We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the Splurge” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sail Beluga

Sail Beluga
Providenciales
+1 649-231-0732
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Sailing, Group tours/day tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Adventure, romance, snorkeling, sunsets, you'll find it all aboard Sail Beluga. The longest running and most experienced sailing charter vessel in the Turks and Caicos Islands.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Activities for older children, Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities
Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Worth the Splurge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

This activity was probably a bit out of my price range but given we had the kids and it just seemed right to sail around this area, we did it. It was fantastic. Captain Tim and Nik were great, helpful and informative. Very easy to chat with. We went for the afternoon sail and were able to see a great sunset over the water. Beverages (RUM PUNCH!) and snacks were great. Snorkling along the reef was crazy. Never saw so many different types of sea creatures. Captain Nik helped someone in our party that was a bit nervous with snorkling by using a life ring and basically giving a private tour of the reef area. We then sailed up to a remote beach area. Never seemed rushed on the trip. No regrets at all. Would do it again.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SailBeluga, Captain at Sail Beluga, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We also love snorkeling on the coral reef and that's why we always get in the water with you to help point out things you might otherwise miss. Personal attention if you are nervous is another advantage of a private charter over the cheaper group trips.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    204
    9
    3
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, Virginia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience with captain Nik and H”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

I cannot adequately describe how professional and knowledgeable both captain Nik and H were. Our party of 7 did a morning sail with them. The sailing was phenomenal. They are extremely knowledgeable about sailing and the area. Everyone in our party were completely relaxed. Midday captain Nik served an appetizer plate that was wonderful (salami, cheese, hummus from Lemons, carrots, fresh baguette, etc) with wine, beer and a real rum punch. We have done trips with others companies on Provo and this was by far the best. I would definitely go back out on the water with them.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SailBeluga, Captain at Sail Beluga, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thank you very much for your lovely review, I am glad to hear we succeeded in our goal of helping you to relax.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southeast
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

We've sailed on Beluga twice with Captain Jim; once in 2008 and again in 2012. Our first experience was just amazing... Lovely weather, calm seas, just perfect! He is so knowledgable and a very interesting man. Our second trip the weather was not as great, but still very enjoyable. I would recommend this trip over any commercial fleet. I miss T & C! My favorite Captain Jim quite is, "I could live in the big city and vacation in the tropics 2 weeks a year or I could live in the tropics and vacation in the city 2 weeks a year..." Of course he chose the latter, and I'd bet he is enjoying a lot more if his days than those of us who live in the city!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Simply Awesome !!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Great combination of nice, comfortable, smooth sailing catamaran with "organic" feel (Captain Tim built the boat himself) and gracious crew (Tim & H). We booked an afternoon sail until sunset. Had a great time sailing and snorkeling. The sunset along with the customary toast with H's grog (double rations) was truly memorable. Definitely a highlight of the trip to Provo. If you are looking to maximize time under sail and have a great experience without the crowds go with Sail Beluga.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“What a Day!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Getting a private charter with Sail Beluga is certainly a must! What a way to celebrate my husband's birthday! We had a morning cruise (unfortunately, we weren't able to reserve a sunset cruise in the afternoon because it had already been booked; highly recommend reserving your time slot asap). Captain Nik was just an absolute delight - he shared so many amazing stories with us and made the trip just so much more enjoyable! This was certainly the highlight of our entire trip! It's an absolutely gorgeous boat and we were fortunate enough to have the best possible weather and conditions for our sail! Nik was totally relaxed and let us decide how we wanted to spend our day. We snorkeled on the barrier reef and enjoyed sailing along the smaller islands by Provo. The cold beers went down so unbelievably smooth with the sea salt on our lips. The fresh watermelons were unbelievably refreshing and such a perfect touch. Fantastic rum punch made fresh on the boat and the most delicious cheeses/meat board! Talk about getting completely pampered!!! Can't express just how much fun we had! It was truly an unforgettable experience! HIGHLY recommend!!!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sail Beluga also viewed

Providenciales, Turks and Caicos
Providenciales, Turks and Caicos
 
Providenciales, Turks and Caicos
Providenciales, Turks and Caicos
 

Been to Sail Beluga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sail Beluga, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.