We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what we expected” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Coral Gardens Reef

Coral Gardens Reef
Providenciales
Improve this listing
Activities: Scuba diving, Viewing wildlife
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A cluster of hard coral teeming with fish and other marine life.
pittsburgh
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Not what we expected”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

We probably hit it on an off day- but we were disappointed . Thin part of beach and the reef wasn't active at all for snorkeling. Wasted cab fare and wasted half day

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    150
    89
    49
    10
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Livermore, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Nice Reef”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

The reef is roped off in a way that keeps swimmers off the shallower areas to avoid contact. You swim around in a semi-circle and the best part of the reef is on the eastern side. Very healthy looking reef with the usual tropical fish. My son and I did see a HUGE barracuda which was exciting and a little unnerving at the same time.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great snorkeling right off the beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Coral Gardens has a protected area that you cannot enter and clearly marked. You snorkel around the perimeter of this area and see beautiful underwater life.

We saw barracudas, lobsters, and quite a few colourful fish that I can't name ;) The depth is about 10-15 feet which you can easily dive down and observe up close. The fish aren't very afraid of snorkelers and don't shy away.

As always, make sure you don't touch anything. The damage can go both ways.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
52 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Hours of INEXPENSIVE snorkeling”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Coral Gardens Reef is very convieniently located right off of the shoreline on Grace Bay Beach. We love snorkeling and enjoyed the opportunity to be leisurly floating around in the ocean looking at several species of coral and fish. We even saw a couple of sea turtles! We literally spent about 6 hours here in the water.
The resort located here was nice enough to allow us to rent (for a small $20 fee) their snorkel gear for the day.
Snorkeling the reefs here is very pleasent with few other people around to bump into. The reef path is well outlined and safe feeling. We did see a nurse shark and an eel as well!
Our only negatives here were the fact that the reefs were difficult to get very close to-bouys rope off the really pretty center section.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powell, Ohio
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Fun! take your snorkel stuff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

easy to find off low road - right at a very fun bar called SomeWhere-- the snorkeling was fun and free

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coral Gardens Reef also viewed

Providenciales, Turks and Caicos
Providenciales, Turks and Caicos
 
Providenciales, Turks and Caicos
Turks and Caicos, Caribbean
 

Been to Coral Gardens Reef? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coral Gardens Reef, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.