We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easy does it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Provo Ponies

Provo Ponies
Long Bay Hills, Providenciales
+1 649-241-6350
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Provo Ponies is a small riding stable located on the southeast end of the island of Providenciales. We do two guided rides a day, morning ride at 9:30am and an afternoon ride at 3:30pm during winter hours, 4:30 during the summer. We can take all experience levels from 7 years old and up (if they are younger they must be experienced riders). There is an extra charge if someone must be led. Everyone rides their own horse or pony, no double riding. We have a 200 pound weight limit. Groups are never more than 12 riders. Private rides are available for an additional fee. Helmets are available and are required for children 17 and under.We ride along quiet dirt roads and trails to Long Bay Beach, a 4 mile long beach. We do our best not to do nose to tail type rides, and more experienced riders are given the chance to trot or canter along the beach depending on the tides. The shallow waters of the Caicos Banks off Long Bay make it an ideal place to take your horse into the ocean. You can book a one hour ride or a 90 minute ride. We can arrange for transportation to and from your hotel.Reservations are required. A Visa or Mastercard number is required for all reservations, as well as weights and experience levels of all riders in your group so that we can properly assign horses to riders.We are a fully insured and licensed business in the Turks and Caicos Islands.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Easy does it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Safety is the overriding factor. Wish I had more time to allow the pony to canter. Great scenery, friendly host. Easy to find, parking available. Great photos!!!!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

557 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    490
    49
    8
    7
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wayne, PA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great idea but a bit old and dirty”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Lovely people running the show but spent so much time waking the ponies on the road, it became hot and boring. Lots of set up time needed. Riding on beach (basically in the ocean the whole time) was cool, but again, got a bit monotonous. Good people and they know their horses. Prbably worth it once, but I would not do it again.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stillwater, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Magnificent Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

We rode for an hour and a half and almost an hour was riding the horses in the ocean. What a phenomenal experience! I highly recommend this attraction and will visit again when I return to Provo!!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Florida
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Swimming with the horses!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

Great activity!! Great team!
The horses are in very good shape and are well taking care off. Everyone is matched with a horse that fit their riding skills. The team of ladies, from the ranch, are very nice and patient. They offer helmets and tennis shoes for everyone if needed. The group consist of 12 guests plus two instructors, who take you to this beautiful deserted beach. The water has different shades of blue and has conchs all over. Absolutely gorgeous! As soon as you arrive on the beach, everyone goes in the water. The horses love it, and are easy going. Great experience. Definitely an attraction not to miss!
Delphine aka Frenchie

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

They set you up with great tutorial on how to handle horses before you leave for trail. The road trail is hot so you should wear a sun hat or some sort of hat.
I have to tell you though, nothing prepares you for the breathtaking view once you break through the path to enter the ocean...BEAUTIFUL! The horses loved the water and it was refreshing for us!
Many I have told have never done the riding in the water so Provo Ponies is ahead of the game!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Provo Ponies also viewed

Providenciales, Turks and Caicos
Providenciales, Turks and Caicos
 
Providenciales, Turks and Caicos
 

Been to Provo Ponies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Provo Ponies, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.