We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Value Around Grace Bay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Villa del Mar

Save Saved
You added Villa del Mar to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Villa del Mar
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Crescent Road, Providenciales   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
4th night free
Ranked #16 of 44 hotels in Providenciales
new jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best Value Around Grace Bay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Stayed for 4 nights back in July this year. As other reviewers had commented before, you cannot beat the location and value of this place. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay there. Closed to everything you need. Restaurants, bars, spa, supermarket, deli, ice-cream place, you name it you got it and they are all within walking distance. The breakfast is not much but nice enough for most everybody unless you have some special needs and will definitely save you more than a few bucks as everything is somewhat expensive there. The staff at the front desk, breakfast area, housekeeping etc are all very pleasant and helpful. We didn't think we will need a car but soon found out after we arrived that in fact we could use one. The front desk recommended a rental company and the car was dropped off at the villa. The guy with the rental company even drove us to the airport at the end of the rental. We were able to explore the island and went to places for lunches and dinners which would have cost another small fortune for taxi or car services. As far as driving on the left, trust me, you'll get used to it quickly. Roads are not very well marked and the map you get is not really updated so driving after dark is a little challenging. Grace Bay is one of the best beaches we've seen and we've seen more than a few so enjoy. If you like Grace Bay, you might also want to check out Taylor Bay Beach which is located southwest of Grace Bay about half hour by car, you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Buildings overlooking the main pool is convenient but could be noisy. We stayed in the one overlook...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

405 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    302
    89
    9
    5
    0
See reviews for
136
198
14
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hartsdale, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

The rooms were great, very clean, updated, spacious and located close to everything. I actually liked that we were not directly on the beach! We walked by everyone elses pool and restaurant but no one walked by ours. It had a nice tucked away feel. Having the kitchenette was very helpful. We would walk to the supermarket close by and get snacks. We didnt take advantage of it, but they have two weber grills that we could have made our dinner on.

I would love to come back here with my family one day. This was the perfect babymoon! I am 4 months pregnant and felt safe and well taken care of at all times. The staff was very sweet and accommodating. I very much recommend this hotel to someone who is looking for a nice quiet stay, doesnt mind a 600 ft walk to the beach and prefers a more intimate place.

Room Tip: We had a studio and it was perfect for a couple, very spacious, quiet. 50 ft from the pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We had a great stay at Villa Del Mar, and would highly recommend this hotel-particularly to a value conscious vacationer. We traveled as a couple but recognized this hotel would be perfect for families.

Pros: Very nice rooms with updated decor and travertine floors; extremely spacious-our 2 bedroom suite could have slept 6; nicely kept pools and grounds; staff is very gracious.

Cons: This property is not ON the beach, however it is very close, just across the street; lots of lizards on the property (I rather like the wildlife, but just be aware in case you have lizard-phobia); a little bit further outside of town than some of the other resorts-we were able to explore into Provo on bicycles, but it would be a little far on foot. If you can put up with these little issues, you will probably save $1000 or more by choosing this hotel. It was well worth it for us. (Everything on TCI ends up being about 25% higher after they factor in taxes and fees.)

Be aware that some of the photos of this resort on TripAdvisor are actually photos of the neighboring (expensive) resort, Grace Bay.

Also worthy of mention is the exceptional concierge service we received from Lynco, the front desk attendant. He really helped us maximize our time on the island, and is an asset to the resort.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

As many others have said and which I will repeat, the main reason for staying at Villa del Mar is simply the cost compared to other hotels nearby. Obviously it's not directly on the beach but if you have 2 functioning feet, you'll be fine walking the 600ft from your room, across a non busy street and through the Grace Bay Resort to the beach.

We had a wonderful 1st floor 2 bedroom suite next to the front of the hotel. The room had everything a family could need. Fully stocked kitchen, pull out sofa and most importantly, a washer and dryer which the resort replenished detergent for daily.

The resort was mostly quiet with only the occasional siting of people by either of the pools. We never heard anyone above or to the side of us or outside even during the manager happy hour on Fridays. Breakfast was served poolside daily from 7:30 to 9:30. The offerings were basic (coffee, juice, toast, cereal, bagels) but met the needs.

The hotel is a short walk from multiple restaurants and an IGA Graceway Gourmet grocery store which is probably just about 2/3 a mile away (good store, had everything you'd need for your stay, obviously pricey but your on an island so there's no comparing prices to the US).

There is a casino a short walk away from the hotel but unfortunately we weren't able to hit it before leaving.

A special thanks to the folks at Grace Bay club. We ate there several times for dinner and lunch and had drinks at their pool side bar and all were wonderful. We met a wonderful family there whose daughters gladly accepted our daughter into their bunch for playtime at the pool and beach.

On additional side note, there are multiple resorts that offer dinner on the beach. We went to the Seven Seas Resort for a dinner beach brunch on Sunday evening. Cost was $55 a person.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky Hill, Connecticut, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

While not directly on the beach, it is so close that it just doesn't matter. The 2 bedroom was very spacious and very clean. The pools were great and the Tiki bar with Captain Bill was terrific. The twins on the beach were extremely helpful in booking excursions and just making sure our time on Grace Bay was relaxing. Could not have asked for a nicer stay!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Englewood, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Going to Villa Del Mar for the 4th time is most definitely like going home. It was great to see new faces and familiar faces. This time we got married there and the staff like always was so accomodating and helpfull. Our two year old had a blast with everyone and enjoyed the pool. Thanks to Tendra, Lerone & Kerone, all the maintenance staff and the housekeeping staff. It was great seeing Nadine again. Complimentary breakfast was great. Quality and Standard remains the same. Love this hotel and love Provodenciales!

Room Tip: Anything on third and fourth floor is good. I have never stayed on any other floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We found Villa del Mar at the last minute, after a planned rental in Providenciales turned out to be...not as advertised, to put it mildly. Surfing the net, we found a great deal on a 2-BR condo at Villa Del Mar, and immediately booked and checked in. (Fortunately, this is low season and there was lots of availability.) We selected Villa del Mar for its location, space and price and we couldn't have been more pleased. The front desk staff is extremely gracious and helpful, the grounds and pool are lovely. We enjoyed their complimentary welcoming rum punch at the bar. A304 is a corner unit, light and spacious, with a full kitchen. While Villa Del Mar is not right on the beach, it is a very short walk, with all the beach amenities available. On an island where prices can be outrageous, this is a good option, with the space of a condo, amenities of a resort, located near shops and restaurants, quiet and beautifully maintained.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Villa del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa del Mar

Address: Crescent Road, Providenciales
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Turks and Caicos > Providenciales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Providenciales
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa del Mar 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa del Mar is the perfect island retreat for a vacation filled with endless sunshine and delightful diversions. Located on Providenciales (a.k.a. Provo), the most developed island in the Turks and Caicos chain, Villa del Mar is just steps from the 12 mile strip of sugary fine sand and cerulean blue water known as Grace Bay Beach, internationally recognized as one of the world's top 10 beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Jetsetter and Venere so you can book your Villa del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Del Mar Hotel Providenciales
Hotel Del Mar
Del Mar Hotel
Villa Del Mar Turks And Caicos/Providenciales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa del Mar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.