a map of the bay, with info about strong currents and shallow water. It took us about 15-20 minutes to get there (the way there is easier than way back:))... we have been only on the west part of the island, as there are two trails, where you can see iguanas (it was stated on the map from BB). The island is full of iguanas, you will see a lot of them (especially when you go there by your own, not with the cruise)!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Felt like a local for a couple hours”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

My wife and I were the only travelers that day so we had two guides a bit our junior with us. They were really cool and we kind of just hung out with them rather than they being guides to serve us. The mangroves are awesome with so much wildlife - sharks, rays, starfish and conch.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Iguana Island”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

Interesting experience, especially for kids. My 5 year old loved seeing the Iguanas. I on the other hand was not overly impressed. You basically walk a small wooden walkway ( 150 yards at most all the way around) and look at iguanas. It would be nice to have some signs that would tell you about the creatures, their habits,life cycle etc.. and it would be really nice not to see all the booze at the guard's post ;(

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Little Water Cay also viewed

Providenciales, Turks and Caicos
Providenciales, Turks and Caicos
 
Providenciales, Turks and Caicos
Providenciales, Turks and Caicos
 

Been to Little Water Cay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Little Water Cay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.