We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, pleasant and close to beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grace Bay Suites

Save Saved
You added Grace Bay Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Grace Bay Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Grace Bay Rd, Providenciales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 44 hotels in Providenciales
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Clean, pleasant and close to beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

We stayed at Grace Bay Suites for 6 days and it was an altogether pleasant stay. If you're looking for 5 stars you'll have to stay on the ocean side of the street and pay three times more per night. What you get here is a nice porch or patio overlooking the small but very nice pool, a great mattress, clean crisp cotton sheets, courteous service, a great shower, in-room microwave, fridge, sink and toaster. You won't find pans or a range. Cribs are available for no charge. Wifi is free but only works reliably from your porch or the pool deck. Employees were courteous as worst and usually better than that. Mandy was so helpful and warm.
Beach access is through one of many National Park access points just across the street (a 3 minute walk). Unlike some Caribbean areas (eg: Dominican Republic), beach access is free by law. You can walk as far in either direction as you want without dealing with resort security guards, etc.
A great grocery store, Graceway Gourmet, is a 5 minute walk away. They have most everything you'll need; their ready to eat food and salads are quite good. The prices are definitely island prices: 50 to 100% higher for everything but still less expensive than going out to nearby restaurants that average $20 for entrees (but do check out the local fish restaurant at Salt Mill Mall next door).
You can rent a car from Paul at Grace Bay Rentals a few doors down for $56/day. Do it for one day and be hit the beaches near Chalk Sound as well as getting some awesome ceviche and rum punch at Da Conch Shack near the Bight. If you rent your car from Grace Bay Rentals on your first or last day it's free to pick up or drop off the car at the airport, saving you the $30 cab fare for two people. Paul can tell you more great places to hit.
All in all, a wonderful way to visit a true paradise on a reasonable budget.

Room Tip: Ask for the second floor unless you like stairs or want to have a slider out to the pool. More priva...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    64
    63
    15
    2
    1
See reviews for
17
82
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

This was our first time to Provi and we chose to stay at GBS, overall I'd say it was good. I think it really depends what level of maintenance you are looking for (ie. more simple vs resort style?).
Kevin was very helpful, helped us sort out our car rental confusions and in general if we needed something, we would ask Kevin, and he would get it done.

The positives: 1. The location could not honestly be any better. It is not on the beach, but it is maybe 8 minutes to get to it. The Iga is maybe 8 minutes max, east. It is close to many restaurants (Danny Buoy's, pizza pizza, Bella Luna, Lemon Cafe-all these [and probably many more I didn't visit] within walking distance). There are tons of touristy stores nearby (as in 10 minutes MAX walking) to buy souvneirs or any stuff you forgot to bring, like sunscreen etc.
2. Amenities: There is a microwave with utensils, microwavable bowls (no can opener though, so if you are bringing canned foods-which given the cost of eating out here, I definitely would), plates, wine opener, coffee maker, small fridge, toaster. There is a bbq by the pool anyone can use. There are 2 bikes you can use no problem. There is an infinity pool, though it is QUITE SMALL; I feel a reasonable amount of adults to be in it comfortably spaced, would be maybe 12 max?, but who needs the pool with the beach so close. There are loungers and hammock by the pool. Free wifi (though in our room, we could only use it in a small area of the room, maybe the router was really weak?).
3. The price
The cons:
1. We constantly had these tiny ant like creatures all over the kitchenette and bathroom area. They seemed harmless and could be easily disposed of, but they always came back. This could well be completely normal for Provi/Turks, but we weren't sure, so they were just a minor annoyance.
2. A minor thing; on the day of our departure , the pick up time says "12:30 for Toronto", so we were waiting since before 12:30 for our pick up. Long story short, there was a miscommunication with likely our travel agent and the tour company in Turks, but basically the staff working just kept saying the pick up is probably just late; she didn't really offer to help us sort out why our pick up was an hour late. We had to ourselves call repeatedly to figure out why. I realize this isn't the hotel's problem, that our pick up didn't come, but it would have been helpful if they could have helped us sort it out, as they would be familiar with pickups/hotel transfers, as being late to the airport can be a stressful event.

Overall, I would definitely stay here again. And maybe we were just lucky where we were placed in the hotel, but we never heard any music from Danny Buoy's, except for a few hours on a Friday night and even then it was very muted from inside the hotel room.

Room Tip: Probably higher up and further away from Danny's would be better for less noise. All rooms face...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

We stayed at Grace Bay Suites in March for 7 days and had an amazing time. Would especially like to give a shout out to Oren, who went above and beyond to make our stay a great one in every possible way. We cannot say enough about him and how nice and helpful h was. He suggested restaurants, things to do, and general tips that really made our visit even better, and was always happy to answer any questions that we had during the week. Jessica was also very kind and helpful.

The beach is a very quick walk across the street and, after walking the beach for quite a while, we decided that Grace Bay Suites has the best chairs on the whole beach! And everything is set up and ready to go early, thanks to Oren. Keep in mind that you have the very same beach as the extremely expensive hotels just across the street -- what's not to love about paying a fraction of the price for the very same beach?

I brought cereal and snacks from home and was glad that I did as groceries are very pricey (understandably). So, bring what you can to save some money. The IGA is very handy and a 10 minute walk to fill in with what you need. A great tip Oren gave us was to check out their hot bar (breakfast and lunch) and especially to get an island breakfast from the hot bar on Saturday mornings. Very delicious and such a good value and they even have an area outside with tables and chairs! For around $5 you get a ton of hot, fresh food.

Our room had a sink, mini-fridge, and microwave so this helped us save a lot of money on eating out.

The pool area is always immaculate and we loved the chaise lounges by the pool for morning coffee.

The rooms are clean and spacious and the shower is really a nice bonus -- so big with great tile!

The owners were on site while we were there and they could not have been nicer and were so helpful in suggesting restaurants, etc. We really enjoyed getting to talk to them during the week.

We rented scooters from down the street and rode out to Boogaloo's and to Chalk Sound and this made for a fun day. Snorkeling in Long Bay was another highlight.

Much more to do that we didn't get to, but hopefully next time: Coral Gardens, Smith's Reef, etc.

Dee, the owner of Danny Buoy's Pub next door, is great, but I would watch the bartenders there as we had two drinks added to our tab that were not ours; when we pointed it out to the guys, they just argued with us and refused to correct the mistake. We heard this is a common problem there.

Another bonus: Potcake Place is right next door and someone had puppies at the hotel each day! Very fun to have the doggies around.

My only suggestions for improvement would be to have gallon jugs of water for sale in the office so that guests don't have to carry those heavy loads back on foot; I would also suggest strengthen the wireless signal, which was almost non-existent in our room (but strong by the pool and on the grounds). I know one is not on vacation to stay online the whole time, but would have been nice to have a stronger in-room signal to FaceTime with family/kids back home (this was a girls' trip).

Book your stay without hesitation! Great property, stellar people, the best chairs, and a gorgeous beach just a hop, skip, and jump across the way.

Room Tip: Ask for a room up high and AWAY from or not facing the pub as the music is VERY LOUD at night. We di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Ontario
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We spent 10 days at GBS and were impressed by the service, cleanliness and location.

The hotel is a 5 minute walk from Grace Bay beach, which is beautiful but tends to get a little crowded and depending on weather can also be fairly rough. With that said,we rented a car for the duration of our stay and if the winds were blowing at Grace Bay we'd simply drive to one of the many other beaches, and often would have them nearly all to ourselves! Long By Beach and Taylor Bay were our favourites.

Groceries are close at hand at the Gourmet supermarket and prices aren't really any different than at the Graceway IGA (which is much busier but is also open 7 days a week). We bought beer at the Wine Cellar, which is cheaper than either supermarket, but as it's on the Leeward HWY, you would need to drive or take a tax from GBS.

We never heard the music from Danny Buoy's at night, and our room faced the back of the bar looking over the pool (not that you saw the back of the bar, the view was actually of the pool and then Regent Place). We did find the service to be very poor at Danny Buoy's with disinterested staff and wandering owners) we had much better food, service and enjoyed the atmosphere much more at the dive bar just down the street.

We would definitely return to GBS, it's a great place to stay for couples and families.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the third floor if possible, but be prepared to climb the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We returned from Provo about a month ago from a 2+ week stay and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves in Turks and Caicos. We chose Grace Bay Suites because of the location (close to the beach, restaurants, other amenities) and the price. We are a younger couple, who enjoy good food and a great beach.

First off, the staff at GBS made our stay. Dining in Grace Bay can be a bit confusing as there are ample choices and many restaurants are within the hotels located along the beach or off the main road. Oren was more than helpful, with recommendations for dining and local information. Anytime we had a question (which was often) he was always helpful and great to talk to. Kevin, the hotel GM, was a great help with information and we really enjoyed his company. The housekeeping ladies were alway very pleasant and helpful if we needed to exchange towels etc. We got to know many of the staff and we felt like we were leaving old friends because the staff all made such an effort. We would never stay anywhere else!!

As for location, the hotel is located off the main road behind Danny's Buoy's pub. It is a quiet area, surrounded by greenery and we didn't really notice any outside noise at the hotel. The main road that fronts Danny's has good shopping and restaurants in the Regent Village mall and others on the beach. Lupo was a favorite for dinner and it is located along your walk to the beach, look for the white picket fenced patio. There are bikes at the hotel if you want to go to the grocery store and stock up and/or explore the local area. The beach is across the street and through a path way and is not hard to find. GBS has beach chairs (the light blue chairs) and umbrella's so even though you are not staying directly on the beach, you really don't miss out on any of the beachfront amenities. The beach is beautiful and clean and goes on for miles. The snorkelling in that area wasn't anything special but if you take the bikes (20 mins by road) or walk on the beach (45 mins) to Coral Gardens there is good snorkeling right off the beach. Somewhere Bar is in the snorkeling area and the lunch we had was great.

The rooms are GBS are spotless and had a functional kitchenette which made breakfast and lunch do-able on a daily basis. There is a microwave, bar fridge and coffee maker provided, if you want a toaster ask at the front desk. They provide coffee and a general array of utensils and dinnerware. There is also a BBQ on the pool deck. The room we had (standard room) had a king bed which was comfortable, table and chairs (inside and outside on the patio), a TV and dresser. The bathroom had a raised sink, toilet and a big shower with a rain head. No complaints about anything here. The linens were always clean and the room was great.

Something really fun and "meaningful" to do that we really enjoyed was to go the Potcake Place (Salt Mills Mall) and take a puppy out for the day. I'm not joking, they rescue the local dogs who are left on the streets and give them veterinary care and find homes for these dogs, all from donations. They adopt out hundreds every year and do amazing work! You can help socialize the puppies by taking them to the beach and for a walk for a few hours. Be careful of the sun and heat though. Who doesn't like hanging out with a puppy for a day!?

This is a great place for any age group whether you are a couple, single traveller and/or group, GBS has it all and for a fraction of the price of other hotels in the same area. Don't hesitate to book the Grace Bay Suites, we are so glad we stayed here and couldn't have asked for a better hotel choice.

Room Tip: Standard Room - King Bed, table and chairs and kitchenette. One Bedroom - Queen Bed, big living roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

This is the best hotel for the money! This place feels really nice and the room was perfect. My fav part was the fresh feeling water and shower. I loved it & had a wonderful relaxing time in Turks and Caicos! Now that my friend and I went last week, we have some "insider tips" to share to have more fun for future travelers and for us...as we will eventually return to do snorkeling and see some more sea life. We spent most of the time locally exploring and eating out, laying on the beach etc.
#1- Bring as much dry food/ snacks/ soup/ canned foods as possible into your luggage
They have a microwave in the room. The island has to get their food imported, so it's so expensive at the local grocery!! Graceway is .4 mi right up the road. Seriously a box of cereal is $7! Also, buy gallon jugs of water. They are cheaper that way and trust me you will drink up on the beach! That Caribbean sun is sneaky hot. Graceway also has those styrofoam coolers to pack ice with drinks on the beach for like $6. Bring water bottles to fill up drinks & reuse for the beach.

#2- Bring paper plates/napkins to eat on. Also some plastic ware to eat with. Bring ketchup/mustard packets. Buy hotdogs and burgers at the grocery store and grill them on the hotel's grill by the pool! Fun and cheap!

#3- Bring a light blanket or sheet. The sun setting is so pretty at night, but in March it got chilly by the ocean and we had to snuggle under small towels to stay warm on the beach chairs.
Each hotel provides you personal beach chairs/umbrellas/ lounge beds. So no need to bring those on the trip. Bring your tennis racket because there is a tennis court across the street from GraceBay at the Grand hotel.

#4- Be prepared to spend money out! There is a place up the road to the right of Grace Bay Suites that rents motorized bikes for $25/per bike for the day! We almost did this, but got busy with other activities. The food is amazing!!!
Danny Buoys- the best lounge place next to the hotel (Tues/Thurs night Karaoke and if you sing they give you a free beer) Really good wraps and salads. The rum punch is great.
Hemmingways- at another hotel .5 mi up the road (walkable) make a left from the hotel and walk up, past the go around, and its in the back corner of the hotel on the beachfront. Awesome breakfast on the boardwalk.
Live Catch- right next to Grace Bay suites, but you have to go up to the left and around in the little shopping plaza under the gym. They have the best BBQ jerk chicken and fried plantains, and I got the appetizer Lobster spring rolls!! So good!
Bella Luna- to the right of Grace Bay Suites, walk .3mi down on the right by the ice cream shop. It's a cute romantic Italian restaurant! Pretty flowers outside up the walkway for a romantic dinner out. Excellent service and delicious broccoli pasta dish.

This is not a fast paced, excursion type trip. We did more of a lounging, relaxing, running on the beach, sand in the toes, played volleyball, and walked the beach at midnight. Crashed a beach DJ dance party and ate really well :)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, ON
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

The place is great value for its location. Just a short walk to the beach, room was cleaned very well every day, wifi is free but very slow. Within walking distance to grocery store and good restraurants.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grace Bay Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grace Bay Suites

Address: Grace Bay Rd, Providenciales
Location: Caribbean > Turks and Caicos > Providenciales
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Providenciales
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Grace Bay Suites 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grace Bay Suites is Provo's newest affordable hotel located in the heart of Provo's Golden Mile, less than a 5 minute stroll from world renowned Grace Bay Beach. The hotel features 18 Studios and 6 one bedroom suites. All with private patio or balcony facing the swimming pool. All rooms are spacious and comfortable with modern facilities including a small kitchenette, wall-mounted flat screen TV in each room and large walk-in shower. Room Service is available from Danny Buoy's Irish Restaurant and Pub located on the same property as Grace Bay Suites. You could not stay in a better location on Providenciales. There are plenty of restaurants, shops, dive and tour operators, spas and lots more within easy walking distance from the hotel, a fitness club next door, Provo's 18-hole championship golf course within a mile. We are all about comfort, convenience and affordability. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, HotelsClick and Venere so you can book your Grace Bay Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grace Bay Hotel Providenciales
Grace Bay Suites Turks And Caicos/Providenciales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grace Bay Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.