We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great economy hotel on an expensive island” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grace Bay Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Grace Bay Suites to your Saves list
Grace Bay Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Grace Bay Rd, Providenciales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 44 Hotels in Providenciales
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Great economy hotel on an expensive island”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

This is a great value for a hotel on Provo. I'd recommend this place for those who look to venture outside of the hotel premises to explore the island. This is not the place for someone who wants to spend the entire vacation around the hotel.

The hotel is not located on the beach, but it is a 5-minute walk from Grace Bay. The hotel offers free parking, beach towels, beach chairs and umbrella on Grace Bay beach. The beach chairs and umbrellas are in better condition that the neighboring hotel chairs/umbrellas! The hotel is located right behind Danny Buoy, so you might faintly hear the music at night, even with the doors closed. However, as a light sleeper, I did not have a problem sleeping at night when we have the AC on and tired after a long day playing out in the sun. There is a grocery store within walking distance from the hotel, but if you just need water, they sell bottled water in the reception office for $3 for a gallon and $1 for a small bottle. Although we didn't bike, they also offered free bikes for your use. If you're adventurous and don't want to waste time waiting for cabs, I'd suggest renting a car to explore the island. There are so many beautiful beaches that it would be a shame if you just stay on Grace Bay. WiFi is free, but you might have to step onto the balcony for decent signal. We had a great stay at this hotel and would definitely stay there again. Thanks, Kevin and Jessica, for your help and being very accommodating.

Room Tip: If you can walk up stairs, we like our room on the 3rd floor in the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    79
    19
    4
    3
See reviews for
20
99
15
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for a week and loved it. Close proximity to shops and restaurants. Very reasonable priced and the staff was absolutely incredible.

I will recommend to family members and cannot wait for my next visit.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providenciales
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

Rooms were clean. Only a short walk to the beach. Jessie was very helpful in her suggests where to eat and what to do. Everything was in walking distance. Only draw back is it was expensive to eat and drink there but we knew that going there but I must add the restaurants were very good.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pickering, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

My husband and I stayed for a week in November and loved it. I like smaller places and this was wonderful. The location was perfect - easy walk to 20+ restaurants, shops, grocery store, car rentals, dive shops...and best of all the beach. Jessica was terrific - a great source of advice on places to go and things to do.

We had a one bedroom suite (206) and I loved the extra room. The bed was comfy, the room was very clean, nice balcony overlooking a nice pool...what more can you ask for?

We rented a car for a day and on the advice of Jessica, discovered Bugaloos - one of the best little beach bars ever! Also had a fabulous day with Caribbean Dreams on a snorkelling/beach BBQ tour.

We thoroughly enjoyed the whole week and this little hotel was a big part of the reason why we did.

Room Tip: Room 206 was a great choice - one bedroom suite, nice view, quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yakov16ru
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 8 days in November 2013. We thought the hotel was excellent both location, amenities and price wise. I did a lot of research and you simply cannot get a better bang for you buck when it comes to lodging in Provo. Staff was excellent, room was well stocked with small kitchenette (microwave, plates, sink, fridge etc.) and the beach was only 5 minutes away. Added bonus - full size grill on site for anyone to use - comes in handy if you are tired of paying $50+ / person for a regular dinner. The hotel is surrounded by restaurants, car rental places and retail shops - what else does one need? If you are in T&C for diving, Dive Provo shop is 10 min away.

I would definitely comeback to this hotel without any hesitation.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

The management of Grace Bay Suites went out of their way to make our stay wonderful. They actually seem to care about you and your vacation experience. We had a credit card problem and some cell phone issues and they worked hard to help us get them resolved, even into the evening. But it's all about location, location, location. Grace Bay Suites is not on the beach but it is only a four minute walk to the perfect, #1 rated beach in the world (Grace Bay) through a "jungle-like" boardwalk. The hotel's complimentary beach chairs and umbrellas were always set up with no problem getting one. Nobody was hassling you on the beach to buy things, either. Just beautiful blue-green Caribbean waves, palm trees and sand dunes, constant cooling trade winds and a very nice, relaxing atmosphere.

The hotel is surrounded by restaurants, car, scooter and bicycle rentals, shopping and a upscale grocery store down the street. Danny Bouy's is virtually on-site and a great place to hang out at the table outside, watching the people go by on Grace Bay Road, with a cold Turk beer in your hand. Fresh Catch restaurant is around the corner with a reasonably-priced breakfast and lunch menu (fresh caught fish and conch is always available at most places) and next door is Big Al's with many hamburger choices. A must "eat-at" place is Thai Orchid with great dinner choices and just across Grace Bay Road. One night we got a take-out medium, brick oven pizza at Pizza Pizza, about one block from the hotel, for $18, and it was very good. But one big surprise, having nothing to do with the hotel, is the hefty pricing of food, whether it be restaurant or grocery. It is not uncommon to find a hamburger at $14 to $16 and the rest of the entrees go up, rather quickly, from there. That's the result of adopting the U.S. dollar as your currency and importing everything to an island. Gasoline is $6 per gallon. But the food quality and service was excellent in every place we visited. Grace Gourmet, the well-stocked grocery store, is a great alternative for providing "staples" to your room like sodas, wine and snacks. They also have deli sandwiches and anything a U.S.-based Kroger would have. We used the hotels complimentary bicycles on our trips to the store but it is not a bad walk.

My wife and I began travelling to the Caribbean in the early 1980's and Turks & Caicos reminds me of how the islands looked back then. You don't see the heavy development and high rise condos on the beach that are so prevalent at the other islands. And traffic congestion is minimal. Providenciales (Provo, as the locals call it) feels very comfortable, friendly and safe.

The hotel is kept clean (no off-smells that you pick up at some places), the rooms are pristine and towels are always available. The A/C worked fine but it's the kind of operation that needs your room key card, inserted in a power unit just inside the door, to turn on the electricity in the room (energy conservation). Each room has a small refrigerator, safe, microwave, hair dryer, silverware, coffee maker, plates/glasses. Ice is in the front office. Also, if you've got a problem going up stairs, you may want to request a first floor room as there is no elevator. We were on the third (top) floor and it didn't bother us except on the first and last day, hauling up and down the luggage. But the office staff is more than happy to assist you.

We rented a car for a couple of days at Grace Bay Car Rental (almost next door to the hotel) because cars are relatively cheap, when compared to taxis, which are expensive and not very plentiful. If you reside in the Grace Bay area, there are just two taxi rates: $33 and $27. But you can easily get a car for $50/day or less, including loss/damage waiver, to get access to other secluded beaches, as well as, the small, affordable, beachfront restaurants like Bugaloo's and Da Conch Shack. Provo is a former British island so they drive on the "wrong" side of the road and since there are no stop lights on the island, there are lots of round abouts which can be challenging for U.S. drivers. Just be careful of where your left side of the car is, at all times, and traffic on your right has the right of way.

We did schedule a couple of half-day side trips. They were about $100 per person per side trip. One was a water-based catamaran/snorkeling adventure with lunch and rum punch. The other was a land-based visit to a conch farm, rum punch and lunch, and a folklore show and a tour of the island. Both were good values and well executed. The hotel staff will have all the details and options along with their personal recommendations.

My wife and I will be coming back to Turks & Caicos, probably within the next year, and we'll stay at Grace Bay Suites again. What a great island and a terrific time! By the way, get to the airport early, particularly on Saturday departures. It can get very crowded (like standing room only) because it's a small airport for the volume of traffic going through it and it can be hectic.

Room Tip: Get a ground floor room if you don't like walking up stairs as there is not elevator. All rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto ontario
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Rick , is a great Manager , owner he makes you feel right at home .. Place is roomy , very clean modern .. we stayed for 7 days , during the low season , extremely hot .. but the hotel room was very comfortable with the AC close to man facilities , restaurants , grocery stores , car rentals . the beach across the street is very pristine , Rick has chairs & umbrella's set up for his guests . Mandy is also a very nice lady who will help with where the restaurants are . She also keeps to rooms well stocked . we hope to visit again very soon ..

Room Tip: we stayed on the ground floor ... fairly good WIFI ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grace Bay Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grace Bay Suites

Address: Grace Bay Rd, Providenciales
Location: Caribbean > Turks and Caicos > Providenciales
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Providenciales
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Grace Bay Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grace Bay Suites is Provo's newest affordable hotel located in the heart of Provo's Golden Mile, less than a 5 minute stroll from world renowned Grace Bay Beach. The hotel features 18 Studios and 6 one bedroom suites. All with private patio or balcony facing the swimming pool. All rooms are spacious and comfortable with modern facilities including a small kitchenette, wall-mounted flat screen TV in each room and large walk-in shower. Room Service is available from Danny Buoy's Irish Restaurant and Pub located on the same property as Grace Bay Suites. You could not stay in a better location on Providenciales. There are plenty of restaurants, shops, dive and tour operators, spas and lots more within easy walking distance from the hotel, a fitness club next door, Provo's 18-hole championship golf course within a mile. We are all about comfort, convenience and affordability. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Grace Bay Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grace Bay Hotel Providenciales
Grace Bay Suites Turks And Caicos/Providenciales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grace Bay Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.