We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT price-great location-water STINKY” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grace Bay Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Grace Bay Suites to your Saves list
Grace Bay Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Grace Bay Rd, Providenciales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 44 Hotels in Providenciales
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“GREAT price-great location-water STINKY”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

This hotel is very inexpensive, yet shares beach with the 5 star resorts. Yes, you do ahve to walk for about 3 minutes to get to the beach. It is a lovely walk. We were nearly the only guests during our 5 night stay in June.
Kevin, the hotel owner, was quite nice. He made some very helpful suggestions to regarding island transportation and restaraunts. His housekeeping staff, Yaunique in particular, was very good. The bed and pillows were comfortable enough. We had NO problems sleeping. Nice kitchenette for saving costs on meals.
The hotel offered 2 bikes for guest useage-however, they were rickety and almost un-usable. Kevin, PLEASE INVEST IN NEW BIKES! The walk to the grocery store (about 15 minutes from hotel) is short but HOT. Bikes with a working basket would be VERY helpful for the grocery shopping and souvenier gathering trips.

Wost part of our stay was the hotel water. Hotel pool was very pretty and inviting-as was the courtyard and outdoor furniture surrounding it. Unfortunatly, the stench of sulfur emitting from the pool water was offensive every time we had to walk thru the courtyard to our room. We, therefore, we unable to use the pool-nor sit in the hammock in the courtyard. What a waste!!! The water in the hotel room (specifically the shower water) smelled of sulfur as well-making our necessary showers a very unpleasent twice daily experience. Kevin said the smell was from it being Hurricane season-however, we check with other hotels, guests and locals, to be met with puzzled faces and affirmations that this is not happening at other places on the island. We would be more likely to stay at GBS on our next visit if the water did not STINK.
The Grace Bay Suites DOES NOT offer a timely mail out service. Kevin agreed to take our post cards to the post office for us-but the recipients did not recieve them until 1 month after we had arrived back home. So be aware that mailing out is untimely and difficult.
Overall, we had a very nice expereince with GBS and staff Oren and Yaunique. Thank you to GBS for contributing to our PARADISE vacation!

Room Tip: Get a room in the back in order to avoid the noise of Danny Bouys!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    64
    15
    2
    1
See reviews for
17
83
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alberta, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

The staff of Grace Bay Suites are wonderful. Make sure you talk to Oren at the front desk. He will provide you with the most amazing tour ideas guaranteed to show you the TRUE Turks And Caicos Islands.

We had a mishap during our short stay and all of the staff went out of their way to make sure we were well taken care of.

Grace Bay Suites is located across the street from the beach, which makes it more affordable. It is far enough from the crowds of the resorts that you can enjoy relative peace, quiet and seclusion making it seem like the beach is there for you alone.

A wonderful spot we plan to return to again and again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
b
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Rooms are spotless, location is great, and the staff is out of this world! Kudos to Oren for being a fantastic tour guide/front desk man/local in the know.

I would go back without hesitation, and hope to next March.

Room Tip: Ask for a room up high and AWAY from or not facing the pub as the music is VERY LOUD at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is a gem! Rooms are spacious and clean, staff is warm and friendly, location is next best thing to being right on the beach - for a fraction of the price. Loved the communal bike for shopping. Pool is tiny, but just right to cool off or rinse after the beach - plenty of beach chairs. Only (minor) issue to be aware of is that Danny Buoy's is on the other side of the parking lot, so the music can be a little loud some nights - but never too loud to prevent sleep. I would stay here again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Very much enjoyed our one week stay at this Hotel. Staff was very friendly and helpful every time we had a concern. Kevin the manager was always there to help too!

Location just a short walk across the street to the stunning Grace Bay beach as previously mentioned. And, the pool at this Hotel is small, but we didn't care as we are 'beach bums'. A short 8-min. walk to Graceway Gourmet to stock up on food you may want prepare in your room. Room equipped with toaster (very useful for sandwiches), coffee maker, bar fridge and sink, micro-wave oven (don't forget to bring your popcorn from home), dishes, and utensils. Also, the cheapest sun tan lotion and after sun lotion can be purchased at the Graceway Gourment - buy the No Ad stuff for the best buys! Room was cleaned daily by maid service who did a great job.

You may want to try bringing some cereal from home too as a choice for your breakfast menu. We also brought a small jar of peanut butter and other treats like small chocolate bars as prices can be a little 'steep' on the Island. As a matter of fact, we made breakfast and dinner in our room every day. We chose a different restaurant every day for lunch which was our 'big' meal and opted to have a sandwich in our room for dinner. We saved a lot of $'s this way as dinner prices tend to be double the price for a lunch.

Also should mention that the bed was a king-size in the room we had. The one bedroom suites, on the other hand, have only the queen-size beds. All rooms have the same amenities though. Bed was very comfortable and we had great sleeps down there - might have been the clean air too!

There was shopping in the Salt Mills Mall next door as well as across the street. Be sure to visit "Fresh Catch" Local Bites Restaurant when you go. The food was pretty good and reasonably priced(we had the Eggs Benedict) which we enjoyed more than the Eggs Benedict from "The Vix" across the street. In fact, we would recommend that you stay away from The Vix's Eggs Benedict which was the weirdest we've ever tasted - two eggs on thinly sliced Italian ham on English muffins on a bed of vinegarette greens with a tasteless sauce on top! Also, NO side served with the Eggs Benedict (NEVER had it served without home fries or hash browns). Coffee was $4 US and not bottomless! Cost almost $40 US for two of us - including a 21 per cent tax which is outrageous for a country that states it does not have taxes! Needless to say, we didn't leave a tip for the waitress at The Vix, but did leave a huge tip for the friendly waitress at the Fresh Catch Restaurant. Better service and food for a better price at the Fresh Catch got them the better tip!

To sum up, GBS is a good Hotel for a great price! We loved it here and hope to return asap!

Room Tip: End room (108) was great - ground floor - no stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Had a very enjoyable week here. The staff are pleasant and friendly. The rooms very spotlessly clean and had everything required for a cosy stay. The bathrooms were spacious and modern. It really isnt that far from the beach, a very easy walk across the road, down a lane and there you are! Great location, walking distance to supermarket, gift shops and lots of eating places and bars. The only time we heard noise from the next door Danny Bouys Irish bar, was on Tuesdays and Thursdays - drunk karaoke patrons singing their hearts out! It did not annoy us!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

We stayed at Grace Bay Suites for 6 days and it was an altogether pleasant stay. If you're looking for 5 stars you'll have to stay on the ocean side of the street and pay three times more per night. What you get here is a nice porch or patio overlooking the small but very nice pool, a great mattress, clean crisp cotton sheets, courteous service, a great shower, in-room microwave, fridge, sink and toaster. You won't find pans or a range. Cribs are available for no charge. Wifi is free but only works reliably from your porch or the pool deck. Employees were courteous as worst and usually better than that. Mandy was so helpful and warm.
Beach access is through one of many National Park access points just across the street (a 3 minute walk). Unlike some Caribbean areas (eg: Dominican Republic), beach access is free by law. You can walk as far in either direction as you want without dealing with resort security guards, etc.
A great grocery store, Graceway Gourmet, is a 5 minute walk away. They have most everything you'll need; their ready to eat food and salads are quite good. The prices are definitely island prices: 50 to 100% higher for everything but still less expensive than going out to nearby restaurants that average $20 for entrees (but do check out the local fish restaurant at Salt Mill Mall next door).
You can rent a car from Paul at Grace Bay Rentals a few doors down for $56/day. Do it for one day and be hit the beaches near Chalk Sound as well as getting some awesome ceviche and rum punch at Da Conch Shack near the Bight. If you rent your car from Grace Bay Rentals on your first or last day it's free to pick up or drop off the car at the airport, saving you the $30 cab fare for two people. Paul can tell you more great places to hit.
All in all, a wonderful way to visit a true paradise on a reasonable budget.

Room Tip: Ask for the second floor unless you like stairs or want to have a slider out to the pool. More priva...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grace Bay Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grace Bay Suites

Address: Grace Bay Rd, Providenciales
Location: Caribbean > Turks and Caicos > Providenciales
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Providenciales
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Grace Bay Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grace Bay Suites is Provo's newest affordable hotel located in the heart of Provo's Golden Mile, less than a 5 minute stroll from world renowned Grace Bay Beach. The hotel features 18 Studios and 6 one bedroom suites. All with private patio or balcony facing the swimming pool. All rooms are spacious and comfortable with modern facilities including a small kitchenette, wall-mounted flat screen TV in each room and large walk-in shower. Room Service is available from Danny Buoy's Irish Restaurant and Pub located on the same property as Grace Bay Suites. You could not stay in a better location on Providenciales. There are plenty of restaurants, shops, dive and tour operators, spas and lots more within easy walking distance from the hotel, a fitness club next door, Provo's 18-hole championship golf course within a mile. We are all about comfort, convenience and affordability. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Tingo so you can book your Grace Bay Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grace Bay Hotel Providenciales
Grace Bay Suites Turks And Caicos/Providenciales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grace Bay Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.