We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good "no frills" hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Villa del Mar

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Villa del Mar to your Saves list
Villa del Mar
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Crescent Road, Providenciales   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
4th Night Free
Ranked #22 of 44 Hotels in Providenciales
Atlanta, GA
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Good "no frills" hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2010

Our stay at Villa Del Mar in TCI (Turks & Caicos Islands) was a departure from our typical Spring trip. For our "fun in the sun" Spring vacations, we typically do all-inclusive style resorts, like Disney World or Atlantis. Also, TCI is not as developed as what you might find in other Caribbean destinations like The Bahamas, St. Barts, Bermuda, Jamaica, etc...

Rooms:

We booked a standard room which was a bit larger than a typical hotel room. There was added space for a kitchenette which featured a sink, mini-fridge, coffee maker, and microwave. Dishes were provided. The in-room washer/dryer was a nice convenience. Floors are all tile. All the rooms have large balconies. Separate shower and tub in the bathroom. Our room featured a queen sized bed and a pull-out sofa. The rooms are clean and still look relatively new. Free wireless internet was available in the room. I had no problems with Wi-Fi reception. Cable television with standard channels - no DVD player, movie channels, or movies for rent. My one criticism of the rooms would be a lack of storage. There are no large dressers in the room. We had to store most of our clothes in our suitcases.

Grounds:

The grounds are nice and well taken care of. This is not a large resort hotel, but rather condo's (which probably didn't sell due to the recession) that are currently being marketed as a hotel property. Thus, there are no-frills here. The two pools are nice, but small. If you're traveling with small children, there is not a lot for the kids to do at the pool. No water slides or pool toys. We brought our own pool tools and an air pump for my six year old.

Location:

Like most tourist hotels in TCI, Villa Del Mar is located in Grace Bay. The Grace Bay area is just starting to be developed as a tourist hotspot. The location is an excellent value for the money. Villa Del Mar is not directly on the beach, but guests can literally walk across the street and find themselves on the beach. All beaches in Turks and Caicos are public, so access is not an issue. Villa Del Mar, like all hotels in the Grace Bay area, has a section of the beach set aside for it's guests. Once we walked down to the beach, we never had any difficulties getting chairs, towels, and water from the Villa Del Mar cabana boys. The cabana boys will also bring you lunch from one of the nearby restaurants on the beach. We ate at Anacaoan, which is located at Grace Bay Club, right on the beach.

Dining / Food:

Since Villa Del Mar is a "no frills" hotel, there is no dining on-site. However, there are plenty of restaurants within walking distance. We walked-to/dined-at Fresh Bistro ($), Mango Reef ($$), Anacaona ($$$) and Coco Bistro ($$$$). Dining in Turks and Caicos is expensive. There is no way around that. The only consolation is that food in TCI is costly for everyone, so you're not getting ripped-off. A trip to the grocery store reveals that food costs about double what it does in the United States. We had our taxi driver stop at the IGA so that we could pick up a few groceries when we arrived. There is also the Graceway Gourmet Grocery located in the Grace Bay area (about 1/2 mile from Villa Del Mar). A bank with an ATM is located next to the Graceway Gourmet Grocery. We definitely saved money by buying our own food.

Entertainment:

Of course, there is the beach across the street from Villa Del Mar. The water/beaches in Turks and Caicos are among the most beautiful I've ever seen. The beaches were never crowded. Several of the beaches we went to, which were off the beaten path, were literally empty. Not many times in life when you get a whole beach to yourself!
The area of entertainment is where a hotel like Villa Del Mar requires a lot more work than staying at an all-inclusive resort. We had to do a lot of research to find activities. We did jet-skis, four-wheeling, Iguana Island and exploration of the less populated North Caicos & Middle Caicos islands. All of these activities were expensive, but worth the cost. However, nothing was planned our for us. It took many hours of online research, phone calls, and getting lost on the island to get these activities booked. The staff at Villa Del Mar was somewhat helpful in providing us with information, but we really had to do our own planning. We found the attitudes of the staff ranged from somewhat helpful to not wanting to be bothered (indeed, this was true for the entire island). The biggest improvement I'd recommend to Villa Del Mar would be to invest in concierge services to help guests in planning activities.

There is a small casino within walking distance from Villa Del Mar. We didn't get a chance to check it out, since we had our six year old with us. Also within walking distance are a couple of quaint shopping centers with shops and restaurants. They are not very large, but worth exploring.

If you're not staying at an all-inclusive resort, I would recommend renting a car while in TCI. I did not find driving on the left side of the road to be a huge challenge. Traffic on the islands is minimal and there are no traffic signals anywhere in TCI - only roundabouts. We rented a small Toyota Corolla from Grace Bay Car rentals. You can pick up cars from Grace Bay Car rentals at the airport or from their location in Grace Bay. Their Grace Bay location is walking distance is from Villa Del Mar. Grace Bay Car Rentals will also drop-off the car at Villa Del Mar. If you decide to explore North Caicos & Middle Caicos islands, you have to take the TCI Ferry. Definitely rent a car when you get to the other islands (TCI Ferry can arrange this). Renting a car on the other islands is not cheap ($80/day), but well worth it. These sparsely populated islands are home to some of the best beaches and caves.

In summary - do you research before visiting TCI. There is a lot to do, but if you don't plan ahead, you'll miss out. Check-out all the on-line TCI forums, including the TripAdvisor Turks and Caicos forum. Alternatively, you can just hang out at the beautiful TCI beaches or stay at an all-inclusive resort.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    343
    118
    15
    8
    0
See reviews for
172
227
14
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2010

I read a lot about Villa del Mar so we booked there, mainly because of the great special they were offering. We were not disappointed. The place is almost brand new and everything is clean and with friendly staff. The rooms are really nice – big and have very nice furnishings and that includes an awesome comfy bed. We had a one bedroom with a full kitchen (which we never used, but nice to know it’s there – and there’s a small grocery store you can walk to to stock up. So I lied, we did use the fridge to keep our beer icy, especially after coming back from diving or lounging around after dinner.

Villa del Mar is not big as I originally thought; maybe 30 odd rooms (?). Don’t get me wrong; we were thankful because it felt kind of like a private club. The staff were great and really helpful in terms of getting us around and making recommendations. We liked hanging by the pool after diving, and there’s a little bar there. There is no restaurant on property but we hardly noticed. We’d walk to a few places nearby. Fresh is great for a quick breakfast and the odd lunch and Coyaba is awesome for that special night out and both within 5 minutes. The casino is just around the corner and open late for those nights when you can’t sleep. The Provo Golf course is just a few minutes drive away.

Even though it’s not ‘beachfront’ Villa Del Mar just a few steps from the best beach in the world. We used the VDM beach area, which has chairs, towels and beach staff who can run drinks for you too. How cool is that! We didn’t spend as much time lounging on the beach because of the diving but one afternoon we did take a nice long stroll all the way down to the ever popular Hemingway’s, which his right on the beach in a condo resort but open to the public.

We’re glad we picked Villa del Mar (thanks to all the great recommendations here) and will definitely recommend them to anyone. I believe they have larger 3bedroom suites to accommodate large families or a small group. Might be something to look into when traveling with friends to save on costs.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2010

Villa del Mar offers both luxury and comfort. A low key paradise stay in Turks and Caicos. It is conveniently a walking distance to some fine dining restaurants, Graceway Gourmet grocery store, souvenir shops, car/bike rental shops, bakery , casino.



The hotel is a minute walk to the pristine Grace Bay Beach. The beautiful path is shared by the 5 star hotel, The Graceway Club. Villa del Mar have their own spot in the beach and like all resorts, employs a beach attendant solely to cater to guests needs – cold water, towels, beach chair, umbrella. They stay there from 7 am till 6pm. You’ll enjoy the beach without constantly being approached by vendors although they are very polite. You probably will never encounter them if at all or probably once or twice for the week you are staying. The staffs are very helpful and attentive but know when to give your space.



The lady receptionist needs a majour attitude/service adjustment. For example, it would be great if the guests were informed what is/is not available to them, ie, breakfast, free drinks on Fridays, drinks that can be delivered to the beach. It is not a big deal, however, the receptionist was unreceptive and unhelpful. However, Roshann or Shaun has made up for what the villa lack thereof in terms of customer service. Big ups for him.



The room is generously spacious and lovely. It feels like home. Villa del Mar has about 42 rooms only giving it an intimate feel. It’s definitely worth it just from lazing out in the beach, the swimming pool/whirlpool at night and relaxing in your room at night.



Are we going back? Yes, definitely and will surely stay again at Villa del Mar.

  • Stayed February 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2010

I just wanted to take a moment to thank you (Darik and Tendra) SO very much for the incredible stay at Villa Del Mar. Everything was absolutely PERFECT!

Your resort exceeded all of our expectations and we could not be more appreciative.

First and foremost, the room was AMAZING! Loved the size, loved the very contemporary feel (especially love the bathroom), loved the views, loved the deck, and loved the location!!!

I like the small feel of the facility. Makes all of the service and amenities feel more personal.

You really have access to one of the nicest beaches I have ever seen (and we have seen a lot!) Your location is phenomenal- walking distance to countless restaurants and a Casino. Favorites were Coco Bistro, The Vix, Mango Reef- Royal Westin (Thanks Darik- I think you are absolutely correct!) Also loved the vibe at the Gansevoort Hotel too.

As a returning customer, it was nice to see that your already great resort has gotten even better. The grounds (pools, hot- tub, landscaping, outdoor bar and grilles) were terrific.

Most importantly, the service and staff were phenomenal! This was an instant and complete improvement over our last stay.

I will start at the top and say that the two of you (Darik and Tendra) made us feel completely welcomed and valued (wonderful feeling) from the moment we arrived until the moment we said goodbye.

Starting at check in (I think your staff member's name was Faye?) we were immediately escorted to our magnificent room (everything felt so easy.)

Really liked Rachel (again I hope I got the name right) and Rashon (both were great with recommendations and follow up.) Also LOVED your bartender! I had read great things about her on Trip Advisor (she is terrific!)

Services were fantastic (loved the cleaning team.) I also really appreciate the heads- up about stopping the continental breakfast. Good decision and securing breakfast is quite easy outside the hotel- lots of good choices.

We hated leaving- and have vowed to return! We are in love with TCI and really were completely thrilled with Villa Del Mar. Cannot wait to return! Thanks so very much again for making our stay so memorable!!

All the Best- and see you soon (hopefully...)

John M. Duffin
Philadelphia, PA

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
capecodder
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2010

We were there the first week in feb. i cannot wait to go back. Evereyone was nice Kendra and the whole front desk was great. The beach was beautiful and so was the service. It is a nice place to relax. I am jealous of anyone that is there now. The next trip will be for two weeks. see you Denise from mass.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livonia, Michigan
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2010

The wife and I just got back from TCI, and the stay at Villa del Mar was great ! The 1-BR/den we stayed in was full of very high quality furniture, full kitchen with all the works. Silverware, glassware, appliances were all first-rate.

Front desk personnel were very cordial. Very accommodating. Bring your ethernet cable, WIFI is spotty at best.

The suite was very roomy, much more than we needed, the bedding was the best. The towels in the bathroom, well, it felt like you were holding two of them when you only had one !

The pools, the property were exceptional. While there wasn't an ocean view, the walk over to the beach was just a minute. When we got there, there was always an attendant there to greet you, provide towels, water, a lounger, and an umbrella, just for you ! If you want food/drink, they will get it for you from Grace Bay Club. Just ask !

As for the location as a vacation destination, it was much nicer than Maui. Very warm, great beaches, great restaurants. Nothing is free, most restaurants were very pricey. There are no 'chains' in TCI, so it's tough to find a cheap meal. But the local grocery was filled with great fruits/veggies/food in general, if you want to cook in instead of going out.

However, there is much larger a 'third world' element to the island as a whole. The developed resort areas are just that, world class, but the countryside was a bit rough. That being said, you won't regret going to TCI. Stick to the resort areas.....

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Scotia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2010

Just back from Turks and Caicos and it’s more beautiful than we imagined. The beach is simply unbelievable and the water almost looks fake...it’s such a shocking blue/green color.

We were pleasantly surprised at how relatively uncrowded TCI is. Not wall to wall hotels like other islands we’ve been to, very little traffic (we didn’t see a traffic light on the whole island), and we didn’t have to make a reservation at any of the restaurants we ate at. And this is high season in the Caribbean.

First out hotel: Villa del Mar. Nice little resort right behind a nicer (and much more expensive) resort, Grace Bay Club (which was way out of our budget). But we didn’t feel like we gave up a lot with Villa del Mar. Our 1 bedroom suite was really big and comfortable. Plenty of room to spread out and we enjoyed having a full kitchen right in our room. The room and property were super clean and everything seemed new. Tip of the hat to the staff that made us feel very welcome and gave us some good advice on things to see and do. Nice pool, hot tub, bar on property…what else could we ask for?

We rented a car for a few days from Grace Bay Auto Rentals. They seemed to have the best prices and their location is close to Villa del Mar right in the heart of Grace Bay. A car is a good idea but not a necessity if you stay in Grace Bay and want to mainly focus on the beach. We explored the northwest part of the island one day. There’s a cool beach in that area called Malcomb’s Beach, but the road is a little rough to get there. We liked driving through the Bills Hill area to get there, though, and stopped a t a couple of local joints (Three Queen’s was our favorite but also liked Froggie’s).

Our favorite restaurants were Opus (in the Ocean Club resort by the golf course. Nice ambiance, great food and the bar was a cool place to hang after dinner for a glass of wine), Coco Bistro (you can walk from Villa Del Mar. its outdoor dining in a palm tree grove which is a really neat effect. Food was great but a bit pricey), and Hemingway’s (located at The Sands resort. Right on the beach, casual and relatively inexpensive places with great service and excellent meals for around $20-25, which is good for this island). We also discovered a place called Vine Tiempo which is in a little shopping plaza area not far from Villa del Mar. Cool little wine bar with small plates menu of some really interesting dishes. The nice thing about Villa del Mar is you are right in the middle of it all, but you don’t feel like you are in a busy area at all.

Our days were spent mostly on the beach. Villa del Mar has a beach area just for their guests and there’s an attendant there with loungers, towels, cold water, etc. We did a parasail trip one, day – a great way to see the island from about 300 feet in the air. The beach is just fantastic – really soft, white sand and you can walks for miles in either direction. No beach vendors or other distractions -- just pure unadulterated relaxation and tropical enjoyment.

An excellent experience for our first time to the Turks and Caicos. I highly recommend Villa del Mar – great value and location and very nice accommodations.

Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Villa del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa del Mar

Address: Crescent Road, Providenciales
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Turks and Caicos > Providenciales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Providenciales
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa del Mar 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa del Mar is the perfect island retreat for a vacation filled with endless sunshine and delightful diversions. Located on Providenciales (a.k.a. Provo), the most developed island in the Turks and Caicos chain, Villa del Mar is just steps from the 12 mile strip of sugary fine sand and cerulean blue water known as Grace Bay Beach, internationally recognized as one of the world's top 10 beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Villa del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Del Mar Hotel Providenciales
Hotel Del Mar
Del Mar Hotel
Villa Del Mar Turks And Caicos/Providenciales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa del Mar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.