We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very pretty beach with nice underwater views.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coral Gardens Reef

Coral Gardens Reef
Providenciales
Improve this listing
Type: Reefs, Outdoors
Activities: Scuba diving, Viewing wildlife
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A cluster of hard coral teeming with fish and other marine life.
Katonah, New York
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A very pretty beach with nice underwater views.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014




Coral Gardens Reef is located on Grace Bay and is worth the trip.

Bring snorkels, masks and flippers.

You have to take a path near a hotel to get to the beach.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    73
    33
    9
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Nice, but can't see all the reef”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

It was great to have a place to go snorkeling that was free and where we could swim out right from the shore. Nice also for beginners since the waters are calm. However, the majority of the reef is blocked off for preservation. Still worth a visit, but there are nicer places to go snorkeling around Providenciales.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Free Fun Snorkeling”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

Bring your towels, sunblock, snacks and gear to spend several hours snorkeling in this reef. There is a nice shady area under a palm tree that we like to park at.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“What reef?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

This reef is very underwhelming. Only saw a few fish and there is rope around the middle of the reef so you can get very close to it.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Worth the trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

We spent the morning at Coral Gardens Reef, well worth every second, this is a beautiful pristine national park. I would advise you to bring your chairs and bring food it you can because there is nothing around to sit or to have something to eat. The Coral Gardens Reef is actually part of The Princess Alexandra National Park system and highly protected. Once you arrive when you will notice two circles outline my floating markers directing you were to swim, you must not go into the centre of the two circles because this is were the coral is living. The coral is very sensitive when it disturbed (touch) it will begin to die. There is lot of fish and coral out side of the centre to enjoy, I got a little freaked out when I saw a three barracuda when is just swam by me!

* we parked just outside of the walkway to the Coral Garden Reef, please all your valuables with you.

We ran into a young man a belonger who provided us with a history of Turks and Caicos and Coral Gardens, the belongers are a beautiful, friendly people.

What to bring: sun screen, chair(s), water/food, snorkel gear and sandals

Sit back and enjoy the amazing view ! a place not to miss!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coral Gardens Reef also viewed

Providenciales, Turks and Caicos
Providenciales, Turks and Caicos
 
Providenciales, Turks and Caicos
Providenciales, Turks and Caicos
 

Been to Coral Gardens Reef? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coral Gardens Reef, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.