We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Regent Grand

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Regent Grand to your Saves list
The Regent Grand
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Regent Street | Grace Bay, Providenciales   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 44 Hotels in Providenciales
San Jose, CA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“A wonderful stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2010

We just returned from a seven-night stay at the Regent Grand. The hotel was absolutely beautiful and the staff incredible. This was our first time staying in a "condotel" , and we absolutely loved it. Here is what we most enjoyed about our stay:

1. The ocean-front units have a gorgeous view and a spacious balcony that is shady during the day, so it can be used to have meals.
2. The supermarket is within walking distance, and the units are really well-equipped, so you can save lots of money on your food bill and still eat well.
3. You have a washer and drier, so you do not have to bring tons of clothes. In fact, we only took one suitcase, and I did not need half of what I packed.
4. The resort gives you free bikes to explore the island. We never regretted not having a car and used the bikes several times to get to Smith's Reef to snorkel (about 15-20 min).
5. The pool is really nice and was not crowded.
6. Eveything is quiet, upscale, and elegant.. The staff is super friendly and will help you in any way they can.
7. The breakfast, while not provding much variety, was tasty and certainly sufficient for us. It was nice that they delivered it to the room each morning and the time of delivery could be changed without any issues.
8. On Thursday, the resort provided free appetizers and wine, rum punch, and beer. The punch was great! (didn't try any other drinks)
9. The cleaning staff was very friendly and kept everything immaculate.
10. We didn't spend much time on the beach in front of the resort, but there were always chairs, umbrealls, and also someone who was handing out complimentary water.
(complimentary water also available at front desk before you go places).
11. The resort was close to many eateries and shops. Check out the Saltmills Diner, which provides good food at reasonable prices.
12. The front desk helped us book two tours and were very efficient and helpful.

About the island:

We like to be active on our vacations, so we didn't know how a "beach location" would work for us. To our delight, we found that there is quite a bit to do in addition to relaxing on the beach. I rode with ProvoPonies, we went to Middle and North Caicos for a day and explored a former planation, a cave, watched flamigoes, and hiked a beach trail. We also explored the island by bike, went snorkeling , and were able to see some iguanas with Caicos Dream tours. It was great. The Regent Grand, with its realxing atmospere, was always agreat place to come back to after exploring. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    323
    36
    14
    1
    2
See reviews for
123
191
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
MA
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2010

We stayed in this fabulous condo for 1 week. We rented through vrbo. It was immaculate, comfortable, and had great beds and bedding. It also has everything you need to cook—we ate out on the large corner balcony 3 nights—best view on Provo. The view from the balcony is fabulous. There is an empty lot to the right hand side of the building—didn’t bother us in the least. If anything, it provided more privacy. We brought our travel backgammon game and played out there every night.

Don’t bring any shampoo, soap, conditioner, or body lotion. They were all supplied in abundance—spa quality. The AC worked great too. We were even provided with a free cell phone to use during our visit—where do you get that?!

Staff is very attentive but not in your face. Someone was cutting hedges one morning and saw us taking out a bag of trash. He noticed us and immediately stopped what he was doing and called out—“leave it outside of your door and I will take care of it.” Sure enough, when we returned a short time later it was gone. Really, they can’t do enough for you!

The beach is incredible—plenty of chairs/tables/umbrellas no matter what time you get to the beach. There were never more than 3 other couples while were there and plenty of room in between beach set ups---you can easily choose one where you have no one else sitting on either side of you. Free ice cold bottled water was available all day at the bar—if you go out early, and the bar isn’t open yet, ask at the front desk and they will get some for you in 10 seconds. There were always plenty of good quality beach towels— piles of them.

We are not pool people, but the infinity pool was incredible! I’ve never seen one like it and there were plenty of cushioned chairs and umbrellas. Most of the time, the pool area was empty!

We ate at Coco Bistro—fabulous. Have the front desk make your reservations because you get good tables.

We found a short cut to Graceway Gourmet—turn right down the gravel/dirt road at the Italian restaurant on the main road—don’t worry you’ll see it. We bought chicken breasts and rice dishes and salads for take out on the night we arrived— we just microwaved it for a couple of minutes. So relaxing after traveling all day.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2010

This was our first experience renting a condo from a private owner and we found the owner of the Calabash Suite at Regent Grand really easy to work with. The Regent Grand resort is the best located resort on the island. It is the only resort where you can easily walk to a gourmet deli, many restaurants and gift shops. The resort is very peaceful and secluded; the property is well maintained and still practically new. The pool is well designed and far nicer than any other pool we saw while visiting other resorts. The beach front on Grace Bay is one of the finest in the world, similar to Anguilla with pure white sand and crystal clear blue water.

The Calabash suite is first class, not your normal resort suite. The furnishings are top shelf, 50" Sony TV, in suite high speed wireless internet, marble floors, full kitchen etc. Just like home or better.

The restaurants we chose include the on-property VIX, Bella Luna a 5 minute walk, Hemingway’s a 15 minute walk, and Lemon a 15 minute bike ride (bikes are free and there are full sidewalks). The only place for breakfast is SaltMills Cafe, a just like home diner.

We highly recommend the Regent Grand and Calabash Suite, and we are looking forward to returning.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ct
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2010

We recently spent a week at The Regent Grand in a 3 bedroom corner unit overlooking beautiful Grace Bay. Each morning we walked on the beach, admiring the turquoise ocean and looking at all the resorts along the way – trying to determine whether we had made the right decision staying at The Regent Grand. No doubt there were hotels that had a wider stretch of beach or an on-site restaurant, but with that wider stretch, came more beach chairs and umbrellas stacked up side by side, and definitely more crowds. At The Regent Grand, only guests are on the property, giving it more of a quiet, private and casual country club feel. We knew we made the right decision. The Regent Grand was a perfect choice for our vacation.


The condo:. We rented unit 310, a corner 3BR/3 Bath unit on the third floor. We were a bit nervous about renting from someone we didn’t know and weren’t sure whether we should rent directly from the hotel. It worked out even better than we expected. It was bright and airy, actually much brighter than the picture on the web site. There were 3 bedrooms, each with its own private bathroom. The master bedroom is a little bigger than the other two rooms, and it has a King bed, while the other two BRs had a Queen or 2 Twins. Perfect for a family or in our case, two small families (there were 7 of us). The living room had a 50 inch TV and DVD player and all the other bedrooms also had TVs. The couch was a large sectional couch and there was a dining room table that could fit 8. The kitchen had all high end appliances and granite countertops and was fully stocked with anything you might need for the week (glasses, blender, cooler for the beach, etc ). The balcony was quite large with a table that could fit 6 and there was also a lounge chair. We spent hours on the balcony, looking at the ocean and watching people walking the beach. There is an empty lot next to the hotel, but no construction was going on at that time so it really didn’t matter. There were sliding glass doors between the living room and the balcony so we always had a perfect view of the ocean. The unit was direct oceanfront.


The pool: The gorgeous pool is in the courtyard surrounded by buildings. That’s a good thing because if it gets windy on the beach, you can always sit at the pool and be comfortable. The pool is tiled in different shades of blue and is really magnificent. When you look at The Regent Grand’s website, you always see pictures of the pool, but to be honest, it’s much nicer in person than on the web site. The lounge chairs next to the pool are really comfortable, with thick blue pads and clean, fresh towel rolled up. There were times there were several families at the pool, or times where it was quieter and times when we had the pool to ourselves. Still, there was never a problem getting a chair or having room in the pool to relax (there were typically kids in the pool). There were also two hot tubs that were used when the wind kicked up our first few days. The resort provides towels for the pool and beach and there were always plenty of clean towels available – a nice touch – because there was always an abundance of freshly washed towels. You’ll see --- it was nice because the towels always felt like they just came out of the dryer!


The Service: I’ve read a few reviews where people complain about not being a full service resort. So just to be clear, this is what you get. There is a bar next to the pool, with a friendly bartender, ready to make drinks whenever you want them. If he’s not busy, he will bring them to you. Otherwise, you have to walk 20 steps to order and get your drink. There were reviews where people complained the bartender was not always available. If he were missing, it was because he was walking around the pool, and sometimes the beach, handing out free bottled ice cold water to guests of the resort– another nice touch. So, if you happened to go to the bar, in the 5 minutes he was handing out water, you might have to wait for 5 minutes. Granted, no one is misting you with water while you’re at the pool, as they do at the Ritz Carlton or Four Seasons, but you get a really comfortable chair, next to a beautiful pool, with drinks and water within really close proximity (remember my comment about 20 steps?).


There is no on-site restaurant, but you have a condo with every imaginable convenience. Not sure why you’d need one but if you do, you can easily walk to a restaurant within 5 minutes. Vix is directly across the parking lot and is considered the hotel’s restaurant. At the beach, chairs and umbrellas are set up each morning, but there is no obvious drink service. The cleaning staff, front desk, security guards and bartenders are extremely friendly and ready to help at any time. I had read enough reviews to know it’s not a full service resort. But then again, give me a comfortable chaise at the pool, a chaise and umbrella at the beach (where I don’t need to get up at 6am to get it), clean towels, a beautiful pool and beach, a magnificent condo with every convenience of home (and everything is brand new!!), a smiling front desk, and a bartender who makes the best rum punch on the island --- what else do you really need?


The Beach: So you’re probably tired or reading that everything was perfect so I’ll take it down a notch. The beach is not as wide as other beaches like Grace Bay Club or Somerset (note the prices at these resorts were at least $5,000 more for the week for same or smaller rooms/condo ). But it is the same beach as Villa Renaissance and wider than Beaches (crowded!!) or Windsong. And Club Med’s beach is just in another league altogether because it is so wide. (but their rooms aren’t nice, the resort looks like colorful army barracks– although you don’t go to Club Med for the ambiance and it’s adults only!). For the most part, the original hotels on the island (with the exception of Beaches), have the nicer wider beaches. But the beach at The Regent Grand is perfectly fine, and if you have small kids, it’s even an advantage because the loungers are close to the water. And because there are only 10 or 15 umbrellas, the beach never feels crowded. And it’s important to note we never had trouble getting a chair at the beach. No one was running out to reserve a chair because there were enough chairs and umbrellas. There were even extra chairs and umbrellas if needed. It’s possible the beach is even a little narrower at high tide when the surf is rough but we really didn’t experience that. Look at the webcam to see the beach. What you see is what it is – a lovely beach and turquoise crystal clear water.


The Restaurants: Our two favorite restaurants were Coco Bistro and Magnolia Wine Bar. Both have incredibly good food and nice ambience. Coco Bistro is not on the beach but it’s still beautiful because of the lit palm trees. Magnolia is up on a hill, overlooking Turtle Cove – quite beautiful. Try the tuna appetizer if you like raw tuna at Coco Bistro – excellent! We also enjoyed Hemingways, a restaurant on the beach at The Sands, a 15 minute walk on the beach. If you like spicy food, try the grouper . The food was delicious and the sunset was magnificent. We did not like The Tiki Hut for dinner (supposed to be ok for drinks) and thought Da Conch Shack was just ok. Also worth noting was the opening of a gourmet supermarket, The Graceway Gourmet, within walking distance of The Regent Grand. It’s a well stocked, highly modern supermarket with a deli and gourmet section as well. Clearly, it was the most sophisticated supermarket I’ve ever seen in the Carribean.


Overall, we had a wonderful experience at The Regent Grand and really enjoyed it. The grounds, condo, pool and beach are beautiful and I can only say positive things about it. It’s a shame that Provo has gotten so built up over the last 5 or 6 years because it was more beautiful when there were only a handful of resorts and you could walk for miles without seeing people or buildings. But now that it is built up and if you are looking to go to Turks and Caicos, The Regent Grand is the place to stay if you want a beautiful, sophisticated and casual resort without all the crowds of the bigger hotels.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arvada, Colorado
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2010

My husband and I just returned from a week stay at the Regent Grand. The 2 bedroom suite overlooking the pool was beautiful!! We really felt most of the reviews that led us to chose this resort were right on. The entire staff was always extremely helpful and pleasant. They never wanted to take too much of your vacation time, but always made sure you had what you needed.
We would have really loved more variety for the free breakfast, but we mostly cooked our breakfast and lunches in our suite. Don't expect wonderful service when you eat out on the island. I don't think great service as we're accustomed to in the US is the norm there. They don't mean anything by it, I think that's just how service is there. I believe they say everything is on "island time" there. Some places include the tip in the bill , and some don't, so check for that!
Didn't really love the Vix, which is the restaurant associated with the Regent Grand, but there are plenty of other options close by that are good. The cheesecake at Danny Buoys was the best and had a few good lunches, too. The Saltmills Cafe by far has the cheapest, best meals for breakfast and lunch, and a very casual dinner if you want something quick. The Baci italian restaurant was great, really small, but great food. Hemingways is another good choice for dinner. We heard Bella Luna is another good italian restaurant, but we never made it there. Have to recommend against Anacaona, it's a beautiful setting and cool bar area, but the food is ridiculously priced and not that amazing. Service is really slow, even more so than other places there.
Back to the Regent Grand. We especially want to mention Calvin, Joana, and David. They always were especially helpful and we really appreciate the time they took to make our stay wonderful.
The beach in front of the Regent Grand was awesome, felt like powder. The water is gorgeous and you will not regret this trip. We got certified to dive while we were there through Dive Provo. They're awesome! Highly recommend them.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2010

The Regent Grand has many of the amenities the larger resorts on Grace Bay offer while also offering a quite and relaxing atmosphere of the small resort that it is. The Regent Grand's location on Grace Bay is ideal for walking to several restaurants (Bella Luna, Vix, Anacoa, Calico Jack's, Danny Buoys, Hemingway's, Yoshis Sushi, etc.). Also within walking distance are several shops and a gourmet grocery store.

The service at the Regent Grand was spectacular. Everyone from the front desk to the pool bartender to the cleaning staff had a smile the entire week and were extremely helpful.

My wife and I were originally going to stay at a different resort in a lower price range but decided to spend a little extra money since it was our honeymoon. We could not have been happier with the decision. The Regent Grand was a nice place for our week long honeymoon and we will definitely consider the Regent Grand again if back in Provo.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2010

If you would like to try different restaurants on the island, I would reccomend renting a car.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Regent Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Regent Grand

Address: Regent Street | Grace Bay, Providenciales
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Turks and Caicos > Providenciales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Providenciales
#4 Spa Hotel in Providenciales
#4 Luxury Hotel in Providenciales
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Providenciales
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Regent Grand 5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautiful, boutique and beachfront property, is voted Top Luxury Hotel Mexico & Caribbean, Traveler's Choice Award. Stretching across 300 feet of award winning Grace Bay Beach, it is where memories are made and traditions created! The Regent Grand is ideally situated in the heart of Grace Bay, adjacent to The Regent Village and seconds from shops, restaurants, bistro bars and duty free. All of the one, two and three large Ocean-front Suites boast private terraces and the luxury of unobstructed views while our more intimate Pool and Garden Suites overlook lush Caribbean gardens. Full rates include daily housekeeping, breakfast, welcome cocktail and WiFi. Amenities include heated mosaic pool, Nautilus gym, pool & beach service, pool bar, Teona Spa, free Golf at Provo Golf and Country Club (when staying in an ocean front suite), and fabulous Concierge service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Despegar.com, BookIt.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Regent Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Regent Grand Hotel Providenciales
Regent Hotel Grand
Regent Hotel Providenciales
Providenciales Regent
The Regent Grand Turks And Caicos/Providenciales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Regent Grand, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.