We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Iguana Island” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Little Water Cay

Little Water Cay
Providenciales
Improve this listing
Book Now

Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Islands, Reefs
Activities: Viewing wildlife, Snorkeling, Swimming with dolphins
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Island in the Turks and Caicos islands, the only place in the world to see the endangered rock iguana in its natural habitat.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Iguana Island”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

Interesting experience, especially for kids. My 5 year old loved seeing the Iguanas. I on the other hand was not overly impressed. You basically walk a small wooden walkway ( 150 yards at most all the way around) and look at iguanas. It would be nice to have some signs that would tell you about the creatures, their habits,life cycle etc.. and it would be really nice not to see all the booze at the guard's post ;(

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    28
    6
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milford, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Iguana Island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

This is a really cool place to see lots of lizards, sting rays and small sharks. Only by boat or kayak(?)

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Kansas
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“simply gorgeous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

one word- beautiful. it's remote and the beach is better than grace bay in my opinion. saw a nurse shark and a stingray while relaxing in the warm waters.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Visit the Iguanas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

The island is very beautiful from the water. Once the boat docked we were told the iguanas were up behind the beach. This is a very natural spot and it seems quite arid and unusual for the Caribbean. We didn't see any iguanas but, many others on the tour did. We were more fascinated by the beach here watching the stingrays swimming up almost onshore. It was quite an isolated but beautiful spot.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Worth a short tour, but hope they can improve signage and info”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

The kids loved spotting a dozen or so of the rare iguanas. Our boat crew gave us a nice short tour but we hope that with the planned improvements, more info and signage will be provided and the tour can cover a bit more ground. We didn't see the lagoon on this tour.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Little Water Cay also viewed

Providenciales, Turks and Caicos
Providenciales, Turks and Caicos
 
Providenciales, Turks and Caicos
Providenciales, Turks and Caicos
 

Been to Little Water Cay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Little Water Cay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.