We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful creatures!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gibbs Cay

Gibbs Cay
Grand Turk
6492310400
Improve this listing
Visit like an insider
Top Rated
$60*
and up
Gibbs Cay Stingray and Snorkel Adventure in Grand...
Activities: Swimming
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Uninhabited island with some of the most beautiful beaches and the best diving sites the islands have to offer.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Beautiful creatures!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

Beautiful little Cay with wonderful friendly stingrays. We had the opportunity to feed them and touch them which was an incredible experience, we also got the chance to go snorkelling around the island and saw more stingrays and other wonderful fish. Would recommend this to anyone!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    35
    7
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond Hill, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Real Fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

Lots of friendly Sting Rays. They will swim around you and will let you touch them. The Cay is very beautiful with white sand beaches and the water was perfect.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Sting Rays in the Rain”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

We went with Grand Turk Divers. They are great. Smaller groups are definitely a plus. They don't feed the rays to get them to come to the boat. They just put out a bait ball to attract them and next thing you know, rays everywhere. It was really cool.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Swimming with one stingray”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

I had been swimming with stingrays at Grand Cayman, so I was really looking forward to an excursion to Gibbs Cay. I brought a couple friends along and had told them in advance how much fun it was to swim with stingrays. Unfortunately, the day we went to Gibbs Cay there were no stingrays that our guide could find. We went with Papa J's Tours, which was highly rated. When we got we were told that the guide would find the stingrays and bring them to us, so we should just hang out on the shore til he found them. He came back about 10 minutes later and said there weren't any, but we could walk around on the beach or swim. He said he could find some conch and show those to us, as if looking a conch was comparable to swimming with stingrays.

After about half an hour of our standing around on the beach, a guide from another tour found a stingray, and after he showed it to his group, he handed it to our guide, who held it up for our group to see. Seeing a person hold a stingray is not swimming with stingrays. The guide told us that we could snorkel there is we wanted to, but there weren't any fish to see. So we just walked along the water for another half hour or so waiting to go back.

Not only did we not get to swim with stingrays, but the area was not particularly beautiful. The beach where we took the boat from was a lot prettier. Plus, there were no restrooms on the Cay, and if you tried to walk around more than about 10 or 15 feet from the water, there was vegetation that contained "sticky burrs."

I would definitely not recommend wasting your time going to this place.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Unless you have never seen an island or a stingray”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

All reviews are of questionable reliability because the reader knows little about the tastes of the writer nor has any way of knowing whether the experience was a poor sample of the experience on a day-to-day basis.

This Cay is extraordinarily ordinary. It is a tiny island with no special merit nor any facilities whatsoever. Gibbs Cay is neither beautiful nor varied as an experience. We went with Papa J's Tours; they were unorganized in multiple respects. They take advantage of the fact that most users of their services are on vacation, excited, and eager to enjoy what they have spent their money to enjoy. Our trip left half an hour before its scheduled departure time because "there were some people here who wanted to go." Just by fluke I was able to make the trip despite this snafu because I was taking an early walk along the beach,

Once you reach the Cay, you are encouraged to explore it, but with the exception of a slight hill in the sand, there is nothing to explore. The leaders try to use bait to attract stingrays. During the entire stay I saw 1 little stingray about 1 foot across, Another tour operator had captured it and was using it to allow paying customers to have their pictures taken with it.

The brochure AND the people selling the tour say things like "swim with the stingrays" and "snorkel with the stingrays," but alas there are few stingrays and almost no fish in the area offshore.

The people running the tour are pleasant enough, but the experience itself is nowhere near the price in value.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gibbs Cay also viewed

Grand Turk, Turks and Caicos
Grand Turk, Turks and Caicos
 
Grand Turk, Turks and Caicos
Grand Turk, Turks and Caicos
 

Been to Gibbs Cay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gibbs Cay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.