We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value and amazing island” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa del Mar

Save Saved
You added Villa del Mar to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villa del Mar
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Crescent Road, Providenciales   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
4th night free
Ranked #17 of 44 hotels in Providenciales
Vaughan, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Great value and amazing island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We (my husband and I and our two sons ages 1 and 2.5) visited Villa Del mar Mid September for a week and stayed in a studio on the main floor. Here is a short list of pros and cons:
PROS:
- Price!
- Breakfast is included each morning (it was bland, but free nonetheless)
- There is beach staff waiting for you with towels
- There are enough chairs both poolside and at the beach for the guests
- The beach is the nicest we have ever seen, water was amazing for kids
- The pools are gradual entry, great for kids
- The units have a washer and dryer, so you don't need to pack as much
- Everything was clean

CONS
- The bar, they are only open until 8 pm, but some nights we would go over at 7:30 and they were already closed. This makes for a very quiet resort, which is great just a bit too quiet for us.

That was really the only con, yes it is a walk to the beach, but we have stayed at resorts in Dominican, Aruba, St martin that have the same distance walk from our room to the beach. Usually I splurge and get the oceanfront, it really isn't needed here, Villa Del mar is a great value in Turks

Room Tip: We stayed on the main floor which was amazing with two little guys, we could sit out on the large pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

409 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    305
    90
    9
    5
    0
See reviews for
138
200
14
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
st. louis
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Quiet, clean property, nice condo rooms, pretty pools, lush foliage, smaller than pictures showed, great tiki bar, close walk across street and in grace bay club to spectacular beach. White Sand, no rocks, beautiful water and big. Low season in Sept. And Oct. numerous restaurants and hotels closed, need car to get around, avis is great. Would come back. BEACH near Alexandra and Sands different would stay there.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

This place is nothing short of amazing. We just returned from a trip mid Sept 2013 and had a phenomenal time. The staff is so wonderful. Everyone from the front desk to the cleaning personnel are genuinely friendly and helpful. Management clearly cares about the guests and their opinions. Both the director and manager were outstanding. They were present and knew their staff which showed us that they care about the people who work there - just a great environment. We had a minor emergency with my son and the manager came to our room without asking to see if she can help. The twin brothers on the beach are SO SO nice and will go out of their way for you. They got us the most amazing sitter to help watch our boys on the beach with us. The staff made this trip fantastic and we are planning to return next year!

As far as the location. . . . I have no idea why you would stay anywhere else, particularly with children. It is a fraction of the price and you get the exact same beach and can eat at the restaurants getting the same atmosphere as the Grace Bay Club. I knew it would be a walk to the beach but was not sure how far until I arrived and realized it is seriously 50 feet from the Grace Bay Club and their beach access. Grace Bay is a national park so why pay a fortune for something that is public.

The pool is fantastic for kids. . . its a walk in pool so its super shallow and gives kids a great place to play that is safe. No lifeguard so you have to watch them which for us is fine because my kids can't swim yet and we are always with them.

The rooms are great. We got a studio and it was perfect for me, my mother, and my 2 year old and 6 month old. We could have used the stove in the one bedroom since my child is a picky eater so will upgrade next time. They provide a washer and dryer which we used daily and even without the stove the kitchen was great for us.

Maybe this is not the place for you if you want a lively party location with out kids. . . . but for families and anyone looking for AMAZING value and a fantastic location and staff you can not beat this place. Seriously look no further, but don't all stay at once. . . I want to be able to book a room for next year!

** They are also going to start an expansion soon that will have added amenities

Room Tip: If you need a stove get a 1 bedroom, other than that the rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

My husband and I were there for 2 weeks in August. This was our third trip to the island and Villa Del Mar is my favorite place that we have stayed in on the island. The amenities were FANTASTIC and met ALL of our needs, the grounds were amazing, the staff... especially the adorable and helpful Patrina was fantastic. How do I thank her for everything she did for us while we were there? I can not say how much she was appreciated by all of us. On the beach you have full service and I cannot say enough about how great these guys were to us. The twins twins.... Karone and Larone sp?? Again these guys were GREAT!! We miss you all and hopefully will see you back there in 2014! Much love to each of you and thanks for a GREAT vacation! Joe and Dixie Virden

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Just got back from spending a week here in September 2013. This place is fantastic! It is right in Grace Bay, directly behind all the expensive hotels on the beach - it is only a one minute walk to the beach from VDM - I would rather save the money and walk for a minute. You get to use the same amazing beach as the expensive hotels - VDM even has their own beach chairs, cabana and towels on the beach (no extra charge). The grounds of VDM are perfectly maintained, the pool areas are beautiful and relaxing. The rooms are spacious and well appointed with stone tile, Kohler fixtures and nice furniture. The studios have kitchenettes and the two bedrooms have a full kitchen, so you can cook in your room if you want. There are also grills you can use by the pool (dining is expensive on any island, so this is helpful if you want to make your own meals a few times a save money - the grocery store is within walking distance). There are plenty of restaurants within walking distance, so you can get around without a car. They provide a simple continental breakfast of juice, coffee, toast, pastries, bagels, fruit, cereal, etc. Everyone is extremely professional and friendly. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: If you have children, a first floor room in which your balcony opens directly on to the pool area wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here back in July, family of 3 with a small 4 year old.

First and foremost, the place is not on the beach. It's behind another resort, maybe a two minute walk. Villa Mar has chairs etc on the beach, same as the other places. That's maybe not ideal but we also paid half of the properties on the beach.

The hotel is really an apartment complex, there is no restaurant but a nice little pool bar. Our apartment was GREAT, a full modern kitchen, nice and clean, two TVs, washer & dryer.

The pool area is very nice and very calm. They also have a small gym with a couple of machines.

All in all, Grace Bay is a superb beach, T&C is very expensive (hotels above 500$ a night, an entree is around 40$++, a beer is 10$ etc. Having been to many great beaches (mainly in Asia Pacific) this places is great but you pay for it! that's why Villa del Mar is perfect, 250$ a night and a great kitchen. We cooked almost every meal (groceries are expensive compared to US mainland but cheap compared to 2-3 restaurant meals each day for a week).

Staff was friendly, place was clean, great for families.

Really recommend Villa del Mar and will likely go back. If you want 5 star rooms go there, but if you want beach access with swim up bar and nice restaurant, pay double to triple for room only in another hotel, we don't think it's worth it!!

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We traveled to Providenciales for our honeymoon and we absolutely loved Villa Del Mar. We loved the staff! They were polite and helpful from the moment we arrived to the moment we left. They called to make reservations for us at restaurants and for excursions. We only walked about 45 seconds to the beach from our room. The attendant on the beach for VDM was great, he was quick to serve and went above and beyond for us. The property has 2 pools with plenty of chairs and a few canopy beds. The room was clean and spacious. The supermarket is a close walk which is great because our room had a kitchenette with a small refrigerator. Complimentary breakfast is served every morning at the poolside bar and is a great option for those trying to stay on a budget. VDM is located close to some great restaurants like Seaside Cafe, CoCo Bistro, Jimmy's Dive Bar, and Bella Luna (just to name a few). We stayed 9 days and we had clean towels and our bed turned every day. We loved our stay and would stay again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Villa del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa del Mar

Address: Crescent Road, Providenciales
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Turks and Caicos > Providenciales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Providenciales
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa del Mar 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa del Mar is the perfect island retreat for a vacation filled with endless sunshine and delightful diversions. Located on Providenciales (a.k.a. Provo), the most developed island in the Turks and Caicos chain, Villa del Mar is just steps from the 12 mile strip of sugary fine sand and cerulean blue water known as Grace Bay Beach, internationally recognized as one of the world's top 10 beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL and Jetsetter so you can book your Villa del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Del Mar Hotel Providenciales
Hotel Del Mar
Del Mar Hotel
Villa Del Mar Turks And Caicos/Providenciales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa del Mar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.