We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth going” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Turks & Caicos National Museum

Turks & Caicos National Museum
Front Street, Guinep House | P.O.Box 188, Grand Turk Turks and Caicos, Grand Turk
649-946-2160
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$30*
and up
Ranked #5 of 13 Attractions in Grand Turk
Type: History Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A look into the rich history of the Caribbean: museum featuring fragments of a wrecked Spanish sailing ship from the early 1500s.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Worth going”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Its a beautiful place to enjoy some of your time in Grand Turk. Don't expect the Louvre, but is a nice cozy place to spend some time

Don't take the cruise tours, they are super overpriced, and you can for sure, bargain to death with the locals and get a really cheap deal.

In Grand Turk, there is basically one small main street which has all the touristy shops and "city" attractions. What I believe you should do is
1) take a taxi from yor cruise to the main street,
2) walk along the main street which is where these historic buildings are, plus this is the place to shop for souvenirs (remember to always bargain!),
3) take one of those "car" tours around the island. Sincé you take it from an intermediate stop, if there is place in the car (which is always the case) you can for sure get 50% off. The car tour is totally worth it !

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    35
    12
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Madison
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“a fun stop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

a great place to enjoy some air conditioning and to absorb some history about Grand Turk. The artifacts and discussion about Columbus' Pinta were very informative.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“The Hidden Gem of GRAND TURK, Turks and Caisos Islands”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

This is a fabulous museum. It is smal but it is big it it's informationa dn presentation. It has all about John Glenns landing too for the USA and others. I haev been living part time in Providenciales and I return annually to the museum. Do make it your destination.

Also if you go during th ecruise ship times the Front Street has cute shopsss and best of al is the single shop with home made donut shpaed cookies by the pastor. Enjoy!!

OH BE SURE TO RENT YOUR GOLF CART FOR THE DAY "Smith Rentals 1-649-231-4856"

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thonotosassa, Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“A surprise in todays age and era...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

A week ago (May 2013) I was in Grand Turk and chose to visit the National Museum. The Museum is located in a two store building that goes back many years to the British Colonial era. As we walked up to the entrance, a very charming woman met us and informed us of some of the viewing inside. There is a Five dollar fee for entry but was well worth it. Inside we viewed a short video on the ship wreck found on molassas cay, This site is believed to be from the early 1500s. The muesum also contained many local Native Indian and Age of Discovery items on display. To stand close to many of these 500 plus year old items did have a great pull to me. I also found that interfacing with the staff added greatly to the experence. The operatiors are from the current era of Grand Turk and had many observations of the recent times. The building is inside a small compound and has a seceond floor. The view from the second floor of the sea and surounding area could not be toped. The "blue wall" line could be clearly seen in the water. I could go into detail about the items on displya but I do not think there is enough space here for all of them. Lets say that this is one of the major stops that should be made when on this island. The downtown area where this museum is located is not a packed with tourist trap stores nor clip food places. No street hawkers for deals nor any of the glitz we normally see in tropical locations. AND the best part is that the kindness and niceness we saw is the normal way the people live on Grand Turk. Remember when times were like that?

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Turk
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great collection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Very friendly staff...Unique collection...1000 year old chair(only 3 known in the world, 1 in the Smithsonian), 500 year old oar....great way to support an INDEPENDANT museum....
MOST cruise ship passengers are informed there is nothing to see downtown Grand Turk....UNTRUE if your looking for a picturesque walk along Front Street, beautiful multi colored ocean on one side and historical building on the other....VERY safe & tranquil....I would suggest a taxi to see the museum first, then walk back along Front Street & ask your taxi driver to pick you up at Osprey Hotel... Have lunch at the Sand Bar or The Osprey(both are right on the ocean)

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Turks & Caicos National Museum also viewed

Grand Turk, Turks and Caicos
Grand Turk, Turks and Caicos
 
Grand Turk, Turks and Caicos
 

Been to Turks & Caicos National Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Turks & Caicos National Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.