We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent 3 days of diving!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dive Provo

Dive Provo
Grace Bay Rd | Ports of Call, BWI, Providenciales
+1 649-946-5040
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 76 activities in Providenciales
Type: Tours, Water sports
Activities: Scuba diving, Leisure education
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Still relatively undiscovered; with warm weather, clear water, white sand beaches, miles of barely explored reefs, direct flights from many North American cities and easy access from Europe and South America; Providenciales is the perfect choice for a tropical diving vacation. Dive Provo’s experienced, fun professionals show you the best of Turks and Caicos scuba diving.
New York City, New York
1 review
“Excellent 3 days of diving!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Fantastic shop! I did 3 days of 2 tank diving with them and had an excellent time with the staff.

I was picked up at my hotel each day and was given a heads up that they would be running late. Some of the gear setup was out of whack, but it was a busy time for them and they did what they could to rectify the situation as fast as possible; not a big deal in the least.

Dived with Nigel, Bill, Danny, Josie and Steph and have nothing but good things to say about the trip. Eager to answer all questions about diving, working at a dive shop and living on Provo. If I do day boats again in Provo, I will be sure to sign up with this shop again.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    290
    61
    16
    14
    19
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Great five days of diving”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We had a great time diving with Dive Provo. Very organized bunch. We dived over the New Yrs week and they were full up and no mistakes were made. This was our first "big boat" experience so it was a learning curve but by the end our equipment was right by the dive platform (thanks guys/Selma!) so we took the opportunity to be first in/ first out. We weren't newbies at this point and they make navigation a doddle. Other divers were following us!

Lunch were awesome sandwiches (and banana bread) I believe were made by Caicos Bakery which I never did make it to due to having to be at the dive shop by 8:20am. We tended to get back around 2-3:30pm so diving did tend to chew up the day. This was one of the main issues we had as we had spent the week previous diving Salt Cay with 5 min boat rides. However this is the way it is on Provo and we went to some awesome dive sites.

We did North West Point, French Cay and West Caicos. North West point was good and the first day the water was like glass! Odd bunch of fellow divers. Second day was the polar opposite. Awful weather but friendly divers. Still we had never really been out in rough seas so we learned things and got wet! Saw our first up close reef sharks!

French Cay was amazing. So many FISH. I'd have to say those 2 days diving there were the best. Plus on was NewYrs day with only serious divers, no once or twice a year ones. There were however a LOT of big lionfish. We heard that they have stopped spearing them because the sharks were becoming aggressive (I guess they were feeding them to the sharks). To the point one shark took the collection bag just as the diver was climbing the ladder! Shame. Should have fed them to the groupers like in Cayman Brac!

West Caicos was amazing as well with some very close reef shark encounters and turtles (GoPro footage to prove it). Plus seeing the half built Ritz complex (stopped in '08) was neat, if not sad.

The few issues I had were the 2850-2950MAX air-fills. I guess they were running full out so the compressor was getting hot. Our first day out a rather cranky (I believe fill in DM) was rather condescending to our son and others as well. She seemed to take delight in belittling others. Including a former marine "you wouldn't want to dive with a partially open take now would you?" said in a rather condescending manner. Next to THROWING our dive bags with OUR gear under the seat. She could have told us nicely to place them under the seats, it was our first day ever being on a big boat. We weren't happy after that day but Selma, Jon and Justin made the other four times a blast! Not enough to lose a star.

BTW people DON'T rinse you mask in the photo tank! I mentioned this to Justin and he quickly told everyone (it was just one person) to stop.

Overall I would go again to Dive Provo in a heartbeat!

5/5 + The shop was stuffed with stuff at much better prices than Grand Cayman.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great staff, dive sites so-so.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

Been diving a few years all over the Caribbean, so this is my comparison basis. The staff are a real pleasure to work with. Steph and Torsten took great care of our dive team (2 old salts, 1 squirt, and a very nervous shark-fearing newbie). Equipment was in good condition, everything we asked for was waiting for us aboard the Conquest, a 36-foot double decker. Suunto Zoop is the rental computer, and it's more than enough for air and EANx both. Wet suits are available, and most opted for them - again, no complaints, the staff worked to get everyone fitted back at the shop and there were no hiccups underway.

Now for the diving. Depending on wind, departure is either from Long Bay Marina (SE point of Provo) or the North side. The winds were forecast at 20kts plus, so we headed for Long Bay. It's a 15 min drive, followed by an hour of fairly easy sailing. There are snacks and water and plenty of room. Dive Provo doesn't overstuff their boats - a major departure from what we've seen elsewhere (e.g. Mexico). Our 1st site was at the West Caicos wall. The boat is moored in 40ft of water above a sand bank, so if you're worried about bounding off into the blue abyss - don't. If you're doing DSD or cert dives, you're staying on the sand, with maybe a peek at the precipice. For the certified divers, you're going off the wall.

The briefings are very thorough and go over the "no deco" requirements in depth. Everyone's admonished to mind their computers and stay above 100ft. The walls are alive with coral of all kinds, sponges, cones, pretty much every variety is represented here. Fish, however, proved less so. We did see 3 reef sharks (5-7 ft) on our first dive, but that was about it. The second site was 20 mins away, yielding some parrots, yellow tails, angels, a sizable barracuda and 3 giant lions guarding a shelf cave. The wall here was also very lively and colorful, with lots of giant bowls.

The ride back was rather long, clocking in at 1:15, as we fought the winds and 3ft waves head-on. Every few mins we'd get a faceful of spray on top of the tower, and the quarterdeck was soaked - no issue for us, but it did tire everyone out. Danny did great skippering the boat, but there's only so much he could do. Bonine (meclizine) is your friend if seasickness is a concern - use it or wish you had!

Altogether, a good experience, and the crew at Dive Provo certainly made every effort. They are a great bunch of folks, and a real pleasure to work with. This was by far the highlight of the trip. Sadly, it wasn't the fauna or flora, certainly in light of the long boat journey.

Perhaps, our expectations are somewhat off, but we've yet to match Belize, Egypt, or South Florida in terms of fish quantity and variety, or the "things to see" category.

Now, for the summary:

Staff: excellent
Boats: good (could use more power)
SCUBA gear: good (BCDs show some wear, computers are very good)
WX conditions: variable, be ready for bumpy ride
Dive sites: lots of cool flora at the wall, not much fauna. Sharks were seen, rays the day before (reported)

Tip: if prone to seasickness, do yourself and everyone a favor and hit the meclizine the night before and morning of your trip, top off after second dive if you have to - it will be bumpy at some point, so be prepared.

Tip: don't forget to tip your crew!

Overall recommendation: excellent place to get your cert done and start your diving career. For more experienced divers looking for a true "shark experience", this may not be it. If you're looking for a taste of true Caribbean diving, Dive Provo can't be beat. My home dive shop is coming here en masse in a month, and now I know why.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great dive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Staff booked the trip easily and prepared sizes for gear before the trip. Picked up from the hotel and brought to the dive shop and then to the boat. First dive after certification was great! So exciting! Staff was helpful and made sure I was prepared. The dive guide pointed out different marine life and talked about it on the boat. Saw sharks, lionfish, and turtle!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Virginia, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great diving and a very professional and fun stuff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

I have nothing but good things to say about Dive Provo. I did 5 days of 2-tank diving with them over Christmas/New Years and even during the busy season, the staff at Dive Provo was superb. The staff is friendly and very professional. Nice dive boats and they were never over crowded. I booked my hotel through Dive Provo as well and couldn't have been happier with the whole experience. Overall, a great dive operator that definitely earns their PADI 5 Star rating.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dive Provo also viewed

Providenciales, Turks and Caicos
Providenciales, Turks and Caicos
 
Providenciales, Turks and Caicos
Turks and Caicos, Caribbean
 

Been to Dive Provo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dive Provo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Dive Provo to your Saves list