We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Class service and nice location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa del Mar

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Villa del Mar to your Saves list
Villa del Mar
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Crescent Road, Providenciales   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
4th Night Free
Ranked #21 of 44 Hotels in Providenciales
Vermont
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“First Class service and nice location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2011

We (my wife, several grandchildren and adult son/daughters) spent nearly 10 days at Villa Del Mar during late April. Alan and all the staff treated us like very special guests, going overboard to accomodate any request we had for dinner reservations, island travel and recreation. The rooms are modern, well kept and comfortable. Any minor maintainence issues were responded to promptly and successfully. We were able to cook full meals and eat in the larger 2 bedroom suites with ease. Our group needed four rooms and with special request were able to get three adjacent, spacious rooms, with the fourth nearby. It is just a short 2 minute walk to the center of Grace Beach or we found the on-site pools to be delightful, and clean. A 10-15 minute walk takes you to one of the nicest grocery stores we have ever experienced in many trips to the Carribbean. All of us would be glad to return to this very pleasant spot, the Villa Del Mar.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    338
    114
    14
    8
    0
See reviews for
168
223
14
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2011

We loveeee the Villa Del Mar and so does everyone else here that we've talked to. It's walk to the beach is no further than a walk from a larger resort. It's location is great, close to so many restaurants and grocery store. Rooms are jaw dropping and for the price it can not be beat! The breakfast included is a perfect touch for thr budget conscious.. Some fruit and a bagel and good coffee and I'm a happy camper! We will only stay here when we return- nothing but good things to say!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2011

We recently had our wedding in Providenciales and my wife and I and most of our guests stayed at Villa del Mar. From the moment we booked our room, everyone from reception to housekeeping to the grounds crew at Villa del Mar treated us warmly.

The Rooms:
Every one of my guests commented how perfect the hotel rooms were (granite countertops, nice!) and how well kept the grounds were. We stayed in a two bedroom luxury room and it was HUGE. The open kitchen looks into the living room with flatscreen TV and DVD player, which lead to a pretty large balcony with a lounge chair and table and four chairs around it. The bathroom had a full bath tub and separate shower. The AC worked perfect and kept our rooms really comfortable all day and night.

The Grounds:
The two pools and hot tub were always clean and the continental breakfast was a great start to our day. Every one of the grounds people and housekeeping were friendly and engaging. Every time we came back to our rooms, they were spotless. I can't say enough nice things about them all. The General Manager Alan introduced himself to us and all of our guests and did his very best to make sure all our guests had a great stay. He must be doing his job well, because everyone loved it and would go back!

Location: Awesome
The Villa del Mar is right across from the Grace Bay Club and literally steps from the beach. As others have mentioned, though there is no real restaurant on the grounds, there are some delicious ones within walking distance. Also, with a grocery store nearby and full kitchen available, you can make your own meals. We spent 6 days there and barely needed a taxi.

We had an amazing time in Providenciales and if we had to do it all over again, would definitely stay at Villa Del Mar due to the friendly staff, modern rooms and great location. Man do I miss it there!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2011

My husband and I spent 4 nights at Villa del Mar in April and loved it. The hotel was very modern and clean, our studio suite was beautiful, and the hotel staff was very nice. The hotel is right across the street from the Grace Bay Beach Hotel which is where you access Grace Bay beach from. There is an area on Grace Bay beach for VDM hotel guests where you can set up your beach chairs. The hotel isn't a huge resort..the pools were a bit small but we barely went in the pool..the beach is so beautiful there is no need for the pool. The hotel doesn't have a restaurant on site but it is within walking distance to several great restaurants. We would definitely go back!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2011

This was our second stay at Villa del Mar. We had a wonderful time and would certainly consider it again.

The rooms are clean with a look and feel akin to a high-end condo rather than a standard hotel. We’ve stayed at both the ClubMed and Sands and neither compare in that respect. It’s very quite and private with two great pools that are never crowded and always warm. You could not pick a better location. Although it’s not on the ocean it’s only a short walk. It’s also a short walk to restaurants and a modern grocery store with familiar products. Having access to a grocery store is good because meals out can be pricy depending on your budget (about $70 for a modest meal for three) and even if you have money to burn you might want a healthy alternative to eating out every day. The units we have stayed in had toaster, microwave and small fridge which makes eating in convenient and a large balcony with stylish furniture make it comfortable as well.

They do not have all of the beach toys some places have (e.g. kayaks, catamarans, etc) but as we have a small child, it wasn’t a consideration for us. The trade off is also privacy. The beach has never been busy while we were there. In fact, the in October 2009 we were literally the only people on miles of beach some days. It felt like a trip to a private island. We just came back yesterday and even being the Easter long weekend we never had trouble finding a good bit shade or place in the sun.

The staff are all very pleasant, helpful and professional. They had an Easter egg hunt for the kids that went over very well and my daughter loved. We had a bit of a hiccup checking in which may have been avoidable and was certainly inconvenient but the Villa del Mar did the best thing they could to set things right. Things go wrong sometimes but my take is that you rate a place based on how situations are managed and in that I can have no complaint.

This is a first rate location in all respects. If you’re planning on visiting Turks I’d highly recommend it!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2011

We (myself, my wife, and 16 year old son) absolutely loved our stay here and were very depressed when it was time to leave. We stayed for a week (Easter week, 2011) in a 2 bedroom penthouse suite (C402), so any room comments naturally apply to this suite only. I will try to provide as much information as possible to help you decide if Villa Del Mar is for you.

THE SUITE:
We loved this suite with all the amenities of home. The top (4th) floor unit has high vaulted ceilings with ceiling fans in the living room and Master bedroom. The top floor suites are double the width of the other suites. The full-sized kitchen has granite counter tops, an island with a sink, dishwasher and bar-stool seating. All appliances are stainless steel including the full-sized fridge (with ice-maker) and stove. The kitchen is fully equipped with silverware, plates and bowls, pots and pans, cooking utensils, microwave oven, toaster, and blender. There is also a stacking washer/dryer (detergent provided) in the unit. The round dining room table seats 6 and the living room has a sofa bed. There are flat screen TV’s in the living room and in both bedrooms. The living room and master bed room have DVD players as well. The second bedroom has a queen-sized bed. The master bedroom has a very comfortable king bed as well as its own “bar” area complete with sink, microwave, toaster, coffee maker, and bar-sized fridge. The master bathroom has a large double sink with granite counter top, lots of storage space, a bathtub, a separate large walk-in shower. The bedroom has a high wall mounted remote-controlled air conditioner (the high-end type, not the window type). The master bedroom also has its own balcony with a table and two chairs facing the rear of the building. There is a very large glass-railed balcony which overlooks the pools. It has an outdoor table that is great for breakfasts and lunches as well as a seating area. This balcony is not covered except for a trellis over the one section. You can see a bit of the ocean between the buildings of the Grace Bay Club. We loved sitting on this balcony and really didn’t miss not being right on the water.

THE PROPERTY:
The property is located across the street from the Grace Bay Club which is far more expensive. Again, we did not miss being directly on the beach. The property is nicely landscaped with two swimming pools (both of which have large kid friendly shallow areas) and a large hot tub. There is a bar which serves a basic (included) breakfast in the morning and drinks (paid) during the day. Beside the bar are 2 propane BBQ’s which can be used at anytime. There is a small gym (with 2 exercise machines and free weights) beside the pool. The front desk has numerous brochures on activities. They are happy to recommend and book activities and restaurants for you. Parking is free and plentiful. The lounge chairs are extremely comfortable and there was never a problem getting one, even though the property was very full. At no time did you feel like you were at a crowded resort. The beach is a one minute walk through the Grace Bay Club. Villa Del Mar has its own section of beach with lounge chairs, umbrellas, towels, and water. There is a beach attendant who will set you up and even bring you drinks from the Villa Del Mar bar. Here too we never had a problem getting chairs no matter what time of day we went to the beach. Everyone who worked at Villa Del Mar was cheerful, helpful and friendly – everyone always greeted you with a smile.

ACTIVITIES:
We didn’t do too many activities. We did the guided kayak tour in the mangroves with Big Blue Unlimited which we really enjoyed. We also did a 2 hour guided Sea Doo tour to various islands (can’t remember the name of company). It was fun, but even my 16 year old son (who had his own Sea Doo) felt that 2 hours was too long in the rough ocean (with a stop on an island). 1 hour or less is plenty. We heard great things about the Provo Ponies but they were booked solid and we couldn’t do it. Book this one before arriving or you may out of luck. There is generally not much good snorkelling from the beach along Grace Bay – most if it is just a white sand bottom. The two closest places to snorkel off the beach are Coral Gardens (45+ minutes walk along beach) or Smith’s Reef near Turtle Cove (60+ minutes walk on beach). Both are accessible by car as well. Smith’s Reef is much more secluded – you will only see a few other people while you are there as there are no hotels. If you like long walks on the beach, turn right when you get to the beach and continue walking past all the hotels. In less than 25 minutes of walking you will have the beach almost all to yourself as there are only some private homes. My wife and I marvelled at how much seclusion was available so close to the hotels – we have so many photos looking up and down the beach without another person in sight.

GENERAL INFO:
We did have a rental car which we found to be very convenient as we like to explore as much of an island as possible when we are on vacation. There are a number of restaurants and stores within walking distance, but a car is useful if you want to venture out beyond where you are comfortable walking (especially at night when it can be quite dark in areas). The main IGA grocery store is like any North American grocery store as almost everything is imported from the U.S. You can’t walk to this one, but there is a smaller grocery store less than a 10 minute walk away. I believe that there may be a shuttle that goes to the grocery store in the morning – but this needs to be confirmed. We had great meals at all of the restaurants recommended by the front desk: Hemingway’s (ask for outside table near beach), Coco Bistro (not on beach, but outside and feels like you are in a forest of beautifully lit palm trees, Anacaona (the beachside restaurant/bar at Grace Bay Club – beautifully lit at night with hanging baskets, fire pits, and numerous couches to relax on).

Overall, we can’t say enough good things about Villa Del Mar and the island in general. Villa Del Mar had great accommodations, great staff, great location, and never felt crowded. We loved Turks and Caicos as well - great beaches (where no one is trying to sell you anything), friendly locals, happy tourists, and where it is easy to get away from the crowds (for now, as the airport is undergoing an expansion). We would come back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Englewood, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2011

I cannot say enough about Villa Del Mar, I found them last year on Expedia and I have been back 3 times in one year. I love this hotel, the staff is friendly and the helpfull. I cannot say enough about Nadine, we missed her the last two times but she made our stay so wonderful when we were there the first time. Daisy is a gem along with all the other ladies. It's a little family. Everyone that has worked there since we went the first time remembered us. We had a great, relaxing time. Provo and Villa Del Mar is our second home. Great hotel for children as well. The Easter Egg hunt was really a nice little touch for the kids.

We are food lovers so we like the local flavors, since I am Guyanese, we need a lot of hot pepper and food with flavor. We have toured the island and have found all the little Gems. However the Sushi place in Salt Mills is excellent. Conch Shack was great this time, food was excellent. Another great place was Chinson Chinese, great Jamaican Chinese food and Jerk Chicken, and hot fresh coco bread. Another great Jamaican place is Hole in the Wall by the airport and lets not forget Carambola for breakfast - great sauteed liver for breakfast. And last but not least, this is the only thing I liked from the Anacoana Bar is the chocolate cake with vanilla ice cream and the pomogrante martini. Magnolia Wine Bar is also great. Don't go to Shark Bite! Provo is by far my little gem. Great place to stay, great people, good food.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Villa del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa del Mar

Address: Crescent Road, Providenciales
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Turks and Caicos > Providenciales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Providenciales
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa del Mar 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa del Mar is the perfect island retreat for a vacation filled with endless sunshine and delightful diversions. Located on Providenciales (a.k.a. Provo), the most developed island in the Turks and Caicos chain, Villa del Mar is just steps from the 12 mile strip of sugary fine sand and cerulean blue water known as Grace Bay Beach, internationally recognized as one of the world's top 10 beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Villa del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Del Mar Hotel Providenciales
Hotel Del Mar
Del Mar Hotel
Villa Del Mar Turks And Caicos/Providenciales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa del Mar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.