We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great vacation, just what we wanted and needed” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bohio Dive Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Bohio Dive Resort to your Saves list
Bohio Dive Resort
Cockburn Town, Grand Turk   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cockburn Town
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Smartsville, CA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great vacation, just what we wanted and needed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Can't add much to what others have said already (including a couple of the people we met when we were there, hi FrancescaF and Sidney64!), Bohio was a wonderful place for us - one diver and one non-diver - to spend an unforgettable ten days. True, the room was basic, but we spent so little time there it really didn't matter! My husband did 16 dives with Divemaster Ollie and took hundreds of spectacular underwater photos with his new camera. I had quiet mornings to play with beadwork - heaven on earth for me! - and most afternoons we spent quietly on the beach, splashing in the water or taking the HobieCat for a spin. Around 5pm we'd get cleaned up and go have a silly cocktail, then on to whatever wondrous foodstuffs Chef Jorika had dreamt up for us. We happened to be there at a time when very few guests were at the resort, so it felt almost like a world that belonged only to the very few of us.

As others have mentioned, there are a few things to be aware of - the salt-water toilets and their "aroma," the leisurely service in the restaurant, the dogs - but none of those presented any particular problem for us. It was a little wild when the cruisers came in, completely changing the character of the place, but that was fleeting and soon enough they were all off to continue on their journeys and leave us to our beautiful quiet beach.

Tom & Ginny are warm and welcoming, happy to help make your stay the best it can be. Onyx, Emma, Savage, Foxy, Amigo, and Bob (the dogs) will happily keep you company on the beach, camping out under your beach chair if you let them. Miss Mittens the cat will also happily share whatever you might be served in the restaurant, but if you steel yourself against her advances she will eventually leave you alone. At least, that's the theory, we were unable to resist her and she scored several tasty morsels from us. The staff is helpful and courteous - one of the restaurant servers carefully explained to my husband how to make his favorite breakfast dish that they served, Island Fish & Grits, and I have a feeling he'll be serving it for us at home pretty soon.

Oh - and the food. My WORD, the food. Homey and comforting with a transcontinental flair. There were so few people in the resort that Chef Jorika didn't do her usual "international night" but when asked, she made us a special meal from her home country, South Africa, including the national dish, bobotie - we savored every bite and couldn't stop eating! Another time, she made a Thai feast, which was also outstanding. Breakfasts (including the aforementioned Island Fish and Grits, usually snapper or grouper) and lunches are also freshly prepared, plentiful, and delicious. I don't eat much fried food at home, partly because it's not so good for me, and partly because so many places don't keep their oil adequately hot or fresh. Not so here, Jorika knows her stuff. Her cracked conch was absolutely delectable, crisply fried with not a hint of greasiness, the breading seasoned lightly so as not to overpower the delicate flavor of the conch. Magnifique!

If you want a feeling of being in your own little world with nothing to do but whatever seems right in the moment - along with truly memorable food and drink - give Bohio a shot.

Room Tip: Unless you plan to cook, my advice would be to take a standard room and save a few bucks. All the mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BohioResort, Owner at Bohio Dive Resort, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to post such a lovely review. I am absolutely delighted when guests 'get' Bohio and Grand Turk. And I know what you mean when you describe it as a world belonging to just you! Best regards, Kelly & The Bohio Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    69
    17
    8
    3
See reviews for
46
132
22
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
SW UK.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

This is a fabulous resort; it is truly unspoilt so if you want a holiday resort that has a beach that will almost be yours, a dive location that would rival anywhere in the world and friendly staff that you feel you have known all your life, Bohio is the place for you!!

Yes there is not a lot to do, it is unspoilt as I said, but if sitting on the beach relaxing after a couple of excellent chilled dives in the morning is your idea of a holiday you won’t go wrong here. Ginny and Tom along with Chef Jochira will do everything to make you feel at home. As it was quiet when we were with them, they even invited us to the staff beach party.

The food is excellent, just work on Caribbean time which is three times longer than any other world time zone and you will be fine. The menu is unbelievable for such a small island.
Diving with Andrew and Ollie is spectacular. The reef is only 2 minutes from the beach so your surface interval between dives is at the resort, where your lunch order is taken. The fish stocks are great, shark, turtle, crab, massive Grouper fish everywhere. I saw a massive Eagle Ray just off the beach on a snorkelling trip. There is no wrecks, just wall dives with no current.
The island comes to life every other day when the cruise ship comes in, but even then it is not busy with the hotel making areas only available to residents.

There was only one downside, the use of sea water for the toilets takes some getting used to as there is an odour of sulphur from time to time, but really, the only thing to comment negatively on. If you want developed, got to Barbados, if you want unspoilt Caribbean, then Grand Turk is a must.

Claudia and I don’t normally go back to any resort, we think the world is big enough to find new places but this was the first time we left saying we will be sure to go back.

Thanks for a fantastic holiday to all at Bohio!

This is a fabulous resort!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Booked a last minute trip to Bohio for some R&R..7 days turned into 10! If you want to relax with great food and wonderful diving this is the place for you. My husband got in 13 dives with dive master Ollie and had a blast. Ollie knows these waters well and will get you to where the fish are. Jorika the chef did not disappoint, she is creative and cooked up some amazing food for us. We got extremely lucky that we hit the only slow week of the year (6-8 guests) so we were really able to get to know the staff. Rosie and Rosa will whip you up killer drinks as it is 5 o'clock NOW! As for the hosts you will love Ginny and Tom, if you need something done they will make it happen! They will make your vacation better than you can imagine. Thank you guys can't wait to get back for another visit! :) As the t-shirt says Just Breath...

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oskaloosa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We first saw this resort as a port stop on a cruise and knew we wanted to go back. The beach is great and the atmosphere is very casual. The rooms are basic but nice and clean. After all, you don't spend much time in your room anyway. Rooms have a great view of the water. The food was excellent. Service is not as fast as in the states but we found that super relaxing. We always had an outside table practically on the beach, the wait staff are friendly and good. It's so nice to be on a vacation and not have everything be a rush rush rush. We are not divers so we just enjoyed exploring the island. It's small with not a lot of night life which was what we were looking for. The island people, belongers, are super friendly and helpful. We walked across the island one day in the hot sun, were getting too hot and a woman offered to take us back to the resort and on the way gave us a little tour of the island. It was a very safe place. Tom and Ginny are super. We will most likely go back some day.

Room Tip: The all have great views of the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I stayed here with my family for a weeklong vacation. I picked Bohio because of Tripadvisor and reading about Grand Turk's reefs. First off, for email responsiveness they were very good. They helped answer my questions promptly and arranged smooth pickup at the airport. They were also very kind enough to comp me because I had an earlier trip I had to cancel for a medical emergency and reschedule. I very much appreciated that.

Hotel. The hotel is basic but nice, the rooms are clean, there is a small fridge, there is A/C. Since we had brought our family of four and stayed in 1 room, it would have been nice if they had some cots or sleeping bags, but I should have asked this ahead of time and prepared on my own. The staff are very kind and friendly and helped babysit our kids, they were wonderful. The owners also are very nice people and made us feel welcome. Everyone was very accomodating.

Food. The food is very good, no meal was bad, it does take a very long time for food to come out. If there is a private party or function at the hotel it can take well over an hour. Since the food is good you deal with it. They do try to make lunch come out quickly since most people are tired and hungry after diving and they take your order in between the first and 2nd dives, so instead of an hour it's only 15 minutes. They were very accomodating to help us feed our kids a bit early and their meal times were reasonable. If you prepare yourself mentally that the food is going to take awhile and have a drink then it's not unbearable and when the food does come out it's tasty.

Beach. The beach is beautiful and one of the best I've seen. Shallow warm clear turquiose water with few waves because of the reef protecting it. You can snorkel and see some small things, but there is no reef, just some sea grass, although we did see squid and other fish. A lot is made of the cruise ship crowds, but it doesn't prevent you from getting a beach seat and they don't allow cruise ship guests to use the pool, so it wasn't a huge deal, but obviously it would have been better if they hadn't been there. It happened twice in one week for the early afternoon hours. Ideal for kids swimming.

Diving. So to me this is the reason we go to a "dive resort" vs. a hotel that has a dive shop. The main reason I picked this place is because it was advertised that the dive sites were only 5-15 minutes off shore and thus I thought it would allow for minimal time away from our kids and still be able to enjoy ourselves. The dive boat is basically a skiff and we had 8 divers crammed on this thing with barely any room to move. Thankfully everyone was experienced but moving about is basically impossible on this skiff. There is one dive captain/dive hand/divemaster, who does everything, we had Ollie, who was great, but there is only so many things one man can do. I personally do not feel it's safe to have the dive master/captain dive off the boat and have it moored, hoping that there won't be some issue or emergency requiring quick pickup. Also because it was crowded and with no additional help it took at least 20-30 minutes to get everyone in and then another 20-30 minutes out thus prolonging the dive time. We then go back to shore which is nice for the surface interval, but then by the time you finish the 2nd dive its around 1pm a few days almost 130-2. I thought there would be afternoon diving, but this was only if a certain number of people signed up and again because it's already later in the day by the time you eat lunch it's not as practical. There is a reasonable place to store your small things, but not individual lockers as most of the dive shops I've been to. It's also unorganized in terms of the first day in terms of signing paperwork and getting underway, c-cards, etc. One day there were not enough tanks and they had to go get them from a different dive operation and the whole week they were unable to provide Nitrox, which in retrospect is not a big deal if you can only do 2 dives a day. Also one day there was confusion about who was taking which boat out and thus we were delayed by over an hour and a half. I think it could be really great if they just organized themselves better, hired another hand, offered 3 dives a day, and got a slightly bigger boat. The diving itself was very good, good visiblity, very healthy soft coral, but I was unimpressed with the number of fish and the dive sites seemed mostly similar without significant changes in topography.

All in all it's a really nice place to stay especially if you just want to be a beach bum and do some occasional diving and enjoy the beautiful beach and the wonderful staff will treat you well. If you're a serious or semi-serious diver and want to get a lot of dives in, in a well-oiled operation, then you'd be better off going off a live aboard or maybe taking a day trip out to Grand Turk from Provo.

I would recommend it to most people just not hard core divers.

Room Tip: stay upstairs to avoid hearing people walk
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

This was a wonderful resort and we had a fantastic time. Ginny & Tom were wonderful hosts. Eurecka the Chef was excellent. The BEST cracked conch I have ever had!!! All of our servers were wonderful.
We had a group of 11 that were doing a week stay here and it was relaxing, diving was excellent and would recommend this to anyone looking to relax and do some diving. Ollie our dive guide was excellent.
I will tell you that you don't have a lot of options for other activities on the island. There are not a lot of options for dining, we ate at the restaurant onsite every night and we were not disappointed once. There is not a whole lot to do on the island so if you are looking for exciting night life this is not the place for you. The resort provides bikes and a small catamaran to sail but other than that it is relaxing by the pool, laying on the beach or diving. We are already planning our trip back to the resort.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrington, New Hampshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

We have found our home away from home... The staff and owners Tom and Ginny make you feel that you are old friends... The food is amazing and the drinks are to die for... There is nothing I can say that could make Bohio be any better than it is ... This is a must stay !!! Quiet ... lots to do in the water... Whale and dolphin watching from the beach, Not commerical at all....
swim, dive and snorkel all day so you can eat the amazing food for dinner !!! My husband and i will be making this our vacation spot !!!

Room Tip: All rooms are wonderful waking up in the morning and going to bed at night listening to the ocean is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bohio Dive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bohio Dive Resort

Address: Cockburn Town, Grand Turk
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Turks and Caicos > Grand Turk > Cockburn Town
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cockburn Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Bohio Dive Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bohio Dive Hotel Grand Turk
Bohio Dive Grand Turk
Bohio Dive Resort Grand Turk/Cockburn Town, Turks And Caicos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bohio Dive Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.