We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic rooms, not a good restaurant” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Osprey Beach Hotel Restaurant

Osprey Beach Hotel Restaurant
1 Duke Street, Grand Turk
(649) 946-2666
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 15 restaurants in Grand Turk
Cuisines: Caribbean
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Providenciales
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Basic rooms, not a good restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

The service at the restaurant is slow and the food less than average (Except maybe dessert...) and over priced.
Rooms are quite basic. The good side of the hotel is the amazing beach and the owners are lovely.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

65% Recommend
    9
    24
    10
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“island life”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

This is a simple small dive resort. Our room was nothing special but the view was great. During our visit there was evidence from hurricane Ike still. The walkway was washed away and still hasn't been fixed but there is still plenty of ways to get to the beach. The front desk service is wonderful and the while the food is good the wait is long. They have one TINY! kitchen with 2 cooks in it near the pool area. Later that week they moved the restaurant across the street where the kitchen is larger but the view isn't as good. The new area is more of a commons area and is ideal for restaurant seating. The Pina Colada are excellent and the Rum Punch was the other drink favorite in our group. The food was excellent but sometimes did take a while to get.

They do service breakfast, lunch and dinner. All water is bottled and you are advised to not drink the tap water. You are given a gallon jug of water in your room but when you asked to have it refilled by front desk they will charge you $4.00.

There are lots of local dogs that are excellent at looking cute to get a bite of food. They roam all over the area. They are very friendly regardless if they are acting tough and are barking at you. They just want petted.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Not worth trying”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We had high expectations, but it took about 60 minutes to get 3 simple courses and while we got very used to the stray dogs hanging around - to have them try to get the steak off your plate is a bit too much. The food was less than mediocre and quite pricy.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Poor service and bad food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We reserved early at this restaurant although we were not staying at the hotel. Nobody told us a the time that dinner would be served in another less interesting dining room where we were served at a table in a hallway under glaring lights. A rude woman told us abruptly that most of the menu was not available and we were left with the BBQ menu. Despite listing fresh fish, the same server told use they never served fresh fish, only fresh lobster. We ordered steak, ribs and chicken and lobster. While the lobster was edible, most of the rest was awful, and the ribs and chicken, which still took over 40 minutes to arrive, we're cold.

All of this was made worse by terrible and rude service. We also had to bus our own dishes and had to get up and move to the desk in order to be given a bill. The owner/manager offered a good it on our way out and it was all I could do to stop from telling him he should be ashamed for running such an establishment. Considering the meal cost close to $200, this was perhaps the worse value for money I have ever experienced. Avoid this tourist trap at all costs.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwalk, Connecticut
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Rude and awful restaurant”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

We sat for 45 minutes with nothing. Not even word from the staff about the delay. My husband noticed that out of 14 people NOBODY had anything on their table. No water, no utensils, no food. When our food finally came (an hour and a half after seating) my chicken was RAW. We had to hand over the dirty dishes to get them to take them away. Key lime pie was served frozen rock hard. Spoke to the manager who could have cared less, told me that's the way they served their pie and that "everyone came at once" which was what caused the delay. We had been warned that they were rude but that was the only place open that night. They make no attempt to be cordial let alone friendly.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osprey Beach Hotel Restaurant also viewed

Grand Turk, Turks and Caicos
Grand Turk, Turks and Caicos
 
Grand Turk, Turks and Caicos
 

Been to Osprey Beach Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Osprey Beach Hotel Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.