We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for families with young children” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Villa del Mar

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Villa del Mar to your Saves list
Villa del Mar
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Crescent Road, Providenciales   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
3rd night free
Ranked #18 of 44 Hotels in Providenciales
Columbus, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Good for families with young children”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We just returned from our eight night stay at Villa del Mar. The accommodations were perfect for a family of four. We had room B201, a one bedroom with a den, overlooking the pool. The rooms were clean and updated. Maid service was once a day. We enjoyed eating lunch on the balcony everyday. The hotel was at 88% capacity, but never felt crowded. Amenities included free breakfast and free happy hour on Fridays. Breakfast is very basic - bagels, pastries, toast, bananas & oranges, cereal, and oatmeal. The beach amenities are limited to beach chairs and towels. The walk to the beach is a short distance. You cross the street and take the public access which leads you through Grace Bay Club property to the beach. The location is ideal for walking to restaurants, the supermarket, and shopping. Villa del Mar sits in the shadow of Grace Bay Club, but it's a comfortable stay at almost half the cost. If you're not interested in lots of amenities and activities, then VDM is the place to go.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    323
    97
    10
    6
    0
See reviews for
152
205
14
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Arrived yesterday for 7 nights. Our 2nd visit here from Australia after visiting family in NY. A great place to stay. Very family friendly, nice pools as well as one of the best oceans to swim in within a 2 minute walk from the hotel. Very helpful staff in all areas of the complex.

Room Tip: Would probably recommend rooms on the upper floors in A or B for views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

My husband and I spent 5 nights at Villa del Mar last week and we were very pleased with our stay. The room was spacious, clean and modern, king size bed, sitting area, balcony, kitchen with microwave and mini fridge plus washer and dryer. The bathroom was very clean, modern with separate shower and tub and plenty of storage, even blow dryer was a good one.
Staff is very friendly and responsive. The pool area is well kept. The hotel is not beach front but very close, all you have to do is walk across the street through Grace Bay Club and you are on the beach. Villa Del Mar has chairs and towels service at the beach as well as a service man to help you arrange any activities you would like to do, for example, paddle board, cayaking, catamaran, boat excursions, etc. All activities are by a third party and not free.
Villa Del Mar is not a 5 star resort but it was excellent and much more affordable than most near by resorts. The location is perfect. Walking distance to main shopping area and restaurants. We would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Our room was A302. It was pool view and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

We first came across Villa Del Mar through Jetsetter. When we saw the reviews on Trip Advisor, like many others we were a bit apprehensive thinking they can't be that good, but after spending seven days exploring Provo, we have to agree, Villa Del Mar is excellent! Large rooms, beautiful landscaping, quiet area plus steps from the beach and restaurants. All of the staff, everyone from front desk to the beach 'concierges' for the lack of a better word are super friendly and knowledgeable. We liked it so much, that from all of our travels, this is the only hotel to which we would return to.

The beach is less then a 100 feet from the hotel (do not let the fact that the hotel is not on the beach dissuade you - there's actually a shorter walk to the beach then some other hotels which are much larger), and when you get there there is a dedicated area reserved for VDM guests with chairs/umbrellas; plus there's towels, cold water, boogie boards, noodles, kids toys and much more!

We had a ground floor room facing the pool, and the noise factor was a non issue. Nice materials and well built, the rooms were spacious and very clean! Personally, we are used to a firm mattress, and the one in the room was 'semi-firm', but even that was fine as we got a great night sleep. A washer/dryer is included. We do wish there was a full-length mirror in the room and a dresser to put our clothes in - the baskets under the TV stand just didn't work.

Beautiful beaches, friendly people and great food, we will definitely return to Turks & Caicos!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Last year, we stayed at Villa Del Mar and had a great stay. We are very disappointed to report that our return visit did not match up to the same rating as the first visit.

We had a two bedroom suite (like last year.), but this one was on the third floor in the same building. The room was C301. You do not want this room.....it is extremely worn and is in need of repair.

Here's a short list of some of the issues:
Second bedroom- blinds would not close, dresser door would not close, ceiling fan shook when turned on
Kitchen - ice maker did not work, bottom rack of the dish washer was hard to use
Living room - couch was stained, cushion of side chair was torn, screen door had a rip in the screen
Overall room - marks all over the walls and doors. Hand prints everywhere. Even the pack and play we requested for the baby had a hole in the side of it.

We reported these issues to the front desk and the manager tried to get them fixed. Some were addressed, like the couch, chair and screen door. Others were not. Even though the ice maker was scheduled to be fixed on Monday, it never happened and no one followed up with us. The manager mentioned that they were scheduled for 'deep cleaning' soon and she would put this room on the list.

To add the the experience, we we're supposed to switch rooms on Sunday. We inquired twice on Sunday about the move and 'someone' was to notify us in our room. Didn't happen. We inquired again on Monday....again, the person at the front desk said that they would definitely be in touch.
The move never happened.

We personally spoke with the manager who apologized for everything that was going wrong. We believe that she tried to make things right, but her staff does not care. Take a simple request like extra towels....three attempts to get some extra towels for the room. The manager asked them to send us a complimentary bottle of wine as a good faith gesture....the wine never came, even after the manager followed up with the bar. The staff seemed to have a lackadaisical attitude and we often felt like we we're inconveniencing them.

To the manager's credit, she recognized the inappropriateness of our experience and provided us a credit for two nights.

We truly hope this is a one-off experience and is not something that is trending nor will be repeated for others.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livonia, Michigan
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

Stayed for 6 days from 6/13 - 6/19, first time on Provo. Picked VDM based upon previous reviews here on Trip Advisor, happy with our decision.
Provo is an expensive island compared to other islands with hotels/restaurants along a beach (i.e., Negril), however what you get with that price are no hustlers, lots of fantastic restaurants, friendly "belongers" and a family friendly environment.
We rented a Studio Suite at VDM. We were located in "A" building on the 1st level. We could walk right out to the kiddie pool. We basically had this pool to ourselves for most of our stay. The larger pool seemed to be more popular and we even tried the hot tub one night (could have been a bit warmer but still OK). Yes, there were kids at the resort but most were well behaved. VDM has the most comfortable pool chaise lounges in the world! They are covered with a white terry cloth cover which is changed every day. There were plenty of beach towels available.
The room was clean and spacious and the AC worked great - sometimes too great to the point I had to turn it off every now and then. King bed with nice linens, lots of pillows, very comfortable. A few things I did notice, there is no full length mirror in the room and there is no drawer chest to put your folded clothes.. so basically we lived out of our suitcases. Not sure if this was the basic set up in all of the studio suites but it was our room.
Bathroom was large with soaking tub and lots of fluffy towels.
Kitchenette had microwave, toaster, small frig and coffee maker. VDM provides Wolfgang Puck coffee (excellent) along with coffee filters. There is no dishwasher in the Studios, so I brought a small bottle of dish liquid with a couple of sponges to do dishes. The kitchenette really needed a few kitchen towels. I'd rather do my own dishes (so I know they are clean) and a drying towel would have been great.
The Studio suite also included a stack washer and dryer, loved this and did a few loads of laundry (brought my own laundry pods). I only used 1/4 of the clothes I brought down, will keep this in mind next time.
Housekeeping was efficient and did a great job in a timely manner.
The grounds of VDM were maintained very well, pools were clean, gardens were groomed and the staff were unobtrusive.
The room price included continental breakfast (7:30am - 9:30am) had various pastries, bread (for toasting with butter and various jams), bananas, oranges, cereal with milk, orange or apple juice and coffee, tea, hot chocolate. This was enough for us. We boosted our breakfast with yogurt and muffins purchased at Graceway Gourmet (within walking distance). 2 4-pak of Chobani Yogurt and 4 muffins were $26.00! A few days we bought the obligatory Almond croissants from the Caicos Bakery (delish!) although beware of the Custard filled donuts they also sell, they are huge and filled to the max!
Friday nite was the Manager's Party with lots of strong rum punches and snacks (peanuts and assorted chips). The bartender Capt Bill was friendly. We met the manager, Alan, very pleasant gentleman.
We rented a vehicle during our total stay. There was plenty of parking at the resort (right outside of our unit).
The walk to the beach was not a long one. Right across the "street" and through the Grace Bay Club to VDM's beach area. We only spent a few hours in total on Grace beach, we were too busy visiting other areas of the island (loved Sapodilla Bay, beach at da Conch shack and Bugaloo's) and spending time at the pool loving those loungers.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

This is the perfect hotel for people who want to have a beautiful, high quality room with easy access to one of the most beautiful beaches in the world without paying an arm and a leg to stay at a full service resort.

My husband and I rely on Tripadvisor for all our hotel research, and once again TA pointed us to exactly the right spot for us to celebrate our 5th wedding anniversary.

Our list of must-haves included: 1) easy access to shade/umbrellas on the beach at all times of the day; 2) a walkable location with a couple of restaurants and a grocery store nearby for snacks/drinks so that we wouldn't need a rental car; 3) a room that felt luxurious without the luxury price tag.

We got all of that and more at Villa Del Mar. The receiptionist provided a small but delicious cup of rum punch upon check in, which was a nice touch I thought perhaps we might miss out on knowing we weren't staying anywhere full service. From there we found our room to be very nice and extremely comfortable. We booked the studio and were perfectly satisified. The room was exactly as pictured. The first thing I noticed was the travertine tile that extended from the steps up to the room, all the way through the room, and out onto the balcony, where they could have used a cheaper material but didn't. The kitchenette was also quite nice with granite countertops. It had a toaster, microwave, mini fridge (with a frozen shelf but no separate freezer--ideal for liquor and ice trays), plates, cups, mugs, flatware, etc. We tipped our maid each day and came back to clean dishes. Speaking of the housecleaning staff--they are AWESOME. Our room was sparkling every day. No sand anywhere! They are wonderfully thorough and finish early. Our room was always done before we came back around 1 pm.

The bathroom is enormous--especially for someone coming from NYC! This felt like such a luxury in and of itself. The bathtub is perfect for long soaks. I should also mention that the bath towels were very plush and soft--much better than most hotel towels. Their provided bath gel suds up into a huge bubble bath. The king sized bed was very comfortable, although the mattress was a bit too soft for me. I slept like a baby every night. Another nice touch in the room was the ceiling fan. Although we relied on the AC, it was nice to have the fan as an option.

Besides the beautiful furniture and the luxurious bathroom, the balcony also sets Villa Del Mar apart from other hotels in this price range. The large balcony features a lounger with a side table and a dining set for four. All five chairs have thick, luxurious cushions. I took many a happy siestas out on my balcony lounger in the afternoons. Another nice touch that makes the room feel even more luxurious is that the whole back wall leading out onto the balcony is glass--and it slides any number of ways. You can open the doors in the middle, or push them to the right or left. There are also a set of screen doors so you can let the air inside but not any bugs.

Last but not least is the beach. Other reviewers have it right when they say it is no big deal to walk through Grace Bay Club to get to the beach. The beach is a national park, and Grace Bay Club has a small gate marked for national park access on their property, so they expect non-guests to use the path to the beach. Though our blue and white striped Villa Del Mar towels gave us away, the Grace Bay Club beach attendants were always very friendly to us. A bartender told us we were "like family" being from across the street. The street is very small and only receives very light traffic. Door to beach was probably under 2 minutes. Villa Del Mar's section of the beach is very easy to find and features more chairs and umbrellas than are needed, so there were always many, many empty spots from which to choose. We always got a front row spot, no matter what time of day. You could also ask one of the beach attendants to put out a new umbrella, or add a second umbrella to your set up for more shade. One thing I should mention is that if you tip the beach attendants on the first day, you'll get better service the rest of the week. They'll remember you and bring towels to you, etc. They have a menu for the Seaside Cafe, but instead of having the attendant bring us food, we just walked the very short walk over and at the restaurant. It was a great option for lunch, about $14-15 per lunch entree. The beach attendants also helped us book our parasailing with Skypilot and our snorkle cruise with Island Vibes. I had researched vendors on TA ahead of time and was pleased to learn that my favorites were the companies the attendant recommended, too.

We walked to the following: ate dinner at Caicos Cafe (recommend), ate lunch at the Seaside cafe (recommend), had ice cream at The Patty Place (do not recommend the devon stout ice cream), ate dinner at Jimmy's Dive Bar (good for a "cheap" meal), ate dinner and watched the World Cup at Danny Buoy's (recommend, also very affordable), got groceries at Graceway Gourmet (recommend), got breakfast pastries at Caicos Bakery (recommend). We also enjoyed the free rum punch at Villa Del Mar's manager cocktail hour on Friday evening, 5 pm I think.

We had a truly outstanding time at Villa Del Mar. I have a nice but very small apartment in NYC, and have been home less than 24 hours. I already miss the extra space and amenities (oh, to have a washer/dryer in my own home again! and a soaking tub!). For my husband and I, and how we like to spend money/vacation, we couldn't see any reason for us to stay anywhere more upscale. Villa Del Mar was perfect for us.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa del Mar

Address: Crescent Road, Providenciales
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Turks and Caicos > Providenciales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Providenciales
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa del Mar 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa del Mar is the perfect island retreat for a vacation filled with endless sunshine and delightful diversions. Located on Providenciales (a.k.a. Provo), the most developed island in the Turks and Caicos chain, Villa del Mar is just steps from the 12 mile strip of sugary fine sand and cerulean blue water known as Grace Bay Beach, internationally recognized as one of the world's top 10 beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Villa del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Del Mar Hotel Providenciales
Hotel Del Mar
Del Mar Hotel
Villa Del Mar Turks And Caicos/Providenciales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa del Mar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.